Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own setWelcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    85
    Need For Speed ​​Rivals is fast-paced, convincing and fun above all. AllDrive beats down barriers between online and offline once and for all but the 30 FPS anchorage on PC would not be good for enthusiasts.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    85
    A scintillating return to form that's all style...and no little substance. Blistering arcade racing. [Jan 2014, p.76]
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Rivals is a good street racer that adrenalizes again the Hot Pursuit brand with ludicrous speed and beautiful landscapes. The 30 FPS limitation on the PC screams revenge nonetheless.
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun and enjoyable racing game that sports really nice looking visuals and a strong multiplayer mode. There's nothing really new and incredibly exciting, but everything works fine.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    79
    The good news: Rivals tops The Run and Most Wanted. The bad news: Rivals does not live up to the great Need for Speed legacy. If you are playing solo, racing Redview County is fun for a few hours, but the longer you play, the more repetitive and boring the gameplay gets.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    It's most certainly a launch title racer and it's not doing much to rectify that. I'm reminded of the limited scope of Motorstorm as a launch racer for PS3. Like Motorstorm, however, the core Gameplay is solid enough to earn a recommendation to NFS fans.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    Simply put, while Rivals can be fun with the right people and in the right doses on the right platforms, it is very poorly suited to PC gaming.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 132
  2. Negative: 95 out of 132
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most WantedThis game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most Wanted should have been. Handling has improved, more customization options than ever before, and the multiplayer (which, is basically the whole game considering you're always connected to other people) is innovative and fun. Being able to race other players with the press of a single button is awesome, and the presence of player cops will always keep you on your toes (haven't tried the cop career yet, though I imagine it's a blast taking everyone's speed points).

    Only negative is the game isn't amazingly optimized for the PC. I have a few hiccups while running it (though, for comparison, I have none at all while running Battlefield 4).

    This game was a great buy with the $10 off code from McDonald's for Origin. There is plenty of content and replay value to be worth $40 over and over again.
    Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    This game is fun to play if you like goofing around in the world map. The career modes are a bit of a challenge, but do not take too long toThis game is fun to play if you like goofing around in the world map. The career modes are a bit of a challenge, but do not take too long to complete. I choose to play in single-player mode because when the game is in online mode, the server keeps resetting during gameplay, which takes away from the multiplayer experience. But it's quite entertaining to play as a cop and take down racers at your own leisure. I can run the game properly by running in single-player mode, disabling Origin In Game, and unlocking the frame rate using a command prompt. I can now run the game at 60 fps maxed at 2560x1440 resolution. My PC is running an Intel Core i7 @ 4.4 GHz and a GTX 970 and it does not break out a sweat running this game on those settings. Nice game to play once you configure it to run properly, but Ghost Games could have put a little more effort into the career modes. But overall, a solid game. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    No Steering wheel support is the clincher for me. You can't seriously enjoy a driving game with out a wheel IMO. The new PS4 controller feelsNo Steering wheel support is the clincher for me. You can't seriously enjoy a driving game with out a wheel IMO. The new PS4 controller feels a bit sluggish to me. A good race car should have tight, precise steering. But the controller seems to float a bit like a boat with some cars.
    I have played through both story lines and think NFS:R could be an awesome game were it not for the No Wheel Support issue.
    The graphics and cars are great with minimal lag issues. Physics are totally arcade but many people like that. It is quicker to drift a tight hairpin at 220 kph than to brake and corner like a simulator. Unrealistic but fun all the same.
    You will finish the story and even unlock the Platinum trophy pretty quickly. The real fun is PVP taking down other Players, especially hunting in a pack with friends. Although you will search a bit as there are only 6 people allowed per session, but you can quick travel to any event/base once you have located your prey on the world map.
    I would give this game an 7 if there was Wheel support, so until then it gets a 5.
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2013
    1
    I have no idea what EA were thinking making this game. Fixed 30 fps and no joy-pad (apart from Xbox controller) or wheel support is enough toI have no idea what EA were thinking making this game. Fixed 30 fps and no joy-pad (apart from Xbox controller) or wheel support is enough to say that the game gets disqualified for me. There are much more negatives, but these two are enough to say a big NO! There are better racing games to waste my time with. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    This game is unplayable on pc and the developers ghost whatever refuses to acknowledge that there is even a problem. They say 30fps is idealThis game is unplayable on pc and the developers ghost whatever refuses to acknowledge that there is even a problem. They say 30fps is ideal for gameplay and looks beautiful but they dont even mention that if your computer gets more or less than 30fps the game speeds up or slows down and is impossible to play Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    30 fps lock year 2013? And how hard would it be to fix so we could use a fu**ing mouse in the game. I'm sick of EA treating PC-players like30 fps lock year 2013? And how hard would it be to fix so we could use a fu**ing mouse in the game. I'm sick of EA treating PC-players like crap.

    Do not buy this game!
    Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    30fps do not buy do not buy do not buy do not buy
    nice graphic, nice game play, nice car
    BUT!!! BUT!!! pc 30 fps stupid mind 30fps do
    30fps do not buy do not buy do not buy do not buy
    nice graphic, nice game play, nice car
    BUT!!! BUT!!! pc 30 fps stupid mind
    30fps do not buy do not buy do not buy do not buy
    Expand

See all 132 User Reviews