Need for Speed: Most Wanted PC

Need for Speed: Most Wanted Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 512 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Combining the thrill of illicit street racing and tuner customization with the intensity of strategic police pursuits that rivals any Hollywood-style chase scene, Need for Speed Most Wanted challenges players to become the most notorious and elusive street racer. Players instantly feel theCombining the thrill of illicit street racing and tuner customization with the intensity of strategic police pursuits that rivals any Hollywood-style chase scene, Need for Speed Most Wanted challenges players to become the most notorious and elusive street racer. Players instantly feel the thrill of the ride as they hit the streets in an open world environment where drivers can tune their cars to compete against any class of vehicles or use their wits to out-fox the law to satisfy their need for speed. Need for Speed Most Wanted delivers a unique, fast-paced and gripping ride in the racing genre as players build up their Rap Sheet and street cred to move their way up the Black List to become the most wanted racer on the streets. Players go head-to-head with the top drivers on the scene as well as strategically evade more than half dozen cops at any one time. Also included are a dynamic open world, new gameplay and customization as well as tuners, supercars, muscles and sports cars. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 90
    Making a name for youself by climbing the game's Black List, aka series of bad-ass mo-fos you must beat, is good fun.
  2. Computer Gaming World
    90
    Does Most Wanted feed my adrenaline addiction from start to finish? No - repetition, while unavoidable in a game ilke this, ultimately does in the game's ability to raise your blood pressure. But while it lasts...damn, it's good. [Feb 2006, p.80]
  3. PC Gamer
    86
    A superb arcade racer that's a feature or two away from greatness. [Feb 2006, p.88]
  4. Fantastic gameplay variety, and stunning graphics make this a worthwhile investment if you own a high-end PC.
  5. Most Wanted brings the police back in force, and the game benefits greatly from it.
  6. The addition of smart and relentless police pursuers has reinvigorated this popular driving series.
  7. games(TM)
    60
    It’s a nice, clean package that delivers enough hi-octane chases and enjoyment to warrant a purchase. [Christmas 2005, p.121]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 74
  2. Negative: 7 out of 74
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car Selection In This Game Was Excellent .... I Cant Praise How Much I Love This Game .....No Other Need For Speed Game Has Come Even Close To Being Better Than Most Wanted .... And I Doubt There Ever Will ....
    Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    This is the pinnacle of the NFS franchise, engaging story, awesome street fully customizable cars, the most beast music that's ever been putThis is the pinnacle of the NFS franchise, engaging story, awesome street fully customizable cars, the most beast music that's ever been put into a game, this is almost everything you ever wanted and loved from a NFS game.

    For your sake please do not play the 2012 version, play this instead, if you can get past the mediocre graphics it definitely beats the newer version in everything else by far. I've beaten it about 5 times and I still can't get enough of it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I actually liked this game because it's all racing and stuff, but there are different reasons too. Cops are chasing you, you can race against bosses and you fight t[he way to get your car back. Beginning is kind of boring but the rest of the game is awesome! Also there are some areas you got to unlock liked in Need For Speed Underground and I like it. The only thing that I might not really like is that when you trying to get enough objectives complete and then you got to beat the boss, when you get to the top ten it's getting boring that you being chased by the cops and when you finally escape, you got to do it again because there are not enough points. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Need for Speed at its best. Everything you could ever want is here. A decent backstory, lengthy singleplayer, free roam, cop chases (which areNeed for Speed at its best. Everything you could ever want is here. A decent backstory, lengthy singleplayer, free roam, cop chases (which are the best part of the game- very intense), challenges in the Black Edition, nice choice of cars, great soundtrack, beautiful graphics with very distinct and modern lighting, fun and arcade. You get deep visual customisation along with performance upgrades and even some simple tuning on the go. Cars do feel very different and personal. Everything in this game is just solid gold. The events are varied and of just the right difficulty- especially the tollbooth ones where it can get intense trying to reach the last one with seconds to spare and cops on your tail. The length of events is perfect, the progression is well-paced. The city is large and very much suited to the kind of racing and cop chases you will engage in, with long highways, off-road shortcuts and tight city streets. Not only are the foundations solid, but everything in it is utilised and exploited to the fullest extent. Multiplayer is there too with a good range of game modes and stages. Controls work just as well on keyboard as they do on a controller. The sounds - everything from the engine, tyres and police radio and even voice acting - are imaculate. The only reason I can't give it a 10 out of 10 is because it doesn't do anything revolutionary or extraordinarily ahead of its time. It's a really well-made game for its time but nothing that's mind-blowing or unbelievable. Expand
  5. rafalmadajczak
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    Is it better than NFSU2? The better: you dont have to buy all the tuning pieces to advance in the plot(bye, bye self-spinnig rims!), theIs it better than NFSU2? The better: you dont have to buy all the tuning pieces to advance in the plot(bye, bye self-spinnig rims!), the police(if only EA let us drive the law enforcers...) and the city. The same ol' genius: engine sound, the pure pleasure of driving, mazda rx-8:D. The worse: no drifts(even as a quick race option), no urls at the airport, worse soundtrack(remember qotsa before- release single?). All-in-alli its slightly diifferent but the series doesnt lose its greatness.You'll love it. Watch for my black two-striped audi a4 in the net racing! You'll hate it:D Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    There are many features that interesting for me. Moderate excellent cars, hard pursuit and moderate tuning feature, which the custom of carsThere are many features that interesting for me. Moderate excellent cars, hard pursuit and moderate tuning feature, which the custom of cars is not hard. But it has medium graphics, bad song and long circuit track that can worst a lot of time. Expand
  7. TylerM.
    Nov 28, 2005
    1
    The only inovation in this game is the graphics. Everything else is a step in the wrong direction. In my opinion, games should be moving The only inovation in this game is the graphics. Everything else is a step in the wrong direction. In my opinion, games should be moving towards unlimited possibilities, not linear racing with almost no exploration. The gameplay is very limited, the racing feels sticky. Reminds me of Rad Racer.... If all you care about is graphics, this is the game for you. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews