Need for Speed: The Run PC

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 301

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2011
    7
    From one side - the game is quite cool and interesting, from another - bugs, laggy online, lots of cheaters, overestimated sys reqs and total inactivity from the devs for the moment kills the game itself for the moment.
    Will see if there will be a patch and how good it will be, otherwise the score can go down even lower.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    I am never going to buy a NFS game again until Shift 3 is out or underground 3. Let Slightly Mad do the NFS games, they know what we want.
    This game is one of the biggest disappointments over the past years. Reminds me of Undercover tho, beautiful but its a bunch of crap. And not to mention capped at 30FPS, no AA (Those aliasing are driving me nutz) Please, take mor care about the
    I am never going to buy a NFS game again until Shift 3 is out or underground 3. Let Slightly Mad do the NFS games, they know what we want.
    This game is one of the biggest disappointments over the past years. Reminds me of Undercover tho, beautiful but its a bunch of crap. And not to mention capped at 30FPS, no AA (Those aliasing are driving me nutz) Please, take mor care about the handling, its getting worse and worse (Undercover)

    EA, if you want to fail again, just go ahead and continue what you're doing. If u don't want to fail, just listen to the gamer community and make something what we want
    Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    frostbite racing game :O sounds good a pc racing game well no its a console port all the way 30fps cap no aa (don't notice the lack of aa but im not very fussy about aa ).. that being said for what it is its not a bad game not a 60$ game but not a bad game.. The cars feel like they have Wight to them still feels real arcadey to . Nice selection of cars quite a few of repeats diff models ,frostbite racing game :O sounds good a pc racing game well no its a console port all the way 30fps cap no aa (don't notice the lack of aa but im not very fussy about aa ).. that being said for what it is its not a bad game not a 60$ game but not a bad game.. The cars feel like they have Wight to them still feels real arcadey to . Nice selection of cars quite a few of repeats diff models , the roads (tracks) are real nice looking nice scenery blasting by and you do feel like you are moving at a nice speed . The cops do get on your ass and the road block do catch ya now and again it has some challenge to it .. only things i dont like is how the lvls are slit up, you race for about 2 mins at a time(not finished the game yet) and have to overtake a number of opponents to win, keep in front of them for so long and time and check point races.. the story is as week as you would expect from a racing game (you cant skip the cut scenes is always a piss off ) the game seems to run easy .. Mp is meant to be a high light of this game i have not tried it yet . the game is diffidently worth one dollar for every fps you get .. Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    Yes, it is very short. Is not bad at all. It is a good racing game. The graphics are good, the music is good, the physics is almost good. But the thing is: this game is not so fun as other Need for Speed. EA should release it only for download and by half price. It is more likely a Demo. Is not the best NFS, but is better than Undercover and ProStreet
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    First of all racing games play better with a controller, so all of you idiots that complain about the controls on keyboard are stupid! Secondly, the future of gaming is not keyboard the keyboard was not designed for gaming it was for typing data into the computer. I get sick and tired of pc fan-boy idiots complaining about games that play better with an xbox controller. Grow up, you willFirst of all racing games play better with a controller, so all of you idiots that complain about the controls on keyboard are stupid! Secondly, the future of gaming is not keyboard the keyboard was not designed for gaming it was for typing data into the computer. I get sick and tired of pc fan-boy idiots complaining about games that play better with an xbox controller. Grow up, you will see a lot more games that use an xbox controller, so get used to it. Expand
  6. Vic
    Dec 3, 2011
    7
    I expected something different! In fact it seems they didn't add anything new!!! Same Undercover only different story! I thought the driving at least would be more realistic. It seems like you control a toy car!
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    5
    THis is second time i review the game, and i have to admit there unlike the first time - i got really frustrated with physics. gosh you can enjoy this game on easy, but if you put the difficulty on hard or extreme, you just get pissed with how unrealistic physics of the games are. the cops drive as if they have jetengines and their tires are sticked to glue.
    the Muscle care overtakes
    THis is second time i review the game, and i have to admit there unlike the first time - i got really frustrated with physics. gosh you can enjoy this game on easy, but if you put the difficulty on hard or extreme, you just get pissed with how unrealistic physics of the games are. the cops drive as if they have jetengines and their tires are sticked to glue.
    the Muscle care overtakes porsche, as if it was stationary and turns sharply without drifting.
    Seriously wt heck
    Expand
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    2 things describe this game: Cheap thrill & Fast food. The Frostbite engine is completely wasted on this game; every racing game this days should have 2 settings: Arcade (like now) and simulation, YES EA? This kind of game is ok for the Xbox or PS - for the PC this game is pointless. This game could have been great, unfortunately the story is very weak, Fast & Furious clisees omnipresent2 things describe this game: Cheap thrill & Fast food. The Frostbite engine is completely wasted on this game; every racing game this days should have 2 settings: Arcade (like now) and simulation, YES EA? This kind of game is ok for the Xbox or PS - for the PC this game is pointless. This game could have been great, unfortunately the story is very weak, Fast & Furious clisees omnipresent and we have seen it all in Hot Pursuit not so long ago. To sum it up - quick, cheap thrill. Expand
  9. May 28, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You get to travel across the US in about 2 hours. Pretty poor effort from EA here (as is becoming standard these days). Graphics are okay, but stuck at 2007 console level. Some good level designs, and some nice variety, but they're so frustratingly few and far between. There's also a distinct lack of innovation here. The only challenge is finishing the level. What would have been excellent is a dynamic game that pushes you to win - like a real race. For instance, there are multiple "Gain 8 places" levels, where you have to beat 8 other cars over a set distance/time. Would have have been better is a "Gain as many places as you can" and the better you do here means the more time/advantage you have in later levels (obviously with adjustments since you don't want the game to be impossible if you're not all that good). But alas, EA couldn't innovate themselves out of a wet paper bag. They've been pushing the Need for Speed franchise for years, and it's becoming stale. It's very, VERY short. Anyone who purchased this at full price got ripped off. A $15 game at best, it would have worked well as an add-on pack to a longer game. I've not even finished it yet, and already I'm wishing there was more races. As for the gameplay, it's very easy. Cars are unrealistic (which isn't bad - it's quite fun), but coupled with the extreme shortness, it's unsatisfactory. And yet the damn thing is a 15GB download! What the hell is taking up all that space? It's also ho-hum in terms of "achievements". I despise the feel-good, lack of ability, lack of innovation, modern "achievements". For instance, you get "unlocked" profile icons just for playing the game. What. The. Hell.? Where's the fun in that? How is that an "Achievement"? "Achievements" used to be something that you had to strive to complete, an actual challenge (and not everyone got them), rather than just freebies given away for playing the game as normal. Steam does it too. You get "Achievements" just for completing a level. That's insulting. Overall, 5 out of 10. What racing there is (and it's in short supply) is fine. There's just not enough of it, and the game is so linear and controlled that it's just not as much fun as it could have been. Expand
  10. Jul 9, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going to start off with a list of everything that's wrong with this game. Ready? 1) Framerate is capped at 30 FPS with no anti-aliasing. 2) The game crashes throughout the campaign, particularly at stage 8, and resets your controls layout in doing so. 3) Checkpoints are as inconveniently placed as possible. 4) Facial expressions are non-existent. 5) You barely get to use more than 5 cars throughout the campaign. 4) The so-called 3000 mile race only lasts 2 hours. 5) Cars are copied + pasted for each tier, with BHP, top speed and acceleration statistics being completely wrong. 6) Tiers are pointless- you only use Tier 4 cars up until stage 9. 7) You can't possibly do the cinematic sequences (NOT QTEs but the avoiding of gunfire & explosions and oncoming trains) first time. 8) The story sucks hard. 9) Autolog is pointless if you don't have any friends that play the game. 10) There are massive gaps and much unused potential. The game is unfinished in the campaign. 11) Quick-time events and cheezy "seen it a million times" sequences 12) Hot Pursuit was better. 13) EA Black Box went downhill after Most Wanted. 14) They're charging the same price as a full retail game! 15) Origin, and online pass if you're on console. 16) If you try and install from disc it always gets stuck with 8mb to go at 99% so you have to download the whole 15.8 GB. 17) 3rd person camera is terrible/takes time getting used to. 18) No interior view. OK I'm finished. Now, allow me to justify my rating of this game. First off, 30 FPS is by no means unplayable- especially for a racing game. The crashes which occur during stage 8 only happen once, so it will not crash again if you decide to go back and play it. Although the game is short, it's intended to be, because it plays like a film, so they want the player to play it one sitting just as they'd watch a film in one sitting. The quick time events are clichés but they make a nice break and vary the gameplay. More crucially, the story provides a backing and links between each stage/event, and is by no means intended to simulate a feature-length film. Remember, Hot Pursuit didn't even have a story. The concept is credible, but the execution is flawed in many aspects. There's a lot more that could have been done, granted, but I'd rather have a 2 hour campaign (which is longer btw if you account for restarting events) which is short and sharp rather than long and tedious. It would be easy to copy and paste 3000 miles of open road, but that would be boring. Instead, The Run offers some of the best driving roads, with the latest cars and above all, the best graphics ever for any racing game. Frosbite 2, 1920x1080 and Ultra settings. Now that's a combination. If I'm honest, graphics are almost entirely what I'm crediting this game for. The variety in environments- from sun, sand, snow, grass, countryside, desert - everything is there. As you progress through the story, the graphics get better and better. Admittedly all you do is a cycle of 3 event types (overtake, checkpoint and random cinematics) through different scenery, but the simplicity of the game means that if it were any longer it would be boring. There's quite a lot of variety in the tracks, with 56 events in a series of 10 stages. What's more, you can go and replay these to beat your best time or even better, take the competition online with no waiting time to play! You literally join instantly in a playlist (of which there are 5 online modes). The great thing about the online is that regardless of your rank/level, skill or experience, you can still enjoy the game because there are plenty of objectives and accolades which earn you XP, so winning isn't everything (unless you're top rank of course- by which time you really should be going for wins instead). There are plenty of emblems (titles and icons as in CoD or Street Fighter) and 9 pages of mottos which you may actually want to use. The Run is a combination of Hot Pursuit, Heavy Rain, Test Drive Overdrive and NFS Undercover. Speaking of which, Undercover was way more buggy and had worse graphics, with a terrible story and copy + pasted roads. The Run is much better than people think. I only paid £10 for it, and bare in mind that although the campaign may be short, there's still online and the challenge series. No Other game comes close to delivering the same kind of experience- that special moment where you're taking each hairpin with perfectionist precision, with a beautiful car and fast graphics. In Hot Pursuit, there may have been a better line-up of cars, and tiers had a point. You could play as cop and racer. But The Run feels somewhat less arcade. You get manual transmission and there are no gadgets to mess about with- just simply nitrous as with other NFS games. It's the simplicity, combined with the awesome environments and simple but satisfying handling mean that the game is appealing to virtually anyone. Expand
  11. Sep 6, 2013
    7
    I have mixed feelings about NFS Run, im missing features of NFS Underground 1-2, Most Wanted 2005, Carbon and game is very short, scripted and linear, but whole game was breathtaking and i really enjoyed it! I loved cinematic experience, whole game felt like 3-5 hours interactive blockbuster movie about racing across whole USA, i felt like if i was in cinema but was not just watchingI have mixed feelings about NFS Run, im missing features of NFS Underground 1-2, Most Wanted 2005, Carbon and game is very short, scripted and linear, but whole game was breathtaking and i really enjoyed it! I loved cinematic experience, whole game felt like 3-5 hours interactive blockbuster movie about racing across whole USA, i felt like if i was in cinema but was not just watching movie, instead i was able to control character (man and his ride), and i understand that game became so scripted and linear and that whole set of gameplay features, including customization, was cut to fit this cinematic experience to make game feel as seamless movie, for same reason QTE was added (i usually hate QTE in action games, but in movie-like games like this one, i really like interactive cut-scenes with QTE) and thats why i dont really complain about it, because it worked good. However it could be done a little better, game have some flaws and stupid moments even as cinematic expirience, for example the way you change cars is quite unrealistic and stupid, i would prefer to see character to call his friend and ask to drive car at some place or even 100% scripted change of cars in cut-scenes would work better for this game, also the way cops try to barricade road felt stupid, but thats small bits of game, the core of game DRIVING and RACING, done pretty well! Every race is quite challenging, even despite you have 5 checkpoints per level that simplifies game, cops trying to push you out of road, rivals can use shortcuts better than you, arcade physics and controls probably best in series after NFS SHIFT, tracks have really hard sharp turns, there a few racing modes (race, catch-up series, time trial, boss fights, loose cops from tail, and something else), and they are all really enjoyable, they give what i last saw in NFS Carbon (and that missing in other latest NFS games such as Most Wanted 2012 and Hot Pursuit 2010, Shift 1-2) A REAL TENSION! To win the race you should drive pretty well, you need to think and you need to think fast, otherwise you crash and restart checkpoint. Game would not give you a chance to relax, i would not bore you for a second (for example NFS HP 2010 and NFS MW 2012 just a pure boredom), you will finish playing it in the same breath, and whole play time, like i said before quite a breathtaking.
    So, yes, game not perfect, have not much gameplay to offer, but what it exchange everything for quite a solid coin it has to offer and its breathtaking cinematic experience. Stop treating this game like a realistic simulator, you have NFS Shift for this, treat it like an interactive movie and you will understand how enjoyable it is.
    Also this game have good gameplay value, you can replay it many times and enjoy. But there is one thing i really hate about this game LIMITED EDITION PRE-CUT DLC, i really hate the fact that some cars that present in game cant be selected and and tells you that you need limited edition of game, and that you cant upgrade you signature edition to limited without purchasing full game again, this is unfair EA business!
    But overall experience is solid good, not perfect, just good! So my score is 7 of 10!
    Expand
  12. Aug 29, 2012
    7
    This isn't your typical NFS game and has more in common with games like Outrun than anything else. Cruising through the US was a great concept but unfortunately you
  13. May 28, 2012
    7
    I'm glad I bought this game. In some ways it's the best racing game I've come across in a very long time. The story line is bare boned but original and good. The graphics are INCREDIBLE! Driving through the desert in a sandstorm was an experience just because of the scenery. Unfortunately the lack of AA does show when you're looking at your car. You CAN choose between body kits and colorsI'm glad I bought this game. In some ways it's the best racing game I've come across in a very long time. The story line is bare boned but original and good. The graphics are INCREDIBLE! Driving through the desert in a sandstorm was an experience just because of the scenery. Unfortunately the lack of AA does show when you're looking at your car. You CAN choose between body kits and colors on your cars as your level increases but, so far, I've seen no engine mods (probably because every one of these cars runs like a scalded dog from the word go). The difficulty of the game is pretty much as expected from any race title. Playing on hard difficulty, I find a challenge in every third or fourth stage. I haven't unlocked Extreme difficulty yet so I can't comment on it. The major weakness in this game is the car's handling. The Run would be well suited as an arcade cabinet and that's the only reason I can't give it a 9 or 10 rating. In the end though, it's fun and looks awesome. Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    After spending my afternoon playing need for speed the run, I realised how much i missed the older nfs games. This game strives to be what made nfs games so special, and it only delivers slightly. This is an obvious console port, having no difference despite changing the display settings. But it is filled with thrills which are rare in car games,as well as a wide variety of vehicles. TheAfter spending my afternoon playing need for speed the run, I realised how much i missed the older nfs games. This game strives to be what made nfs games so special, and it only delivers slightly. This is an obvious console port, having no difference despite changing the display settings. But it is filled with thrills which are rare in car games,as well as a wide variety of vehicles. The story is disappointing as it makes no sense though. Not the best nfs out there but still deserving of a pass. Expand
  15. Jan 26, 2013
    5
    The game is fine, graphics are awesome, but you cant change them while playing, the idea is really good and there are several awesome races, but the lack of free roam ends up becoming boring.
  16. Jan 29, 2015
    7
    Need for Speed The Run is the 18th title in the long series Need for Speed, developed by EA Black Box and published by Electronic Arts. The game has a great director, Michael Bay, who contributed a mod new to the game. The game puts you in the role of Jack, a street racer and mechanic very good, with a garage in San Francisco. He borrowed some money from a mob of town, and has finallyNeed for Speed The Run is the 18th title in the long series Need for Speed, developed by EA Black Box and published by Electronic Arts. The game has a great director, Michael Bay, who contributed a mod new to the game. The game puts you in the role of Jack, a street racer and mechanic very good, with a garage in San Francisco. He borrowed some money from a mob of town, and has finally unable to pay. He tries to hide but they find him and kidnap him. After his escape, in desperation, Sam Harper meets with his girlfriend, where he recommended to attend an illegal race across the USA, where it can earn 25 million dollars, but he gets only 10%. The story became louder after and gangs and police trying to stop him before he could finish the race Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 60
    Innovation at all cost doomed NFS The Run – for every good idea comes a terrible one, and even the best ones are buried by technical issues. [Christmas 2011]
  2. Dec 27, 2011
    53
    Tiresome racer that only takes two hours to complete, yet somehow feels longer. That's both impressive and depressing.
  3. Dec 24, 2011
    70
    Shows how you can bury even the most original idea with lack of either bravery or fantasy. [January 2012, p.69]