Neverwinter Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 428 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll onOnce a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter’s dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Neverwinter - Mounts Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 1, 2013
    90
    A sensationally addictive massively multiplayer action RPG, and it's free. What are you waiting for?! [Aug 2013, p.78]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    The new MMO transposition of the famous paper role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons is a success, and one of the best examples of free-to-play titles currently available.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Neverwinter certainly has room to grow, but the amount of game that's available with no barrier of entry — neither fiscal nor educational — is mind-boggling. It misses the mark somewhat on that Dungeons & Dragons feeling of absolute character ownership, but that doesn't make the game any less refreshing to play. With its fast-paced combat and ubiquitously streamlined design, Neverwinter nails the concept of what an action-MMO should be.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    75
    There’s no doubt in my mind that Neverwinter is most certainly a fun game to play, standing proudly amongst the other F2P MMOs as one of the front liners. However, the suspect use of the F2P model along with a linear, unimaginative quest progression and a lack of good end game content make me feel it still has much to grow before I can proclaim it to be the F2P that completely wiped away the stigma they hold in today’s game market.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Online incarnation of Neverwinter is an interesting proposal for fans of MMO and action RPG, that enjoy a fantasy setting. The game is pretty and playable, but I'm not sure if the Foundry is enough to keep players for a long time. Creating your own quests is really cool, but it does not make up for an unbalanced PvP. Let's hope Cryptic Studios considers all of the opinions and solves the problem of expensive micro-transactions, as well as gives max-level players something interesting to do.
  6. May 30, 2013
    70
    Neverwinter is worth a visit by anyone who is a fan of both MMOs and of action-RPGs. Despite some glaring issues, including the lacklustre PvP and the Zen Market, the game is wildly fun and is a worthwhile detour on one’s journey through the MMO space today. It remains to be seen what Cryptic does with the feedback it has received from the players during the past month, but Neverwinter is one to keep an eye on as time goes by. As the title says, Neverwinter is an Astral Diamond in the Rough.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    Neverwinter is a disappointing MMO. There isn’t a lot of freedom for players to roam and it doesn’t re-imagine itself in the open world genre. For a free-to-play game it offers too little.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 156
  2. Negative: 79 out of 156
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    the game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. Itthe game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. It is fast to install. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    An awesome game, it's fun to play and feels like a new breath in the MMORPG genre, it's well built and I have not experienced any bugs, theAn awesome game, it's fun to play and feels like a new breath in the MMORPG genre, it's well built and I have not experienced any bugs, the only down site is the lack of an open world map. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    As of this writing, I've gotten one character to level 60 (Rogue), and another to 30 (Cleric). I've tried the basics of the other classes,As of this writing, I've gotten one character to level 60 (Rogue), and another to 30 (Cleric). I've tried the basics of the other classes, though not advanced them very far since they didn't catch me as much as Rogue and Cleric classes did.

    It's not a perfect game by any means. It's mostly an action adventure game, with a somewhat short period required to play through a RPG section to get your character to max level (It goes really, really fast) The combat is very easy in the beginning, and slowly ramps up as the levels increase.

    A lot of times, I'll spend too much of the more difficult battles staring at the floor, which is a result of the system of area effects larger enemies give off. Trying to stay out of the red can be tricky, and require some relatively quick reflexes, but it's mostly manageable excluding a few occasions where you let the crowd of other spawns run too rampant.

    The cash shop is built for Whales only. These are the people of whom, are willing to spend the big dollars, as everything is quiet expensive. It is entirely possible to earn the Crystal currency in game, and convert that over to cash shop money, so in, never having to spend a dime on the game, but look forward to a lot of grinding/professions/time for some of the really big ticket items.

    I can't speak of the player versus player, not something that has ever interested me.

    The community seems fine enough, people like on any MMO's can run the gambit of types and personalities. If you can get friends to play the game, it improves greatly (much as any MMO)

    The foundry is interesting, and gives limitless potential for random quality entertainment. The best ones in theory get voted to the top. There are weekly sales in the cash shop, but I don't particularly think things are discounted enough for the regular joe.

