Need for Speed: Most Wanted PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 558 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 558
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car Selection In This Game Was Excellent .... I Cant Praise How Much I Love This Game .....No Other Need For Speed Game Has Come Even Close To Being Better Than Most Wanted .... And I Doubt There Ever Will ....
  2. KDep
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    Fantastic! This game is the best of NFS Underground 2 plus a bunch of new material. I love this game so far and I can't see an end in sight. The visuals are amazing, the music is great, and the cars sound very nice.
    I highly recommend picking up this game, it's worth the price. There's a lot of gameplay for the price. Great value.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The best in the NFS series, great story and cast of characters, excellent graphics, and youre going to love the police pursuits.After playing NFS hot pursuit, Carbono, and the Run, Most Wanted beat'em all.
  4. AnsonG.
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    What is there you don't like this game? All the racing scenes are cool. Well I have finished all the career and challenge race. At least the programmers has added the police pursuit, thanks to that spectular. Its very fun if u are in chase by police but i prefer the most difficult. Well, as for tuning shop u can buy the performance in order to upgrade and parts to customize your car What is there you don't like this game? All the racing scenes are cool. Well I have finished all the career and challenge race. At least the programmers has added the police pursuit, thanks to that spectular. Its very fun if u are in chase by police but i prefer the most difficult. Well, as for tuning shop u can buy the performance in order to upgrade and parts to customize your car series. As for car shop, u can buy car u like, the choice is yours. So if enjoy the NFS series, u wont have any problem but playing this game. Trust me, u be glad if u did. Expand
  5. PetarP
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    Most Wanted brings you the most action-packed street racing ever! Full of cops that are always on your trail and that darn Sgt. Cross! MW brings sleek graphics and the gameplay is excellent. You can roam in an open world and speed like mad. The tracks are great. There are some tricky ones which need a little strategy but that's a good part of the game. The selection of cars is Most Wanted brings you the most action-packed street racing ever! Full of cops that are always on your trail and that darn Sgt. Cross! MW brings sleek graphics and the gameplay is excellent. You can roam in an open world and speed like mad. The tracks are great. There are some tricky ones which need a little strategy but that's a good part of the game. The selection of cars is wonderful. From your average Fiat Punto to a supercharged Porsche 911 Turbo! The blacklist is an exotic part of the game. 15 street racing maniacs to take down, top on the list being Razor - some dude who hijacked your BMW M3 GTR. The feel of speed is also magnificent. You can reach over 220 MPH while free roaming. The tollbooth races are also well done. The whole feel of racing against time... The only thing is how tracks can get repetitive and the police... VERY frustrating once you get to Razor... or Bull (sort of). But once you get to Razor, trust me, the police are gonna become extremely aggressive. I gave up on beating MW because of it. I only have one damn milestone left but I can't complete it due to police difficulty. Expand
  6. Sp3d2Ahmad
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    if u hate this game that's man u r loser.Its not about u r driving Lamborghini and cannot keep up with fiat,it is because your driving skill is worst!
  7. Mykal
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    WOW! Some of the bad reviews make me wonder if we're playing the same game... Linear-nope, you
  8. MarkS.
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    I have played all of the NFS games and this one is certainly the best of the lot. In the previous games I usually just played the "Quick Race" feature. I did try the career mode some, but it was not as addictive as Most Wanted. My progression in Quake 4 has slowed considerabley since buying this game. I just keep wanting to play NFSMW.
  9. JonathanA.
    Jan 18, 2006
    7
    The game is overall fun, yet you find yourself wanting to pick up the keyboard and hitting against the monitor when those dumb SUV's come head on and bust you eeevverrry frickin' time only to replay the event that took over an hour to accomplish... thanks EA for those SUV's. Good luck if you have a heat rating of 3 or higher... geesh. Also... there must be about a thousand The game is overall fun, yet you find yourself wanting to pick up the keyboard and hitting against the monitor when those dumb SUV's come head on and bust you eeevverrry frickin' time only to replay the event that took over an hour to accomplish... thanks EA for those SUV's. Good luck if you have a heat rating of 3 or higher... geesh. Also... there must be about a thousand or so styles of rims, but there's only 10 nice ones to choose from. I'm only half way through the game and i've gotten frustrated to the point where i don't want to play no more... pretty sad. Oh yeah, and the acting is pretty corny as stated in a previous review. Overall great graphics, a good story, a C+ on the physics. Expand
  10. MurtazaM.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Hey I have a lot to praise bout this game this is a mind-blowing game and actually it is better than any other games I've ever played in this game the most exciting thing ever is the cop chase n remember I've already finished the whole game including completion of the blacklist,the challenger series including the special black edition challenge more than that I've even Hey I have a lot to praise bout this game this is a mind-blowing game and actually it is better than any other games I've ever played in this game the most exciting thing ever is the cop chase n remember I've already finished the whole game including completion of the blacklist,the challenger series including the special black edition challenge more than that I've even played nfs carbon but this one seems to be better than that one yeah. My most favorite thing in the game is ramming the road-block and spike-strip cars cutting corners and everything.this game has everything a racing game needs none of a game neither any GTA game is better than this one this game took me a month to finish. Expand
  11. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    This game was one of the first I got on my PS2 and I still play it today.

    The open world is incredibly varied and really fun to just explore. The police chases get so intense but you can nearly always escape and not get caught. The car selection is great and the storyline is actually quite engrossing for a racing game and compared to Criterion's most recent version of the game which
    This game was one of the first I got on my PS2 and I still play it today.

    The open world is incredibly varied and really fun to just explore. The police chases get so intense but you can nearly always escape and not get caught. The car selection is great and the storyline is actually quite engrossing for a racing game and compared to Criterion's most recent version of the game which doesn't even have a storyline!

    Yes the physics could be better but to be honest when you're having as much fun as I usually have playing it you don't care about that.
    Expand
  12. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted is by no means a bad game, but it doesn't necessarily bring anything new to the table in terms of racing games. The gameplay is much less repetitive than any other racing game I've played to date, and the gameplay is much tougher than most racing games (due to the inability to hit civilian cars). It's purely fun, with good customization and fun racing. It'sNeed for Speed: Most Wanted is by no means a bad game, but it doesn't necessarily bring anything new to the table in terms of racing games. The gameplay is much less repetitive than any other racing game I've played to date, and the gameplay is much tougher than most racing games (due to the inability to hit civilian cars). It's purely fun, with good customization and fun racing. It's worth the time to check it out. Expand
  13. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    really fun and BETTER THAN THE NEW MOST WANTED has great customiaztion and free roam also a very long game great cops aswell ONE OF THE GOAT GAMES everyone shuld play
  14. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    definitely the best pc arcade racing game of the last decade.

    superb car handling, wonderfully adjusted challenging competitors, a story that pumps you up and beautiful car selection.
  15. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    I remember the game its own story, not repeatable races. As well as a lovely atmosphere. However one of the best in the series. This superb unique colorful game deserves pohvolu and 10 points
  16. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was the best need for speed out of all of them. the graphics amazing for a game made nine years ago and has a career mode that is simply outstanding. as well as the challenge series which includes a black edition heavy SUV police pursuit challenge where you have to outrun heavy SUVs whilst accumulating a bounty of over $500,000. when i tried it i accumulated a bounty of over $2,300,000.
    unfortunately it did not contain the Nissan skyline R34, one of my favourite cars from need for speed. so i could not give this a ten
    Expand
  17. Apr 20, 2017
    9
    This is, in my opinion, the greatest racing game ever made. Does it have the biggest number of cars? No. The best graphics of its time? No. The best multiplayer mode? No. Is it the most realistic driving experience ever? Of course not. But I'll tell you what NFS Most Wanted does have: Perfect arcade driving physics, an incredibly addictive progression system, an actually engaging storyThis is, in my opinion, the greatest racing game ever made. Does it have the biggest number of cars? No. The best graphics of its time? No. The best multiplayer mode? No. Is it the most realistic driving experience ever? Of course not. But I'll tell you what NFS Most Wanted does have: Perfect arcade driving physics, an incredibly addictive progression system, an actually engaging story (unlike most of the NFSs) with actual characters, tremendous sense of speed, and very nice aesthetics (visuals and music). I played this game to no end when I was a kid, and ten years later, it still holds out to me as a superb arcade racing game.

    Your illegal street racing rival, Razor, has challenged you to a race and set you a trap, and earned your awesome BMW M3 E46. Now it's up to you to climb to the top of the Blacklist and earn your 'Most Wanted' title and your car back. The Blacklist consist of the 15 most wanted pilots in Rockport, and each of them is a decently well portraited character, as well as obviously a boss you have to race. But in order to do so, you'll have complete a minimum amount of trials, which range from normal races, to timed races, drag races, and my favorite of the bunch: radar races, where you need to pass through radars at the maximum speed possible.

    And then there's Most Wanted greatest aspect: police chases. These are a total blast to play. It starts out as a simple 3 vs 1 chase, but as time goes on, you'll be chased by an army of police Corvettes, helicopters, heavy SUVs and more. This pursuits are truly epic, and many trials involve things such as causing as much damage as possible, or involving the biggest amount of units before escaping, or other interesting challenges that keep police chases always entertaining.

    The car customization isn't as deep as it was in Underground 2, but it's still enough to make cool looiking cars without complications. The variety of cars is ok in my opinion. The game has also other modes apart from the main story, such as a Challenge Series and online races. It's a shame it didn't include local multiplayer of any type....

    The aesthetic aspect of Most Wanted is well rounded overall. The visuals have a particular tone/aura that I like a lot. The cutscenes are a bit cheesy, but very enjoyable and well done. The Blacklist pilot's introduction scenes are particularly memorable. Most of the people will probably be indifferent towards the soundtrack, but I personally love it, mainly because of nostalgia. But that doesn't mean there aren't great songs. Doing the final race against Razor with Blinded in Chains in the background is epic as ****

    So overall, Most Wanted is an incredibly solid arcade racing game. The progression system of taking each Blacklist pilot one by one is incredibly addictive, and police chases are pure epicness and fun. To me, this is the greatest Need for Speed by far. I simply can't recommend it enough, If you want a fantastic racing game, you'll enjoy Most Wanted a lot.

    Score: 9.3
    Expand
  18. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    Need for Speed ​​Most Wanted is one of the best titles in the series, maybe even the best. An interesting story, great gameplay, honestly, what you want more? For me it is the best in the entire series. This game really worth playing.
  19. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Best NFS ever made! Great gameplay, music, choice of cars and tuning. Everything in this game is perfect. Thanks to cops, you can play this game for longer time, then underground 2. Only thing I dont like about this game, is that it should be longer, and have more cars :)
  20. Feb 29, 2016
    8
    If I remember correctly by the time the beginning of games that truly gave you opportunity to move freely throughout huge areas in first person. Simple and pleasurable gameplay targeted to simply chill and relax. By the time, enough.
  21. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did itThe one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did it have to be rebooted its so stupid, but Im going to review the new Most Wanted soon. The fight between any NFS game for the title best NFS game are really 5 NFS (Carbon, Underground, Most Wanted, Hot Pursuit and NFS World) that's real stupid all of them are great except for World because, I'll review it soon so you will know why. NFS MW has great songs but as good as Underground 2. I will give Most Wanted, 10/10. Expand
  22. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Excellent ..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  23. rafalmadajczak
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    Is it better than NFSU2? The better: you dont have to buy all the tuning pieces to advance in the plot(bye, bye self-spinnig rims!), the police(if only EA let us drive the law enforcers...) and the city. The same ol' genius: engine sound, the pure pleasure of driving, mazda rx-8:D. The worse: no drifts(even as a quick race option), no urls at the airport, worse soundtrack(rememberIs it better than NFSU2? The better: you dont have to buy all the tuning pieces to advance in the plot(bye, bye self-spinnig rims!), the police(if only EA let us drive the law enforcers...) and the city. The same ol' genius: engine sound, the pure pleasure of driving, mazda rx-8:D. The worse: no drifts(even as a quick race option), no urls at the airport, worse soundtrack(remember qotsa before- release single?). All-in-alli its slightly diifferent but the series doesnt lose its greatness.You'll love it. Watch for my black two-striped audi a4 in the net racing! You'll hate it:D Expand
  24. JohnQ.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    This game is one of my personal favorites. The high speed police chases, the blacklist racers, and those phycho pathic taxi drivers that always seem to screw up a race for me >:( . A very good game... Most people say you can't disable the high speed blur thing, but you can. I forget how but its disabled for me and i can play fine.
  25. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    My review went to the wrong game, please ignore my mistake as I was intending to review the 2012 edition of Need for Speed: Most Wanted the one by Criterion Studios.
  26. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I actually liked this game because it's all racing and stuff, but there are different reasons too. Cops are chasing you, you can race against bosses and you fight t[he way to get your car back. Beginning is kind of boring but the rest of the game is awesome! Also there are some areas you got to unlock liked in Need For Speed Underground and I like it. The only thing that I might not really like is that when you trying to get enough objectives complete and then you got to beat the boss, when you get to the top ten it's getting boring that you being chased by the cops and when you finally escape, you got to do it again because there are not enough points. Expand
  27. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    and the best NFL game What have played so far and ums first games I played in my life until now play this wonderful game my god without comments highly recommend
  28. Feb 17, 2016
    10
    One of the best games in the franchise. The OST is impeccable, combines with the game. And the storyline ... Perfect!
    Missed more customization that Underground 2 brought to us, but it is not remarkable, since the game is more focused on pursuit. The fact that you have to gain levels (each challenger on the blacklist) binds you to the game, and it does not make it boring. It's not the
    One of the best games in the franchise. The OST is impeccable, combines with the game. And the storyline ... Perfect!
    Missed more customization that Underground 2 brought to us, but it is not remarkable, since the game is more focused on pursuit. The fact that you have to gain levels (each challenger on the blacklist) binds you to the game, and it does not make it boring. It's not the same thing from start to finish...

    At each level, more best cars, tighter pursuits and the feeling of having the revenge against the guy who took your car. Sensational.
    Expand
  29. Jul 11, 2012
    4
    The reborn of the worst NFS! Again, only it's musics are great. Good graphics, no physics (not as bad in Underground), the cars are good, fair controlling (not always), almost always the same "tracks" (not as bad in Underground), the cops are weak and idiot until phase number 4, then they are strong like Duke Nukem, irritating traffic, bad and cheating AI. Not as bad as NFS:U, but it's notThe reborn of the worst NFS! Again, only it's musics are great. Good graphics, no physics (not as bad in Underground), the cars are good, fair controlling (not always), almost always the same "tracks" (not as bad in Underground), the cops are weak and idiot until phase number 4, then they are strong like Duke Nukem, irritating traffic, bad and cheating AI. Not as bad as NFS:U, but it's not a good racing game. Expand
  30. Figura
    Dec 7, 2005
    1
    Ugly graphics, non-physics racing, no AI, no innovation, bored programmers, bad port, no excitement. Strictly for under 18's with skin problems and no driving (or any mature) experience! EA buying all crap online game websites again :((
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 85
    The stylistic presentation and graphic sensibilities are impressive, and they're complemented by excellent engine sound effects and smart cop chatter.
  2. 85
    The nod back to the cop chase mechanics of the Hot Pursuit games is certainly welcome, plus it's interesting to see that the vaunted "open" gameplay of the last two games has been dialed down by a more forcibly linear structure to keep things interesting.
  3. 90
    Making a name for youself by climbing the game's Black List, aka series of bad-ass mo-fos you must beat, is good fun.