Need for Speed World PC

Need for Speed World Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed: World Online is a free-to-play street racing game featuring licensed cars and parts.
  • Developer: EA Black Box, EA Singapore
  • Genre(s): Driving, Racing, Simulation, GT / Street, GT / Street, Automobile
  • # of players: Massively Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E10+
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Need for Speed World - Project W11 Video
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. The game feels like a combination of previous Need for Speed games except the single player has been cut off. Add some role-play elements and you have a racing MMO.
  2. You know the phrase "the best things in life are free"? Well, NFS: World is a good example, that this just isn't always true. It fails to satisfy gearheads and MMO-Fans alike, thanks to a lack in diversification and real MMO-Features. It's "free to play", so nothing speaks against giving it a try if you like to, but we won't recommend investing any money in it.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    70
    A solid foundation for a street racing MMO, but one undermined by lack of local servers. [Oct 2010, p.66]
  4. AceGamez
    64
    And it's the fact that the game is free that makes it hard to criticise. Ultimately all you'll be loosing here is time, but then again, there's no shortage of cheap, budget racing games that have more content that World currently showcases.
  5. Need for Speed: World seems to be an experiment on EA's behalf, and it shows. There are other, better games in the long-running series, and it's really only the low pricepoint that sets World apart from its brethren. If you're looking for the next big racing thing, look elsewhere.
  6. As it stands, NFS World is just a sum of repetitive elements gathered in a body pretending to be a game.
  7. 50
    NFSW features a big open-world to explore, but it's largely just the cities from Most Wanted and Carbon slapped together.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 17 out of 34
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    a highly entertaining and satisfying game, it maintains the high standards we've come to expect from the need for speed franchise, it isa highly entertaining and satisfying game, it maintains the high standards we've come to expect from the need for speed franchise, it is stylish, fast-paced, and incredibly beautiful... Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Feel like it has become a part of my life,the world is just like a city,a combination of rockport and palmont,there are some cheatersFeel like it has become a part of my life,the world is just like a city,a combination of rockport and palmont,there are some cheaters around,but i never mind them..most of the time its fair play..and if people want to blame the game for seeing some people zoom around here and there,blame your internet connection,the game cant sent you everything every second and the game keeps other cars rotating around their exact position and thus you will feel the car moves 1000kph for a second and then stops..its just because it cant tell you everything in a second,if you have a faster internet connection,blame their connection Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    sometimes, the controls are sluggish, but it is still a modern, sci-fiesque, fast-paced blast of a game, it upholds the reputation of thesometimes, the controls are sluggish, but it is still a modern, sci-fiesque, fast-paced blast of a game, it upholds the reputation of the series, and it far exceeds some other online games i know of... *cough*QUAKE*cough* Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    No. This game isn't free. You need to pay 20 bucks to you reach higher levels.
    What is annoying in this game is the fact that no one plays the
    No. This game isn't free. You need to pay 20 bucks to you reach higher levels.
    What is annoying in this game is the fact that no one plays the game because is fun or enjoys speed, people play only to earn reputation (works as XP, like in RPG games) that make you unlock stuff. The game doesn't have much cars, circuits, racing modes, personalization, what makes this game even worse.
    The only thing that makes this game fun is the cop chases. Oh my god, that's so fun.
    Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    3
    Need for Speed: World could have been a great game. It has a huge open world consisting of both Rockport and Palmont City. It has quite aNeed for Speed: World could have been a great game. It has a huge open world consisting of both Rockport and Palmont City. It has quite a selection of cars and they all handle fairly predictably, as you would expect. Unfortunately, this game is the absolute essence of 'Pay to Win', with powerups like Nitrous and the ability to turn the car in front of you into a Traffic Magnet, and the ability to purchase almost every car in the game directly with Microtransactions. Many of the customization options are also only available to those with fat wallets. This turns the game from a fun and competitive racer into a frustrating race to open your wallet so you can win. The game also seems to have a problem with hackers.

    Overall, if you own any of the earlier Need for Speed titles and two controllers, you will have infinitely more fun than you ever will here. The Pursuit modes are quite entertaining, but largely unchanged apart from the ability to play them in a multiplayer mode. And generally playing them with random people can be as much fun as it can be frustrating.

    It's unfortunate, it has a lot of potential but the removal of the Drag Racing and Drift Modes in the game means you can only ever race or do pursuit on the same tracks in Most Wanted and Carbon, minus the Mountain tracks. The removal of the Roll-Up races from Free Roam mean that the enormous place you have to drive around in is just a Lobby and much of the multiplayer Races are plagued by people who use as many powerups as humanly possible, hackers or people who just try to smash everyone off the road. They should have taken some hints from Burnout Paradise and went with their own game but instead they just turned a great concept into an undercooked Pay to Winfest.

    There aren't many online racing games, but try to avoid this one.
    Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2015
    2
    When I learned of this racing MMO game I was wondering how the resolved the latency problem - I mean, racing cars requires very quick andWhen I learned of this racing MMO game I was wondering how the resolved the latency problem - I mean, racing cars requires very quick and precise reaction. Well guess what - they didn't. The cars are jerky and the cars are jumping all around. Both the player's and the other player's. I selected manual transmission and got some retarded hybrid that shifts from the buttons but if I don't shift manually shifts automagically anyway.
    And my internet connection isn't slow or laggy, I played many other mmos alright.

    I played it for 5 min and it was just for a good laugh at what a dumb idea it was to make an MMO out of a racing game.

    In all honesty, the graphics are kind of nice.

    Oh and $150'000 for a Mitsubishi Eclipse? Really? ;-)
    Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    really cool game actually but cheating is rampant, and the servers are becoming ghost towns because of it. EA has done nothing about it forreally cool game actually but cheating is rampant, and the servers are becoming ghost towns because of it. EA has done nothing about it for months and clearly doesn't plan on it. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews