Need for Speed: Most Wanted PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 510
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car Selection In This Game Was Excellent .... I Cant Praise How Much I Love This Game .....No Other Need For Speed Game Has Come Even Close To Being Better Than Most Wanted .... And I Doubt There Ever Will ....
  2. KDep
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    Fantastic! This game is the best of NFS Underground 2 plus a bunch of new material. I love this game so far and I can't see an end in sight. The visuals are amazing, the music is great, and the cars sound very nice.
    I highly recommend picking up this game, it's worth the price. There's a lot of gameplay for the price. Great value.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The best in the NFS series, great story and cast of characters, excellent graphics, and youre going to love the police pursuits.After playing NFS hot pursuit, Carbono, and the Run, Most Wanted beat'em all.
  4. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Excellent ..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  5. AnsonG.
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    What is there you don't like this game? All the racing scenes are cool. Well I have finished all the career and challenge race. At least the programmers has added the police pursuit, thanks to that spectular. Its very fun if u are in chase by police but i prefer the most difficult. Well, as for tuning shop u can buy the performance in order to upgrade and parts to customize your car What is there you don't like this game? All the racing scenes are cool. Well I have finished all the career and challenge race. At least the programmers has added the police pursuit, thanks to that spectular. Its very fun if u are in chase by police but i prefer the most difficult. Well, as for tuning shop u can buy the performance in order to upgrade and parts to customize your car series. As for car shop, u can buy car u like, the choice is yours. So if enjoy the NFS series, u wont have any problem but playing this game. Trust me, u be glad if u did. Expand
  6. PetarP
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    Most Wanted brings you the most action-packed street racing ever! Full of cops that are always on your trail and that darn Sgt. Cross! MW brings sleek graphics and the gameplay is excellent. You can roam in an open world and speed like mad. The tracks are great. There are some tricky ones which need a little strategy but that's a good part of the game. The selection of cars is Most Wanted brings you the most action-packed street racing ever! Full of cops that are always on your trail and that darn Sgt. Cross! MW brings sleek graphics and the gameplay is excellent. You can roam in an open world and speed like mad. The tracks are great. There are some tricky ones which need a little strategy but that's a good part of the game. The selection of cars is wonderful. From your average Fiat Punto to a supercharged Porsche 911 Turbo! The blacklist is an exotic part of the game. 15 street racing maniacs to take down, top on the list being Razor - some dude who hijacked your BMW M3 GTR. The feel of speed is also magnificent. You can reach over 220 MPH while free roaming. The tollbooth races are also well done. The whole feel of racing against time... The only thing is how tracks can get repetitive and the police... VERY frustrating once you get to Razor... or Bull (sort of). But once you get to Razor, trust me, the police are gonna become extremely aggressive. I gave up on beating MW because of it. I only have one damn milestone left but I can't complete it due to police difficulty. Expand
  7. Sp3d2Ahmad
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    if u hate this game that's man u r loser.Its not about u r driving Lamborghini and cannot keep up with fiat,it is because your driving skill is worst!
  8. Mykal
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    WOW! Some of the bad reviews make me wonder if we're playing the same game... Linear-nope, you
  9. MarkS.
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    I have played all of the NFS games and this one is certainly the best of the lot. In the previous games I usually just played the "Quick Race" feature. I did try the career mode some, but it was not as addictive as Most Wanted. My progression in Quake 4 has slowed considerabley since buying this game. I just keep wanting to play NFSMW.
  10. MurtazaM.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Hey I have a lot to praise bout this game this is a mind-blowing game and actually it is better than any other games I've ever played in this game the most exciting thing ever is the cop chase n remember I've already finished the whole game including completion of the blacklist,the challenger series including the special black edition challenge more than that I've even Hey I have a lot to praise bout this game this is a mind-blowing game and actually it is better than any other games I've ever played in this game the most exciting thing ever is the cop chase n remember I've already finished the whole game including completion of the blacklist,the challenger series including the special black edition challenge more than that I've even played nfs carbon but this one seems to be better than that one yeah. My most favorite thing in the game is ramming the road-block and spike-strip cars cutting corners and everything.this game has everything a racing game needs none of a game neither any GTA game is better than this one this game took me a month to finish. Expand
  11. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    This game was one of the first I got on my PS2 and I still play it today.

