Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passes and navigate narrow canyons at breakneck speeds. Powered by DICE’s state-of-the-art Frostbite 2 engine, Need for Speed The Run takes the action racing genre to new heights with stunning visuals and car physics that hug the road even at top speeds all built around a gripping storyline. The cars are hot, the racing is intense and the story will have you at the edge of your seat… all the way from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Empire State building. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 24, 2011
    90
    While points have to be docked for the annoying QTEs, the rest of The Run is amazingly exhilarating. The set pieces left us panting for breath, unable to process what had just happened, and the excitement level only dropped to 'really exciting' in between.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    81
    In the wake of full-fledged car and driver series like Gran Turismo, Forza Motorsport, and Test Drive Unlimited, the inflated expectations around The Run make it seem like more of a letdown than it really is.
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    79
    EA studio Blackbox fails to combine a fast paced racing experience, Battlefield 3 graphics with a good entertaining and satisfying story in Need for Speed: The Run. While the action is fun and the different settings look very good, the Frostbite Engine 2.0 could have been used slightly better on PC and the story could actually be a story: not just an excuse to send some uninteresting dude from A to B.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Racing purists may thumb their nose at it, but if you're the kind of person who prefers Burnout over Gran Turismo, you'll eat it right up.
  5. 68
    The Run bragged about revolutionizing the NFS series with an enticing story and memorable gameplay. Unfortunately, the story was better off missing in action and the only things that are memorable from the gameplay are its shortcoming: no freedom of choice, no Free Roaming, no Replay, no cockpit camera, no choice of races in multiplayer.
  6. 60
    Innovation at all cost doomed NFS The Run – for every good idea comes a terrible one, and even the best ones are buried by technical issues. [Christmas 2011]
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    53
    Tiresome racer that only takes two hours to complete, yet somehow feels longer. That's both impressive and depressing.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 65
  2. Negative: 29 out of 65
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    From dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes the whole world just stuningly beautiful and there is only so much that words can describe. Intense white knuckled racing is absolutely addicting. The autolog helps you compete with your friends and makes the game so much more competitive. Multiplayer is splendid and is even more enjoyable with friends as winning gives you much bragging rights. A huge variety of cars to choose, from vintage muscles to modern supercars. This game gives you that adrenaline feeling that few games on todays market offer. A must have for any racing fan, be it arcade or sim fan. This game is absolutely fun and I have no idea why IGN gave it such a crappy score. The only thing I agree with their review is that this game is slightly short but that may perhaps be that Im enjoying myself so much and finished the game too quickly which leaves me craving for me. This game is a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    Great game in all sense. The latest creation of the legendary Studio. I hope that the guys will make their separate project. Such a variety of weather and various trails never seen. And the story and race point much better than arrivals in a circle. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Tasty little racer. I have to say it's got more thrills than any game in its genre, and that alone is worth it its money. Its length is a problem, taking me about 4-5 hours to complete. Afterwards, there are challenges and you can replay The Run on extreme difficulty, and of course there's the multiplayer. Graphically, this game is for the most part impressive. The controversial QTEs are few and far apart, and are packed with action. I had a good time beating the game, and I recommend it, especially if you can find the Limited Edition on a good deal. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    After spending my afternoon playing need for speed the run, I realised how much i missed the older nfs games. This game strives to be what made nfs games so special, and it only delivers slightly. This is an obvious console port, having no difference despite changing the display settings. But it is filled with thrills which are rare in car games,as well as a wide variety of vehicles. The story is disappointing as it makes no sense though. Not the best nfs out there but still deserving of a pass. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    4
    It is average at best. The storyline is average, the cliches are average, the controls are... bad compared to a game like nfs hot pursuit. The game is very linear and if you can get past the average and overused concept then it can be moderately enjoyable with a bit of a lengthy story mode. The game suffers from terrible controls, lack of a lot of different cars, and as many people have said, very linear. I do not mind these things but its just not as good as other racing games. 4 out of 10 Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    EA Black Box can't make good games anymore. NFS Undercover - FAIL, NFS World - Fail, NFS The Run - a third fail from this company (why won't EA fire them?!). Plus, they totally killed the game by not adding the AA option (while Frostbite 2 supports quite a few interesting AA modes). I spent ~1 hour on playing this game and the story is very dumb and boring although the cut scenes look quite decent and that makes me wanna see them (I'm talking about graphics).
    Driving - terrible thing about this game again. This game was purely made for consoles because I couldn't even set my driving to right arrow, left arrow and up arrow (these weren't set by default).
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    Terrible port, Not very realistic, VERY Short. Action scenes are boring and are about 30 minutes of the already depressingly short 2 hour story line, No car customisation, Game sounds are dull, Very little Wheel support, RWD cars seem to go crazy out of control if you use the handbrake. Last but not least, voices are out of sync and There is too much controller lag(Games responses are slow). The NFS series needs to go back to the Free roam customisation games that made them popular, Hopefully Criterion make Most Wanted 2 the sequel racing fans have been waiting for!

    Not to mention, the game crashes every 10 minutes for me! Waste of £35!
    Expand

See all 65 User Reviews