    It's relatively easy in my experience to make a good looking character, and the customization is relatively deep (Way moreso than other games of the ilk). All and all I've invested a little money into it, and find it enjoyable and challenging at a times, and mostly fair (There are some instances where I've been hit by things when I was completely out of the danger area)

    In the end, it is completely free to play, and there are aspects of the payment system of which, from what I've read, and seen hints of, that those that pay might have the possibility of distinct advantages over you in the deeper endgame.
    Expand
  4. May 16, 2014
    4
    An MMO on rails. Graphic elements are repetitive, and variation in dungeon layouts are lacking. If you prefer to explore and free roam, thisAn MMO on rails. Graphic elements are repetitive, and variation in dungeon layouts are lacking. If you prefer to explore and free roam, this is not a game for you. You follow the quests, and there is no way to get lost, since the environments are highly constrictive. In the same vein, the classes are also highly restricted, no deviation at all in classes. Your class are strictly confounded to a certain set of armor and weapons. Also, you are constantly being reminded that you need to spend money if you want to really advance, the micro-transaction aspect of the game is always in your face.

    On a good note, the game gives you the feeling of being uber terrific tough by letting you kill hordes of enemies. The real time targeting system is also enjoyable because it makes the game feel more than a running spreadsheet. The Internet features, the mini game, and crafting aspects are also a nice addition to the game.

    Overall, though the strengths of the game cannot overcome the very restrictive environments and classes. You really feel you are playing an arcade game, long live Golden Ax.
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2015
    3
    Positive -
    Combat is great.
    Graphics are awesome. Monsters and the basic world is amazing - it's a very well developed and documented
    Positive -
    Combat is great.
    Graphics are awesome.
    Monsters and the basic world is amazing - it's a very well developed and documented world.
    User created dungeons.

    Negative -
    It's not open world ! WTF ! The areas are linked by doors to travel through. This style of game NEEDS to be open world. D&D should feel like you can go anywhere and do anything.
    The user created dungeons don't work if you need to reload a map within a map. You can play in a map for an hour, advancing a lovingly crafted story and then it will refuse to load another area. There are complaints about this on forums all over the place and it's inconceivable it has not been fixed.

    Overall - Very disappointed. This game could have been amazing with unlimited scope for user created content. Instead it has a closed feeling with even the best user content not working.
    When I was 11 some friends of mine bought a book called basic dungeons and dragons. We paid 5c per page to photocopy it at the local library. Adventuring in dungeons and dragons with my friends was some of the best times of my life. I still remember running out of arrows while perched on a castle wall and throwing my shoe at a troll. I rolled a 20 and killed it. So much fun. I played right through my teens, 20's and into my 30's. Family and work now gets in the way, but d&d still holds a VERY special place. To get my fantasy rpg fix I play wow, elder scrolls, diablo and a few other games. D&D online sucked. Neverwinter held so much promise with great graphics, mmo and most of all, unlimited user created dungeons. But they stuffed it up. It's not open world which is unforgivable for d&d. You can't close in a d&d world with doors. Sure, put up mountains and don't have flying mounts if you can't spare the time to flesh out the whole damned globe. But don't have linear paths and small maps that aren't linked.
    Please try again. You got so many things right. But you ruined the spirit of the game.
    Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2016
    1
    Going on two weeks since the major **** up called THE MAZE ENGINE. People still cant queue to access game content, in chat people begging forGoing on two weeks since the major **** up called THE MAZE ENGINE. People still cant queue to access game content, in chat people begging for more players to so they can make an attempt at game content, actually people begging for any group so they can have a chance doing something. If this is the state of how they handle customer issues, bugs, and massive frustration than we all need to ask if you really want to invest time and money into a game like this.

    The only reason I gave this game a 1 is if you just want to waste hundreds of dollars on a game with very little real content, that is constantly bugged, never class balanced because its unprofitable for the developers, very little in common with the DnD universe other than the payoffs they give Salvatore to use the name of popular characters, a tiny world to explore, constant change in game play when the developers develop new ways for cash grabs, a game that is really more suited to a cash grab tablet play than intense, rewarding play on PC, than this game is for you.

    As a 30 year veteran of MMORPGs from the release of EQ, DaOC, Star Wars online, Eve, Rifts, WoW, LoTR, Vanguard trust me, don't invest your time. Looking for a new game to invest in, this probably will just frustrate and annoy you. It is definitely not a gamers game.
    Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2017
    0
    Craptric!!! Lag crash error. Wieczne lagi bugi crashe gra co moduł spada na samo dno. Nowe dodają o starym zapominają. Ta gra to dno iCraptric!!! Lag crash error. Wieczne lagi bugi crashe gra co moduł spada na samo dno. Nowe dodają o starym zapominają. Ta gra to dno i kilometr mułu. Expand

See all 156 User Reviews