    The open world is incredibly varied and really fun to just explore. The police chases get so intense but you can nearly always escape and not get caught. The car selection is great and the storyline is actually quite engrossing for a racing game and compared to Criterion's most recent version of the game which
    This game was one of the first I got on my PS2 and I still play it today.

    The open world is incredibly varied and really fun to just explore. The police chases get so intense but you can nearly always escape and not get caught. The car selection is great and the storyline is actually quite engrossing for a racing game and compared to Criterion's most recent version of the game which doesn't even have a storyline!

    Yes the physics could be better but to be honest when you're having as much fun as I usually have playing it you don't care about that.
    Expand
  12. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted is by no means a bad game, but it doesn't necessarily bring anything new to the table in terms of racing games. The gameplay is much less repetitive than any other racing game I've played to date, and the gameplay is much tougher than most racing games (due to the inability to hit civilian cars). It's purely fun, with good customization and fun racing. It'sNeed for Speed: Most Wanted is by no means a bad game, but it doesn't necessarily bring anything new to the table in terms of racing games. The gameplay is much less repetitive than any other racing game I've played to date, and the gameplay is much tougher than most racing games (due to the inability to hit civilian cars). It's purely fun, with good customization and fun racing. It's worth the time to check it out. Expand
  13. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    really fun and BETTER THAN THE NEW MOST WANTED has great customiaztion and free roam also a very long game great cops aswell ONE OF THE GOAT GAMES everyone shuld play
  14. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    definitely the best pc arcade racing game of the last decade.

    superb car handling, wonderfully adjusted challenging competitors, a story that pumps you up and beautiful car selection.
  15. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I actually liked this game because it's all racing and stuff, but there are different reasons too. Cops are chasing you, you can race against bosses and you fight t[he way to get your car back. Beginning is kind of boring but the rest of the game is awesome! Also there are some areas you got to unlock liked in Need For Speed Underground and I like it. The only thing that I might not really like is that when you trying to get enough objectives complete and then you got to beat the boss, when you get to the top ten it's getting boring that you being chased by the cops and when you finally escape, you got to do it again because there are not enough points. Expand
  16. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    I remember the game its own story, not repeatable races. As well as a lovely atmosphere. However one of the best in the series. This superb unique colorful game deserves pohvolu and 10 points
  17. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was the best need for speed out of all of them. the graphics amazing for a game made nine years ago and has a career mode that is simply outstanding. as well as the challenge series which includes a black edition heavy SUV police pursuit challenge where you have to outrun heavy SUVs whilst accumulating a bounty of over $500,000. when i tried it i accumulated a bounty of over $2,300,000.
    unfortunately it did not contain the Nissan skyline R34, one of my favourite cars from need for speed. so i could not give this a ten
    Expand
  18. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    Need for Speed ​​Most Wanted is one of the best titles in the series, maybe even the best. An interesting story, great gameplay, honestly, what you want more? For me it is the best in the entire series. This game really worth playing.
  19. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Best NFS ever made! Great gameplay, music, choice of cars and tuning. Everything in this game is perfect. Thanks to cops, you can play this game for longer time, then underground 2. Only thing I dont like about this game, is that it should be longer, and have more cars :)
  20. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    and the best NFL game What have played so far and ums first games I played in my life until now play this wonderful game my god without comments highly recommend
  21. Feb 17, 2016
    10
    One of the best games in the franchise. The OST is impeccable, combines with the game. And the storyline ... Perfect!
    Missed more customization that Underground 2 brought to us, but it is not remarkable, since the game is more focused on pursuit. The fact that you have to gain levels (each challenger on the blacklist) binds you to the game, and it does not make it boring. It's not the
    One of the best games in the franchise. The OST is impeccable, combines with the game. And the storyline ... Perfect!
    Missed more customization that Underground 2 brought to us, but it is not remarkable, since the game is more focused on pursuit. The fact that you have to gain levels (each challenger on the blacklist) binds you to the game, and it does not make it boring. It's not the same thing from start to finish...

    At each level, more best cars, tighter pursuits and the feeling of having the revenge against the guy who took your car. Sensational.
    Expand
  22. Feb 29, 2016
    8
    If I remember correctly by the time the beginning of games that truly gave you opportunity to move freely throughout huge areas in first person. Simple and pleasurable gameplay targeted to simply chill and relax. By the time, enough.
  23. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did itThe one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did it have to be rebooted its so stupid, but Im going to review the new Most Wanted soon. The fight between any NFS game for the title best NFS game are really 5 NFS (Carbon, Underground, Most Wanted, Hot Pursuit and NFS World) that's real stupid all of them are great except for World because, I'll review it soon so you will know why. NFS MW has great songs but as good as Underground 2. I will give Most Wanted, 10/10. Collapse
  24. rafalmadajczak
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    Is it better than NFSU2? The better: you dont have to buy all the tuning pieces to advance in the plot(bye, bye self-spinnig rims!), the police(if only EA let us drive the law enforcers...) and the city. The same ol' genius: engine sound, the pure pleasure of driving, mazda rx-8:D. The worse: no drifts(even as a quick race option), no urls at the airport, worse soundtrack(rememberIs it better than NFSU2? The better: you dont have to buy all the tuning pieces to advance in the plot(bye, bye self-spinnig rims!), the police(if only EA let us drive the law enforcers...) and the city. The same ol' genius: engine sound, the pure pleasure of driving, mazda rx-8:D. The worse: no drifts(even as a quick race option), no urls at the airport, worse soundtrack(remember qotsa before- release single?). All-in-alli its slightly diifferent but the series doesnt lose its greatness.You'll love it. Watch for my black two-striped audi a4 in the net racing! You'll hate it:D Expand
  25. JohnQ.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    This game is one of my personal favorites. The high speed police chases, the blacklist racers, and those phycho pathic taxi drivers that always seem to screw up a race for me >:( . A very good game... Most people say you can't disable the high speed blur thing, but you can. I forget how but its disabled for me and i can play fine.
  26. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    My review went to the wrong game, please ignore my mistake as I was intending to review the 2012 edition of Need for Speed: Most Wanted the one by Criterion Studios.
  27. MoshelE.
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    Its a great and almost perfect game, just one or tweaks here and there, and it could be a perfect racing game. i do miss the night time driving, and the ability to be the law enforcement, but still a great game.
  28. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    This game is still the best NFS in the series and it's 7 years after its release. The storyline was extremely addictive, the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is just perfect. It has a nice variety of cars, that will lead you to #1. on the blacklist. Make sure to patch your game or else you'll suffer with the game crashing often and other issues. But otherwise is game is perfect! IThis game is still the best NFS in the series and it's 7 years after its release. The storyline was extremely addictive, the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is just perfect. It has a nice variety of cars, that will lead you to #1. on the blacklist. Make sure to patch your game or else you'll suffer with the game crashing often and other issues. But otherwise is game is perfect! I give it a 10. Expand
  29. HeavyDummy
    Jan 17, 2006
    8
    I've read just about every review on this game. It seems like the negative reviews are from people who don't enjoy the challenge "you're in a drag race and a car pulls out" or "I'm driving my vette 200mph and a Fiat Punto passes me" or "the AI is stupid." If you're looking for a racing game with no challenges this isn't for you. Of the NFSU series, this is by I've read just about every review on this game. It seems like the negative reviews are from people who don't enjoy the challenge "you're in a drag race and a car pulls out" or "I'm driving my vette 200mph and a Fiat Punto passes me" or "the AI is stupid." If you're looking for a racing game with no challenges this isn't for you. Of the NFSU series, this is by far the best (I used to think NFSU2 was). The cars are a blast, the races are more challenging than the other 2 NFSU games and the police chases are a blast - a real rush. NFSU had too many driving glitches, NFSU2 was great, but became too repetitive. NFSMW isn't the "best game ever" but it is fun if you don't subscribe to the Homer Simpson philosophy of, "if it doesn't come easy, it isn't worth doing." Expand
  30. BradB.
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    this game is the best need for speed game that ea has released. the cops get really smart in the middle of the game, but that is o.k. because by then you have some really fast cars. all around the game is great. esspecially the graphics. need for speed most wanted black edition is worth the extra money because you get 2 bonus cars, more tracks and you can get up to seventh wanted level this game is the best need for speed game that ea has released. the cops get really smart in the middle of the game, but that is o.k. because by then you have some really fast cars. all around the game is great. esspecially the graphics. need for speed most wanted black edition is worth the extra money because you get 2 bonus cars, more tracks and you can get up to seventh wanted level instead of the sixth wanted level that is in the basic game. one of the cars you get is 67 camaro that is awesome, especially if you like true american muscle and not just the same old foreign rice burners. NFSMW is the best game ever. Expand
  31. Prophylactic
    Mar 12, 2006
    9
    Drag races were very, very tedious. Sometimes the pursuits/evasions with the police were very hard. I like difficulty, it makes a game more fun to play for a long time, unless it's too hard. Some of the drag races, due to the fact you really have to memorize where cars are, and how fast you have to be going at certain points, really, really frustrating. The spike strips on curves Drag races were very, very tedious. Sometimes the pursuits/evasions with the police were very hard. I like difficulty, it makes a game more fun to play for a long time, unless it's too hard. Some of the drag races, due to the fact you really have to memorize where cars are, and how fast you have to be going at certain points, really, really frustrating. The spike strips on curves sucked a lot, too, as you can't control your car as well during turns. The game has beautiful graphics, with simulated HDR features, great textures, tons of detail, and a good sense of speed. The cars seemed, to me, to be very well represented in the game, painstakingly detailed. The storyline was, at best, retarded. However, it's nice to have a bit of a story to bring things together, instead of just racing for the hell of it. I mean, after the first race, I think everyone was interested, at least nominally, as you just had your pimp ride stollen by a skinny, white, weasle. Overall, I found it to be a lot of fun. It kept me entertained fairly well from start-to-finish, with only a few moments -- pursuit and drag -- where I was actually annoyed. The AI wasn't necessarily the brightest in the world, but it was smart enough to create a good difficulty level. So, as far as the AI, I thought they did a fairly decent job. Expand
  32. MichaelL.
    Apr 16, 2006
    8
    An extremely well-made car (notice I did not call it racing) game. Although the races can be fun at times, they're usually too drawn out. The real attraction is the cop chases which are just a blast. You can disable the cop cars by ramming them hard enough (your car is indestructible) and dodging spike strips and helicopters is very exciting. Cool effects like the slow-mo are An extremely well-made car (notice I did not call it racing) game. Although the races can be fun at times, they're usually too drawn out. The real attraction is the cop chases which are just a blast. You can disable the cop cars by ramming them hard enough (your car is indestructible) and dodging spike strips and helicopters is very exciting. Cool effects like the slow-mo are unnecessary but welcome nonetheless. The Black List is repetitive like heck, but makes for a lengthy career mode. The choice of cars is great and customization is very deep although I did not play NFS Underground. All in all, I was VERY pleasantly surprised by this game and played all the way to the top of the Black List along with several 25-minute plus police chases which are simply exhilirating. Fantastic game. Download the demo and then proceed to purchase. Expand
  33. KLuke
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    Playing the demo right now and love the game, i need to get it graphics are awsome and the addition of the old NFS gameplay like the cop run and the new NFS game play like the black list is awsome i love the game and will play it for some time even when i beat it.
  34. FredericA.
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    A really nice mix between NFS Underground 2 and Hot Pursuit. Full of thrilling action ! One of the best driving game I played yet ! Wonderful
  35. SteveP.
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Of all the NFS games, this one certainly takes the cake. The world is simply stunning, the graphical flourishes can be breath taking and the sense of speed is impressive. The blacklist idea certainly isn't 'unique' but damn is it fun to whoop on those guys ! And the cop chatter is simply the best example of this i've ever seen, hands down. I showed the game to a friend Of all the NFS games, this one certainly takes the cake. The world is simply stunning, the graphical flourishes can be breath taking and the sense of speed is impressive. The blacklist idea certainly isn't 'unique' but damn is it fun to whoop on those guys ! And the cop chatter is simply the best example of this i've ever seen, hands down. I showed the game to a friend in Law Enforcement, and they went balistic - he simply loved it. Go figure! Expand
  36. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    One of the classic racing games. This has everything going for it. Awesome police chases, a wide variety of cars (some of the best cars that you will ever see). The AI is good (Level 5 cops are good). This is one game which you can play over and over again and not get bored. I think this is the last NFS that I actually played as the ones after this were just not true to the NFS name. AnOne of the classic racing games. This has everything going for it. Awesome police chases, a wide variety of cars (some of the best cars that you will ever see). The AI is good (Level 5 cops are good). This is one game which you can play over and over again and not get bored. I think this is the last NFS that I actually played as the ones after this were just not true to the NFS name. An absolute must play if you like racing games. Expand
  37. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    In Need For Speed Most Wanted like in previous two games you will be a street racer. But this time you will be an agent that turns into street racer. You will have a solid, quite big free roam. Your guide through the game will be Mia and Razor, the bad one who is just frightening you. There are some faster cars than the previous two games. The graphics are quite good. You have to defeatIn Need For Speed Most Wanted like in previous two games you will be a street racer. But this time you will be an agent that turns into street racer. You will have a solid, quite big free roam. Your guide through the game will be Mia and Razor, the bad one who is just frightening you. There are some faster cars than the previous two games. The graphics are quite good. You have to defeat all 15 blacklist members, the first ones are easy to defeat but the later ones are harder to beat. Sadly though tuning is a bit worse than Need For Speed Underground 2. In this game there is police too. Someone will like it and someone not. Story is good and easy to understand. There are some cut scenes in this game but many of you wanted more of them. But this game is quite good and everyone who likes fast driving and police chases on the streets, this game is for you. Expand
  38. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Need for Speed at its best. Everything you could ever want is here. A decent backstory, lengthy singleplayer, free roam, cop chases (which are the best part of the game- very intense), challenges in the Black Edition, nice choice of cars, great soundtrack, beautiful graphics with very distinct and modern lighting, fun and arcade. You get deep visual customisation along with performanceNeed for Speed at its best. Everything you could ever want is here. A decent backstory, lengthy singleplayer, free roam, cop chases (which are the best part of the game- very intense), challenges in the Black Edition, nice choice of cars, great soundtrack, beautiful graphics with very distinct and modern lighting, fun and arcade. You get deep visual customisation along with performance upgrades and even some simple tuning on the go. Cars do feel very different and personal. Everything in this game is just solid gold. The events are varied and of just the right difficulty- especially the tollbooth ones where it can get intense trying to reach the last one with seconds to spare and cops on your tail. The length of events is perfect, the progression is well-paced. The city is large and very much suited to the kind of racing and cop chases you will engage in, with long highways, off-road shortcuts and tight city streets. Not only are the foundations solid, but everything in it is utilised and exploited to the fullest extent. Multiplayer is there too with a good range of game modes and stages. Controls work just as well on keyboard as they do on a controller. The sounds - everything from the engine, tyres and police radio and even voice acting - are imaculate. The only reason I can't give it a 10 out of 10 is because it doesn't do anything revolutionary or extraordinarily ahead of its time. It's a really well-made game for its time but nothing that's mind-blowing or unbelievable. Expand
  39. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    Playing a Need for Speed game for the storyline is like smoking when you're hungry: you get nowhere. Also, once you play a Need for Speed, you played all of them, from the very first to the most recent. However, with this one being the only one i have after reading people's opinion on the web that is the last great apisode in the series, i have to admit that, apart from graphics, nothingPlaying a Need for Speed game for the storyline is like smoking when you're hungry: you get nowhere. Also, once you play a Need for Speed, you played all of them, from the very first to the most recent. However, with this one being the only one i have after reading people's opinion on the web that is the last great apisode in the series, i have to admit that, apart from graphics, nothing really improved in the more recent ones. From here i'll jump right to Midnight Club: Los Angeles. When i'll get a PS3, that is. For now, this NFS gets an 8 for general internet opinion and because it still looks good. Expand
  40. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This game is my favourite game. I think that it's the best game ever. Great graphics, great race and even
    great plot.................I have no words.........Just brilliant game!
  41. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Far superior to it's latest version by Criterion. Better story, better visuals even though the graphics are slightly weaker, full tuning, great variety of cars and more realism. It was just a perfect balance, although it could use a bit more realism in certain parts, this game cannot be classified as an arcade-racer unlike the utterly-rubbish Criterion version.
  42. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    *Steering wheel* *Gas&Break* *Beamer with good projection*

    You're ready to RIDE! I've not been a fan of games or racing games before, but Need For Speed: Most Wanted is just too cool! It takes you in, makes you addicted within minutes (or seconds At first you really need to learn to drive, and make sure the sensitivity of your steering wheel is right. Once you get the feeling, it's
    *Steering wheel* *Gas&Break* *Beamer with good projection*

    You're ready to RIDE!

    I've not been a fan of games or racing games before, but Need For Speed: Most Wanted is just too cool! It takes you in, makes you addicted within minutes (or seconds At first you really need to learn to drive, and make sure the sensitivity of your steering wheel is right. Once you get the feeling, it's amazing and just really really well done!

    After losing your car in a race, you'll have to win in back by beating the racers on the Blacklist. Slowly you work your way up, beating the rivals and the cops! It all feels really realistic and it's cool how you'll get to know the world you're driving in.

    Plus you get to pimp your ride :)

    Only minus would be that there isn't enough of it Oh and there are no people on the streets... would be cool to smash people lol

    Anyways, I highly recommend this game!
    Expand
  43. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    This game is my childhood. Need for Speed Most Wanted is probably the best streetracing game I've ever played. It has good story, amazing gameplay, decent graphics by its release time, and great police mode. And we shouldn't forget the car customization, which in my opinion offers the best tuning options I've tried. Very nice.
  44. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    There are many features that interesting for me. Moderate excellent cars, hard pursuit and moderate tuning feature, which the custom of cars is not hard. But it has medium graphics, bad song and long circuit track that can worst a lot of time.
  45. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    Good game different assortments with difficult pursuits and a solid black list challenge. Cars are varied, muscle cars, exotics and tuners, you can keep one for a long time as long as you keep upgrading it such as keeping a Punto near the end and changing it for something better since it lacks top speed without specific unique parts (called Junkman parts). The city is nicer than most otherGood game different assortments with difficult pursuits and a solid black list challenge. Cars are varied, muscle cars, exotics and tuners, you can keep one for a long time as long as you keep upgrading it such as keeping a Punto near the end and changing it for something better since it lacks top speed without specific unique parts (called Junkman parts). The city is nicer than most other NFS series and even than some more modern ones it's the same one used in part on NFSW and it helps to keep in mind about shortcuts and still I don't know everywhere yet. Daylight racing is specially interesting in compartison to the Underground series and it adds up with good graphics for it's age and are not too resource intensive. The pursuits are really difficult near the end with Spikestrips and Corvettes as pursuit vehicles. Expand
  46. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    One of the bests nfs, the history was really nice, the gameplay and graphics really good too, and who doesn't like the most epic car from nfs, the M3? It's just really nice, i really recommend it, if you're a fan from the nfs you will like this one.
  47. Jun 6, 2016
    8
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted offers one of the most intense and thrilling car races within the beautiful Rockport, yet some elements are rather disappointing.
  48. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    This is the pinnacle of the NFS franchise, engaging story, awesome street fully customizable cars, the most beast music that's ever been put into a game, this is almost everything you ever wanted and loved from a NFS game.

    For your sake please do not play the 2012 version, play this instead, if you can get past the mediocre graphics it definitely beats the newer version in everything
    This is the pinnacle of the NFS franchise, engaging story, awesome street fully customizable cars, the most beast music that's ever been put into a game, this is almost everything you ever wanted and loved from a NFS game.

