Need for Speed: Undercover Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Undercover has players racing through speedways, dodging cops and chasing rivals as they go deep undercover to take down an International crime syndicate. The game heralds the return of high-intensity police chases and introduces the all-new 'Heroic Driving Engine' -- a uniqueNeed for Speed Undercover has players racing through speedways, dodging cops and chasing rivals as they go deep undercover to take down an International crime syndicate. The game heralds the return of high-intensity police chases and introduces the all-new 'Heroic Driving Engine' -- a unique technology that generates incredible high-performance moves at 180 miles per hour during breathtaking highway battles. A mix of computer graphics and live-action movies immerses gamers in the rich world of the Tri-City Bay Area. The city’s open-world environment features over 80 miles of roads, including an enormous highway system that sets the stage for highway battles. These high-speed, high-stake chase sequences push players to the limit as they fight off cops and opponents while whipping through traffic at 180 miles per hour. An intelligent new A.I. mechanic delivers a realistic and high-energy action driving experience. Going back to the franchise’s roots, Need for Speed Undercover features more aggressive and intelligent cops whose sole purpose is to take down the player quickly and by any means necessary. Need for Speed Undercover also features the series' signature car customization, real-world damage and realistic driving physics. The game includes some of the hottest licensed cars such as the Audi R8, BMW M6 and Lexus IS-F. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Undercover is significantly more fun than ProStreet and offers far more long-time playing motivation as well. [Issue#17]
  2. It hurts to say it but, “the need for speed” is lacking in this latest rendition.
  3. Instead of being some kind of "Best of" Need for Speed: Underground is nothing more than an uninspired generic racing game with high hardware requirements. It's a good game, but still very disappointing, because the good parts of the game are just like in NfS: Most Wanted and the new bits don't work very well.
  4. Gets boring quickly. [Feb 2009, p.82]
  5. Neither the need or the speed. [Jan 2009, p.82]
  6. The game modes are not particularly intense, and the vehicles, although very detailed, fail to offer the feeling from the best of the series.
  7. 50
    Need for Speed Undercover is a poor game with a ton of problems, both technically and in terms of design.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 39
  2. Negative: 21 out of 39
  1. sdfsdfsdfdsdf
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good goodgood good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good Expand
  2. MarkK
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    Those other people dont know what they are talking about. I believe that the developers at EA and BlackBox have outdone themselves once again Those other people dont know what they are talking about. I believe that the developers at EA and BlackBox have outdone themselves once again to bring enjoyment to the racing game scene. I understand there are other racing sims out there but none like the Need For Speed Franchise. I have owned every version since the beginning of the franchise. I own it for both PC and PS3. EA and everyone else that was involved in the making of the game... keep doing what you do best and that is making the Need For Speed franchise better and better every year. Expand
  3. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun andThis game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun and there's plenty of it. Both the sprints and circuits are enjoyable and the checkpoint races get to be a bit challenging. As in every NFS title the cars are customizable and great in themselves. The graphics were great (and my system is not high-end). The only thing I didn't like was that the cop chases do get monotonous after a while, and once you get to the level where they start sending Feds it becomes unreasonably hard. But all in all, it's not a bad game. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    4
    The game, from the start, was pretty fun, exciting, and so on, but later, when I got through half of gameplay, everything gets harder, someThe game, from the start, was pretty fun, exciting, and so on, but later, when I got through half of gameplay, everything gets harder, some races are just impossible to win. Just saying, to play this game, you need really good skills, otherwise you couldn't possibly win a race. And there is one minus about cars. You cant pick ANY car, and win whole game. You need to choose it wisely, check stats, and so on, but it sucks. Every car I really like, for example BMW M3, have fu***d up handling. It isn't possible to drive with it! Example: On NFS: MW I could possibly win game by every car. Another minus. On dual-core CPU's Autosculpt will freeze your game. And I couldn't possibly find any patch for it. Deal with it. EA possibly will never, ever, ever make almost perfect game, like NFS:MW (2005) Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Yeah, fun game but way too frustrating.
    You piled with 8+ police SUV's and expected to destroy them along with the additional police cruiser
    Yeah, fun game but way too frustrating.
    You piled with 8+ police SUV's and expected to destroy them along with the additional police cruiser that spawns every 60 seconds.

    You do this for every cop chase scene, it gets real old and boring real quick.
    Collapse
  6. SankalpG
    Feb 23, 2009
    2
    I really have nothing to say about this game. I installed it on vista. HUGE PROBLEMS. I gave it another chance. Installed on XP. MOREI really have nothing to say about this game. I installed it on vista. HUGE PROBLEMS. I gave it another chance. Installed on XP. MORE PROBLEMS. Indeed and the worst part is that I don't find much of a difference between this game and the Most Wanted. I hope if you're thinking of getting this game, get Burnout Paradise instead. Expand
  7. Tulatin
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    A big, boring game that seizes your hand and throws you where your'e supposed to go in the city. It's far too easy and the driving A big, boring game that seizes your hand and throws you where your'e supposed to go in the city. It's far too easy and the driving physics are terrible. Beyond that, the vehicles sound like the bastard child of a singer and a ricer rocket. Perhaps the only redeeming quality of it is the return to an arcade field, but who are we kidding? Don't waste your time, don't waste your money, don't even waste the packets, and if you do, for the love of god, don't waste a DVD9. Maybe EA can bundle it together with ProStreet and sell the NFS: Shit Pack to recoup some losses. Or maybe they just need to develop Big Rigs 2 next. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews