Need for Speed: Shift PC

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 365 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisC
    Sep 29, 2009
    7
    First of all, to all these tools saying about how bad the handling is, it is because you have it on easy, and your playing with a keyboard. Before even thinking of commenting on how a racing game handles play it on a Logitech G25 and on the Simulation settings. I laugh at these idiots complaining how bad the physics and handling is when they are playing it with WASD or arrows. Second of First of all, to all these tools saying about how bad the handling is, it is because you have it on easy, and your playing with a keyboard. Before even thinking of commenting on how a racing game handles play it on a Logitech G25 and on the Simulation settings. I laugh at these idiots complaining how bad the physics and handling is when they are playing it with WASD or arrows. Second of all, this game is only 1 in 3 NFS games coming out for real systems. The other 2 is a free run game set in Carbon and Most Wanted and is only online where you have a sandbox mode and play with people around the world. The other game is a tuner game made by Criteron. So obviously this game is made to please the semi-arcade gamers. IMO, this game is very enjoyable when played wiht a simulation spec wheel and there is nothing better than going round the 'Ring in a Zonda R, as this game does perfectly. Please wait until the other NFS come before complaining that its not like MW or Underground. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2014
    6
    I Need For Speed ​​Series goes to another level. He enters the world of simulators and makes very good appearance. Physics are very real, honestly, I really like. And yes .. I think that is one of the longest game in the series.
  3. StefL
    Oct 9, 2009
    5
    I'm getting old... While during the time of NFS the first and NFS SE my TT rankings were on a hair length from the world record without having to dedicate one bedroom for a formula 1 cockpit Fair play, playability (Sidewinder 3d pro) and days of training motivated by an unrivaled sense of immersion of open road driving supercar feeling NFS Shift lets down quickly. Driving skills need I'm getting old... While during the time of NFS the first and NFS SE my TT rankings were on a hair length from the world record without having to dedicate one bedroom for a formula 1 cockpit Fair play, playability (Sidewinder 3d pro) and days of training motivated by an unrivaled sense of immersion of open road driving supercar feeling NFS Shift lets down quickly. Driving skills need to be maintained. You really thinks that after 15 years you can still handle a super car? + Graphics they are very ok especially in motion + Sounds of engines: lovely + Sense of speed + We can buy some upgrades -Drifting occurs at slow speeds on roads that are wide as a highway (I hereby thank 89 Audi 80 Turbodiesel with Econo 175 width tires for saving my life many times at high speed 90km / hr corners) -Learning curve by fake realism -Tuning controls can be a pain (unlike Grid, you have to quit your race to fine tune sensitivity, dead point etc,... Crazy) -No damage model, no punishment, no total loss. (apart from the hood obstructing your view) -because of no damage model you can skillfully use other cars as means of braking -because lacking damage model results in lack of tension and educational value like in Toca 3 (cars are supposed to be higly vulnarable to impact / abuse just like the humans they contain) Despite the renewed realism touch, NFS Shift's damage model is so bad it compares to playing a FPS in god mode. I can reassure those of you preferring the god mode racing that the all times standard view where you "control" the care by floating in the air 10m behind your car is still available (tradition dating from the times that rendering a cockpit was technically impossible.) Missed chance. I see no evolution here so I can only conclude this game is aimed at the next army of teenagers that plays their first likewise racer. Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2011
    6
    This game is a terrible excuse for a simulator, it cannot even touch the awesomeness that is Grid and Gran Turismo. The cars do not handle as they do in real life, the multiplayer is engulfed in a mostly horric community and the UI system is the most unnecessarily complicated and confusing that I have ever come across in a PC game, ruining the customization of vehicles etc..
  5. Mar 13, 2011
    6
    Good game, a bad console port. I was disappointed in the vinyl placement, seeing as it had crappy textures.
    That aside, I really loved the racing in this game. You felt like you were actually in the **** of a race-car, and crashing animations were outstanding. graphics were fairly good as well.
  6. Vic
    Dec 9, 2011
    6
    I just don't understand these critics who gave this game 9 or 10. Have they even tried to play this game, cause it's almost impossible to drive straight in this game, the cars just slide all the time like cows on ice skating rink!
  7. ZsomborB
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    Without playing the game, I can tell that something suspicious is going on here. While metascore holds a score of 86 and the users claim it's only worth a 5.0, something is definitely odd here. I heard horrific stories about the bad optimization of the game, and I have a hunch that EA is yet again tries to pull some tricks here to get high reviews from official sources, or just no Without playing the game, I can tell that something suspicious is going on here. While metascore holds a score of 86 and the users claim it's only worth a 5.0, something is definitely odd here. I heard horrific stories about the bad optimization of the game, and I have a hunch that EA is yet again tries to pull some tricks here to get high reviews from official sources, or just no one dares to offend them because of their full wallets and influence on the industry. Expand
  8. MugrosDNM
    Sep 18, 2009
    6
    With a Metascore of 85% and a user rating of 4.5 there has to be something fishy here. After the first races if have to say that i can't support the high Metascore. The games has some serious issues: - The AI Even after a very bad first race i was classified as Experienced, so i set it to Pro :) With the AI set to Medium i was easily seconds ahead. With the AI on Hard i was still With a Metascore of 85% and a user rating of 4.5 there has to be something fishy here. After the first races if have to say that i can't support the high Metascore. The games has some serious issues: - The AI Even after a very bad first race i was classified as Experienced, so i set it to Pro :) With the AI set to Medium i was easily seconds ahead. With the AI on Hard i was still doing good. Well, not all the time, read on. - The handling Well, on the first tracks i did good. On the last of the first 5 the car handled very different and i had almost no chance of winning. So i went back and set the driver level back to Experienced. Now it was just too easy to drive around. It is also a balance issue. If you set it to Experienced it is too easy. If you set it to Pro it is too hard. - more handling I know that early cars are not really good, but on the later tracks my RX8 felt really bad on Pro. No matter what i did it was spinning almost all the time. Little error here, spin, little error there, spin. In the winding and tight tracks it was useless. It felt like the game just wants to spin you and there is simply no chance of recovering. - even more handling i normally use the hood camera, but the game starts with the cockpit cam. What i immediately noticed was the sluggish response of the steering wheel. It responded like it was pulled by a rubber string. And this is exactly how the driving feels. This makes it even harder to try to catch the car's rear. And many times the car was just swinging from one side to the other like an old car. With full level 1 upgraded on a sports car this shouldn't happen. I have driven Colin McRae Dirt and GRID where the response is perfect. These are proper racing games. The car response is direct and you can immediately feel the reaction of the car to your action on the controls. Then you can struggle with the track, you improve yourself, you race the opponents. In NFSS you struggle with the handling mostly. I don't feel like i am racing, more like a test driver in a bad car. I can't concentrate on the race because the car feels so bad. But a big disappointment is the way NFS is going. I played all PC NFS titles and it was a great series. But it was going downhill. In the beginning NFS was about racing on public roads with sport/supercars, also against the police. Now it is closed circuit racing, which is rather boring. I can't understand how editors can say that it catches the spirit of NFS. It doesn't. Expand
  9. Tom
    Sep 25, 2009
    5
    I couldn't give the PC version more than a five just on principle alone do not let the high metascore sway you. Bad optimization, I have a medium-high end computer and this game runs awful. Serious control issues, you literally skid around the entire map as the tires consisted of melted butter. Lack of customization, I could go on and on and on but it's easier to say this game I couldn't give the PC version more than a five just on principle alone do not let the high metascore sway you. Bad optimization, I have a medium-high end computer and this game runs awful. Serious control issues, you literally skid around the entire map as the tires consisted of melted butter. Lack of customization, I could go on and on and on but it's easier to say this game isn't worth entire ones time. Expand
  10. zimaf
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    Wow. 85 average according to critics and only 5 out of 10 according to users? this shows that either critics are all sucking up to companies and thus should not be trusted... or are completely out of touch with the gamers and thus... should not be trusted. what a paradox! but seriously. giving this fish 85? that's hypocrisy. GRID or GTR are not dead yet to warrant the urge of gamers Wow. 85 average according to critics and only 5 out of 10 according to users? this shows that either critics are all sucking up to companies and thus should not be trusted... or are completely out of touch with the gamers and thus... should not be trusted. what a paradox! but seriously. giving this fish 85? that's hypocrisy. GRID or GTR are not dead yet to warrant the urge of gamers to buy anything with a word 'racing' in the description. hence, if you have any of the mentioned games, you already own a game more advanced, better looking and handling than SHIFT. Expand
  11. Feb 11, 2014
    5
    Arrow up key: accelerate _ Left Arrow key: turn left _ right arrow key: turn right _ V: brake _ C: handbrake _ X: Nitro _ Z: look back _ Spacebar: change race view. God! those game makers needs to be told what the default mapping keys should be like! WASD?!

    Came 1st place: mode: RACE _ Laps: 8 _ car class: same class _ opponents: 6 _ Time: midday _ track: Alplental Race car to drive:
    Arrow up key: accelerate _ Left Arrow key: turn left _ right arrow key: turn right _ V: brake _ C: handbrake _ X: Nitro _ Z: look back _ Spacebar: change race view. God! those game makers needs to be told what the default mapping keys should be like! WASD?!

    Came 1st place: mode: RACE _ Laps: 8 _ car class: same class _ opponents: 6 _ Time: midday _ track: Alplental

    Race car to drive: Porsche Carrera GT

    ((Gameplay, ADJUST CONTROL)):
    SDZ:0 _ ADZ:5 _ BDZ:0 _ CDZ:5 _ SS:95 _AS:75 _ BS:90 _ CS:30 _ SSS:2 _ IS:off _ CYA:Normal

    ((Gameplay, DRIVING)):
    AI Difficulty: HARD _ HM: Normal _ SA: low _ BA: off _ AB:on _ TC: high _ SC:on _ DE: visual only _ AC:on _ G:automatic

    ((Garage, Car tunning)):
    Downforce: 55 _ Gearing: 30 _ Steering Lock: 70 _ Balance: 40

    Now go and test play this game, and see who's the real idiots! Never seen AI drivers so crazy! If to play by AI Difficulty: MEDIUM, it would turned out to be like the movie DAYS OF THUNDER with a lot of cars went sideway on the track, or driving back into the track without giving way to you high speed travelling car, and with bot-cars spinning out of control ALL BY ITSELF like it's beating it's own meat, or suddenly handbraking right in front of you without any reason (same with AI Difficulty: hard), and dead slow speed at bends. The AI is a good laugh, as 1 or 2 of them are aimed to slow you down so other cars can sped way ahead!

    Playing by AI Difficulty HARD isn't so bad, but still there a few good laughs!

    Too bad it has no GRID AND ARCADE mode that allows more acade like gaming, fine tune all the cars so they're suitable to play keyboard like the other game GRID.

    Steering lock? I tried to Google it but seem to came up with nothing much. If steering lock is set too high and along with low GEARING (higher acceration), the steering of the car may go dead (locked) when going around a bend. Get a wheel for real? Or rather play GRID? Get GRID first, then don't forget this GOOD LAUGH game that suddenly handbrakes right in front of you like it has seen a ghost of a steering wheel!
    Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2011
    6
    This one is good, expecially with a wheel controler. It's looking nice although Shift 2 Unleashed is now nicer. But it behaves better than S2U and also is less ressources-greedy. A good experience and a good intro for simracing games like GTR², RACE07, or iRacing.
    This gives you a taste of it without beeing too difficult.
  13. RuneS
    Jan 25, 2010
    6
    Awesome graphics but thats about it. Driving the cars is like driving a car on scalectrix track.You get no input through the wheel.
  14. MichaelK
    Oct 12, 2009
    6
    Although I usually purchase for the PC, this time I just wanted to try out this game on my PS3. Although the game is visually and aurally magnificent, once you're past the first few tiers and get into the higher level cars, the game just falls apart. As previously mentioned here, the bugs simply prevent this game from getting any higher of a score. It took me forever to beat the Although I usually purchase for the PC, this time I just wanted to try out this game on my PS3. Although the game is visually and aurally magnificent, once you're past the first few tiers and get into the higher level cars, the game just falls apart. As previously mentioned here, the bugs simply prevent this game from getting any higher of a score. It took me forever to beat the Bugatti Veyron Invitational thanks to the bouncing physics problem, and then when I did, the game caused my PS3 to reset to the XMB! That's happened over 4 times since I started playing on Friday. That's simply ridiculous! It blows my mind the review that have been given by the above websites. Did they play it any farther than Tier 2? Just a horrible, horrible job...where was the QA on this game? EA still hasn't learned that the developers need time to get things right. I expect more from a Console game. I expect it to be near bug-free and to just work. Now, console games are apparently no different than what has become of PC gaming. Release then Patch. EA has reall screwed the pooch on this one. I'm returning it on Monday and picking up GRID or Dirt 2 instead. Shame on the professional reviewers, too! You guys have lost alot of respect from me on this one! Expand
  15. SandyG
    Sep 30, 2009
    6
    For all those that expected it to be street racing, its not. Thats why everyone is giving it bad reviews. i have played the game a lot. got used to it and turns out its not bad at all. Car selection is amazing, just cant see it beating forza motorsport 3. Personally i was expecting street racing but its not. theres no other leading games designers doing street racing games i wonder why.
  16. pipelinecache
    Oct 17, 2009
    5
    I really tried liking the game. At first glance it looks and feels like a decent race simulator but once you dive deeper it starts to fall apart. I'm quite a racing fan and have played tons of racing games, both semi arcade and simulation, but I can't recall having so much frustration with one of them like I did with NFS Shift. There is so much wrong with this game. The controls I really tried liking the game. At first glance it looks and feels like a decent race simulator but once you dive deeper it starts to fall apart. I'm quite a racing fan and have played tons of racing games, both semi arcade and simulation, but I can't recall having so much frustration with one of them like I did with NFS Shift. There is so much wrong with this game. The controls being the main issue. I tried playing it with my xbox360 gamepad but it's just way too sensitive. Steering (which is pretty useful while driving) is so hard because your driver is turning the wheel left and right at the speed of light. There's no linear delay. Add the factor of some realistic friction and even your Fiat Panda will go ice skating after each corner. This actually concerns the main skill you'll need for the game: DO NOT SPIN OUT. In general all the opponents are way slower but don't seem to suffer from faulty monkey steering wheels. You can however tweak the controls (did didn't really work for me) and maybe a future patch will solve this problem but till then I don't recommend this game to anyone without a steering wheel (and helmet). Don't even think you can play this game with only a keyboard. Another issue are the loading times. I've quite an high-end game machine but the loading times are way too long. Most of this time the hard disk isn't active so the game is probably precalculating, which could have been done in advance and saved on disk. Even when the next event contains the same drivers, the same track, the same everything: the loading screen appears (with some very exciting hints and tips). There's a mini map in the lower right corner, which shows the track you're racing. This is ofcourse quite handy if you don't know the track and it would be alot handier if it didn't have an alpha blending of 20%. It's way too transparent to be any helpful. What I do like however was the great cockpit view. I mostly race all games in from the cockpit view but this one is without doubt the best. The fov is just right and the blur effects are great. The graphics are good/okay. But nothing near breathtaking. I've played the game on a GTX285 and it runs fine (ofcourse), but since the lack of polish in all other areas it wouldn't surprise me that you actually need quite a decent card. Don't believe the skin deep reviews on the web. A user score of 45(!) against 85 should say enough. Expand
