User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 254
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2017
    6
    Need For Speed: Undercover is a good example of an average arcade racing game.The game's story is actually really good, no big twists though, kind of fun, good selection of cars, game modes are great, now the bad part..
    Second worst driving mechanics out of all NFS games, poor customization,gets boring after a while i admit.
  2. Jun 5, 2016
    5
    Проходная NFSка! Графика не очень! Физика не очень! Сюжет не интересный! Тюнинг более менее сойдет!На мой взгляд одна из худших Need for Speed! Прошел её без особого энтузиазма!
  3. May 24, 2015
    5
    Need for Speed: Undercover is a bad game. The graphics are mediocre for 2008, the story is just terrible and the game is easy too. You can literarily race in a Nissan 240SX against a Lamborghini Gallardo. Yeah, and like the cops would help much either in the difficulty aspect. It is possible to evade the police without even pressing the turn buttons. What comes back is a city, which youNeed for Speed: Undercover is a bad game. The graphics are mediocre for 2008, the story is just terrible and the game is easy too. You can literarily race in a Nissan 240SX against a Lamborghini Gallardo. Yeah, and like the cops would help much either in the difficulty aspect. It is possible to evade the police without even pressing the turn buttons. What comes back is a city, which you can explore at your will, but it serves no purpose. Why? Well, first of all, there aren't any unlockables or hidden secrets you can get by exploring the city, second, there isn't much to see. Like i said earlier, the game looks pretty blank, thus you wont see any breathtaking sights, and third, like in the previous Need for Speed installments, you can't drive to an event. You can only start it from the map screen. So what is the purpose of the city? There are some new game modes. there is a Highway Battle, which throws a million traffic cars at you and can get frustrating, the outrun mode comes back from previous Need for Speed games and there are some new game modes where you compete against the cops, which aren't fun, because, again, the difficulty of this game is too low. Seriously, speaking about the difficulty again, it is too low. I can even manage to finish with a 20 second lead. What keeps the game from being a total flop, are the car selection, customisation and soundtrack. So ,yeah, that is pretty much it. I don't recommend Undercover. If you are looking for a classic Need for Speed game, pick up Underground, Most Wanted or Carbon. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2014
    5
    Yeah, it is a mediocre score. Sorry, but this game, for me, the worst game in the entire series. A lot of graphical problems, anything that has to do with physics not related to the game. The story is also there, but useless. The only good things in this game is the music.
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    The game isn't one of the better of the NFS series, but it has a nice story, cool cars with essential tuning and a certain level of challenge at the pursuits but is very easy to win some races. I didn't like the game's graphics because it has few adjust options and menu isn't well organized. It's worth to buy when it is on at 50% or more discount offer on Steam, but there are games wellThe game isn't one of the better of the NFS series, but it has a nice story, cool cars with essential tuning and a certain level of challenge at the pursuits but is very easy to win some races. I didn't like the game's graphics because it has few adjust options and menu isn't well organized. It's worth to buy when it is on at 50% or more discount offer on Steam, but there are games well better than Undercover. Sorry, my English is bad. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Cool cars, horrible acting, bad sound recycling, bad GFX and VSYNC, but adrenaline was delivered Steering seemed taken from an racing anime, which I loved it, of course, who doesn't love anime Overall, a quite entertaining game.
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Same old NfS formula recycled. Graphically, it is average with a nice atmosphere provided by the late-afternoon lighting, but is very buggy concerning any non-standard resolution where some are not even selectable without editing the registry and some will cause the game to crash often, along with a bunch of other crashes that occur for seemingly no reason. The live action cutscenes areSame old NfS formula recycled. Graphically, it is average with a nice atmosphere provided by the late-afternoon lighting, but is very buggy concerning any non-standard resolution where some are not even selectable without editing the registry and some will cause the game to crash often, along with a bunch of other crashes that occur for seemingly no reason. The live action cutscenes are well acted, same goes for the police chatter during chases, and all is backed by a good soundtrack which has a little of something for everyone. Story is pretty forgettable and mediocre, though. Gameplay remains largely unchanged from the previous installments, apart from the couple of new race types which are pretty bad, they quickly get downright annoying as the slightest mistake can cost you the victory. Your gaming experience may change based on how much Need for Speed you played in the past. Veterans will get bored halfway through the game, while newbloods will probably find it entertaining. Expand
  8. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    Crappy physics, silly story, and why is it "open world" if you can't get to the destination by your own route. Cop chases are good though, and the overall racing experience is decent, despite all the shortcomings.
  9. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    If you can get this game cheap, then Need for Speed: Undercover can be considered passable as it is almost inferior in every regard to previous Need for Speed titles.
  10. Nov 2, 2011
    5
    It's a good addition to the NFS collection if you're a fan, I liked the actual actors used, even if the scting was poor, the cars were good, however prices were way unrealistic (you get a $700,000 discount off the Veyron but overpay by atleast $100,000 for the Shelby GT500). Sound FX were good, cop chases were really fun and intense, however I do agree that an SUV K-9 unit will never doIt's a good addition to the NFS collection if you're a fan, I liked the actual actors used, even if the scting was poor, the cars were good, however prices were way unrealistic (you get a $700,000 discount off the Veyron but overpay by atleast $100,000 for the Shelby GT500). Sound FX were good, cop chases were really fun and intense, however I do agree that an SUV K-9 unit will never do over 150mph. Why a K-9 unit anyway? They're busting street racers, not drug traffickers. It's a MW clone by far, I don't know why people are having perormance issues on their systems, my rig takes a nap when I play this, with settings maxed. Cop AI is to be desired, and the cars handle like their on a magnetic track, which can be fun if you're a casual gamer, or just wanna drive a fast car and piss off some cops (always fun). This isn't an epic title by anymeans, but it has it's strengths, and it can be fun if you're not an immature hater. But I cant see myself giving it above a 5, it just doesn't have the juice that Underground2 and MW did, now if you mix the customization and soundtracks of the Underground series with the pursuit features, possible even add some night time effects (it's always daylight in this game, if anyone else noticed, even in freeroam) then you would have one bad-ass NFS title! Oh, for other thoughts, disband Criterion, I'm very disappointed in the BS excuse for a game that you guys turned Hot Pursuit into, should be called Burnout Pursuit. Terrible game. Expand
  11. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun and there's plenty of it. Both the sprints and circuits are enjoyable and the checkpoint races get to be a bit challenging. As in every NFS title the cars are customizable and great in themselves. The graphics were great (and my system is not high-end).This game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun and there's plenty of it. Both the sprints and circuits are enjoyable and the checkpoint races get to be a bit challenging. As in every NFS title the cars are customizable and great in themselves. The graphics were great (and my system is not high-end). The only thing I didn't like was that the cop chases do get monotonous after a while, and once you get to the level where they start sending Feds it becomes unreasonably hard. But all in all, it's not a bad game. Expand
  12. SlowJustice
    May 20, 2009
    5
    It really is the worst NFS that has come out to date. Today's games seem to be more about the money than the game, They tend to forget that if they keep making junk we will go to other games. I read the other day that the new NFS Shift isn't going to support steering wheels, seems to be kind of stupid seeing as they are calling it a race sim. Oh well. as I said.. plenty of goodIt really is the worst NFS that has come out to date. Today's games seem to be more about the money than the game, They tend to forget that if they keep making junk we will go to other games. I read the other day that the new NFS Shift isn't going to support steering wheels, seems to be kind of stupid seeing as they are calling it a race sim. Oh well. as I said.. plenty of good racers out there if you look Expand
  13. {Rx}i807
    Mar 1, 2009
    7
    So close yet so far. I love you EA. BUT come on. I can run Crysis full out at 57 FPS with no problems. Even on low settings in N4S I was consistently tearing. As Red Code Has said A SUV that does 200+? a Porshe that when you drive barely keeps up. But a Porshe police cruzer that womps a Mclaren F1? But beside the negatives I enjoyed the game. Largest map by far. For an arcade it was a So close yet so far. I love you EA. BUT come on. I can run Crysis full out at 57 FPS with no problems. Even on low settings in N4S I was consistently tearing. As Red Code Has said A SUV that does 200+? a Porshe that when you drive barely keeps up. But a Porshe police cruzer that womps a Mclaren F1? But beside the negatives I enjoyed the game. Largest map by far. For an arcade it was a little easy to handle the cars. The game has so much potential. I hope you clean it up for the next NFS. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The game modes are not particularly intense, and the vehicles, although very detailed, fail to offer the feeling from the best of the series.
  2. One can't help but notice that the franchise has seen better days.
  3. 60
    Need for Speed: Undercover is a game that both satisfies and disappoints on a regular basis. While the chases provide top-notch thrills and spills, you can’t help but feel like you’ve just done it too many times to really care anymore.