Neverwinter PC

Neverwinter Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 405 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll onOnce a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter’s dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 1, 2013
    90
    A sensationally addictive massively multiplayer action RPG, and it's free. What are you waiting for?! [Aug 2013, p.78]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    The new MMO transposition of the famous paper role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons is a success, and one of the best examples of free-to-play titles currently available.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Neverwinter certainly has room to grow, but the amount of game that's available with no barrier of entry — neither fiscal nor educational — is mind-boggling. It misses the mark somewhat on that Dungeons & Dragons feeling of absolute character ownership, but that doesn't make the game any less refreshing to play. With its fast-paced combat and ubiquitously streamlined design, Neverwinter nails the concept of what an action-MMO should be.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    75
    There’s no doubt in my mind that Neverwinter is most certainly a fun game to play, standing proudly amongst the other F2P MMOs as one of the front liners. However, the suspect use of the F2P model along with a linear, unimaginative quest progression and a lack of good end game content make me feel it still has much to grow before I can proclaim it to be the F2P that completely wiped away the stigma they hold in today’s game market.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Online incarnation of Neverwinter is an interesting proposal for fans of MMO and action RPG, that enjoy a fantasy setting. The game is pretty and playable, but I'm not sure if the Foundry is enough to keep players for a long time. Creating your own quests is really cool, but it does not make up for an unbalanced PvP. Let's hope Cryptic Studios considers all of the opinions and solves the problem of expensive micro-transactions, as well as gives max-level players something interesting to do.
  6. May 30, 2013
    70
    Neverwinter is worth a visit by anyone who is a fan of both MMOs and of action-RPGs. Despite some glaring issues, including the lacklustre PvP and the Zen Market, the game is wildly fun and is a worthwhile detour on one’s journey through the MMO space today. It remains to be seen what Cryptic does with the feedback it has received from the players during the past month, but Neverwinter is one to keep an eye on as time goes by. As the title says, Neverwinter is an Astral Diamond in the Rough.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    Neverwinter is a disappointing MMO. There isn’t a lot of freedom for players to roam and it doesn’t re-imagine itself in the open world genre. For a free-to-play game it offers too little.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 149
  2. Negative: 74 out of 149
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    the game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. Itthe game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. It is fast to install. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    An awesome game, it's fun to play and feels like a new breath in the MMORPG genre, it's well built and I have not experienced any bugs, theAn awesome game, it's fun to play and feels like a new breath in the MMORPG genre, it's well built and I have not experienced any bugs, the only down site is the lack of an open world map. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very fun! I don't know Neverwinter is different for another game!
    I love this game. I like this story, wow! I think game is not bad very cool.
    for this game is free on steam, I like it.
    Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    5
    I feel that what this game is lacking is a simple directional HUD. At the start, I had no idea of what to do; and me only having playedI feel that what this game is lacking is a simple directional HUD. At the start, I had no idea of what to do; and me only having played RuneScape for a similar comparison to the RPG, I found it fairly tedious and dull. It felt to me like a Lord of The Rings copy; just a standard RPG; it really is all you expect from an RPG Weird English accentuated accents; strange gaelic/celtic named places and crazy creatures. Now, If I were more a fan of RPGs then I would have enjoyed it more. I am not entirely writing it off as I did enjoy some parts. But it looks like it will get a lot more complicated to understand; and having to work to play is not what I play games for. Collapse
  5. Jun 19, 2014
    3
    This game may be an MMO of quality on some level, but it is NOT Neverwinter, nor is it D&D. I don't know what it is, but it's not D&D. IThis game may be an MMO of quality on some level, but it is NOT Neverwinter, nor is it D&D. I don't know what it is, but it's not D&D. I feel like it's a bought name for a franchise better left in the hands of Bioware.

    The character cosmetic sliders were fun, but then I came to the stats "roll". These rolls are not true die rolls but a bag of about 20 pre-determined "sets" of stats based on what the gamemakers think the proper stats are for a rogue, wizard, fighter, etc.

    The toons feel like something purchased on eBay with predetermined stats and leveling upgrades. Customization, beyond cosmetics, feels absent. Just because a rule set is the latest, doesn't mean it is the greatest. Ugh.

    Outdoor competition on fetch and carry quests that we've already seen waaaaaaayyyyy too many times. Ugh.

    Player crafted dungeons offer random game generated loot. What's the point? Why does my rogue need a shield? Ugh.

    I couldn't make it past L13. It felt like a WoW clone given a D&D name to market their crap to the D&D audience. Fail.
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2015
    1
    This game just keeps going from bad to worse. My previous negative review has gotten worse since the release of module 6. Main Problems withThis game just keeps going from bad to worse. My previous negative review has gotten worse since the release of module 6. Main Problems with the game: Soulless greed. Broken Promises. Wasted Potential. Milking the D&D brand for all its worth to fund other projects while letting this one fall to the wayside and go completely underdeveloped. A majorly broken game (with main character powers that are broken for months if not years) with no apologies or apparent intention to actually fix the problems THEY created to rush re-used, stale, content out the door. ALL of these problems are abundant and rampant in this game. This very much is a PAY2win scenario game, and they keep trying to make that situation even worse with every new module. I could not recommend this game to anyone for any reason at this point. Avoid this game. Don't say you weren't warned. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2016
    0
    Avoid this one at all costs. Though it starts fun, it quickly progresses to a cash grab by Cryptic. When you make max level, the only thing toAvoid this one at all costs. Though it starts fun, it quickly progresses to a cash grab by Cryptic. When you make max level, the only thing to do is a mindless grind to upgrade your gear, as there is no real 'epic' loot to chase. This gear upgrading requires certain wards which are only available to purchase for Zen, which is available for...you guessed it...real cash. Personally, I like games that really get rolling once you hit max level. That is absolutely not the case here. Once you reach max level, there are only 7 or 8 encounters that are in any way challenging, and even those are dumbed down to the point that they are just button mashing with an occasional dodge. Also, unlike most mmorpgs I've played, there is not much in the way of character customization. By the time you hit 70, you have most of the gear you'll use till you get bored and quit. I'll personally never play another game by this company, they make lots of promises they don't deliver on and the staff seems to be trying to run it into the ground. Save your time, save your money, play something else. Expand

See all 149 User Reviews