  17. ZakJones!
    Oct 23, 2009
    6
    NFS:S, while far from the simulation game it looks to be, is easily worth a rental. My main complaints are the handling and physics. Never once in the game did I go around a corner without sliding the back end. The damage engine is worthless. It's possible to slide your Aston Martin into a wall at 80MPH and come away with nothing more than a slight pull to the left. The cockpit view, NFS:S, while far from the simulation game it looks to be, is easily worth a rental. My main complaints are the handling and physics. Never once in the game did I go around a corner without sliding the back end. The damage engine is worthless. It's possible to slide your Aston Martin into a wall at 80MPH and come away with nothing more than a slight pull to the left. The cockpit view, however, is pretty freaking sweet. I've never been able to drive from the cockpit view, even though I'd like to consider myself a simulation driver. They're too cramped, too wide, too narrow, too whatever, to drive from. In NFS:S, however, the cockpit view is spectacular! I absolutely loved it. The blurring at speed was a little over the top, but it's not TOO bad. Like I said, worth a rental, but not MSRP. Expand
  18. IsaacM.
    Sep 28, 2009
    6
    I would have given it 9/10 if it could run on 4870 the way it run on GTS 250, but bugs are PC user`s way of life. Has terrible AI and super cars are not realistic, e.g Bugati beaten by a Zonda and muscle cars are undriveable. Compared to Grid, the game is big and has replayable value, but it looks to be a rushed job. To be honest, with all problems i enjoyed it and playing it on higher I would have given it 9/10 if it could run on 4870 the way it run on GTS 250, but bugs are PC user`s way of life. Has terrible AI and super cars are not realistic, e.g Bugati beaten by a Zonda and muscle cars are undriveable. Compared to Grid, the game is big and has replayable value, but it looks to be a rushed job. To be honest, with all problems i enjoyed it and playing it on higher difficulty second time around and am more experienced to deal with the AI and the racing line Expand
  19. PeterTechGuy
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    Need for Speed: Shift is like a gateway drug to the world of hardcore simulations. With all driver aids on - easy opponents, automatic braking, traction control, no damage, driving line - the game's circuits can be navigated with one hand on the controller. Turn them off and it's totally different. Your opponents aggressively attack you. Take a corner at speed and you'll Need for Speed: Shift is like a gateway drug to the world of hardcore simulations. With all driver aids on - easy opponents, automatic braking, traction control, no damage, driving line - the game's circuits can be navigated with one hand on the controller. Turn them off and it's totally different. Your opponents aggressively attack you. Take a corner at speed and you'll spin out. Crash at all and it's game over. Shift is the first racing game where I've wanted to drive using nothing but cockpit view. It's thrilling, peering over the steering wheel as the screen shakes slightly because of the speed, feeling like the car is just moments away from flight. It also seems authentic. Shift is an excellent balancing act between arcade racing and simulated driving, but there's danger when mixing styles that you end up satisfying neither group of fans. The hardcore get annoyed by all the whoosh-banging menus and lapses of detail. The common man gets intimidated by statistics and toe angles, that's why the user score is far lower than critic score. But Shift is the best attempt in a while at providing something that balances both, while providing a route for the unintiated into an imposing genre. Expand
  20. DavidM
    Nov 11, 2009
    6
    Lot's has been said here already. If you like Arcade/semi-sim racers and you own a copy of GRID don't bother with this; you will be disappointed! GRID although older, is in the opinion of this veteran sim racing driver superior in every way! If you own neither of these "games" buy GRID used for the above reason and it will be a fraction of the price. If you think this is to Lot's has been said here already. If you like Arcade/semi-sim racers and you own a copy of GRID don't bother with this; you will be disappointed! GRID although older, is in the opinion of this veteran sim racing driver superior in every way! If you own neither of these "games" buy GRID used for the above reason and it will be a fraction of the price. If you think this is to difficult to drive don't bother with any of the simbim driving simulations, they make this look easy. IF you want real hardcore sim racing don't bother with Shift or Grid, buy GTR2 for next to nothing. This is the pinnacle of the genera and given the decline of the excellence of PC gaming and rise of console mediocrity it will likely never be surpassed! Codemaster is our only hope. BTY Who is paying the so called expert reviewers who gave this 8 and 9 out of 10? Kudos to "PC format" for having the guts to tell everyone the truth. I'll give this 6 out of 10. If I though it was the best they could do. I would have given them 7 out of 10 but I know that they could have done a lot better if they wanted to. Expand
  21. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    8 hours into playing it new on race track Ambush Canyon, so I guess it's almost like playing Flatout 1 now, as the road surface is far more "slippery". Still not hard to win.

    mode: RACE _ Laps: 3 _ car class: same class _ opponents: 4 _ Time: dusk _ track: Ambush Canyon Race car to drive: SEAT Leon Cupra (with maximum upgrade) ((Gameplay, ADJUST CONTROL)): SDZ:0 _ ADZ:0 _ BDZ:0 _
    8 hours into playing it new on race track Ambush Canyon, so I guess it's almost like playing Flatout 1 now, as the road surface is far more "slippery". Still not hard to win.

    mode: RACE _ Laps: 3 _ car class: same class _ opponents: 4 _ Time: dusk _ track: Ambush Canyon

    Race car to drive: SEAT Leon Cupra (with maximum upgrade)

    ((Gameplay, ADJUST CONTROL)):
    SDZ:0 _ ADZ:0 _ BDZ:0 _ CDZ:50 _ SS:95 _AS:100 _ BS:25 _ CS:50 _ SSS:50 _ IS:off _ CYA:Normal

    ((Gameplay, DRIVING)):
    AI Difficulty: medium _ HM: Normal _ SA: low _ BA: off _ AB:on _ TC: off _ SC:off _ DE: full _ AC:on _ G:automatic

    ((Garage, Car tunning)):
    Downforce: 75 _ Gearing: 15 _ Steering Lock: 15 _ Balance: 90
    Balance is 10 if the game not patched to v1.02, as the meter is mirrored between v1.01 and 1.02.

    After doing a S bend with handbrakes, next coming up to a bridge on all straight race track. Need to slow within a speed limit if you're speeding on the far right side of the race track right before the bridge, or else there is no way you can steer the car at all (even when the car is not off the race track).

    It's almost very hard to steer the car around a bend after it has done 0 to 130kph from a stand still, so it's about traction control and how much the tyres has burnt up from accelerations and brakings. Road surface to tyre simulation is pretty strange when compared to other games.

    I'd rather play this game than Dirt. I usually use behind car views to play, but not with this game. The right behind wheel view is amazing on this one! Feel so realistic like never before!

    It's like taking small parts from other games such Flatout, GTR, Racedrivers, Evolution GT, and GRID and throw them all into a new recipe. But somehow sometimes I feel like there is FADE at work ... FADE as the copy-protection at work (due to crazy AI behaviours and car handlings changed all of a sudden for a few seconds). So I needed use basic instincts as to know when the ghosty FADE will pop up on the race track!
    Expand
  22. Feb 21, 2014
    5
    Need some new practices as how to use the keyboard to play in this game. Trust me, no other games are like this one.

    Need to pay great amount of attentions to the speedometer when coming up to a bend/turn, need to let go of the accelerator in the right time and brake as little as possible, let it slide smoothly around a bend or corner (with as little brakes as possible when doing it),
    Need some new practices as how to use the keyboard to play in this game. Trust me, no other games are like this one.

    Need to pay great amount of attentions to the speedometer when coming up to a bend/turn, need to let go of the accelerator in the right time and brake as little as possible, let it slide smoothly around a bend or corner (with as little brakes as possible when doing it), as medium to hard braking makes the steering go poorly or even locked up when turning. Sometimes the same goes with the acceleration key, need to let go of it for a second before it can steer more effectively, the effects are not at all times the same, seem like a bug or defective to me.

    Circuit/track surfaces is also a great issue here, the race track is not all flat sideway RIGHT before some bends/turns (not all of them), even at the right speed the car can lost traction control coming up around a bend when it's tyres got bumped off the track's uneven surface, causing the steering to malfunction, it's really critical as which side of the track you stick to when coming up to a turn.

    There are 3 icons (LED lights) at the bottom right corner of the HUD: brake, ?engine/wheel and tyres. When most of the 3 LED lights comes on and off a lot, that mean the steering is more likely to lock up at high speed turns. Not easy to master as how to play, you can't brake a lot in this one, if you did then the effective of the steering goes poorly.

    BRAKE AS LITTLE AS POSSIBLE, let go of the accelerator to cut speed than using brakes a lot, need to make it not too heavy and not too light, or else the steering goes bad when all the 3 LED lights comes on constantly.

    Few of the AI cars can go really fast at unrealistic gravitation and traction factors, the high speeding car's animations is like the AI car is a fired out rocket than a road machine that has traction and road grip matters, as the AI car can go at SUPER high speed around turns and bends without any smokes coming out from the tyres.

    Unbalanced AI difficulty HARD, as the AI skills varies by each time you quit the race to the game's main menu before returning to the SAME race SETUP again. Each random draw of AI skills varies greatly for the same AI difficulty level selected, as you may find 1 of them reasonably hard, and rest of them unplayable hard as the AI goes at godlike speed.

    There are sets of AI skills just for the AI difficulty HARD, they're almost like either 1 of these:
    1. All of them Speeding very fast ahead with unrealistic speed that you can barely catch up to the SLOWEST AI car, but it really depends on which car you're driving.
    2. Most of them Speeding ahead with reasonable speed, but has a couple of the last cars in the fleet to knock you knock like they're assassins.
    3. Most of them Speeding with slower speed, as a couple of them goes at very high speed at the front of the fleet.

    If sometimes you find it too hard to play the AI difficulty HARD, please try to play AI Difficulty medium, BUT when AI difficulty medium turned out to be too easy, then try play with more laps, more AI cars, no traction control and stability control, turn off as many helps as possible, tune the car to make it's handling worse than better so as to make the race against the AI more challenging.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 90
    A glorious return to greatness (and even excellence) for EA's seminal racing franchise. Slightly Mad Studios has delivered a driving experience that, while not completely accurate in terms of its simulation aspects, is practically dead-on in terms of what it's like to race around some of the world's best racing circuits.
  2. No longer a classic need for speed game, EA made a true shift, a u-turn, developing a great game, with stunning visuals, and a lot of cars and tracks. The nightly undercover challenges are gone, but the new mechanics, borrowed from games such Forza or GT work well in conveying a great driving feeling.
  3. Need For Speed: Shift is a brilliant new start for the franchise and has clearly been built by a team that loves racing.