Need for Speed: The Run PC

Need for Speed: The Run Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 331 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passesNeed for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passes and navigate narrow canyons at breakneck speeds. Powered by DICE’s state-of-the-art Frostbite 2 engine, Need for Speed The Run takes the action racing genre to new heights with stunning visuals and car physics that hug the road even at top speeds all built around a gripping storyline. The cars are hot, the racing is intense and the story will have you at the edge of your seat… all the way from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Empire State building. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 24, 2011
    90
    While points have to be docked for the annoying QTEs, the rest of The Run is amazingly exhilarating. The set pieces left us panting for breath, unable to process what had just happened, and the excitement level only dropped to 'really exciting' in between.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    81
    In the wake of full-fledged car and driver series like Gran Turismo, Forza Motorsport, and Test Drive Unlimited, the inflated expectations around The Run make it seem like more of a letdown than it really is.
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    79
    EA studio Blackbox fails to combine a fast paced racing experience, Battlefield 3 graphics with a good entertaining and satisfying story in Need for Speed: The Run. While the action is fun and the different settings look very good, the Frostbite Engine 2.0 could have been used slightly better on PC and the story could actually be a story: not just an excuse to send some uninteresting dude from A to B.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Racing purists may thumb their nose at it, but if you're the kind of person who prefers Burnout over Gran Turismo, you'll eat it right up.
  5. 68
    The Run bragged about revolutionizing the NFS series with an enticing story and memorable gameplay. Unfortunately, the story was better off missing in action and the only things that are memorable from the gameplay are its shortcoming: no freedom of choice, no Free Roaming, no Replay, no cockpit camera, no choice of races in multiplayer.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    60
    Innovation at all cost doomed NFS The Run – for every good idea comes a terrible one, and even the best ones are buried by technical issues. [Christmas 2011]
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    53
    Tiresome racer that only takes two hours to complete, yet somehow feels longer. That's both impressive and depressing.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 75
  2. Negative: 30 out of 75
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    From dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes theFrom dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes the whole world just stuningly beautiful and there is only so much that words can describe. Intense white knuckled racing is absolutely addicting. The autolog helps you compete with your friends and makes the game so much more competitive. Multiplayer is splendid and is even more enjoyable with friends as winning gives you much bragging rights. A huge variety of cars to choose, from vintage muscles to modern supercars. This game gives you that adrenaline feeling that few games on todays market offer. A must have for any racing fan, be it arcade or sim fan. This game is absolutely fun and I have no idea why IGN gave it such a crappy score. The only thing I agree with their review is that this game is slightly short but that may perhaps be that Im enjoying myself so much and finished the game too quickly which leaves me craving for me. This game is a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2015
    10
    This is Best game in my life . because of : when i play this game i feeling real driving and This is so cool ( i never real feeling driving inThis is Best game in my life . because of : when i play this game i feeling real driving and This is so cool ( i never real feeling driving in other games) Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    Need for speed is like the call of duty of racing a new one each year you can look forward to. This time around we have the Run. is it a crossNeed for speed is like the call of duty of racing a new one each year you can look forward to. This time around we have the Run. is it a cross country epic or does it burn out in the first lap lets find out.

    Story wise there's not much here you play a driver of a fast car and you are trying to win a cross country race without being disqualified by the mob standard story fair with no real twists or turns.

    What dose have twists and turns is the game play which is tight as ever you play across several maps mostly in a car but sometimes you have to get out of the car (Gasp), but only in an amusing QTE sequence every once in a while which are action packed and exciting and the tight game play is prevalent over to all modes.

    Graphically the game is great. a little more time on the human models would be good, but the cars look fantastic as do environments as you race across America to survive.
    Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    2 things describe this game: Cheap thrill & Fast food. The Frostbite engine is completely wasted on this game; every racing game this days2 things describe this game: Cheap thrill & Fast food. The Frostbite engine is completely wasted on this game; every racing game this days should have 2 settings: Arcade (like now) and simulation, YES EA? This kind of game is ok for the Xbox or PS - for the PC this game is pointless. This game could have been great, unfortunately the story is very weak, Fast & Furious clisees omnipresent and we have seen it all in Hot Pursuit not so long ago. To sum it up - quick, cheap thrill. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As it is conversion from consoles the only things which Frostbite 2 achieves is The Run are higher requirements and low performance. Only few locations look really good, but I'm sure this could be done with old engine. You can't even change your car when you want, you have to drive into a gas station (and by the way lose few positions) which sometimes is even in the end of race. And this police Nissan GTR - WOW. It has to be an AMS Alpha 12 version with 1500bhp as it goes from 200-300km/h faster than my McLaren MP4-12c with nitro. Racing is enjoyable, but even on hard difficulty the game is easy. Whole The Run is about 300 miles not 3000 as game can be finished in 2 hours. I've had Xbox buttons in qte, but as I removed my gamepad there are keyboard keys. Generally game is not worth buying. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    3
    Another hard-scripted console crappy game-like movie with lame plot and a bunch of unexplainable idiocity. The parts where you had only pushAnother hard-scripted console crappy game-like movie with lame plot and a bunch of unexplainable idiocity. The parts where you had only push one button, when asked, were done fine. Everything else is just a train-racing game. There are invisible rails for opponent cars, there are rules that apply only to the player, and never to opponents, there are trees you can fly through, and there is a constant line 3 meters away from the road that forces a "rewind" action, no matter what the situation. Everything is hard-scripted, just like the COD:MW3, but there it was done correctly. Here it is nothing more but an obvious idiocity and lazyness of game developers. And so this review would not an all-talk, here's few things that prove my point. The reason this game could not be called a racing game is that no real racing rules apply to it. Every event is timed. Be it an opponent move or some cutscene, whatever. And to run all those events correctly a lot of things gets ignored. Opponents position, speed, situation, player's actions - none of it matters. The game will show you an awesome opponent crash scene, and won't give a f*ck if you already wrecked him into a cargo container 100 meters before. The cop on some low-tier car with a 304kmph top speed WILL get before you the moment your 350kmph nitro ends and will do an instant-stop in your face. The game will reset you if you go more than 3 meters into the flat field, and won't give a f*ck to the fact that you can easily go back to the track and keep going. The game will show a nice "WRECKED" message for *scraching* your car to pedestrian side walk or another car, but the same time will completly ignore some street poles and even trees. And this only applies to the player's car. Opponents are TANKS ON RAILS. They don't care. Even if those rails leat to obstacles. The game is confined into simple rules, that make everything in a game nothing more than a decoration behind a "press ENTER to win" text, thus making player nothing more than a dumb ape. Another half-assed arcade racing console game that puts NFS series into deeper sh*t than it already is. But I'd still give this game a mark of 3 for nicely done "on-foot" scenes and "good-enough-for-a-console-port" graphics. "Most Wanted" is still the best. Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2013
    0
    terrible.

    need for speed hot pursuit and the run have this disgusting feature in common: you don't have fun while racing because there
    terrible.

    need for speed hot pursuit and the run have this disgusting feature in common:

    you don't have fun while racing because there is no racing. there is just a sick script that kills all your experience and make you feel like you are straining in a maze that some inadequate loser built.

    this game is beyond horrible. pretentious, horrid, bloated, a complete failure.
    Expand

See all 75 User Reviews