Neverwinter PC

Neverwinter Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 414 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll onOnce a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter’s dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 1, 2013
    90
    A sensationally addictive massively multiplayer action RPG, and it's free. What are you waiting for?! [Aug 2013, p.78]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    The new MMO transposition of the famous paper role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons is a success, and one of the best examples of free-to-play titles currently available.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Neverwinter certainly has room to grow, but the amount of game that's available with no barrier of entry — neither fiscal nor educational — is mind-boggling. It misses the mark somewhat on that Dungeons & Dragons feeling of absolute character ownership, but that doesn't make the game any less refreshing to play. With its fast-paced combat and ubiquitously streamlined design, Neverwinter nails the concept of what an action-MMO should be.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    75
    There’s no doubt in my mind that Neverwinter is most certainly a fun game to play, standing proudly amongst the other F2P MMOs as one of the front liners. However, the suspect use of the F2P model along with a linear, unimaginative quest progression and a lack of good end game content make me feel it still has much to grow before I can proclaim it to be the F2P that completely wiped away the stigma they hold in today’s game market.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Online incarnation of Neverwinter is an interesting proposal for fans of MMO and action RPG, that enjoy a fantasy setting. The game is pretty and playable, but I'm not sure if the Foundry is enough to keep players for a long time. Creating your own quests is really cool, but it does not make up for an unbalanced PvP. Let's hope Cryptic Studios considers all of the opinions and solves the problem of expensive micro-transactions, as well as gives max-level players something interesting to do.
  6. May 30, 2013
    70
    Neverwinter is worth a visit by anyone who is a fan of both MMOs and of action-RPGs. Despite some glaring issues, including the lacklustre PvP and the Zen Market, the game is wildly fun and is a worthwhile detour on one’s journey through the MMO space today. It remains to be seen what Cryptic does with the feedback it has received from the players during the past month, but Neverwinter is one to keep an eye on as time goes by. As the title says, Neverwinter is an Astral Diamond in the Rough.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    Neverwinter is a disappointing MMO. There isn’t a lot of freedom for players to roam and it doesn’t re-imagine itself in the open world genre. For a free-to-play game it offers too little.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 151
  2. Negative: 74 out of 151
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    the game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. Itthe game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. It is fast to install. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Great game, probably one of my favorite games of all time. The combat is great fun and while there isn't alot of classes to choose from all 5Great game, probably one of my favorite games of all time. The combat is great fun and while there isn't alot of classes to choose from all 5 feel and play very differently from each other, almost like your playing a different game and while you can only have so many powers equipped at once it does make the game simple to play but that's a good thing in my books, just because you have 30 powers to manage doesn't make a game more enjoyable. The areas are linear and instanced but then again so was the original neverwinter nights so this didn't feel out of places in the slightest to me and all the environments look great and are varied enough, the questing is classic and not very original but it's quick and painless which is good, pvp is a blast because of the combat and despite people complaining about it being unbalanced my experience has been more down to player skill and character build and gear than any inherent class balance issues, about as balanced as you are going to get it, the player made content from the foundry is simply amazing, it can actually put some genuine role play in to a genre that's never really had it, only down side so far is the lack of end game content but they are releasing more soon and there isn't enough pvp maps or game types yet, again they will release more content as time goes by, simply a great game and you owe it to your self to try it and give this game 6 months to release more content and this will a beast of a mmo, great for a casual mmo player, maybe not for a hardcore player though. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2015
    8
    I've been playing Neverwinter since the Alpha test (2012) and almost exclusively to the date of this review. I paid for the $200 Hero of theI've been playing Neverwinter since the Alpha test (2012) and almost exclusively to the date of this review. I paid for the $200 Hero of the North pack pre-release and several other packs after. The total amount of money I've put into the game is no more than what I would have spent to play any other game with a standard activation cost, subscription fee and paid DLC.

    Many of the poor reviews are on three issues: 1) It's not a DnD game. 2) It's not an MMO game. And 3) It's a F2P P2W game.

    1) While it may not be like NWN, DDO or ADnD 2E, it very much is DnD. The characters, monsters and spells come from the DnD books, the city is Neverwinter and it feels real and alive. The Foundry allows for player created content and not only is there a lot of it, there are some really good adventure series in there that scale from level 1 to 60+. Combat is fluid, dynamic and situational. This is not a WoW clone where only 2 of the 5 party members need to pay attention, everyone is involved in Neverwinter. When played with friends with voice chat enabled, it gives the same feeling that playing the table top game does. There are camp fires at "break" points for people to change spells or powers, or simply just get up to take a wiz and grab another beer. The game is fun just like DnD should be.

    2) Maybe it's an MMO, maybe it isn't. What does any game "need" to be to have a glorious MMO stamp of approval? There are more than enough people playing at all hours of the day/night to make the world feel alive. There are thousands of guilds, and the guild finder tool is second to none for helping you to find a guild that is right for you. With the Foundry, the amount of content available is literally in the tens of thousand of hours of play time. New classes and races are being patched in every few months, with the 8th class (Paladin) coming in March and a new adventure zone. And the level cap is rumoured to be raised shortly after with more content for those higher levels. The game is every bit as massive as any other online role playing game.

    3) Yes, the game is 100% F2P. But how a PvE coop game can be P2W, I don't know. The game has a PvP option, but Neverwinter is the furthest thing from a PvP game. Also, getting to the level cap and acquiring the top tier gear is all about taking the time to play the game. There is no cost associated with it. The only part of the game that has a cost is reducing your time to get there, or buying cosmetic items that are only available in exclusive packs. I've spent a lot of money on promo packs. I did it for a new mount, a new race, or even the same race that just looks a little different. But once I was at level 60, I had no advantage over anyone else that didn't spend any money.

    Now, I don't love everything about Neverwinter. It definitely has it's problems. Here is a list:

    1) Refining. The whole refining system is garbage, and likely the single reason why most potential long term players quit the game early. It aims to confuse people about what they should be doing to upgrade enchantments and runestones, and gives them the impression that the highest level enchants are required for the "end game" when that just simply isn't the case. And the cost, both in game and real money, is just ridiculous considering past rank 4 you have a greater chance of failing an upgrade and losing your mats than you do having success. My recommendation is, don't fall into the trap. Use what you have and upgrade at your own pace. Most of my characters use enchants they find on the ground.

    2) The Inventory System. I understand that backpack space is always a money grab for F2P games, but it's getting painful. Again the Refining system strikes here because It takes a monstrous amount of space to store all of the refining mats needed for it. I have 6 alts now with upgraded backpacks to store all of it. Then there's all the quest items, keys, skill kits, potions, etc... My main character has the max amount of space unlocked and I still never have enough space to store quest loot. There is a lot of stuff that gets put into backpacks that should have storage like the profession resources and assets. Refining crap for one!

    3) I like the Profession system but it's way too much of a grind. By the time you gain the achievements to unlock more than a few profession slots, you are 10 levels above any of the gear you are able to craft. So, you have to stop playing your character and only log on to grind professions to keep them on par with the level of your character. Horrible design flaw! Now, some might say that Leadership needs a grind because it brings currency into the game. I say, redesign it so lower tier tasks give common resources, and the higher the level the task is, the more valuable the resource it requires but gives a higher reward, either in resource, chest or Diamonds. But the way it is, is not a deal breaker for me, so I will continue to enjoy it for what it is.
    Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    5
    I feel that what this game is lacking is a simple directional HUD. At the start, I had no idea of what to do; and me only having playedI feel that what this game is lacking is a simple directional HUD. At the start, I had no idea of what to do; and me only having played RuneScape for a similar comparison to the RPG, I found it fairly tedious and dull. It felt to me like a Lord of The Rings copy; just a standard RPG; it really is all you expect from an RPG Weird English accentuated accents; strange gaelic/celtic named places and crazy creatures. Now, If I were more a fan of RPGs then I would have enjoyed it more. I am not entirely writing it off as I did enjoy some parts. But it looks like it will get a lot more complicated to understand; and having to work to play is not what I play games for. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2014
    3
    This game may be an MMO of quality on some level, but it is NOT Neverwinter, nor is it D&D. I don't know what it is, but it's not D&D. IThis game may be an MMO of quality on some level, but it is NOT Neverwinter, nor is it D&D. I don't know what it is, but it's not D&D. I feel like it's a bought name for a franchise better left in the hands of Bioware.

    The character cosmetic sliders were fun, but then I came to the stats "roll". These rolls are not true die rolls but a bag of about 20 pre-determined "sets" of stats based on what the gamemakers think the proper stats are for a rogue, wizard, fighter, etc.

    The toons feel like something purchased on eBay with predetermined stats and leveling upgrades. Customization, beyond cosmetics, feels absent. Just because a rule set is the latest, doesn't mean it is the greatest. Ugh.

    Outdoor competition on fetch and carry quests that we've already seen waaaaaaayyyyy too many times. Ugh.

    Player crafted dungeons offer random game generated loot. What's the point? Why does my rogue need a shield? Ugh.

    I couldn't make it past L13. It felt like a WoW clone given a D&D name to market their crap to the D&D audience. Fail.
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2015
    1
    This game just keeps going from bad to worse. My previous negative review has gotten worse since the release of module 6. Main Problems withThis game just keeps going from bad to worse. My previous negative review has gotten worse since the release of module 6. Main Problems with the game: Soulless greed. Broken Promises. Wasted Potential. Milking the D&D brand for all its worth to fund other projects while letting this one fall to the wayside and go completely underdeveloped. A majorly broken game (with main character powers that are broken for months if not years) with no apologies or apparent intention to actually fix the problems THEY created to rush re-used, stale, content out the door. ALL of these problems are abundant and rampant in this game. This very much is a PAY2win scenario game, and they keep trying to make that situation even worse with every new module. I could not recommend this game to anyone for any reason at this point. Avoid this game. Don't say you weren't warned. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2016
    0
    SPOILERS! If you load into Helm's Hold, you crash while loading, making your character effectively lost. Oh, and this problem goes back toSPOILERS! If you load into Helm's Hold, you crash while loading, making your character effectively lost. Oh, and this problem goes back to 2013.

    It's a freemium piece of garbage. It is not an RPG. It tries to be one, but anyone with 1/4 of a brain can see right through it.

    They bought a name they thought they could make money with and just proceeded to show how little they know about its fanbase.

    Whoever thought of making a freemium D&D game should be beaten, like week in a hospital beaten.
    Expand

See all 151 User Reviews

Trailers