Need for Speed World PC

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 113
  2. Negative: 36 out of 113

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2010
    9
    Its a beautiful game and very entertaining.
    The police pursuits are always fun and challenging.
    With new modes, cars and parts shop, this game will only get better.
    For a cheap price you get a great game that delivers.... with speed!
  2. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    Now that the game is totally free, you can go to level 50 without paying a cent, which is great, because you unlock cars, decals, map territory as you progress. Too bad sometimes evade and busted meters are unfairly frustrating, A.I. cars are either pros or noobs (i feel that there is a catch-up) and there are some lags. You can't customise controls or fully experience the game with aNow that the game is totally free, you can go to level 50 without paying a cent, which is great, because you unlock cars, decals, map territory as you progress. Too bad sometimes evade and busted meters are unfairly frustrating, A.I. cars are either pros or noobs (i feel that there is a catch-up) and there are some lags. You can't customise controls or fully experience the game with a controller. As a free game. It is great. Ignore Alan250's review. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    This is very fun game and can get very addictive. The game still quite glitchy especially on the loading screens. The visual customization is great just like most new need for speed games but the performance customization could use more parts and options. There are a wide variety of cars but you have to pay "Boost' for it. Boost is another in game currency that you have to pay money for.This is very fun game and can get very addictive. The game still quite glitchy especially on the loading screens. The visual customization is great just like most new need for speed games but the performance customization could use more parts and options. There are a wide variety of cars but you have to pay "Boost' for it. Boost is another in game currency that you have to pay money for. The graphics are good for a free to play game. The world is huge and there are quite a few races. It may not be a racing sim it worth a try if you just want to have some fun racing with your friends for free. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    a highly entertaining and satisfying game, it maintains the high standards we've come to expect from the need for speed franchise, it is stylish, fast-paced, and incredibly beautiful...
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    sometimes, the controls are sluggish, but it is still a modern, sci-fiesque, fast-paced blast of a game, it upholds the reputation of the series, and it far exceeds some other online games i know of... *cough*QUAKE*cough*
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    really cool game, they really got the pursuit system right this time, the only time they've done it right since most wanted: carbon and undercover were far too easy, the gameplay is solid, and exploring never gets old
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    the controls, oh gawd, the controls... the unequal bandwidth... oh dear virgin mary, these are the only two things wrong with the game, but they certainly keep it from reaching it's potential, you will play, and just when you need to turn quickly, you crash into the wall, head-first, and if you try and race someone, they will jitter and zoom ahead of you, but it looks dazzling, it can bethe controls, oh gawd, the controls... the unequal bandwidth... oh dear virgin mary, these are the only two things wrong with the game, but they certainly keep it from reaching it's potential, you will play, and just when you need to turn quickly, you crash into the wall, head-first, and if you try and race someone, they will jitter and zoom ahead of you, but it looks dazzling, it can be classed as a tron: legacy-esque game, both in style, and in the fact that... well, it seems rather half-assed, but in every other regard, it is still a great game, certainly miles better than undercover *shudders* Expand
  8. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    An amazing multiplayer online racing game, this one is a classic. Featuring amazing cars, the classic treasure hunt, and the all time favorite races, the game simply is amazing.
