Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 562 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Hot Pursuit players will experience the thrill of the chase and the rush of the escape as they play through full careers as both a cop and a racer – solo or connected. The blistering speeds, brutal busts and heart-stopping getaways are all connected via Need for Speed Autolog.Need for Speed Hot Pursuit players will experience the thrill of the chase and the rush of the escape as they play through full careers as both a cop and a racer – solo or connected. The blistering speeds, brutal busts and heart-stopping getaways are all connected via Need for Speed Autolog. This network not only connects friends for epic head-to head pursuits and races, but also enables players to compare performances and stats, thereby setting the stage for the ultimate in friendly competition. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 11, 2010
    91
    When the online modes work, they really sing, allowing for hours to slip away into tons of entertaining crashes and near-misses. Unfortunately, they can also be extremely broken.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    91
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit is a really good racing game with great graphics and gameplay. The only flaw is that there is no opportunity to tune your car like in Need for Speed Underground 2.
  3. PC Format
    Jan 29, 2011
    91
    Intoxicating. [Jan 2011, p.104]
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    86
    This is not only a Need for Speed how it should be, it's also a nod to the best part of the series. What a car park! Those car chases! And the rush of speed. And online it's even better.
  5. Jan 12, 2011
    82
    Criterion Games hits the old and trusty NfS-Series with a welcome and refreshing blast from the past. It offers fast and furious oldschool-action, plenty of mileage and an overall good ride. A lack of modes, some rather bland racetypes, the always present rubberband-A.I. and a lack of challenge bothered us. But overall we liked what Hot Pursuit had to offer. A lot!
  6. Jan 12, 2011
    82
    NFS Hot Pursuit will not reinvent the genre but it is great fun and perfect for quick races inbetween. If you aren't the competetive type however the game starts to lack soon.
  7. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    This NFS/Burnout hybrid reminds me of Split/Second – it is simple, fast, spectacular, and lasts a week at best.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 129
  2. Negative: 49 out of 129
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I was waiting for something like this, an old-like NFS, and it's seems that EA listened to me. AWESOME graphics, scenery, cars, crashes,I was waiting for something like this, an old-like NFS, and it's seems that EA listened to me. AWESOME graphics, scenery, cars, crashes, EVERYTHING looks gorgeous. The only thing that I can regret for, is the "impossibility" of change things, such as graphics, driving helps, etc. But I think they will fix it, with some kind of patch. But in spite of that, it's a great game. Congratulations EA! Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Need for speed Hot Pursuit is my favourite racing game... EVER! I have it on xBox 360 and pc, both of those versions are great! the graphicsNeed for speed Hot Pursuit is my favourite racing game... EVER! I have it on xBox 360 and pc, both of those versions are great! the graphics are 2013 standard in 2010, the drifts are just SO easy to do! it feels like burnout (which is a good thing), its fun, its easy, its great, its great, its great, and its one of the best racing games of all time. oh, did i mention the damage engine? ;)

    10/10 (Diamond Award)
    -PandaGames
    Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2016
    9
    I didn't take to this at first but with everything unlocked, it's my favourite game of all time. (The mods with extra content make it evenI didn't take to this at first but with everything unlocked, it's my favourite game of all time. (The mods with extra content make it even better). One point off for meagre video options. Nevertheless, the cars and environments are superbly rendered and still look great on my 64" plasma 6 years on – not to mention the awesome slo-mo crashes. More importantly, the car handling and gameplay is tight and finely orchestrated. It's not meant to be realistic – just fun – and succeeds on that level like no other racer I have ever played. Criterion in its prime. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    Pros: gorgeous graphics, nice music, night/day cycle.
    Explorable mode (free roaming) this feature really saves the game for me. It's really
    Pros: gorgeous graphics, nice music, night/day cycle.
    Explorable mode (free roaming) this feature really saves the game for me. It's really nice to travel across the beautiful landscapes (especially at night whit lights off or during a cloudy day).
    Mixed: driving is only somewhat interesting.
    Cons: IA cheats disgustingly (for example, cops can catch up very fast even when you're at max speed and using nitro oO) Engine noise is awfull and sounds like crap. Pc port is badly optimized (hiccups and lags on a 2500k/560ti, no AA support). You're forced to do every single race to unlock the next tier of races too bad if you don't like one kind of race. No dynamic weather (it's tied to the race). Dumb cut scenes that are not skippable. No snow or fog effects.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2010
    4
    They've managed to catch the "Hot Pursuit" spirit and looks, in fact, sometimes it even looks like remade NFS:HP2. However, the gameplayThey've managed to catch the "Hot Pursuit" spirit and looks, in fact, sometimes it even looks like remade NFS:HP2. However, the gameplay department has nothing to do with the NFS franchise. It is about ridiculous power drifts that take place easily, and unresponsive cars that have a hard time turning. It should have been called Burnout: Hot Pursuit, because it does play like that.

    As a PC game, it's a weak port. Graphical options are resolution, shadow detail and motion blur on/off. It does run well on mid range computers, but it has unexplainable stutters even on powerful rigs. Oh, and IT DOES NOT SUPPORT AA.

    If you liked Burnout, this might be the charm for you, if you are a hardcore Most Wanted/Underground fan, skip this.
    Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    This game emphasizes everything which is not helpful.

    The intro cutscene was so long, I switched to another window and read several
    This game emphasizes everything which is not helpful.

    The intro cutscene was so long, I switched to another window and read several articles before I looked at my taskbar and saw an icon I didn't recognize. Not the cutscene with publisher/studio/etc, the cutscene *explaining the main menu*. And then it takes forever narrating whatever kind of car you first get, the fictional location of the game, what it means to be a police officer. And then it throws you into a race, without ever bothering to tell you that the four directions are not mapped to either the standard WASD or up/down/left right. This it continues to do: the spike strip is state of the art blah blah can do x y z regenerates (what? regenerates?) and then don't bother to tell you what even the default key for it is. Then every time you get a new car, it shows several lines of "NEW CAR NEW CAR" diagonally for maybe three seconds, then moves aside for another three seconds, then waits another three seconds until it ~grandly reveals~ what kind of car you got first the brand, then the model, and then after more waiting it shows you the car. Clearly there is no need for speed anywhere but when you're in the car.

    Then the cars itself are boring. Your customization is the color of the car and that's it. You can't do anything in any car without drifting, and of course it doesn't teach you the optimal way to do that either. There are no amazing things you can pull off, it's a linear course each time and the top speed actually is the only relevant stat because there is no such thing as building advantages. Some older NFS games it was possible to get half a minute or greater lead on multilaps because you continually do things right; here we have a nitrous system and a slipstream. With random cars that get in the way and think it's a good idea to simply come to a halt whenever you get vaguely near them.

    If you crash, you get tons of shiny particles. There's a lot of shiny things in this game. The cutscenes are shiny, the cars are shiny, the environments are shiny, even the voices are shiny. But the handling is terrible on everything, and there's no incentive to stick with any car because you can't upgrade.

    It isn't fun in the slightest.

    It was worth 8 of my dollars, but it wasn't worth two hours of my time.
    Expand
  7. May 1, 2016
    0
    Rubberband AI will kill your soul, and if it doesn't, the cheaters will. Not even good compared to Carbon or Underground, this is Criterion'sRubberband AI will kill your soul, and if it doesn't, the cheaters will. Not even good compared to Carbon or Underground, this is Criterion's worst game by far.

    I tried multiple times to get some kind of enjoyment and value out of this garbage (on multiple occasions, spanning YEARS) and I eventually had to permanently throw it in the garbage with extreme postjudice.

    Unskippable intros, the worst controls ever seen in a driving game (and just as bad with racing wheel and pedals), more cutscenes and menu navigation than actualy racing, ruining up a long event takes a second and is easy with horrible controls but restarting an event takes ages even loaded on an SSD, the cars all have essentially the same handling and are simply different for brand promotion, absolutely farcical AI that slows to a crawl if it gains a solid lead but drives impossibly fast if you get ahead... I could go on for a long time. To hell with this game, **** off Criterion you sellout piece of worthless **** developer. **** off for never bringing Stunt Island and Cops & Robbers to PC. That's what I get for buying every game you've ever made. **** I almost want to throw all my Burnout games in the garbage as a way to cleanse myself of this horrible modern Criterion decline that just keeps going and going. ARGH, I AM SAYING ARGH!
    Expand

See all 129 User Reviews