User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 170
  2. Negative: 77 out of 170

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    4
    The game, from the start, was pretty fun, exciting, and so on, but later, when I got through half of gameplay, everything gets harder, some races are just impossible to win. Just saying, to play this game, you need really good skills, otherwise you couldn't possibly win a race. And there is one minus about cars. You cant pick ANY car, and win whole game. You need to choose it wisely, check stats, and so on, but it sucks. Every car I really like, for example BMW M3, have fu***d up handling. It isn't possible to drive with it! Example: On NFS: MW I could possibly win game by every car. Another minus. On dual-core CPU's Autosculpt will freeze your game. And I couldn't possibly find any patch for it. Deal with it. EA possibly will never, ever, ever make almost perfect game, like NFS:MW (2005) Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    This is the first Need For Speed game i have ever played other then the first one that came out and i have beaten this one all the way through to the end. I really enjoyed it, there were some parts of the game were it got frustrating because sometimes you would be so far ahead that you know noone is going to pass you and then the AI might just put in there after burners or something and get really close to you as you about to finish a race. The story was interesting and got you thinking all the way to the end. The running from the cops was alot of fun and challenging because you have to think of different ways to drive to try and loose them. I found my self playing it for hours on end to level up my rank in game and to get more money so i can get better cars. Some times the gameplay felt repetitive, like you were going down the same roads as before over and over but alot of times they mixed the route up. The graphics were great. Most of the missions you play are fun. The destroying another car missions are my favorite. There is not an active online in this game, unless you play with your friends. The game took me 13 hours to beat. The Nitrous Oxide in the game for the most part felt weak and it didnt really feel like you were going faster performance wise for most of the game. When you get the faster cars then you will see the advantages of the Nitrous Oxide. In game there is a slow-mo button to make time slow down so that you can get out of quick situations. When you keep falling behind of certain missions make sure to restart when you aren't getting ahead midway through the races, the reason being is because the races and pedestrian car set up is different every time you start a race or mission and sometimes the AI opponents crash into each other or do something stupid so you would be able to gain a bit lead over the competition. The sound track to the game got old after awhile. Make sure you save your money to upgrade your car and dont spend so much in the beginning, if you are winning most of the races with ease and not struggling through the races then you should be fine until you struggle and have to battle your way just to win a race. The best car for speed and overall domination in game is the Bugatti Veyron when its totally upgraded. I really enjoyed playing the game, and it got me excited to play the other Need for Speed games. If you love running from the cops and evading them in rural and highway situations then this is the game for you. Expand
  3. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun and there's plenty of it. Both the sprints and circuits are enjoyable and the checkpoint races get to be a bit challenging. As in every NFS title the cars are customizable and great in themselves. The graphics were great (and my system is not high-end). The only thing I didn't like was that the cop chases do get monotonous after a while, and once you get to the level where they start sending Feds it becomes unreasonably hard. But all in all, it's not a bad game. Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2011
    0
    Dude, this is the WORST ever of EA's game, why just they released this games with no good spec? There is no any other thing to make player satisfied to this game, since I bought this game I think "This games would be awesome". But when I played it, the game turn into a **** Nobody would play that game, it make me boring and suck. Maybe they gave it HD features like in the NFS ProStreet, or satisfaying cop dude like in NFS Most Wanted. EA just selling **** they have no sense at games, and I tellin' ya nobody got to play this game! Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2011
    4
    Horrific cannot describe this game, it is quite simply the worst need for speed I have ever played. I cringed at the 'story driven' cut-scenes, the handling is too iffy, even for an arcade game, and the races.. no words. Presentation wise, graphics are okay and the engine sounds are fine, but the voice acting is just plain bad. Car variety is decent and luckily cop chases are still fun.
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    5
    It's a good addition to the NFS collection if you're a fan, I liked the actual actors used, even if the scting was poor, the cars were good, however prices were way unrealistic (you get a $700,000 discount off the Veyron but overpay by atleast $100,000 for the Shelby GT500). Sound FX were good, cop chases were really fun and intense, however I do agree that an SUV K-9 unit will never do over 150mph. Why a K-9 unit anyway? They're busting street racers, not drug traffickers. It's a MW clone by far, I don't know why people are having perormance issues on their systems, my rig takes a nap when I play this, with settings maxed. Cop AI is to be desired, and the cars handle like their on a magnetic track, which can be fun if you're a casual gamer, or just wanna drive a fast car and piss off some cops (always fun). This isn't an epic title by anymeans, but it has it's strengths, and it can be fun if you're not an immature hater. But I cant see myself giving it above a 5, it just doesn't have the juice that Underground2 and MW did, now if you mix the customization and soundtracks of the Underground series with the pursuit features, possible even add some night time effects (it's always daylight in this game, if anyone else noticed, even in freeroam) then you would have one bad-ass NFS title! Oh, for other thoughts, disband Criterion, I'm very disappointed in the BS excuse for a game that you guys turned Hot Pursuit into, should be called Burnout Pursuit. Terrible game. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2012
    3
    This game is pretty bad and a quick cash-in for the need for speed franchise. The live action cutscenes are porrly acted, and the gameplay bland. The environments and cars have no life to them at all and it feels like a game from 2002.
  8. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    If you can get this game cheap, then Need for Speed: Undercover can be considered passable as it is almost inferior in every regard to previous Need for Speed titles.
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    Crappy physics, silly story, and why is it "open world" if you can't get to the destination by your own route. Cop chases are good though, and the overall racing experience is decent, despite all the shortcomings.
  10. Jul 26, 2012
    4
    This game is one of the worst titles in the series. The storyline is okay, but gets boring quickly. The graphics are barely any better compared to Most Wanted and Carbon, but there is no guarantee the game will run smoothly. The first machine I played the game on, had well above the Minimum and around the Recommended specs and the game was super-choppy. Now if a game is laggy when you have met the Minimum specs clearly there is an issue with the coding itself. The computer players and cops are very stupid and the physics itself for the game are terrible. The choice of cars were good, and the world you drive in (Tri-City Bay), was actually very well done, but too bad it wasn't put on a great game. Expand
  11. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    Absolutely terrible. Dont go anywhere near this game. Four years after release and they still havent bothered to fix the numerous technical problems that plague this game. For me the game was completely unplayable and the little time i spent in the game was a complete mess with boring races, unskippable cutscenes and a ton of graphical problems. Stay away.
  12. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    This game really is a diamond in the rough. It's hands down the best Need For Speed game since NFS Carbon, Most Wanted, and the Underground series. The graphics are pretty good even with today's standards, the car selection is okay, and the car customization is a little limited, but much, MUCH better than the newer games. It's basically NFS ProStreet, on the street, except the physics have taken a turn for the better. Instead of the really bad understeer that all of the cars in ProStreet had (even when drifting! how can you have understeer when drifting is all about oversteer?!?! ProStreet managed it somehow...), the physics of Undercover are entirely different. Now, at high speeds, all the cars in Undercover grip the road insanely well. Seemingly, the faster the car goes, the more grip it has, so if you go 240 MPH, you can practically take 90 degree turns without letting off of the gas. Humorously beneficial and just as weird as ProStreet's handling but on the opposite end of the spectrum. The only real downsides to the game are that the story line is pretty weak and the cut scenes are even lamer, the soundtrack is pretty bad (the game has just about every song you've NEVER heard of), and it's a little glitchy on the PC. I've heard many stories about people having problems getting the game to run well.The only problem that has happened to me personally is that the game tends to freeze and crash when using autosculpt in the garage. I've installed and played this game on multiple computers and it happens on all of them. The bottom line is that the game has many more pros than cons and is undoubtedly the best NFS game of recent times. Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2012
    2
    No no no EA has killed another need for speed
    physics are terrible, its very annoying to drive and the story are crap. I also had some problem installing this on my computer. I do not recommend this.
  14. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Same old NfS formula recycled. Graphically, it is average with a nice atmosphere provided by the late-afternoon lighting, but is very buggy concerning any non-standard resolution where some are not even selectable without editing the registry and some will cause the game to crash often, along with a bunch of other crashes that occur for seemingly no reason. The live action cutscenes are well acted, same goes for the police chatter during chases, and all is backed by a good soundtrack which has a little of something for everyone. Story is pretty forgettable and mediocre, though. Gameplay remains largely unchanged from the previous installments, apart from the couple of new race types which are pretty bad, they quickly get downright annoying as the slightest mistake can cost you the victory. Your gaming experience may change based on how much Need for Speed you played in the past. Veterans will get bored halfway through the game, while newbloods will probably find it entertaining. Expand
  15. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    The only thing wrong with this game is the frame rate and the graphics. Usually when I play a need for speed game I expect a restricted map, races that get boring after a while, and cookie cutter missions. However with this game I was pleasantly surprised by how you are thrown into a giant sandbox complete with random cop chases based on your actions. If you want you can just play this game for the walled off races, but I personally only play this game for the sandbox. I love the thrill of going 200 mph down the wrong side of the highway knowing that at anytime a disguised Porsche may appear and call in everything from a huge roadblock to a convoy of super fast, tough SUVs. And if you do get caught you often get a rather humorous cut scene of cheesy cops complete with mustaches and sunglasses.

    My only complaints are the bad graphics, frame rate issues, and it takes way too long to bring the heat up on your cars.
    Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Cool cars, horrible acting, bad sound recycling, bad GFX and VSYNC, but adrenaline was delivered Steering seemed taken from an racing anime, which I loved it, of course, who doesn't love anime Overall, a quite entertaining game.
  17. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Ne znam čemu slabe ocjene ipak je to NFS u novom ruhu sa finim animacijama, odličnom grafikom te ogromnim izborom automobila..........................
  18. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Yeah, fun game but way too frustrating.
    You piled with 8+ police SUV's and expected to destroy them along with the additional police cruiser that spawns every 60 seconds.

    You do this for every cop chase scene, it gets real old and boring real quick.
  19. DM7
    Mar 11, 2014
    0
    i recently bought this, because it was having a 75% off on steam, and wow it is bad, no wonder its only $2.49 (after discount).
    and it wasn't even able to make me want to play it more, i tried to force myself to play it more, so that at least i got my money's worth. but the game is too easy and it makes it very boring, and it got poor performance, nothing special with the graphics (i know
    its an old 2009 game, but there are a lot 2009 games with better graphics than this trash), the acting is so bad, i can't even watch the cutscenes, and the script is also trash,

    and also maggie Q acting is as bad as always, man i bet they spent a lot hiring her, because of her looks, but her acting is terrible, she really should consider something else than acting.

    totally a waste of money, not worth it even when its 75% off, i don't think its even worth it even if EA giving it away for free, HDD space is more precious for other rather than installing this trash, and my HDD is 3TB, so i don't have a capacity issue, but this game doesn't even worth sitting in my HDD.
    Expand
  20. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    The game isn't one of the better of the NFS series, but it has a nice story, cool cars with essential tuning and a certain level of challenge at the pursuits but is very easy to win some races. I didn't like the game's graphics because it has few adjust options and menu isn't well organized. It's worth to buy when it is on at 50% or more discount offer on Steam, but there are games well better than Undercover. Sorry, my English is bad. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The game modes are not particularly intense, and the vehicles, although very detailed, fail to offer the feeling from the best of the series.
  2. One can't help but notice that the franchise has seen better days.
  3. 60
    Need for Speed: Undercover is a game that both satisfies and disappoints on a regular basis. While the chases provide top-notch thrills and spills, you can’t help but feel like you’ve just done it too many times to really care anymore.