Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 444 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    85
    Need For Speed ​​Rivals is fast-paced, convincing and fun above all. AllDrive beats down barriers between online and offline once and for all but the 30 FPS anchorage on PC would not be good for enthusiasts.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    85
    A scintillating return to form that's all style...and no little substance. Blistering arcade racing. [Jan 2014, p.76]
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Rivals is a good street racer that adrenalizes again the Hot Pursuit brand with ludicrous speed and beautiful landscapes. The 30 FPS limitation on the PC screams revenge nonetheless.
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun and enjoyable racing game that sports really nice looking visuals and a strong multiplayer mode. There's nothing really new and incredibly exciting, but everything works fine.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    79
    The good news: Rivals tops The Run and Most Wanted. The bad news: Rivals does not live up to the great Need for Speed legacy. If you are playing solo, racing Redview County is fun for a few hours, but the longer you play, the more repetitive and boring the gameplay gets.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    It's most certainly a launch title racer and it's not doing much to rectify that. I'm reminded of the limited scope of Motorstorm as a launch racer for PS3. Like Motorstorm, however, the core Gameplay is solid enough to earn a recommendation to NFS fans.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    Simply put, while Rivals can be fun with the right people and in the right doses on the right platforms, it is very poorly suited to PC gaming.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 128
  2. Negative: 94 out of 128
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most Wanted should have been. Handling has improved, more customization options than ever before, and the multiplayer (which, is basically the whole game considering you're always connected to other people) is innovative and fun. Being able to race other players with the press of a single button is awesome, and the presence of player cops will always keep you on your toes (haven't tried the cop career yet, though I imagine it's a blast taking everyone's speed points).

    Only negative is the game isn't amazingly optimized for the PC. I have a few hiccups while running it (though, for comparison, I have none at all while running Battlefield 4).

    This game was a great buy with the $10 off code from McDonald's for Origin. There is plenty of content and replay value to be worth $40 over and over again.
    Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    8
    I felt compelled to write a review of this game to counter the many misleading opinions of other posters. Let me start off by saying that whatever technical issues the game had when it was first released seem to have been fixed now. It barely skips a beat on my system: X64 OS, i7 processor, 16 GB RAM and GTX570 graphics card. Other complaints are (now) equally unfounded as you CAN skip most of the annoying cutscenes and immature story (by pressing A on the controller or Enter on the keyboard) and Events CAN be restarted.

    The writing is probably the biggest downside in an otherwise class act and the 'sexy' female instructor voice is getting a bit old. However, everything else -- from the slick menus to the environmental effects -- has obviously had considerable thought and effort applied to it. All of the little touches -- like the realistic accumulation of dirt on the vehicles -- clearly show how much pride Ghost Games has taken in their work.

    The graphics and gameplay are where this title really shines, although it doesn’t look much on the 360. I didn't care for Hot Pursuit (2010) and Most Wanted (2012) but this game is closer to Burnout Paradise (2009) than any other since and -- for me -- that's a huge plus. In fact, in many ways it actually improves on the original formula as you would expect. The learning curve is relatively steep but it's a highly intelligent and rewarding game for those willing to put the effort in. It doesn't all gel straight away. You have to play it a while to 'get it' and appreciate its nuances. I had mixed feelings in the first hour or so but now I have to stop myself playing to go to bed. That's the sign of a good game!
    Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    No Steering wheel support is the clincher for me. You can't seriously enjoy a driving game with out a wheel IMO. The new PS4 controller feels a bit sluggish to me. A good race car should have tight, precise steering. But the controller seems to float a bit like a boat with some cars.
    I have played through both story lines and think NFS:R could be an awesome game were it not for the No Wheel Support issue.
    The graphics and cars are great with minimal lag issues. Physics are totally arcade but many people like that. It is quicker to drift a tight hairpin at 220 kph than to brake and corner like a simulator. Unrealistic but fun all the same.
    You will finish the story and even unlock the Platinum trophy pretty quickly. The real fun is PVP taking down other Players, especially hunting in a pack with friends. Although you will search a bit as there are only 6 people allowed per session, but you can quick travel to any event/base once you have located your prey on the world map.
    I would give this game an 7 if there was Wheel support, so until then it gets a 5.
    Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    1
    Fun game, unless you want the multiplayer experience they think exists. AllDrive is a useless feature in a "world" that features only 6 other real drivers (which might be great for console).. which you would think would mean no lag, but with no server choice, you just get player cars that teleport everywhere. The game might as well be offline and single player. Playing with friends is ok, but not when you're up against jerky opponents who can go into a hideout with cops all over them, or just benefit from a random server migration.

    That on top of all the other issues... It's another good concept that has be killed by EA's laziness.
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. more like need for better programmers and creative game writers, what happened to those need for speed games that u could do some drag races and drifting or building your car instead of a **** 3 hours game play and u use jus "fancy cars". this game has no **** wheel options i have a g27 wheel set.
    whats the point of having open world but no wheel support that u cant cruise around? there is no story in the game u jus race 4 or 5 times and a minute of some retard talking and tellin that cops are getting madder and **** like that come man mobile racing games do bettter job than you guys.
    graphics somewhat good but ur locked to 30fps and and their explanation is that people doesn't have fast computers? they did the same **** for fifa 14, by using older engine. if people dont have fast computers they can lower the settings and still can enjoy the high fps smoothness not 30 fps bull****.
    fifa 14 runs at 130 fps on my laptop it has gt650m gpu like thats pretty much lowest u can get it i7 3630qm processor so people dont have slow computers u guys have slow programmers and minds.

    i have been buyin nfs series each time hoping that they did good job but no last 4 games were garbage i wont buy again doesnt even worth to pirate this game
    Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    0
    DO NOT BUY! definetley not the pc version. Despite the fact that the game is capped at 30fps (you can unlock it with command parameters) the UI is trash made only to be operated on the gamepad and the most important thing is that the game is broken, same way battlefield 4 was (kind of still is), the frostbite 3 is broken in its current state, so expect constant crashes nothing else from this game. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    I do not know what else to say about the guys who produce this series, nfs is going into the pit gradually over rivals, this game with an awesome graph, the system runs and persecutions without breaks makes the game good, the more over 2 hours played you already start to get sick of running the same way, with the same police behind you, there is no the slightest difficulty in releasing the cars, the goals are pathetic, there is a great repeatability in the game that makes you give up right outside the game and castrated at 30 fps, which makes the experience even worse, with several drops fps throughout the game, do not buy the game, not to be wanting to be playing jumping mountains and playing beats beats with police. Expand

See all 128 User Reviews