    For your sake please do not play the 2012 version, play this instead, if you can get past the mediocre graphics it definitely beats the newer version in everything else by far. I've beaten it about 5 times and I still can't get enough of it.
    Expand
  49. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    I remember playing this game in 2005 as a 10 year old boy and loving everything about it:

    -soundtrack was AMAZING, best by far alongside Underground 2 -story might be simplistic by trying to be the best, but still was awesome and had intrigue early on and made you want to earn your BADASS BMW M3 back! -open world city to drive... NUF SAID! -cool customization and awesome rewards for
    I remember playing this game in 2005 as a 10 year old boy and loving everything about it:

    -soundtrack was AMAZING, best by far alongside Underground 2
    -story might be simplistic by trying to be the best, but still was awesome and had intrigue early on and made you want to earn your BADASS BMW M3 back!
    -open world city to drive... NUF SAID!
    -cool customization and awesome rewards for beating bosses... pink slips were the most awesome to get for the bosse's ride with its unique paintjob

    Simply put: THE BEST RACING GAME EVER all around!
    Expand
  50. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    This is Need For Speed at it´s best. Best part ever. The graphics are still good, even compared to new racing games because some new racing game graphics are surreal (too many annoying lights and stupid special effects). It could be a 10 of 10 but a little bit more of a simulation and less arcade racing would have been better.
  51. Dec 10, 2014
    8
    One of my favorites, but not quite there. What holds it back for me is its stupid story, plot and cutscenes (who the hell thinks that racing games need a story? **** just let me race...) and the soundtrack. Some of the songs are nice, but the less worse track for me is from Avenged Sevenfold. And I hate Avenged Sevenfold. So, yeah, great game. Anyone should check out. It's just not myOne of my favorites, but not quite there. What holds it back for me is its stupid story, plot and cutscenes (who the hell thinks that racing games need a story? **** just let me race...) and the soundtrack. Some of the songs are nice, but the less worse track for me is from Avenged Sevenfold. And I hate Avenged Sevenfold. So, yeah, great game. Anyone should check out. It's just not my favorite NFS. Not even by a far cry. Expand
  52. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Even with the cheesy story of you losing your BMW to some douchbag and having to gain up a blacklist to challenge him, it was great. The physics were amazingly good, not like what you would see in Hot Pursuit 2010 and that crappy Most Wanted 2012. You would take corners without drifting, which I liked. The AI were well balanced as there was no OP rubberbanding, but some was noticeable,Even with the cheesy story of you losing your BMW to some douchbag and having to gain up a blacklist to challenge him, it was great. The physics were amazingly good, not like what you would see in Hot Pursuit 2010 and that crappy Most Wanted 2012. You would take corners without drifting, which I liked. The AI were well balanced as there was no OP rubberbanding, but some was noticeable, which was ok. Next are the cop chases, which is the meat of being "Most Wanted". Gaining heat = more roadblocks, more aggressive cops and crazy manoeuvres are required + speed. Getting in trouble with the cops were awesome. The car selection was good with good customization, but not as enhanced as the Underground series or the new Need for Speed 2015. This was the high point in the Need for Speed series, and it's totally a game you could get and continue playing over and over again. Expand
  53. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    One of the best racing game ever...........................................................................................................................................................................
    ..................................................................................................................................................................................
  54. Mar 29, 2015
    9
    As the name suggests MOST WANTED one who plays experiences the thrill of driving ,racing,hiding and lots of action . it has a good gameplay and the lot is awesome . one has to become the most wanted racer in the rockport city.some racers are our friends others are up to maintain there blacklist ranking . the role of police department of the great city is mind blowing the police pursuitsAs the name suggests MOST WANTED one who plays experiences the thrill of driving ,racing,hiding and lots of action . it has a good gameplay and the lot is awesome . one has to become the most wanted racer in the rockport city.some racers are our friends others are up to maintain there blacklist ranking . the role of police department of the great city is mind blowing the police pursuits are the one which increases ones dricing skills .the game is well brought by EA and it deserves a salute the starting and the ending of the game is well planned . overall it is fun to play and one must have it . Expand
  55. May 29, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Need For Speed Most Wanted is in my opinion the best Need For Speed game with excellent graphics that have aged a decade well, lots of crazy f***ing s*** with the police, and an excellent story where character development is deep. Even though NFS 2015 is my favorite game in the franchise, I don't think it could beat the classics.

    The game starts out with antagonist "Razor" who cheats and steals your car. In order to get your car back, you need to go through 14 other bosses in which you can take there car fair and square. Characters are in-depth and usually call you through SMS and FMV cutscenes. The game never feels repeatative and you always have something to do.
    Pros:
    Excellent Aged Graphics
    In-Depth Storyline
    Fun Driving
    Intense Police Chases
    Over the top action
    Just Plain Fun
    Expand
  56. Aug 26, 2015
    9
    In my opinion, this is the best Need for Speed to date. I had so much fun playing this, especially evading from the police. Sure, the cop AI is not the smartest and heat level 1 is just ridiculous, but things can get really interesting starting from heat level 3. Plethora of cop cars chasing you, i don't know, there's just something really fun and special about it. The racing is a blastIn my opinion, this is the best Need for Speed to date. I had so much fun playing this, especially evading from the police. Sure, the cop AI is not the smartest and heat level 1 is just ridiculous, but things can get really interesting starting from heat level 3. Plethora of cop cars chasing you, i don't know, there's just something really fun and special about it. The racing is a blast too, especially speedtrap, the new game mode. Sadly drift, street x, URL and outrun modes are gone, but the new speedtrap mode and challenge series mode will pretty much back it up. The challenge series is a nice addition, by the way. Complete all the challenges and you will get a nice 911 and a smoking SL65. Now, the customisation. Yes, all the neons, spinners, doors are gone, but there is still a decent list of customisation options. Also, have i mentioned how beautiful this game is? The game looks great!

    That is pretty much it. Great game which can definitely be considered as a classic. Black Box at it's finest.
    Expand
  57. Nov 17, 2015
    10
    Best game in Need For Speed series. All is perfect. The atmosphere of story is the best in the series.
    This game will be never dead because of mods. Most Wanted is worth every money.
  58. Jan 7, 2016
    9
    This game is one of the best racing game because atmosphere is amazing, graphics are better in 2005 games and gameplay is very good!
    My points:
    Gameplay: 8.9/10
    Graphics: 8.6/10
    Sounds: 8.3/10
    Atmosphere: 9.6/10
    _______________
    Game total point: 9.1/10
  59. Mar 27, 2016
    10
    Need for Speed Most Wanted (2005), junto con Underground 2, los considero los mejores de la saga. Si Underground 2 llegó a ser grandioso e incluso imposible de pensar que iba a haber algo mejor que eso, estábamos equivocados. Most Wanted trajo una jugabilidad más adictiva, junto con un motor gráfico renovado, un soundtrack genial, y lo mejor las carreras contra los jefes, aquellos queNeed for Speed Most Wanted (2005), junto con Underground 2, los considero los mejores de la saga. Si Underground 2 llegó a ser grandioso e incluso imposible de pensar que iba a haber algo mejor que eso, estábamos equivocados. Most Wanted trajo una jugabilidad más adictiva, junto con un motor gráfico renovado, un soundtrack genial, y lo mejor las carreras contra los jefes, aquellos que muestran ser imponentes a la hora de correr por las calles demostrando ver quién es el que manda. Uno de los mejores juegos de carreras que no te puedes perder. Expand
  60. Aug 3, 2016
    9
    Arguably the racing game that changed the era of racing video games.... amazing graphics, great story line, new concept ! Great game .... one of the very best at the time, and even as of now !
  61. Feb 15, 2013
    0
    The one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did itThe one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did it have to be rebooted its so stupid, but Im going to review the new Most Wanted soon. The fight between any NFS game for the title best NFS game are really 5 NFS (Carbon, Underground, Most Wanted, Hot Pursuit and NFS World) that's real stupid all of them are great except for World because, I'll review it soon so you will know why. NFS MW has great songs but as good as Underground 2. I will give Most Wanted, 10/10. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 85
    The stylistic presentation and graphic sensibilities are impressive, and they're complemented by excellent engine sound effects and smart cop chatter.
  2. 85
    The nod back to the cop chase mechanics of the Hot Pursuit games is certainly welcome, plus it's interesting to see that the vaunted "open" gameplay of the last two games has been dialed down by a more forcibly linear structure to keep things interesting.
  3. 90
    Making a name for youself by climbing the game's Black List, aka series of bad-ass mo-fos you must beat, is good fun.