Need for Speed: Most Wanted Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Combining the thrill of illicit street racing and tuner customization with the intensity of strategic police pursuits that rivals any Hollywood-style chase scene, Need for Speed Most Wanted challenges players to become the most notorious and elusive street racer. Players instantly feel theCombining the thrill of illicit street racing and tuner customization with the intensity of strategic police pursuits that rivals any Hollywood-style chase scene, Need for Speed Most Wanted challenges players to become the most notorious and elusive street racer. Players instantly feel the thrill of the ride as they hit the streets in an open world environment where drivers can tune their cars to compete against any class of vehicles or use their wits to out-fox the law to satisfy their need for speed. Need for Speed Most Wanted delivers a unique, fast-paced and gripping ride in the racing genre as players build up their Rap Sheet and street cred to move their way up the Black List to become the most wanted racer on the streets. Players go head-to-head with the top drivers on the scene as well as strategically evade more than half dozen cops at any one time. Also included are a dynamic open world, new gameplay and customization as well as tuners, supercars, muscles and sports cars. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. It's safe to say that NFS: Most Wanted is perfectly balanced between real-life steering and physics and arcade-style handling.
  2. Does Most Wanted feed my adrenaline addiction from start to finish? No - repetition, while unavoidable in a game ilke this, ultimately does in the game's ability to raise your blood pressure. But while it lasts...damn, it's good. [Feb 2006, p.80]
  3. A superb arcade racer that's a feature or two away from greatness. [Feb 2006, p.88]
  4. Fantastic gameplay variety, and stunning graphics make this a worthwhile investment if you own a high-end PC.
  5. A decent enough racing experience. The police chases are excellent fun, but where is the proper civilian traffic? [Dec 2005]
  6. 80
    Pulse-pounding car chases, lighting-fast races, and a beautifully crafted game world.
  7. It’s a nice, clean package that delivers enough hi-octane chases and enjoyment to warrant a purchase. [Christmas 2005, p.121]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Far superior to it's latest version by Criterion. Better story, better visuals even though the graphics are slightly weaker, full tuning,Far superior to it's latest version by Criterion. Better story, better visuals even though the graphics are slightly weaker, full tuning, great variety of cars and more realism. It was just a perfect balance, although it could use a bit more realism in certain parts, this game cannot be classified as an arcade-racer unlike the utterly-rubbish Criterion version. Expand
  2. MurtazaM.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Hey I have a lot to praise bout this game this is a mind-blowing game and actually it is better than any other games I've ever played Hey I have a lot to praise bout this game this is a mind-blowing game and actually it is better than any other games I've ever played in this game the most exciting thing ever is the cop chase n remember I've already finished the whole game including completion of the blacklist,the challenger series including the special black edition challenge more than that I've even played nfs carbon but this one seems to be better than that one yeah. My most favorite thing in the game is ramming the road-block and spike-strip cars cutting corners and everything.this game has everything a racing game needs none of a game neither any GTA game is better than this one this game took me a month to finish. Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car Selection In This Game Was Excellent .... I Cant Praise How Much I Love This Game .....No Other Need For Speed Game Has Come Even Close To Being Better Than Most Wanted .... And I Doubt There Ever Will ....
    Expand
  4. MarkS.
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    I have played all of the NFS games and this one is certainly the best of the lot. In the previous games I usually just played the "Quick I have played all of the NFS games and this one is certainly the best of the lot. In the previous games I usually just played the "Quick Race" feature. I did try the career mode some, but it was not as addictive as Most Wanted. My progression in Quake 4 has slowed considerabley since buying this game. I just keep wanting to play NFSMW. Expand
  5. PetarP
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    Most Wanted brings you the most action-packed street racing ever! Full of cops that are always on your trail and that darn Sgt. Cross! MW Most Wanted brings you the most action-packed street racing ever! Full of cops that are always on your trail and that darn Sgt. Cross! MW brings sleek graphics and the gameplay is excellent. You can roam in an open world and speed like mad. The tracks are great. There are some tricky ones which need a little strategy but that's a good part of the game. The selection of cars is wonderful. From your average Fiat Punto to a supercharged Porsche 911 Turbo! The blacklist is an exotic part of the game. 15 street racing maniacs to take down, top on the list being Razor - some dude who hijacked your BMW M3 GTR. The feel of speed is also magnificent. You can reach over 220 MPH while free roaming. The tollbooth races are also well done. The whole feel of racing against time... The only thing is how tracks can get repetitive and the police... VERY frustrating once you get to Razor... or Bull (sort of). But once you get to Razor, trust me, the police are gonna become extremely aggressive. I gave up on beating MW because of it. I only have one damn milestone left but I can't complete it due to police difficulty. Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    In Need For Speed Most Wanted like in previous two games you will be a street racer. But this time you will be an agent that turns into streetIn Need For Speed Most Wanted like in previous two games you will be a street racer. But this time you will be an agent that turns into street racer. You will have a solid, quite big free roam. Your guide through the game will be Mia and Razor, the bad one who is just frightening you. There are some faster cars than the previous two games. The graphics are quite good. You have to defeat all 15 blacklist members, the first ones are easy to defeat but the later ones are harder to beat. Sadly though tuning is a bit worse than Need For Speed Underground 2. In this game there is police too. Someone will like it and someone not. Story is good and easy to understand. There are some cut scenes in this game but many of you wanted more of them. But this game is quite good and everyone who likes fast driving and police chases on the streets, this game is for you. Expand
  7. TylerM.
    Nov 28, 2005
    1
    The only inovation in this game is the graphics. Everything else is a step in the wrong direction. In my opinion, games should be moving The only inovation in this game is the graphics. Everything else is a step in the wrong direction. In my opinion, games should be moving towards unlimited possibilities, not linear racing with almost no exploration. The gameplay is very limited, the racing feels sticky. Reminds me of Rad Racer.... If all you care about is graphics, this is the game for you. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews