Neverwinter Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 419 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll onOnce a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter’s dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Neverwinter - Mounts Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 1, 2013
    90
    A sensationally addictive massively multiplayer action RPG, and it's free. What are you waiting for?! [Aug 2013, p.78]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    The new MMO transposition of the famous paper role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons is a success, and one of the best examples of free-to-play titles currently available.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Neverwinter certainly has room to grow, but the amount of game that's available with no barrier of entry — neither fiscal nor educational — is mind-boggling. It misses the mark somewhat on that Dungeons & Dragons feeling of absolute character ownership, but that doesn't make the game any less refreshing to play. With its fast-paced combat and ubiquitously streamlined design, Neverwinter nails the concept of what an action-MMO should be.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    75
    There’s no doubt in my mind that Neverwinter is most certainly a fun game to play, standing proudly amongst the other F2P MMOs as one of the front liners. However, the suspect use of the F2P model along with a linear, unimaginative quest progression and a lack of good end game content make me feel it still has much to grow before I can proclaim it to be the F2P that completely wiped away the stigma they hold in today’s game market.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Online incarnation of Neverwinter is an interesting proposal for fans of MMO and action RPG, that enjoy a fantasy setting. The game is pretty and playable, but I'm not sure if the Foundry is enough to keep players for a long time. Creating your own quests is really cool, but it does not make up for an unbalanced PvP. Let's hope Cryptic Studios considers all of the opinions and solves the problem of expensive micro-transactions, as well as gives max-level players something interesting to do.
  6. May 30, 2013
    70
    Neverwinter is worth a visit by anyone who is a fan of both MMOs and of action-RPGs. Despite some glaring issues, including the lacklustre PvP and the Zen Market, the game is wildly fun and is a worthwhile detour on one’s journey through the MMO space today. It remains to be seen what Cryptic does with the feedback it has received from the players during the past month, but Neverwinter is one to keep an eye on as time goes by. As the title says, Neverwinter is an Astral Diamond in the Rough.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    Neverwinter is a disappointing MMO. There isn’t a lot of freedom for players to roam and it doesn’t re-imagine itself in the open world genre. For a free-to-play game it offers too little.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 152
  2. Negative: 75 out of 152
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    the game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. Itthe game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. It is fast to install. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    An awesome game, it's fun to play and feels like a new breath in the MMORPG genre, it's well built and I have not experienced any bugs, theAn awesome game, it's fun to play and feels like a new breath in the MMORPG genre, it's well built and I have not experienced any bugs, the only down site is the lack of an open world map. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    As of this writing, I've gotten one character to level 60 (Rogue), and another to 30 (Cleric). I've tried the basics of the other classes,As of this writing, I've gotten one character to level 60 (Rogue), and another to 30 (Cleric). I've tried the basics of the other classes, though not advanced them very far since they didn't catch me as much as Rogue and Cleric classes did.

    It's not a perfect game by any means. It's mostly an action adventure game, with a somewhat short period required to play through a RPG section to get your character to max level (It goes really, really fast) The combat is very easy in the beginning, and slowly ramps up as the levels increase.

    A lot of times, I'll spend too much of the more difficult battles staring at the floor, which is a result of the system of area effects larger enemies give off. Trying to stay out of the red can be tricky, and require some relatively quick reflexes, but it's mostly manageable excluding a few occasions where you let the crowd of other spawns run too rampant.

    The cash shop is built for Whales only. These are the people of whom, are willing to spend the big dollars, as everything is quiet expensive. It is entirely possible to earn the Crystal currency in game, and convert that over to cash shop money, so in, never having to spend a dime on the game, but look forward to a lot of grinding/professions/time for some of the really big ticket items.

    I can't speak of the player versus player, not something that has ever interested me.

    The community seems fine enough, people like on any MMO's can run the gambit of types and personalities. If you can get friends to play the game, it improves greatly (much as any MMO)

    The foundry is interesting, and gives limitless potential for random quality entertainment. The best ones in theory get voted to the top. There are weekly sales in the cash shop, but I don't particularly think things are discounted enough for the regular joe.

    It's relatively easy in my experience to make a good looking character, and the customization is relatively deep (Way moreso than other games of the ilk). All and all I've invested a little money into it, and find it enjoyable and challenging at a times, and mostly fair (There are some instances where I've been hit by things when I was completely out of the danger area)

    In the end, it is completely free to play, and there are aspects of the payment system of which, from what I've read, and seen hints of, that those that pay might have the possibility of distinct advantages over you in the deeper endgame.
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    5
    Decent game. Never been a big fan of MMRPG's but the game does have a nice single player option. What is missing is Melee weapons for theDecent game. Never been a big fan of MMRPG's but the game does have a nice single player option. What is missing is Melee weapons for the Cleric and Mage. Everything cannot be a distance attack. How about split class, fighter/mage. Let us level up to a certain level in one class and switch to a different one. Or at least more character options Expand
  5. May 21, 2015
    3
    This game went from good, to potential is there, to ok, to meh..
    The last release was just terrible, I mean terrible and they are doing very
    This game went from good, to potential is there, to ok, to meh..
    The last release was just terrible, I mean terrible and they are doing very little to win veterans back to it. All but ignored the last preview testing and Mod 6 literally broke the game.. I mean most of the power/feats were broken for the first month and they are JUST now slowly rebuilding it. In addition if you come from say middle of the mods 2-3 , there isnt much new for you at all. They did increase difficulty settings by a factor of about ten give or take though, so its much harder then it was. Up to you if you like that or not.

    They have adding many time/pay and grind gates and each week , seem to take another player bonus away. They have recently hired some new people, but it seems that the company that made the game and operates it (cryptic) is in direct contrast to what the money side wants (pwe) cryptic wants a game thats fun, but PWE just wants a vehicle to make money.

    The best games make both happen, this one ATM doesn't, I can no longer recommended this game to people, I would suggest you look elsewhere until they fix it.
    Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2015
    1
    I've been playing this game for 2 years and I still cannot post in the forums.
    Cryptic studios and perfect world are sick of working with
    I've been playing this game for 2 years and I still cannot post in the forums.
    Cryptic studios and perfect world are sick of working with each other and it shows.
    They are both working on new games and funneling any proceeds from never winter directly into.
    The new areas in module 6 were cut copied and pasted together to make "new areas" with the same monsters that have had their names changed lol!!
    Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2017
    0
    Craptric!!! Lag crash error. Wieczne lagi bugi crashe gra co moduł spada na samo dno. Nowe dodają o starym zapominają. Ta gra to dno iCraptric!!! Lag crash error. Wieczne lagi bugi crashe gra co moduł spada na samo dno. Nowe dodają o starym zapominają. Ta gra to dno i kilometr mułu. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews