Need for Speed: Underground PC

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 327 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 327
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2012
    6
    The first Need For Speed game which has decent graphics and a good storyline. I think the progress system in this game is pretty slow you get to all Level 3 upgrades after playing more than 80% of the career mode which is kind of slow. Apart from that good gameplay but gets kind of repetitive and the overall size of the city is pretty small. It feels like racing on the same tracks over andThe first Need For Speed game which has decent graphics and a good storyline. I think the progress system in this game is pretty slow you get to all Level 3 upgrades after playing more than 80% of the career mode which is kind of slow. Apart from that good gameplay but gets kind of repetitive and the overall size of the city is pretty small. It feels like racing on the same tracks over and over again. Expand
  2. MuhammadA.
    Nov 20, 2003
    7
    This good!!!!!!
  3. ChrisS.
    Aug 7, 2004
    6
    NFS: Underground offers sweet graphics, good music and ok gameplay. However if you only have 20 bucks to spend pick up Midnight Club 2 instead. NFS:Underground lacks that title's drive anywhere gameplay, huge urban environments, take no prisoners opponent AI, damage modeling and replays.
  4. Friendlyhobo
    Nov 30, 2003
    6
    The problem with NFS Underground, which may not be a problem for many, is a "shift" the developers have gone for. And; it's a major one folks. NFS has always been a series about racing. When NFS 1 came out, it literally changed the genra. The point A to B tracks (Alpine, Coastal, etc.) and the closed tracks were simply "simulastic" (That's my word for fantastic + simulation -- The problem with NFS Underground, which may not be a problem for many, is a "shift" the developers have gone for. And; it's a major one folks. NFS has always been a series about racing. When NFS 1 came out, it literally changed the genra. The point A to B tracks (Alpine, Coastal, etc.) and the closed tracks were simply "simulastic" (That's my word for fantastic + simulation -- nice huh?). NFS 5, Porsche Unleashed was the next good game as such in the series. NFS kept drifting (no pun intended) towards an arcadish feel, and the latest game by them has completed the transition. Now don't get me wrong, it's a nice game... but it's hardly about racing. Incredible graphics, a lot of user options to "create" a ninja street machine... and then race it against the stereotyped under-world. Coming to the "racing", it's one large area which is always wet (to compliment the reflections), always shown at night, and always feels the same. This game just disappointed me. Expand
  5. AlfadorJ.
    Dec 6, 2003
    7
    Its a great game and very fun. I only have 2 complaints. The muliplayer part just sucks, and there is only one American car and it just SUCKS. Where is GM? GM is one of they biggest manufactors in the world, they deserve at least one car. I guess that would make the game to easy though. If you had the 454 chevell (as rapped about in one of the songs) there would be no car to be able to Its a great game and very fun. I only have 2 complaints. The muliplayer part just sucks, and there is only one American car and it just SUCKS. Where is GM? GM is one of they biggest manufactors in the world, they deserve at least one car. I guess that would make the game to easy though. If you had the 454 chevell (as rapped about in one of the songs) there would be no car to be able to keep up with you. heh. Expand
  6. PatrickE.
    Dec 9, 2003
    7
    Having not played any of the previous NFS titles for longer than 5 minutes, I was skeptical about this one. WHile not wholly thrilled about the game, I'm not wholly disappointed either. Graphically, the game is the best I've seen since GT3. Being able to see your surrounding clearly whille moving at 130+ M.P.H. is a big plus for me. It's also not as jagged as some racing Having not played any of the previous NFS titles for longer than 5 minutes, I was skeptical about this one. WHile not wholly thrilled about the game, I'm not wholly disappointed either. Graphically, the game is the best I've seen since GT3. Being able to see your surrounding clearly whille moving at 130+ M.P.H. is a big plus for me. It's also not as jagged as some racing games are. Giving my ride a custom look was also a highlight of the game for me. On the other hand, giving my ride a custom look was a bit disappointing. I have plenty of cash to spend and can't buy the parts that I want. Whille having to win races to unlock tracks is something that I agree with, I don't like the idea of telling me I can't buy a certain exhaust tip because I haven't beaten enough races. This goes the same for performance upgrades. I was disappointed to find that all the cars are about the same, even though in reality they are much different. While I haven't gotten it yet, I know that there's an RX-7 in the game, and I'm looking forward to getting it, but knowing that a fully upgraded Civic couldn't hope to come close with a fully upgraded RX-7. Another thing I didn't like was the lack of performance tuning. Being able to set my suspension and gear ratios and downforce should all be something that can be modified in a racing game that allows customization. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2017
    6
    I loved this game when I was a kid, but when I went to play it now again, I see how it has SERIOUS flaws.

    The good parts: Control of the car is nice, the graphics were cool by the time being, and the car tuning is very varied and cool. There is a decent amount of cars to chose, and there was a sense of progression on the races, opponents keep getting better and better. The sounds are
    I loved this game when I was a kid, but when I went to play it now again, I see how it has SERIOUS flaws.

    The good parts: Control of the car is nice, the graphics were cool by the time being, and the car tuning is very varied and cool. There is a decent amount of cars to chose, and there was a sense of progression on the races, opponents keep getting better and better. The sounds are really good and it has totally a "fast and furious" vibe.

    The bad parts: The worst part are the car crashes. It's absurd. The minimal hit will make your car go flying around, and it would be ok if the same happened to the AI, but the AI really CHEATS when there is a car crash. I saw an AI hitting a car on the front, and just went under it and kept going at full speed. It's very unfair, and most of the time you won't win or lose races by skill, but by pure luck, because cars appear out of nowhere just to hit you. Also, the game has a lot of glitches for those who try to play with a joystick, it keeps changing the controls and the camera shifts if you press brake for too long.
    Also, although there is a sense of progression while racing, there is no progression on cars. The car you get at the beginning of the game is better than most cars you unlock as you win races. And the tracks are VERY repetitive, you'll be running 111 races on the same tracks over and over again.
    Another bad thing is that you can only have one car. Which sucks, because there are some cars that are outstanding for races but suck at drifting.

    Overall, the game is only "meh". I was looking for nostalgia and got anger instead.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Computer Gaming World
    90
    Racing doesn't get much better...unless you're in a real car. [Mar 2004, p.75]
  2. With just a bit more variety to its tracks and a slightly better career mode, it definitely could have been better, but it has great graphics, solid sound, and the sort of easy learning curve that makes it a driving game that anyone can excel at.
  3. 90
    That break-the-mold game that longtime players of the franchise have been waiting for. And if you're already a street-rag reader, you have permission and reason to drool - just keep it off the AirFlow controller, please.