Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 540 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Hot Pursuit players will experience the thrill of the chase and the rush of the escape as they play through full careers as both a cop and a racer – solo or connected. The blistering speeds, brutal busts and heart-stopping getaways are all connected via Need for Speed Autolog.Need for Speed Hot Pursuit players will experience the thrill of the chase and the rush of the escape as they play through full careers as both a cop and a racer – solo or connected. The blistering speeds, brutal busts and heart-stopping getaways are all connected via Need for Speed Autolog. This network not only connects friends for epic head-to head pursuits and races, but also enables players to compare performances and stats, thereby setting the stage for the ultimate in friendly competition. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 11, 2010
    91
    When the online modes work, they really sing, allowing for hours to slip away into tons of entertaining crashes and near-misses. Unfortunately, they can also be extremely broken.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    91
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit is a really good racing game with great graphics and gameplay. The only flaw is that there is no opportunity to tune your car like in Need for Speed Underground 2.
  3. PC Format
    Jan 29, 2011
    91
    Intoxicating. [Jan 2011, p.104]
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    86
    This is not only a Need for Speed how it should be, it's also a nod to the best part of the series. What a car park! Those car chases! And the rush of speed. And online it's even better.
  5. Jan 12, 2011
    82
    Criterion Games hits the old and trusty NfS-Series with a welcome and refreshing blast from the past. It offers fast and furious oldschool-action, plenty of mileage and an overall good ride. A lack of modes, some rather bland racetypes, the always present rubberband-A.I. and a lack of challenge bothered us. But overall we liked what Hot Pursuit had to offer. A lot!
  6. Jan 12, 2011
    82
    NFS Hot Pursuit will not reinvent the genre but it is great fun and perfect for quick races inbetween. If you aren't the competetive type however the game starts to lack soon.
  7. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    This NFS/Burnout hybrid reminds me of Split/Second – it is simple, fast, spectacular, and lasts a week at best.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 126
  2. Negative: 48 out of 126
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I was waiting for something like this, an old-like NFS, and it's seems that EA listened to me. AWESOME graphics, scenery, cars, crashes,I was waiting for something like this, an old-like NFS, and it's seems that EA listened to me. AWESOME graphics, scenery, cars, crashes, EVERYTHING looks gorgeous. The only thing that I can regret for, is the "impossibility" of change things, such as graphics, driving helps, etc. But I think they will fix it, with some kind of patch. But in spite of that, it's a great game. Congratulations EA! Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Need for speed Hot Pursuit is my favourite racing game... EVER! I have it on xBox 360 and pc, both of those versions are great! the graphicsNeed for speed Hot Pursuit is my favourite racing game... EVER! I have it on xBox 360 and pc, both of those versions are great! the graphics are 2013 standard in 2010, the drifts are just SO easy to do! it feels like burnout (which is a good thing), its fun, its easy, its great, its great, its great, and its one of the best racing games of all time. oh, did i mention the damage engine? ;)

    10/10 (Diamond Award)
    -PandaGames
    Expand
  3. May 14, 2013
    9
    I hate racing games, I do not know how, I just do. I do not find them of interest at all. But this, this is different; not your averageI hate racing games, I do not know how, I just do. I do not find them of interest at all. But this, this is different; not your average racing game. This adrenaline-fueling game is just amazing. The concept is that you can choose to be a racer, or a cop, and if you choose to be said racer you will have to come first in a race against other racers WHILST evading the police with weapons of your choice. If you choose to be a cop, your objective is to "BUST" (immobilize) all of the racers before they finish the race. However, what I just described is only the game's signature game mode "Hot Pursuit". There are a good few more game modes, but this is the one I find to be the most engaging. The others are things like "Race", just a normal race without any police, "Interceptor" which is one cop against one racer, the racer's objective is to get away from the police whilst the cop's objective is to catch the racer. The game uses real car manufactures, and whilst on the topic, this is a 2010 game. You shouldn't be expecting top-notch graphics, BUT in my personal opinion the graphics are great anyway! Sadly, there is no Anti-Aliasing. The only thing I found partially annoying about this game is in my opinion, the PC controls aren't that great AT FIRST. The keybinds were really awkward, and it was hard to drive. Luckily, the keys are REBIND-ABLE and you can set them to whatever you like. You can play online, you can either play Race, Interceptor, Hot Pursuit, or more with up to 8 PEOPLE! This game, is fantastic. The crashes look awesome, engaging game modes, the only game mode I didn't particularly enjoy was "Preview". Thank you for reading, in conclusion, I gave this game a wonderful 9/10. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    Ok, this game didn't really set out to be a driving simulator. It is fun though there are problems. Controls and graphics have beenOk, this game didn't really set out to be a driving simulator. It is fun though there are problems. Controls and graphics have been compromised when being ported to the PC and it can get repetitive. Still, seeing a Bugatti police car crash is quite satisfying. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2010
    4
    Nice Graphics and that's all. This game has some gorgeous scenery but the gameplay is so fail that I don't want to play this game anymore.Nice Graphics and that's all. This game has some gorgeous scenery but the gameplay is so fail that I don't want to play this game anymore. When you brake the car to pass through a corner, it goes drifting like nuts and you don't have any control over the car. Every car feel like trucks because they all so damn heavy, and especially on the straights, it appears to have some kind of delay when you press the button to go to the right or left, if you just slightly press it, the car doesn't turn, and if you just press the button, the car goes too much. And there is no sensitivity to change on the options.
    And there's more, all cars have the same way to control, like the guy said before, it has absolutely no difference between a Crown Victoria and a Lamborghini.
    I would think two times before buying this game.
    Expand
  6. gas
    Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Bought it recently at a super nice price, i expected an arcade just to have some fun, but tbh i really didnt expect a game tard like it is.
    I
    Bought it recently at a super nice price, i expected an arcade just to have some fun, but tbh i really didnt expect a game tard like it is.
    I play with a wheel and cars handling is really unnatural, the feeling of driving a Pagani Zonda is the same as driving a Mitsubishi Lancer, and still it seems not realistic at all, not that i tried a Zonda... but c'mon.
    There is not much sense of speed, its too easy to drift, to recover, in most occasions its possible to drive the entire race without using brakes at all, just hand brake at full speed :P
    There are no options to raise a bit the difficulty or to make the game a bit more realistic.
    Damage system reminds me to OUTRUN the coin op, and also something incredible, there is no way to drive with manual shifting.
    Other issues are about the fact there is no logic in what you doing, why you are competing, and even if the idea of the Island and the free roaming is cool, i really miss championships or something to give some more sense then just beat the best track time.
    The unlock system is lame, the port is quite bad, no AA, no effects, it seems more an hard port.
    Cant really understand what kind of customer they designed the game for tbh.
    Expand
  7. May 1, 2016
    0
    Rubberband AI will kill your soul, and if it doesn't, the cheaters will. Not even good compared to Carbon or Underground, this is Criterion'sRubberband AI will kill your soul, and if it doesn't, the cheaters will. Not even good compared to Carbon or Underground, this is Criterion's worst game by far.

    I tried multiple times to get some kind of enjoyment and value out of this garbage (on multiple occasions, spanning YEARS) and I eventually had to permanently throw it in the garbage with extreme postjudice.

    Unskippable intros, the worst controls ever seen in a driving game (and just as bad with racing wheel and pedals), more cutscenes and menu navigation than actualy racing, ruining up a long event takes a second and is easy with horrible controls but restarting an event takes ages even loaded on an SSD, the cars all have essentially the same handling and are simply different for brand promotion, absolutely farcical AI that slows to a crawl if it gains a solid lead but drives impossibly fast if you get ahead... I could go on for a long time. To hell with this game, **** off Criterion you sellout piece of worthless **** developer. **** off for never bringing Stunt Island and Cops & Robbers to PC. That's what I get for buying every game you've ever made. **** I almost want to throw all my Burnout games in the garbage as a way to cleanse myself of this horrible modern Criterion decline that just keeps going and going. ARGH, I AM SAYING ARGH!
    Expand

See all 126 User Reviews