Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 498 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own setWelcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    85
    Need For Speed ​​Rivals is fast-paced, convincing and fun above all. AllDrive beats down barriers between online and offline once and for all but the 30 FPS anchorage on PC would not be good for enthusiasts.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    85
    A scintillating return to form that's all style...and no little substance. Blistering arcade racing. [Jan 2014, p.76]
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Rivals is a good street racer that adrenalizes again the Hot Pursuit brand with ludicrous speed and beautiful landscapes. The 30 FPS limitation on the PC screams revenge nonetheless.
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun and enjoyable racing game that sports really nice looking visuals and a strong multiplayer mode. There's nothing really new and incredibly exciting, but everything works fine.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    79
    The good news: Rivals tops The Run and Most Wanted. The bad news: Rivals does not live up to the great Need for Speed legacy. If you are playing solo, racing Redview County is fun for a few hours, but the longer you play, the more repetitive and boring the gameplay gets.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    It's most certainly a launch title racer and it's not doing much to rectify that. I'm reminded of the limited scope of Motorstorm as a launch racer for PS3. Like Motorstorm, however, the core Gameplay is solid enough to earn a recommendation to NFS fans.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    Simply put, while Rivals can be fun with the right people and in the right doses on the right platforms, it is very poorly suited to PC gaming.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 138
  2. Negative: 99 out of 138
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most WantedThis game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most Wanted should have been. Handling has improved, more customization options than ever before, and the multiplayer (which, is basically the whole game considering you're always connected to other people) is innovative and fun. Being able to race other players with the press of a single button is awesome, and the presence of player cops will always keep you on your toes (haven't tried the cop career yet, though I imagine it's a blast taking everyone's speed points).

    Only negative is the game isn't amazingly optimized for the PC. I have a few hiccups while running it (though, for comparison, I have none at all while running Battlefield 4).

    This game was a great buy with the $10 off code from McDonald's for Origin. There is plenty of content and replay value to be worth $40 over and over again.
    Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    This game is fun to play if you like goofing around in the world map. The career modes are a bit of a challenge, but do not take too long toThis game is fun to play if you like goofing around in the world map. The career modes are a bit of a challenge, but do not take too long to complete. I choose to play in single-player mode because when the game is in online mode, the server keeps resetting during gameplay, which takes away from the multiplayer experience. But it's quite entertaining to play as a cop and take down racers at your own leisure. I can run the game properly by running in single-player mode, disabling Origin In Game, and unlocking the frame rate using a command prompt. I can now run the game at 60 fps maxed at 2560x1440 resolution. My PC is running an Intel Core i7 @ 4.4 GHz and a GTX 970 and it does not break out a sweat running this game on those settings. Nice game to play once you configure it to run properly, but Ghost Games could have put a little more effort into the career modes. But overall, a solid game. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2015
    5
    First off i find it utterly retarded that you are not able to pause the game, even though you are playing single player. This is for 2First off i find it utterly retarded that you are not able to pause the game, even though you are playing single player. This is for 2 reasons. First off you wont be able to leave your computer unless you're in a hideout or ready to throw away your bounty, because even if you're not in a pursuit trying to escape from the cops, they will still try to take you out if they drive by you, even when you're not moving. Secondly, you are not able to mark a route to either a hideout (to bank your money), or a garage to fix your vehicle while you're in a pursuit. This is really damn annoying because the cops can wreck you hella fast, and you can do nothing but hope that your drive by a garage to fix your vehicle. You can see the nearest garage on your map, however you cannot see what road to take in order to get down there.
    When this has been said, i find most of the reviewers in here to be crybabies and give the game a way lower score than it deserves for stupid reasons. This game have some problems of course, like any other game, specially when they're from EA. I wouldn't pay the release price for this game either, but i picked the game up for €8 and i find it to be worth my money for sure.
    This game reminds me a lot about Hot Pursuit in many ways; Controls, Racer+Cop Campaign, and the landscape in general. Only this games also have Car upgrades which was one of the only things i REALLY missed in Hot Pursuit.
    Not the best Racing Game ever, but indeed very decent - A well deserved 7/10!
    Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    1
    Fun game, unless you want the multiplayer experience they think exists. AllDrive is a useless feature in a "world" that features only 6 otherFun game, unless you want the multiplayer experience they think exists. AllDrive is a useless feature in a "world" that features only 6 other real drivers (which might be great for console).. which you would think would mean no lag, but with no server choice, you just get player cars that teleport everywhere. The game might as well be offline and single player. Playing with friends is ok, but not when you're up against jerky opponents who can go into a hideout with cops all over them, or just benefit from a random server migration.

    That on top of all the other issues... It's another good concept that has be killed by EA's laziness.
    Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    First, dont buy it, is a very bad port!
    Second, how can I buy a racing game that dont have 2 players split screen? I have to buy 2 consoles
    First, dont buy it, is a very bad port!
    Second, how can I buy a racing game that dont have 2 players split screen? I have to buy 2 consoles and 2 games to play with my brother?

    Is that it? REALLY? These developers, they've been much better, long time ago.

    Today we live on a very ironic time, you can use 4 joysticks, but even a racing game allows play with 2.

    EA GO HOME, YOU ARE DRUNK.
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    I have a sad news for every fans of NFS series.

    As of 2013, gaming technology is still not yet advanced enough. Therefore, there is neither
    I have a sad news for every fans of NFS series.

    As of 2013, gaming technology is still not yet advanced enough. Therefore, there is neither game pause nor race restart available in this game.

    We have to wait with patience in the hope that a game with such functions DOES exist in future.

    But wait, do such functions exist in the previous installment?
    Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    Capping the framerate to 30fps on PC is beyond ridiculous! The whole point of a racing game like NFS is playing it at ultra smooth framerates.Capping the framerate to 30fps on PC is beyond ridiculous! The whole point of a racing game like NFS is playing it at ultra smooth framerates. Once again PC gamers are being neglected with this pathetic console port. So until EA fixes this my rating will stay 0... Expand

See all 138 User Reviews