  9. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Feel like it has become a part of my life,the world is just like a city,a combination of rockport and palmont,there are some cheaters around,but i never mind them..most of the time its fair play..and if people want to blame the game for seeing some people zoom around here and there,blame your internet connection,the game cant sent you everything every second and the game keeps other carsFeel like it has become a part of my life,the world is just like a city,a combination of rockport and palmont,there are some cheaters around,but i never mind them..most of the time its fair play..and if people want to blame the game for seeing some people zoom around here and there,blame your internet connection,the game cant sent you everything every second and the game keeps other cars rotating around their exact position and thus you will feel the car moves 1000kph for a second and then stops..its just because it cant tell you everything in a second,if you have a faster internet connection,blame their connection Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    This game is great I made a lot of new friends and I feel like it has been a positive experience that has taught me how to drive better in the real life (wear your seatbelt and race only in circuits, have professional technicians see if your car can run in real life), too bad that the original disbanded, but you got a descent administration and I did see people who cheat (the biggestThis game is great I made a lot of new friends and I feel like it has been a positive experience that has taught me how to drive better in the real life (wear your seatbelt and race only in circuits, have professional technicians see if your car can run in real life), too bad that the original disbanded, but you got a descent administration and I did see people who cheat (the biggest concern of any online game) get disciplined or even banned on occasion, of course people need to report cheaters if they see one. The cars have rotations and you can buy something new the next week if you got enough cash. You can race, evade cops, do a drag race and do a team pursuit. Any mode is fun and you also get achievements from stuff you do (Racing a lot, evading road blocks, collecting specific cars and even using power ups too much), and there are 4 servers with two different regions for Europe and America. All fun if you can take things with a grain of salt and don't get bothered with people who are sometimes rude in chat, simply close the window if it happens. Expand
  11. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    Just to clarify im hitting the 10 cause there is alot of bad reviews where people give zero's for really bad reasons. This game truely is however a solid and could grow into something so much better if EA actually wanted it to. So im playing on the chicane server and have had absolutely no issues what so ever with lag or disconnects that others have been reporting. I also have herd alotJust to clarify im hitting the 10 cause there is alot of bad reviews where people give zero's for really bad reasons. This game truely is however a solid and could grow into something so much better if EA actually wanted it to. So im playing on the chicane server and have had absolutely no issues what so ever with lag or disconnects that others have been reporting. I also have herd alot about people hacking and cheating yet once again I have not witnessed any of thus first hand so maybe they now have things under control. Im playing on a high end system and with the graphics on max with the high resolution textures the game looks very good for something that is about 4 years old now. Game play is solid, arcade style racing and very fun. Now alot of peeps complain about the free to play model, personally I think its fine, while i would like to see more cars available with IGC there is a good balance with bi weekly rotations for cars to purhase with in game currency. All I can say is try the game for yourself, I have out in about 100 hours over the past 4 weeks and really enjoy it. Expand
  12. Nov 24, 2015
    8
    Since NFS World shut down months ago, I will do a quick summary and why it's an 8. It's NEED FOR SPEED! And the first free MMO. Back in the early stages in 2010-11, there was a level cap. But they removed it and you can advance up to level 60, and it's not easy either. Second is speedboost. That sh*t was annoying, but the community found a way around it and made IGC rotations where someSince NFS World shut down months ago, I will do a quick summary and why it's an 8. It's NEED FOR SPEED! And the first free MMO. Back in the early stages in 2010-11, there was a level cap. But they removed it and you can advance up to level 60, and it's not easy either. Second is speedboost. That sh*t was annoying, but the community found a way around it and made IGC rotations where some speedboost cars became IGC for a limited time, so everyone could try them out. The map was huge, combining Rockport and Palmont together. Lots of hackers and cheaters around but punkbuster had that under control. The best part was doing team escapes. That had you do a sprint with 3 others plus angry cops, and you had to work together to get to the finish before you use all the strikes, or busts. Then powerups. Instead of refillable NOS, World introduced single use NOS, plus some other cool things like juggernaut which makes your car a tank for a specific time. All these can be extended by skill mods applied to a car. Finally something called treasure hunt, which you search a part of the map for 15 gems. Completing the hunt everyday gives you rewards (usually skill mods or performance parts) and it gets better by getting day streaks. Sadly that EA shut down this game....it had quite alot of potential. Expand
  13. Feb 24, 2015
    10
    I love this game, the people on there get on my nerves though when u start a race they all bash into u to mess u up and when i go for a multiplayer race no one joins yet there are plenty of cars waiting around lol plus no one talks either other than that the game reminds me a bit of underground witch i beg ea to bring out on ps3
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. PC Format
    Dec 24, 2010
    70
    This is neither a great racing game nor a particularly terrible one, but it does feel like a missed opportunity. [Issue#244, p.108]
  2. 60
    In an nutshell, Need for Speed World is an online racer masquerading as an MMO, where there is really very little player interaction at all. The open world is a glorified queuing system, and there is far too much grinding between upgrades, and far too little difference between the upgrades themselves.
  3. Need for Speed: World seems to be an experiment on EA's behalf, and it shows. There are other, better games in the long-running series, and it's really only the low pricepoint that sets World apart from its brethren. If you're looking for the next big racing thing, look elsewhere.