Need for Speed: The Run PC

Need for Speed: The Run Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 319 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passesNeed for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passes and navigate narrow canyons at breakneck speeds. Powered by DICE’s state-of-the-art Frostbite 2 engine, Need for Speed The Run takes the action racing genre to new heights with stunning visuals and car physics that hug the road even at top speeds all built around a gripping storyline. The cars are hot, the racing is intense and the story will have you at the edge of your seat… all the way from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Empire State building. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 24, 2011
    90
    While points have to be docked for the annoying QTEs, the rest of The Run is amazingly exhilarating. The set pieces left us panting for breath, unable to process what had just happened, and the excitement level only dropped to 'really exciting' in between.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    81
    In the wake of full-fledged car and driver series like Gran Turismo, Forza Motorsport, and Test Drive Unlimited, the inflated expectations around The Run make it seem like more of a letdown than it really is.
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    79
    EA studio Blackbox fails to combine a fast paced racing experience, Battlefield 3 graphics with a good entertaining and satisfying story in Need for Speed: The Run. While the action is fun and the different settings look very good, the Frostbite Engine 2.0 could have been used slightly better on PC and the story could actually be a story: not just an excuse to send some uninteresting dude from A to B.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Racing purists may thumb their nose at it, but if you're the kind of person who prefers Burnout over Gran Turismo, you'll eat it right up.
  5. 68
    The Run bragged about revolutionizing the NFS series with an enticing story and memorable gameplay. Unfortunately, the story was better off missing in action and the only things that are memorable from the gameplay are its shortcoming: no freedom of choice, no Free Roaming, no Replay, no cockpit camera, no choice of races in multiplayer.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    60
    Innovation at all cost doomed NFS The Run – for every good idea comes a terrible one, and even the best ones are buried by technical issues. [Christmas 2011]
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    53
    Tiresome racer that only takes two hours to complete, yet somehow feels longer. That's both impressive and depressing.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 73
  2. Negative: 30 out of 73
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    From dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes theFrom dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes the whole world just stuningly beautiful and there is only so much that words can describe. Intense white knuckled racing is absolutely addicting. The autolog helps you compete with your friends and makes the game so much more competitive. Multiplayer is splendid and is even more enjoyable with friends as winning gives you much bragging rights. A huge variety of cars to choose, from vintage muscles to modern supercars. This game gives you that adrenaline feeling that few games on todays market offer. A must have for any racing fan, be it arcade or sim fan. This game is absolutely fun and I have no idea why IGN gave it such a crappy score. The only thing I agree with their review is that this game is slightly short but that may perhaps be that Im enjoying myself so much and finished the game too quickly which leaves me craving for me. This game is a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    First of all it worked perfectly for me....I am a racer and I loved the manual shifting mode better than in any game so I was able to takeFirst of all it worked perfectly for me....I am a racer and I loved the manual shifting mode better than in any game so I was able to take turns with gear downgrade not just pressing the lame space break and then nitro i hate...the game is really short i hoped at the end that something else will happen but...anyway it was better than most of racing games Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    So, the run is finished. Too short, but breathtaking. I've spent only two hours to finish the storyline. Storyline could be better, but it's aSo, the run is finished. Too short, but breathtaking. I've spent only two hours to finish the storyline. Storyline could be better, but it's a race, so it's not so important. Graphics is great, but in battlefield 3 frostbite 2 looks a bit better. QTEs are awesome, but 3 QTEs during the game-that's not enough!!! Most of all i like physics of the car, you can feel weight and speed. But it's still arcade, so you will have no problems with driving. In my opinion, The Run is the best NFS since the time of Most Wanted. Autolog is still there and multiplayer as good as it was in HP. So, the main problem of The Run is that it's too short and sometimes a bit boring. 8/10. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    2 things describe this game: Cheap thrill & Fast food. The Frostbite engine is completely wasted on this game; every racing game this days2 things describe this game: Cheap thrill & Fast food. The Frostbite engine is completely wasted on this game; every racing game this days should have 2 settings: Arcade (like now) and simulation, YES EA? This kind of game is ok for the Xbox or PS - for the PC this game is pointless. This game could have been great, unfortunately the story is very weak, Fast & Furious clisees omnipresent and we have seen it all in Hot Pursuit not so long ago. To sum it up - quick, cheap thrill. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2014
    4
    The NFS game i liked the most was Most Wanted (the one released in 2005). It was challenging, had great customization options, and even theThe NFS game i liked the most was Most Wanted (the one released in 2005). It was challenging, had great customization options, and even the story wasn't half-bad. It was developed by Black Box, the same developers who made this game. So i expected something similar to that title.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't come close. It's not very challenging. The races are fairly easy and the cop chases aren't that difficult either (just roadblocks; no spikes or the other crazy stuff that was in Hot Pursuit). It has a very short single-player campaign (like 3 hours at most). It has absolutely no customization, and a very very weak story.

    The only redeeming qualities of this game are the diversity in the environments, the very good graphics and great visuals, as well as the gameplay that happened outside the car. That was a nice touch, though nothing groundbreaking.

    Also, a final thing that i liked in this game is the races when there would be a mountain collapsing, or stuff exploding, and you have to evade this stuff while trying to win the race. I know it was done before; but still, it added a certain degree of excitement to an otherwise stale racing experience.

    Some people are bashing this game, because the driving doesn't feel real. While that's true, it didn't bother me. I know that this is arcade-style racing, so i didn't expect it to mimic reality. But i at least expected the game to be longer in duration, have some car customization in it, and more exciting cop chases. I was very disappointed that it has none of these.

    I'll probably be ignoring Black Box from now on, and just stick with the good folks in Criterion Games.
    Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    3
    Pretty simple but fun arcade racer. Been plowing through the campaign all day and its been pretty fun or at least it was. For the first 2/3rdsPretty simple but fun arcade racer. Been plowing through the campaign all day and its been pretty fun or at least it was. For the first 2/3rds of the run I had no issues and it was a pretty smooth ride for the first 2000 or so miles. However after hitting Chicago the game goes to crap. The reason its gone to crap is my game dies on me 4-5 times every race. It seriously takes me about 30-40 minutes per race now before i manage to get all the way through it without crashing. Game is also a complete port feels horrible without a 360 controller and there are very few graphical options. On another note for anyone wondering about the on foot sections they are cut scenes with mediocre quick time events and they don't really add much to the game. Finally this has to be activated through Origin which is extremely touchy and will crash your game anytime you lose internet connection. Altogether this game has issues and im glad that i only paid $20 for it. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    Terrible port, Not very realistic, VERY Short. Action scenes are boring and are about 30 minutes of the already depressingly short 2 hourTerrible port, Not very realistic, VERY Short. Action scenes are boring and are about 30 minutes of the already depressingly short 2 hour story line, No car customisation, Game sounds are dull, Very little Wheel support, RWD cars seem to go crazy out of control if you use the handbrake. Last but not least, voices are out of sync and There is too much controller lag(Games responses are slow). The NFS series needs to go back to the Free roam customisation games that made them popular, Hopefully Criterion make Most Wanted 2 the sequel racing fans have been waiting for!

    Not to mention, the game crashes every 10 minutes for me! Waste of £35!
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews