Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 303 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter’s dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Aug 1, 2013
    90
    A sensationally addictive massively multiplayer action RPG, and it's free. What are you waiting for?! [Aug 2013, p.78]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    The new MMO transposition of the famous paper role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons is a success, and one of the best examples of free-to-play titles currently available.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Neverwinter certainly has room to grow, but the amount of game that's available with no barrier of entry — neither fiscal nor educational — is mind-boggling. It misses the mark somewhat on that Dungeons & Dragons feeling of absolute character ownership, but that doesn't make the game any less refreshing to play. With its fast-paced combat and ubiquitously streamlined design, Neverwinter nails the concept of what an action-MMO should be.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    75
    There’s no doubt in my mind that Neverwinter is most certainly a fun game to play, standing proudly amongst the other F2P MMOs as one of the front liners. However, the suspect use of the F2P model along with a linear, unimaginative quest progression and a lack of good end game content make me feel it still has much to grow before I can proclaim it to be the F2P that completely wiped away the stigma they hold in today’s game market.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Online incarnation of Neverwinter is an interesting proposal for fans of MMO and action RPG, that enjoy a fantasy setting. The game is pretty and playable, but I'm not sure if the Foundry is enough to keep players for a long time. Creating your own quests is really cool, but it does not make up for an unbalanced PvP. Let's hope Cryptic Studios considers all of the opinions and solves the problem of expensive micro-transactions, as well as gives max-level players something interesting to do.
  6. May 30, 2013
    70
    Neverwinter is worth a visit by anyone who is a fan of both MMOs and of action-RPGs. Despite some glaring issues, including the lacklustre PvP and the Zen Market, the game is wildly fun and is a worthwhile detour on one’s journey through the MMO space today. It remains to be seen what Cryptic does with the feedback it has received from the players during the past month, but Neverwinter is one to keep an eye on as time goes by. As the title says, Neverwinter is an Astral Diamond in the Rough.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    Neverwinter is a disappointing MMO. There isn’t a lot of freedom for players to roam and it doesn’t re-imagine itself in the open world genre. For a free-to-play game it offers too little.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 122
  2. Negative: 54 out of 122
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    the game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. It is fast to install. Collapse
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Great game, probably one of my favorite games of all time. The combat is great fun and while there isn't alot of classes to choose from all 5 feel and play very differently from each other, almost like your playing a different game and while you can only have so many powers equipped at once it does make the game simple to play but that's a good thing in my books, just because you have 30 powers to manage doesn't make a game more enjoyable. The areas are linear and instanced but then again so was the original neverwinter nights so this didn't feel out of places in the slightest to me and all the environments look great and are varied enough, the questing is classic and not very original but it's quick and painless which is good, pvp is a blast because of the combat and despite people complaining about it being unbalanced my experience has been more down to player skill and character build and gear than any inherent class balance issues, about as balanced as you are going to get it, the player made content from the foundry is simply amazing, it can actually put some genuine role play in to a genre that's never really had it, only down side so far is the lack of end game content but they are releasing more soon and there isn't enough pvp maps or game types yet, again they will release more content as time goes by, simply a great game and you owe it to your self to try it and give this game 6 months to release more content and this will a beast of a mmo, great for a casual mmo player, maybe not for a hardcore player though. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    As of this writing, I've gotten one character to level 60 (Rogue), and another to 30 (Cleric). I've tried the basics of the other classes, though not advanced them very far since they didn't catch me as much as Rogue and Cleric classes did.

    It's not a perfect game by any means. It's mostly an action adventure game, with a somewhat short period required to play through a RPG section to get your character to max level (It goes really, really fast) The combat is very easy in the beginning, and slowly ramps up as the levels increase.

    A lot of times, I'll spend too much of the more difficult battles staring at the floor, which is a result of the system of area effects larger enemies give off. Trying to stay out of the red can be tricky, and require some relatively quick reflexes, but it's mostly manageable excluding a few occasions where you let the crowd of other spawns run too rampant.

    The cash shop is built for Whales only. These are the people of whom, are willing to spend the big dollars, as everything is quiet expensive. It is entirely possible to earn the Crystal currency in game, and convert that over to cash shop money, so in, never having to spend a dime on the game, but look forward to a lot of grinding/professions/time for some of the really big ticket items.

    I can't speak of the player versus player, not something that has ever interested me.

    The community seems fine enough, people like on any MMO's can run the gambit of types and personalities. If you can get friends to play the game, it improves greatly (much as any MMO)

    The foundry is interesting, and gives limitless potential for random quality entertainment. The best ones in theory get voted to the top. There are weekly sales in the cash shop, but I don't particularly think things are discounted enough for the regular joe.

    It's relatively easy in my experience to make a good looking character, and the customization is relatively deep (Way moreso than other games of the ilk). All and all I've invested a little money into it, and find it enjoyable and challenging at a times, and mostly fair (There are some instances where I've been hit by things when I was completely out of the danger area)

    In the end, it is completely free to play, and there are aspects of the payment system of which, from what I've read, and seen hints of, that those that pay might have the possibility of distinct advantages over you in the deeper endgame.
    Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    5
    While the other teams try to copycat WoW, brilliant minds at Cryptic went one step ahead and copied WoW pirate servers! Or maybe their development budget was too tight to afford a WoW subscription. Anyway, glitched skills? Check! Going through walls? Check! Crashes? Check! Doing dungeon for hour for boss to drop nothing? Check!

    If this game would be described in one word, it would be "bugs". If you think I'm overdramatising, there is actually ingame community dedicated to specifically running content without exploits. That's right, playing the way supposed to be is actually a niche pastime in this game, similar to doing classic raids in modern WoW with XP bar locked to level 60. You are expected to use every single bug and glitch during normal play, or prepare to be kicked.

    Action combat is ok, but forget about being competitive in pvp if you play from EU, because PWE is too cheap to maintain EU server and ping will make you a punchbag. Monetization turned to worse recently since there is no way anymore to turn ingame currency into item store one. Overall this game works for novelty but you gotta have some nerves to play it.
    Expand
  5. May 16, 2014
    4
    An MMO on rails. Graphic elements are repetitive, and variation in dungeon layouts are lacking. If you prefer to explore and free roam, this is not a game for you. You follow the quests, and there is no way to get lost, since the environments are highly constrictive. In the same vein, the classes are also highly restricted, no deviation at all in classes. Your class are strictly confounded to a certain set of armor and weapons. Also, you are constantly being reminded that you need to spend money if you want to really advance, the micro-transaction aspect of the game is always in your face.

    On a good note, the game gives you the feeling of being uber terrific tough by letting you kill hordes of enemies. The real time targeting system is also enjoyable because it makes the game feel more than a running spreadsheet. The Internet features, the mini game, and crafting aspects are also a nice addition to the game.

    Overall, though the strengths of the game cannot overcome the very restrictive environments and classes. You really feel you are playing an arcade game, long live Golden Ax.
    Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2014
    2
    The game have a nice story and can be played... and that's just about it. There is very evident paywall between you and everything else - any upgrade for your companions, gear, and respec points. This damages the experience so much that at some point the "henchman" you bring along with you actually gets in the way more than it helps. This alongside with the very poor AI attached to your companions will often get you frustrated with their limited ability to act effectively . Same goes for the profesion trees. You practicaly have no use for any of them but leadership witch alow you to get some aditional astral diamonds. The game have 3 currencies. Gold (largely useless), astral diamonds (can be used for almost anything) and Zen (you can get anything with it). Zen can be obtained (at the moment) only with real money. There is astral diamond to Zen exchange but at this moment the Zen backorder is so high that it takes ages to get any and this is only logical as the only way to get one is for a player to sell it. The sad truth about it is that you have absolutely no incentive to sell Zen as you can have anything with Zen...

    The chracter progression is so flat that it actually doesn't matter what stats you will get... The only thing you can make is difference is the skill pick order and its really limited difference. I have played a tank based control wizard - and it have less than 20% difference in combat time... ... ... ... worthless to say the least. Just get health on any character and you win.

    PVP is the stupidiest idea you can have in the endgame... The only way you can win is to get items with alot of ZEN and to be pay-to-win player. I played like 2 matches at level 60 (end game level) and totaly quit the PVP.

    Besides all that nonsence the game have like 1200-1700-2000 miliseconds server lag that kills any idea for player risks. Don't even try to approach that game as MOBA. It will be your worst mistake.
    Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. interesting game, destruction or given characters, where if you do not buy a currency for real, you're the last link in the entire game and most interesting Chop, PVP fights always razdelyayutsya that lyubogm case against enbya 3/5 donaterov and you have a party only Nuba in green Exodus. **** slag, do not play this wanker!!!!! Expand

See all 122 User Reviews