User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 197
  2. Negative: 82 out of 197

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun and there's plenty of it. Both the sprints and circuits are enjoyable and the checkpoint races get to be a bit challenging. As in every NFS title the cars are customizable and great in themselves. The graphics were great (and my system is not high-end).This game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun and there's plenty of it. Both the sprints and circuits are enjoyable and the checkpoint races get to be a bit challenging. As in every NFS title the cars are customizable and great in themselves. The graphics were great (and my system is not high-end). The only thing I didn't like was that the cop chases do get monotonous after a while, and once you get to the level where they start sending Feds it becomes unreasonably hard. But all in all, it's not a bad game. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    5
    It's a good addition to the NFS collection if you're a fan, I liked the actual actors used, even if the scting was poor, the cars were good, however prices were way unrealistic (you get a $700,000 discount off the Veyron but overpay by atleast $100,000 for the Shelby GT500). Sound FX were good, cop chases were really fun and intense, however I do agree that an SUV K-9 unit will never doIt's a good addition to the NFS collection if you're a fan, I liked the actual actors used, even if the scting was poor, the cars were good, however prices were way unrealistic (you get a $700,000 discount off the Veyron but overpay by atleast $100,000 for the Shelby GT500). Sound FX were good, cop chases were really fun and intense, however I do agree that an SUV K-9 unit will never do over 150mph. Why a K-9 unit anyway? They're busting street racers, not drug traffickers. It's a MW clone by far, I don't know why people are having perormance issues on their systems, my rig takes a nap when I play this, with settings maxed. Cop AI is to be desired, and the cars handle like their on a magnetic track, which can be fun if you're a casual gamer, or just wanna drive a fast car and piss off some cops (always fun). This isn't an epic title by anymeans, but it has it's strengths, and it can be fun if you're not an immature hater. But I cant see myself giving it above a 5, it just doesn't have the juice that Underground2 and MW did, now if you mix the customization and soundtracks of the Underground series with the pursuit features, possible even add some night time effects (it's always daylight in this game, if anyone else noticed, even in freeroam) then you would have one bad-ass NFS title! Oh, for other thoughts, disband Criterion, I'm very disappointed in the BS excuse for a game that you guys turned Hot Pursuit into, should be called Burnout Pursuit. Terrible game. Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Same old NfS formula recycled. Graphically, it is average with a nice atmosphere provided by the late-afternoon lighting, but is very buggy concerning any non-standard resolution where some are not even selectable without editing the registry and some will cause the game to crash often, along with a bunch of other crashes that occur for seemingly no reason. The live action cutscenes areSame old NfS formula recycled. Graphically, it is average with a nice atmosphere provided by the late-afternoon lighting, but is very buggy concerning any non-standard resolution where some are not even selectable without editing the registry and some will cause the game to crash often, along with a bunch of other crashes that occur for seemingly no reason. The live action cutscenes are well acted, same goes for the police chatter during chases, and all is backed by a good soundtrack which has a little of something for everyone. Story is pretty forgettable and mediocre, though. Gameplay remains largely unchanged from the previous installments, apart from the couple of new race types which are pretty bad, they quickly get downright annoying as the slightest mistake can cost you the victory. Your gaming experience may change based on how much Need for Speed you played in the past. Veterans will get bored halfway through the game, while newbloods will probably find it entertaining. Expand
  4. AigorUppercut
    Mar 8, 2009
    4
    The game has a known recipe that has been out there for some years now: nice cars, open world, cheesy FMVs. . . But it lacks the shine of the previous installments of the NFS franchise. Somehow related to Need for Speed Most Wanted (mainly because of the police chases) the resemblence ends right there. It's impossible to compare such a good game like MW to Undercover. The physics are The game has a known recipe that has been out there for some years now: nice cars, open world, cheesy FMVs. . . But it lacks the shine of the previous installments of the NFS franchise. Somehow related to Need for Speed Most Wanted (mainly because of the police chases) the resemblence ends right there. It's impossible to compare such a good game like MW to Undercover. The physics are awful (all the cars handle as if the road itself was made out of rubber), the car customization system is very limited, and it's difficulty rises from a very (VERY) easy start to end with a nonsensical dificulty as you reach higher levels, whereas oponents cars can outrun you every single time, even when you use your NOS to pump some juice into your engine, the AI goes faster and faster until their car crashes into something or you pass along it with your NOS bar empty. Perhaps you may think that I'm overlooking some important aspects like graphics, sound and others. Yes, the game looks really good and has an acceptable soudtrack, but gameplay is always my main concern and that's where NFSUC fails. To all those things that I critizised in the upper paragraph, you may add the ridiculous high system requirements required to experience a pleasant game experience. Even when my system is far from being high end (an e7300 with 2Gs of RAM, coupled with an overclocked 512mb HD 3850) the game on highest settings (no Vsync) ranges from a minimal 32 to a top 48 FPS, with 45 being the most common value. That sounds nice, but the game suffers from random FPS drops and suttering. And it's not the processor or RAM, when checking CPU usage the game never reached more than 3/4 of it's total capacity. This issue is common, even with stronger systems (q6600, 4Gs, 8800 GTS) the anomaly persists and it gets very annoying when your car is racing at 350 km/h and you suddenly find yourself in danger because the game stuttered and left you in the wrong side of the road with little time to react. And NO, the official patch did nothing to solve this issue. So, taking all that's been said, my humble advise is to stay away from this one. It seems that fans of the good'ol NFS games will have to understand once and for all that EA will keep smearing a good name with lousy, unfinished games. Expand
  5. SlowJustice
    May 20, 2009
    5
    It really is the worst NFS that has come out to date. Today's games seem to be more about the money than the game, They tend to forget that if they keep making junk we will go to other games. I read the other day that the new NFS Shift isn't going to support steering wheels, seems to be kind of stupid seeing as they are calling it a race sim. Oh well. as I said.. plenty of goodIt really is the worst NFS that has come out to date. Today's games seem to be more about the money than the game, They tend to forget that if they keep making junk we will go to other games. I read the other day that the new NFS Shift isn't going to support steering wheels, seems to be kind of stupid seeing as they are calling it a race sim. Oh well. as I said.. plenty of good racers out there if you look Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2012
    4
    The game, from the start, was pretty fun, exciting, and so on, but later, when I got through half of gameplay, everything gets harder, some races are just impossible to win. Just saying, to play this game, you need really good skills, otherwise you couldn't possibly win a race. And there is one minus about cars. You cant pick ANY car, and win whole game. You need to choose it wisely, checkThe game, from the start, was pretty fun, exciting, and so on, but later, when I got through half of gameplay, everything gets harder, some races are just impossible to win. Just saying, to play this game, you need really good skills, otherwise you couldn't possibly win a race. And there is one minus about cars. You cant pick ANY car, and win whole game. You need to choose it wisely, check stats, and so on, but it sucks. Every car I really like, for example BMW M3, have fu***d up handling. It isn't possible to drive with it! Example: On NFS: MW I could possibly win game by every car. Another minus. On dual-core CPU's Autosculpt will freeze your game. And I couldn't possibly find any patch for it. Deal with it. EA possibly will never, ever, ever make almost perfect game, like NFS:MW (2005) Expand
  7. sdfsdfsdfdsdf
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good goodgood good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good Expand
  8. SankalpG
    Feb 23, 2009
    2
    I really have nothing to say about this game. I installed it on vista. HUGE PROBLEMS. I gave it another chance. Installed on XP. MORE PROBLEMS. Indeed and the worst part is that I don't find much of a difference between this game and the Most Wanted. I hope if you're thinking of getting this game, get Burnout Paradise instead.
  9. TonyGrosinger
    Nov 30, 2008
    4
    Great cars and looks real nice. Cops are unreasonably fast however and very stupid. On all cop chases you will be driving along and instantly spawn 15 feds in SUVs that can go over 200 mph. I don't believe that that is realistic in any way at all.
  10. JugalShah
    Dec 2, 2008
    2
    The game is disappointing as it tries to be like NFS-Most Wanted with high HD requirements like higher RAM & graphics. There was a much higher expectation from this game but it failed. Wild cop chases,cut-scenes & excellent driving cars makes it a bit cool; but it has tons of problems whilst playing the game which annoys the user & makes it unenjoyable!! NFS should make it a lot better!!The game is disappointing as it tries to be like NFS-Most Wanted with high HD requirements like higher RAM & graphics. There was a much higher expectation from this game but it failed. Wild cop chases,cut-scenes & excellent driving cars makes it a bit cool; but it has tons of problems whilst playing the game which annoys the user & makes it unenjoyable!! NFS should make it a lot better!! Better luck next time guys!! Expand
  11. MarkK
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    Those other people dont know what they are talking about. I believe that the developers at EA and BlackBox have outdone themselves once again to bring enjoyment to the racing game scene. I understand there are other racing sims out there but none like the Need For Speed Franchise. I have owned every version since the beginning of the franchise. I own it for both PC and PS3. EA and Those other people dont know what they are talking about. I believe that the developers at EA and BlackBox have outdone themselves once again to bring enjoyment to the racing game scene. I understand there are other racing sims out there but none like the Need For Speed Franchise. I have owned every version since the beginning of the franchise. I own it for both PC and PS3. EA and everyone else that was involved in the making of the game... keep doing what you do best and that is making the Need For Speed franchise better and better every year. Expand
  12. redcode
    Jan 5, 2009
    1
    Congratulation EA! I know, NFS is an arcade Game but this here is ready for the worst Game Award 2008. I mean come on an Police SUV is faster else an tuned Sportcar? Faster like an bugatti veron? i mean did EA investigate any mind in this game? maybe not... it looks like a game to make somehow cash! I'm deeply disappointed about this 49
  13. {Rx}i807
    Mar 1, 2009
    7
    So close yet so far. I love you EA. BUT come on. I can run Crysis full out at 57 FPS with no problems. Even on low settings in N4S I was consistently tearing. As Red Code Has said A SUV that does 200+? a Porshe that when you drive barely keeps up. But a Porshe police cruzer that womps a Mclaren F1? But beside the negatives I enjoyed the game. Largest map by far. For an arcade it was a So close yet so far. I love you EA. BUT come on. I can run Crysis full out at 57 FPS with no problems. Even on low settings in N4S I was consistently tearing. As Red Code Has said A SUV that does 200+? a Porshe that when you drive barely keeps up. But a Porshe police cruzer that womps a Mclaren F1? But beside the negatives I enjoyed the game. Largest map by far. For an arcade it was a little easy to handle the cars. The game has so much potential. I hope you clean it up for the next NFS. Expand
  14. ChristianZ
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    Story Mode just wasn`t long enough. Beat the game in less than 3 days. Now what.....? Other than that the game engine and graphics where outstanding.The maps are HUGE and the A.I. was right up there with any other game you play against a computer(Artificial Intelligence).Overall a good game.
  15. Tulatin
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    A big, boring game that seizes your hand and throws you where your'e supposed to go in the city. It's far too easy and the driving physics are terrible. Beyond that, the vehicles sound like the bastard child of a singer and a ricer rocket. Perhaps the only redeeming quality of it is the return to an arcade field, but who are we kidding? Don't waste your time, don't A big, boring game that seizes your hand and throws you where your'e supposed to go in the city. It's far too easy and the driving physics are terrible. Beyond that, the vehicles sound like the bastard child of a singer and a ricer rocket. Perhaps the only redeeming quality of it is the return to an arcade field, but who are we kidding? Don't waste your time, don't waste your money, don't even waste the packets, and if you do, for the love of god, don't waste a DVD9. Maybe EA can bundle it together with ProStreet and sell the NFS: Shit Pack to recoup some losses. Or maybe they just need to develop Big Rigs 2 next. Expand
  16. MarkoMunko
    Dec 12, 2008
    0
    WOW this f**king game runs slow on my rig with a 9800GT (top 10 tier GPU) with numerous glitches and bugs replete throughout every area... You would think it was made by Atari but alas the franchise that should have been great, never was, and thus NFS: UnderDeveloped reflects the virtues of it's creator EA. I did not enjoy this game, and in order to get a steady framerate on anyWOW this f**king game runs slow on my rig with a 9800GT (top 10 tier GPU) with numerous glitches and bugs replete throughout every area... You would think it was made by Atari but alas the franchise that should have been great, never was, and thus NFS: UnderDeveloped reflects the virtues of it's creator EA. I did not enjoy this game, and in order to get a steady framerate on any decent system you've got to disable most of the graphics options making this game look WORSE than its predecessors in order to acheive a similar framerate. Sorry guys you've failed on this one... add that to the list I suppose... Expand
  17. JohnMcCain
    Dec 24, 2008
    1
    Rehash mix up of Most Wanted, Prostreet, and Carbon. Totally sucks and isnt worth the 60 dollar shelf price.
    Price dropped to 40 and still isnt worth it. If it was released at 20 or 30 than I would rate it higher for being great budget ware, but this is a long running big name franchise. EA should hire better studios.

    Shut Down BLACKBOX!!!
  18. Tuure
    Dec 30, 2008
    2
    The game doesn't bring anything new to the series. Just like every EA-game so far... Unrealistic handling, boring storyline, boring races with nothing new to them etc. This game was just like playing Carbon, except the graphics were amazing and the best so far. There's few new things, such as taking out some "gang-members" by crashing into them which was just stupid. The game The game doesn't bring anything new to the series. Just like every EA-game so far... Unrealistic handling, boring storyline, boring races with nothing new to them etc. This game was just like playing Carbon, except the graphics were amazing and the best so far. There's few new things, such as taking out some "gang-members" by crashing into them which was just stupid. The game ended by taking out some other street-racers and that's it, also the game was way too easy. I have bought few NFS's, but I'm not gonna waste my money on any of them anymore. Expand
  19. LukeM.
    Nov 21, 2008
    1
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  20. ChristianP.
    Nov 25, 2008
    3
    The good thing first, to get it out of the way. NFS Undercover has a great variety of cars and they look nice. The cutscenes are well done, from an aesthetic point of view. But that's it. The important bits like car physics or opponent AI iare a joke. The opposing racers rely on a totally random rubberband AI and the "revolutionary" cop AI consists of passing and ramming. No The good thing first, to get it out of the way. NFS Undercover has a great variety of cars and they look nice. The cutscenes are well done, from an aesthetic point of view. But that's it. The important bits like car physics or opponent AI iare a joke. The opposing racers rely on a totally random rubberband AI and the "revolutionary" cop AI consists of passing and ramming. No discernable strategy, no finesse, just plain stupid brute force. Add to that a completely broken graphics engine that doesn't run well even on machines that way exceed the system requirements and looks like it's three years old to boot, restrictive copy protection and a lack of polish that is totally inexcuseable in the light of a game like Race Driver GRID and you have the opposite of entertainment. If you value your money, please stay clear of this game. It's time EA changes developers and lengthens the developement cycles on their games instead of rushing half-baked cash-in attempts out of the door. Expand
  21. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    This is the first Need For Speed game i have ever played other then the first one that came out and i have beaten this one all the way through to the end. I really enjoyed it, there were some parts of the game were it got frustrating because sometimes you would be so far ahead that you know noone is going to pass you and then the AI might just put in there after burners or something andThis is the first Need For Speed game i have ever played other then the first one that came out and i have beaten this one all the way through to the end. I really enjoyed it, there were some parts of the game were it got frustrating because sometimes you would be so far ahead that you know noone is going to pass you and then the AI might just put in there after burners or something and get really close to you as you about to finish a race. The story was interesting and got you thinking all the way to the end. The running from the cops was alot of fun and challenging because you have to think of different ways to drive to try and loose them. I found my self playing it for hours on end to level up my rank in game and to get more money so i can get better cars. Some times the gameplay felt repetitive, like you were going down the same roads as before over and over but alot of times they mixed the route up. The graphics were great. Most of the missions you play are fun. The destroying another car missions are my favorite. There is not an active online in this game, unless you play with your friends. The game took me 13 hours to beat. The Nitrous Oxide in the game for the most part felt weak and it didnt really feel like you were going faster performance wise for most of the game. When you get the faster cars then you will see the advantages of the Nitrous Oxide. In game there is a slow-mo button to make time slow down so that you can get out of quick situations. When you keep falling behind of certain missions make sure to restart when you aren't getting ahead midway through the races, the reason being is because the races and pedestrian car set up is different every time you start a race or mission and sometimes the AI opponents crash into each other or do something stupid so you would be able to gain a bit lead over the competition. The sound track to the game got old after awhile. Make sure you save your money to upgrade your car and dont spend so much in the beginning, if you are winning most of the races with ease and not struggling through the races then you should be fine until you struggle and have to battle your way just to win a race. The best car for speed and overall domination in game is the Bugatti Veyron when its totally upgraded. I really enjoyed playing the game, and it got me excited to play the other Need for Speed games. If you love running from the cops and evading them in rural and highway situations then this is the game for you. Expand
  22. Aug 24, 2011
    0
    Dude, this is the WORST ever of EA's game, why just they released this games with no good spec? There is no any other thing to make player satisfied to this game, since I bought this game I think "This games would be awesome". But when I played it, the game turn into a **** Nobody would play that game, it make me boring and suck. Maybe they gave it HD features like in the NFS ProStreet, orDude, this is the WORST ever of EA's game, why just they released this games with no good spec? There is no any other thing to make player satisfied to this game, since I bought this game I think "This games would be awesome". But when I played it, the game turn into a **** Nobody would play that game, it make me boring and suck. Maybe they gave it HD features like in the NFS ProStreet, or satisfaying cop dude like in NFS Most Wanted. EA just selling **** they have no sense at games, and I tellin' ya nobody got to play this game! Collapse
  23. Oct 26, 2011
    4
    Horrific cannot describe this game, it is quite simply the worst need for speed I have ever played. I cringed at the 'story driven' cut-scenes, the handling is too iffy, even for an arcade game, and the races.. no words. Presentation wise, graphics are okay and the engine sounds are fine, but the voice acting is just plain bad. Car variety is decent and luckily cop chases are still fun.
  24. Feb 5, 2012
    3
    This game is pretty bad and a quick cash-in for the need for speed franchise. The live action cutscenes are porrly acted, and the gameplay bland. The environments and cars have no life to them at all and it feels like a game from 2002.
  25. Jul 26, 2012
    4
    This game is one of the worst titles in the series. The storyline is okay, but gets boring quickly. The graphics are barely any better compared to Most Wanted and Carbon, but there is no guarantee the game will run smoothly. The first machine I played the game on, had well above the Minimum and around the Recommended specs and the game was super-choppy. Now if a game is laggy when you haveThis game is one of the worst titles in the series. The storyline is okay, but gets boring quickly. The graphics are barely any better compared to Most Wanted and Carbon, but there is no guarantee the game will run smoothly. The first machine I played the game on, had well above the Minimum and around the Recommended specs and the game was super-choppy. Now if a game is laggy when you have met the Minimum specs clearly there is an issue with the coding itself. The computer players and cops are very stupid and the physics itself for the game are terrible. The choice of cars were good, and the world you drive in (Tri-City Bay), was actually very well done, but too bad it wasn't put on a great game. Expand
  26. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    Absolutely terrible. Dont go anywhere near this game. Four years after release and they still havent bothered to fix the numerous technical problems that plague this game. For me the game was completely unplayable and the little time i spent in the game was a complete mess with boring races, unskippable cutscenes and a ton of graphical problems. Stay away.
  27. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    This game really is a diamond in the rough. It's hands down the best Need For Speed game since NFS Carbon, Most Wanted, and the Underground series. The graphics are pretty good even with today's standards, the car selection is okay, and the car customization is a little limited, but much, MUCH better than the newer games. It's basically NFS ProStreet, on the street, except the physics haveThis game really is a diamond in the rough. It's hands down the best Need For Speed game since NFS Carbon, Most Wanted, and the Underground series. The graphics are pretty good even with today's standards, the car selection is okay, and the car customization is a little limited, but much, MUCH better than the newer games. It's basically NFS ProStreet, on the street, except the physics have taken a turn for the better. Instead of the really bad understeer that all of the cars in ProStreet had (even when drifting! how can you have understeer when drifting is all about oversteer?!?! ProStreet managed it somehow...), the physics of Undercover are entirely different. Now, at high speeds, all the cars in Undercover grip the road insanely well. Seemingly, the faster the car goes, the more grip it has, so if you go 240 MPH, you can practically take 90 degree turns without letting off of the gas. Humorously beneficial and just as weird as ProStreet's handling but on the opposite end of the spectrum. The only real downsides to the game are that the story line is pretty weak and the cut scenes are even lamer, the soundtrack is pretty bad (the game has just about every song you've NEVER heard of), and it's a little glitchy on the PC. I've heard many stories about people having problems getting the game to run well.The only problem that has happened to me personally is that the game tends to freeze and crash when using autosculpt in the garage. I've installed and played this game on multiple computers and it happens on all of them. The bottom line is that the game has many more pros than cons and is undoubtedly the best NFS game of recent times. Expand
  28. Nov 6, 2012
    2
    No no no EA has killed another need for speed
    physics are terrible, its very annoying to drive and the story are crap. I also had some problem installing this on my computer. I do not recommend this.
  29. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Yeah, fun game but way too frustrating.
    You piled with 8+ police SUV's and expected to destroy them along with the additional police cruiser that spawns every 60 seconds.

    You do this for every cop chase scene, it gets real old and boring real quick.
  30. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    I liked to play it on the PC, it's kind of heavy but has nice graphics and a good audio. Includes some cars from previous series and easier pursuit challenges, the player is a cop that has to go undercover to dismantle and find out a terrible truth near the end.
  31. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    The game is underestimated, BlackBox has never released a single bad NFS, actually they were the one and only to create smth really cool in NFS series. The review is written now, after 2 years as BB is gone, and NFS is developed by some useless Ghost guys (Rival is made in Criterion-like style - same stupid and boring driving, like in MW2012). NFSHP2010 was a sudden luck, and wasThe game is underestimated, BlackBox has never released a single bad NFS, actually they were the one and only to create smth really cool in NFS series. The review is written now, after 2 years as BB is gone, and NFS is developed by some useless Ghost guys (Rival is made in Criterion-like style - same stupid and boring driving, like in MW2012). NFSHP2010 was a sudden luck, and was successful only due to BBs help to Criterion, otherwise NFSHP2010 would be the same lame as NFSMW2012 etc etc.

    K, this was a lyrical intro, so - NFS Undercover, sure it has some stupid issues with unbalanced control (especially for XBOX gamepads, I luckily could fix it for myself with Pinnacle), some troubles with performance and graphics, still - for 2008 the game was a breakthrough, even now it looks better than some of the racing titles. The game has everything that we loved since Underground: cool OST, lots of cars and tuning. Tuning - only in Undercover it has the top notch level - you can spent hours creating different modifications for your car, and especially styling it. The movie-like style - awesome. Hot races - awesome. Feeling that you are a good undercover cop going deeper ans loosing your connections with the legal world - awesome!

    The game is underestimated mostly by simulator fans (the gamers cluster appeared after Pro Street, and for some reason decided that NFS should go only this way), no - NFS was always the hot non-legal racing game, go play Grid etc if you need simulator part.

    To sum up - lots of ppl are recalling original MW and awaiting for the game to come one day, but IMHO it already was. NFS Undercover - a little clumsy, but still a direct heritage of NFS MW: a) tuning - upgraded to top notch level; b) different modes of races; c) top notch movie-like story; d) ACTION!; e) lots of cars; f) sweet highway races; g) big open world; h) top notch OST etc etc etc. So sorry guys, but most of you missed the sequel of NFS MW, and I am happy that I understand this and love the game, coz in the end - the game is so so cool for 2008 and even now. I love it. THX Black Box!
    Expand
  32. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    If you can get this game cheap, then Need for Speed: Undercover can be considered passable as it is almost inferior in every regard to previous Need for Speed titles.
  33. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    Crappy physics, silly story, and why is it "open world" if you can't get to the destination by your own route. Cop chases are good though, and the overall racing experience is decent, despite all the shortcomings.
  34. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    The only thing wrong with this game is the frame rate and the graphics. Usually when I play a need for speed game I expect a restricted map, races that get boring after a while, and cookie cutter missions. However with this game I was pleasantly surprised by how you are thrown into a giant sandbox complete with random cop chases based on your actions. If you want you can just play thisThe only thing wrong with this game is the frame rate and the graphics. Usually when I play a need for speed game I expect a restricted map, races that get boring after a while, and cookie cutter missions. However with this game I was pleasantly surprised by how you are thrown into a giant sandbox complete with random cop chases based on your actions. If you want you can just play this game for the walled off races, but I personally only play this game for the sandbox. I love the thrill of going 200 mph down the wrong side of the highway knowing that at anytime a disguised Porsche may appear and call in everything from a huge roadblock to a convoy of super fast, tough SUVs. And if you do get caught you often get a rather humorous cut scene of cheesy cops complete with mustaches and sunglasses.

    My only complaints are the bad graphics, frame rate issues, and it takes way too long to bring the heat up on your cars.
    Expand
  35. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Cool cars, horrible acting, bad sound recycling, bad GFX and VSYNC, but adrenaline was delivered Steering seemed taken from an racing anime, which I loved it, of course, who doesn't love anime Overall, a quite entertaining game.
  36. DM7
    Mar 11, 2014
    0
    i recently bought this, because it was having a 75% off on steam, and wow it is bad, no wonder its only $2.49 (after discount).
    and it wasn't even able to make me want to play it more, i tried to force myself to play it more, so that at least i got my money's worth. but the game is too easy and it makes it very boring, and it got poor performance, nothing special with the graphics (i know
    i recently bought this, because it was having a 75% off on steam, and wow it is bad, no wonder its only $2.49 (after discount).
    and it wasn't even able to make me want to play it more, i tried to force myself to play it more, so that at least i got my money's worth. but the game is too easy and it makes it very boring, and it got poor performance, nothing special with the graphics (i know its an old 2009 game, but there are a lot 2009 games with better graphics than this trash), the acting is so bad, i can't even watch the cutscenes, and the script is also trash,

    and also maggie Q acting is as bad as always, man i bet they spent a lot hiring her, because of her looks, but her acting is terrible, she really should consider something else than acting.

    totally a waste of money, not worth it even when its 75% off, i don't think its even worth it even if EA giving it away for free, HDD space is more precious for other rather than installing this trash, and my HDD is 3TB, so i don't have a capacity issue, but this game doesn't even worth sitting in my HDD.
    Expand
  37. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    The game isn't one of the better of the NFS series, but it has a nice story, cool cars with essential tuning and a certain level of challenge at the pursuits but is very easy to win some races. I didn't like the game's graphics because it has few adjust options and menu isn't well organized. It's worth to buy when it is on at 50% or more discount offer on Steam, but there are games wellThe game isn't one of the better of the NFS series, but it has a nice story, cool cars with essential tuning and a certain level of challenge at the pursuits but is very easy to win some races. I didn't like the game's graphics because it has few adjust options and menu isn't well organized. It's worth to buy when it is on at 50% or more discount offer on Steam, but there are games well better than Undercover. Sorry, my English is bad. Expand
  38. Aug 9, 2014
    0
    Believe me, BELIEVE ME, you don't want to play with this game! It's sooooo horrible! It's just another: "Hey, put some **** to the table!" - EA game. I can't believe this game was made by the same studio who developed Underground 2. Noi, no, no, i can't. I just can't. The story is horrible, with full of cliches, and the live action videos are sooooooooo bad. Tri-City is the child ofBelieve me, BELIEVE ME, you don't want to play with this game! It's sooooo horrible! It's just another: "Hey, put some **** to the table!" - EA game. I can't believe this game was made by the same studio who developed Underground 2. Noi, no, no, i can't. I just can't. The story is horrible, with full of cliches, and the live action videos are sooooooooo bad. Tri-City is the child of Palmont city and Rockport. the AI still bad, the tuning is poor, the cars handling are terrible, the AI cheats again, etc, etc, etc... This game just don't work! That's all. The only way to buy it if a guy give me an Xbox360 copy for free, or for 2 euros. No more. This game can't cost 50-50 bucks, NEVER! It's a shame they sold it as a AAA game. No. No. I just want to go back time and stop making this **** I want to rewrite history! I don't wanna live in a world where NFS Undercover exist! Even the name! Expand
  39. Sep 28, 2014
    5
    Yeah, it is a mediocre score. Sorry, but this game, for me, the worst game in the entire series. A lot of graphical problems, anything that has to do with physics not related to the game. The story is also there, but useless. The only good things in this game is the music.
  40. May 24, 2015
    5
    Need for Speed: Undercover is a bad game. The graphics are mediocre for 2008, the story is just terrible and the game is easy too. You can literarily race in a Nissan 240SX against a Lamborghini Gallardo. Yeah, and like the cops would help much either in the difficulty aspect. It is possible to evade the police without even pressing the turn buttons. What comes back is a city, which youNeed for Speed: Undercover is a bad game. The graphics are mediocre for 2008, the story is just terrible and the game is easy too. You can literarily race in a Nissan 240SX against a Lamborghini Gallardo. Yeah, and like the cops would help much either in the difficulty aspect. It is possible to evade the police without even pressing the turn buttons. What comes back is a city, which you can explore at your will, but it serves no purpose. Why? Well, first of all, there aren't any unlockables or hidden secrets you can get by exploring the city, second, there isn't much to see. Like i said earlier, the game looks pretty blank, thus you wont see any breathtaking sights, and third, like in the previous Need for Speed installments, you can't drive to an event. You can only start it from the map screen. So what is the purpose of the city? There are some new game modes. there is a Highway Battle, which throws a million traffic cars at you and can get frustrating, the outrun mode comes back from previous Need for Speed games and there are some new game modes where you compete against the cops, which aren't fun, because, again, the difficulty of this game is too low. Seriously, speaking about the difficulty again, it is too low. I can even manage to finish with a 20 second lead. What keeps the game from being a total flop, are the car selection, customisation and soundtrack. So ,yeah, that is pretty much it. I don't recommend Undercover. If you are looking for a classic Need for Speed game, pick up Underground, Most Wanted or Carbon. Expand
  41. Aug 24, 2011
    0
    Dude, this is the WORST ever of EA's game, why just they released this games with no good spec? There is no any other thing to make player satisfied to this game, since I bought this game I think "This games would be awesome". But when I played it, the game turn into a **** Nobody would play that game, it make me boring and suck. Maybe they gave it HD features like in the NFS ProStreet, orDude, this is the WORST ever of EA's game, why just they released this games with no good spec? There is no any other thing to make player satisfied to this game, since I bought this game I think "This games would be awesome". But when I played it, the game turn into a **** Nobody would play that game, it make me boring and suck. Maybe they gave it HD features like in the NFS ProStreet, or satisfaying cop dude like in NFS Most Wanted. EA just selling **** they have no sense at games, and I tellin' ya nobody got to play this game! Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The game modes are not particularly intense, and the vehicles, although very detailed, fail to offer the feeling from the best of the series.
  2. One can't help but notice that the franchise has seen better days.
  3. 60
    Need for Speed: Undercover is a game that both satisfies and disappoints on a regular basis. While the chases provide top-notch thrills and spills, you can’t help but feel like you’ve just done it too many times to really care anymore.