User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 376 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 376

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    One of the classic racing games. This has everything going for it. Awesome police chases, a wide variety of cars (some of the best cars that you will ever see). The AI is good (Level 5 cops are good). This is one game which you can play over and over again and not get bored. I think this is the last NFS that I actually played as the ones after this were just not true to the NFS name. AnOne of the classic racing games. This has everything going for it. Awesome police chases, a wide variety of cars (some of the best cars that you will ever see). The AI is good (Level 5 cops are good). This is one game which you can play over and over again and not get bored. I think this is the last NFS that I actually played as the ones after this were just not true to the NFS name. An absolute must play if you like racing games. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car Selection In This Game Was Excellent .... I Cant Praise How Much I Love This Game .....No Other Need For Speed Game Has Come Even Close To Being Better Than Most Wanted .... And I Doubt There Ever Will ....
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Need for Speed at its best. Everything you could ever want is here. A decent backstory, lengthy singleplayer, free roam, cop chases (which are the best part of the game- very intense), challenges in the Black Edition, nice choice of cars, great soundtrack, beautiful graphics with very distinct and modern lighting, fun and arcade. You get deep visual customisation along with performanceNeed for Speed at its best. Everything you could ever want is here. A decent backstory, lengthy singleplayer, free roam, cop chases (which are the best part of the game- very intense), challenges in the Black Edition, nice choice of cars, great soundtrack, beautiful graphics with very distinct and modern lighting, fun and arcade. You get deep visual customisation along with performance upgrades and even some simple tuning on the go. Cars do feel very different and personal. Everything in this game is just solid gold. The events are varied and of just the right difficulty- especially the tollbooth ones where it can get intense trying to reach the last one with seconds to spare and cops on your tail. The length of events is perfect, the progression is well-paced. The city is large and very much suited to the kind of racing and cop chases you will engage in, with long highways, off-road shortcuts and tight city streets. Not only are the foundations solid, but everything in it is utilised and exploited to the fullest extent. Multiplayer is there too with a good range of game modes and stages. Controls work just as well on keyboard as they do on a controller. The sounds - everything from the engine, tyres and police radio and even voice acting - are imaculate. The only reason I can't give it a 10 out of 10 is because it doesn't do anything revolutionary or extraordinarily ahead of its time. It's a really well-made game for its time but nothing that's mind-blowing or unbelievable. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The best in the NFS series, great story and cast of characters, excellent graphics, and youre going to love the police pursuits.After playing NFS hot pursuit, Carbono, and the Run, Most Wanted beat'em all.
  5. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    This game is still the best NFS in the series and it's 7 years after its release. The storyline was extremely addictive, the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is just perfect. It has a nice variety of cars, that will lead you to #1. on the blacklist. Make sure to patch your game or else you'll suffer with the game crashing often and other issues. But otherwise is game is perfect! IThis game is still the best NFS in the series and it's 7 years after its release. The storyline was extremely addictive, the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is just perfect. It has a nice variety of cars, that will lead you to #1. on the blacklist. Make sure to patch your game or else you'll suffer with the game crashing often and other issues. But otherwise is game is perfect! I give it a 10. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This game is my favourite game. I think that it's the best game ever. Great graphics, great race and even
    great plot.................I have no words.........Just brilliant game!
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did itThe one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did it have to be rebooted its so stupid, but Im going to review the new Most Wanted soon. The fight between any NFS game for the title best NFS game are really 5 NFS (Carbon, Underground, Most Wanted, Hot Pursuit and NFS World) that's real stupid all of them are great except for World because, I'll review it soon so you will know why. NFS MW has great songs but as good as Underground 2. I will give Most Wanted, 10/10. Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Excellent ..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  9. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    really fun and BETTER THAN THE NEW MOST WANTED has great customiaztion and free roam also a very long game great cops aswell ONE OF THE GOAT GAMES everyone shuld play
  10. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Far superior to it's latest version by Criterion. Better story, better visuals even though the graphics are slightly weaker, full tuning, great variety of cars and more realism. It was just a perfect balance, although it could use a bit more realism in certain parts, this game cannot be classified as an arcade-racer unlike the utterly-rubbish Criterion version.
  11. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    This game is my childhood. Need for Speed Most Wanted is probably the best streetracing game I've ever played. It has good story, amazing gameplay, decent graphics by its release time, and great police mode. And we shouldn't forget the car customization, which in my opinion offers the best tuning options I've tried. Very nice.
  12. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    definitely the best pc arcade racing game of the last decade.

    superb car handling, wonderfully adjusted challenging competitors, a story that pumps you up and beautiful car selection.
  13. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I actually liked this game because it's all racing and stuff, but there are different reasons too. Cops are chasing you, you can race against bosses and you fight t[he way to get your car back. Beginning is kind of boring but the rest of the game is awesome! Also there are some areas you got to unlock liked in Need For Speed Underground and I like it. The only thing that I might not really like is that when you trying to get enough objectives complete and then you got to beat the boss, when you get to the top ten it's getting boring that you being chased by the cops and when you finally escape, you got to do it again because there are not enough points. Expand
  14. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    I remember the game its own story, not repeatable races. As well as a lovely atmosphere. However one of the best in the series. This superb unique colorful game deserves pohvolu and 10 points
  15. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    Good game different assortments with difficult pursuits and a solid black list challenge. Cars are varied, muscle cars, exotics and tuners, you can keep one for a long time as long as you keep upgrading it such as keeping a Punto near the end and changing it for something better since it lacks top speed without specific unique parts (called Junkman parts). The city is nicer than most otherGood game different assortments with difficult pursuits and a solid black list challenge. Cars are varied, muscle cars, exotics and tuners, you can keep one for a long time as long as you keep upgrading it such as keeping a Punto near the end and changing it for something better since it lacks top speed without specific unique parts (called Junkman parts). The city is nicer than most other NFS series and even than some more modern ones it's the same one used in part on NFSW and it helps to keep in mind about shortcuts and still I don't know everywhere yet. Daylight racing is specially interesting in compartison to the Underground series and it adds up with good graphics for it's age and are not too resource intensive. The pursuits are really difficult near the end with Spikestrips and Corvettes as pursuit vehicles. Expand
  16. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was the best need for speed out of all of them. the graphics amazing for a game made nine years ago and has a career mode that is simply outstanding. as well as the challenge series which includes a black edition heavy SUV police pursuit challenge where you have to outrun heavy SUVs whilst accumulating a bounty of over $500,000. when i tried it i accumulated a bounty of over $2,300,000.
    unfortunately it did not contain the Nissan skyline R34, one of my favourite cars from need for speed. so i could not give this a ten
    Expand
  17. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    One of the bests nfs, the history was really nice, the gameplay and graphics really good too, and who doesn't like the most epic car from nfs, the M3? It's just really nice, i really recommend it, if you're a fan from the nfs you will like this one.
  18. Sep 22, 2014
    9
    Need for Speed ​​Most Wanted is one of the best titles in the series, maybe even the best. An interesting story, great gameplay, honestly, what you want more? For me it is the best in the entire series. This game really worth playing.
  19. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Best NFS ever made! Great gameplay, music, choice of cars and tuning. Everything in this game is perfect. Thanks to cops, you can play this game for longer time, then underground 2. Only thing I dont like about this game, is that it should be longer, and have more cars :)
  20. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    I remember playing this game in 2005 as a 10 year old boy and loving everything about it:

    -soundtrack was AMAZING, best by far alongside Underground 2 -story might be simplistic by trying to be the best, but still was awesome and had intrigue early on and made you want to earn your BADASS BMW M3 back! -open world city to drive... NUF SAID! -cool customization and awesome rewards for
    I remember playing this game in 2005 as a 10 year old boy and loving everything about it:

    -soundtrack was AMAZING, best by far alongside Underground 2
    -story might be simplistic by trying to be the best, but still was awesome and had intrigue early on and made you want to earn your BADASS BMW M3 back!
    -open world city to drive... NUF SAID!
    -cool customization and awesome rewards for beating bosses... pink slips were the most awesome to get for the bosse's ride with its unique paintjob

    Simply put: THE BEST RACING GAME EVER all around!
    Expand
  21. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    This is Need For Speed at it´s best. Best part ever. The graphics are still good, even compared to new racing games because some new racing game graphics are surreal (too many annoying lights and stupid special effects). It could be a 10 of 10 but a little bit more of a simulation and less arcade racing would have been better.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 85
    The stylistic presentation and graphic sensibilities are impressive, and they're complemented by excellent engine sound effects and smart cop chatter.
  2. 85
    The nod back to the cop chase mechanics of the Hot Pursuit games is certainly welcome, plus it's interesting to see that the vaunted "open" gameplay of the last two games has been dialed down by a more forcibly linear structure to keep things interesting.
  3. 90
    Making a name for youself by climbing the game's Black List, aka series of bad-ass mo-fos you must beat, is good fun.