• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 319 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A hideous evil has awoken in the Forgotten Realms. Now, in order to save the inhabitants of the town of Neverwinter you must uncover a sinister conspiracy, unmask your mysterious betrayer and complete an epic struggle to defeat the powerful forces that look to halt your quest and unleash an evil your people would surely never survive. [Infogrames] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    RPG'ers around the world should be jumping for joy, as Neverwinter Nights is the realization of every one of those gamers' deepest dreams. Or at least mine.
  2. It is a rare thing indeed when the builders’ tools are as addictive as the game but the AT presents such a slick, clean interface and ease of use that it is hard to stay away from at least trying your hand in a little Module creation.
  3. Central to its pull is a storyline as persuasive as any I've encountered in a fantasy roleplaying game. [Sept 2002, p.60]
  4. The DM client and tools elevate Neverwinter Nights into a creative medium of expression. [Sept 2002, p.80]
  5. Despite a few minor design issues, Neverwinter Nights is a flagship for the platfrom - a worthy successor to the BG series and a game no one should be embarrassed to hold in high regard. [Edge]
  6. The single player campaign is, if anything, too long, and focuses more on continuous combat than actual role-playing. The lack of any support for parties in the single player mode is also disappointing, and makes the game far less involving than it should be.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 76
  2. Negative: 12 out of 76
  1. Thesith
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    With power to make huge dungeons,towering citys, and even a area where master chief gives you plasma grenades this is a truley good game prefect for dungeons and dragons addicters like myself.Most of you say this lacks party abilty while even though you can have servers with over 60 people in it.You can make your own items, dungeons, storys, chacters,and even a easy way to cheat by giving yourself custom items. At only 20$ for the game and 3 more with it its a good game worth it. Collapse
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    The most authentic online D&D game to date. The experiences in role-play on multiplayer servers are perhaps the most unique and genuinely interesting stories online because you are helping create them. The builder is excellent, the only thing better for people without code savvy is NWN2! Neverwinter has aged well, despite issues needing major patches in the beginning, it now allows for low-spec online gaming great for laptops. I honestly never got further then 20 hours or so in the story line simply because PLAYER MADE SERVERS RULE. Multiple DMs catering to your ever Rped whim (for good or ill) makes for the best plots. For example, I once played a dark skinned half-elf & was involved in multiple Dwarven hate-crimes, hunted down for sport as Drow. After a week of struggle, there was a political uproar.. I would log on and have bodyguards come come to my aid, spies search for the perpetrators so as to bear witness in the player made court system, and we hunted them as criminals. NO other online game can even attempt to offer this quality of story & it was all player made impromptu RP. If you want real D&D experiences with realistic RP, short of a few MUDs, you will be hard pressed to find it in any other graphical RPGs. As a DM it is endlessly fun to design new campaigns; it's so accurate that one can beta test P&P games in NWN as a simulator. Neverwinter Nights is truly one of the greatest games ever made because they let their players create campaigns with wonderful world building and DM tools. Even with almost 100 people, DMing is smooth, made easier then p&p because the dice rolls and tabulation are automated, plus access to all conversation logs etc. so that the DM can foreshadow and plan for any event. Neverwinter Nights is revolutionary, so far ahead of it's time that modern MMORPG struggle to create atmospheres like NwNs and fail: where major corporations spend millions Bioware gave the power to the players... it turns out we love the stories more then the people paid to write them. It also helps when your guiding lights are Gary Gygax & R.A. Salvatore. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This is the 2nd game i will never ever get bored of playing.. A true masterpiece in RPG , stunning plot,quests,hours of gameplay,perfect D&D elements.. Expand
  4. SamG.
    Aug 4, 2002
    9
    This game is fantastic! Josh, what your saying is that 8/10 votes shouldn't count.
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    One of Bioware's finest hours. This game made me feel so bad for my actions and characters, I couldn't stop thinking about it on school and on my way home: How I could I have saved her... but she deserved it... there was no other way... please...I am sorry... I will set things right... I'll do anything!

    Here in the Philippines, saving enough money to buy an original game back in 2003 was hard as hell. I am proud I went through all that getting hungry part at school to buy this. Bioware, give me back the good old days!
    Expand
  6. LidiaM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    7
    The best, the online gameplay. The rest, a boring D&D story looooong, and boring.
  7. JoshG.
    Jul 25, 2002
    0
    This game sucks major wang, this people don't know anything about a good RPG. All people who like this game are losers and there vote shouldn't count. This game is crap, I agree with Jake. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.