Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 332 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll onOnce a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter’s dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Aug 1, 2013
    90
    A sensationally addictive massively multiplayer action RPG, and it's free. What are you waiting for?! [Aug 2013, p.78]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    The new MMO transposition of the famous paper role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons is a success, and one of the best examples of free-to-play titles currently available.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Neverwinter certainly has room to grow, but the amount of game that's available with no barrier of entry — neither fiscal nor educational — is mind-boggling. It misses the mark somewhat on that Dungeons & Dragons feeling of absolute character ownership, but that doesn't make the game any less refreshing to play. With its fast-paced combat and ubiquitously streamlined design, Neverwinter nails the concept of what an action-MMO should be.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    75
    There’s no doubt in my mind that Neverwinter is most certainly a fun game to play, standing proudly amongst the other F2P MMOs as one of the front liners. However, the suspect use of the F2P model along with a linear, unimaginative quest progression and a lack of good end game content make me feel it still has much to grow before I can proclaim it to be the F2P that completely wiped away the stigma they hold in today’s game market.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Online incarnation of Neverwinter is an interesting proposal for fans of MMO and action RPG, that enjoy a fantasy setting. The game is pretty and playable, but I'm not sure if the Foundry is enough to keep players for a long time. Creating your own quests is really cool, but it does not make up for an unbalanced PvP. Let's hope Cryptic Studios considers all of the opinions and solves the problem of expensive micro-transactions, as well as gives max-level players something interesting to do.
  6. May 30, 2013
    70
    Neverwinter is worth a visit by anyone who is a fan of both MMOs and of action-RPGs. Despite some glaring issues, including the lacklustre PvP and the Zen Market, the game is wildly fun and is a worthwhile detour on one’s journey through the MMO space today. It remains to be seen what Cryptic does with the feedback it has received from the players during the past month, but Neverwinter is one to keep an eye on as time goes by. As the title says, Neverwinter is an Astral Diamond in the Rough.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    Neverwinter is a disappointing MMO. There isn’t a lot of freedom for players to roam and it doesn’t re-imagine itself in the open world genre. For a free-to-play game it offers too little.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 135
  2. Negative: 64 out of 135
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    the game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. Itthe game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. It is fast to install. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Great game, probably one of my favorite games of all time. The combat is great fun and while there isn't alot of classes to choose from all 5Great game, probably one of my favorite games of all time. The combat is great fun and while there isn't alot of classes to choose from all 5 feel and play very differently from each other, almost like your playing a different game and while you can only have so many powers equipped at once it does make the game simple to play but that's a good thing in my books, just because you have 30 powers to manage doesn't make a game more enjoyable. The areas are linear and instanced but then again so was the original neverwinter nights so this didn't feel out of places in the slightest to me and all the environments look great and are varied enough, the questing is classic and not very original but it's quick and painless which is good, pvp is a blast because of the combat and despite people complaining about it being unbalanced my experience has been more down to player skill and character build and gear than any inherent class balance issues, about as balanced as you are going to get it, the player made content from the foundry is simply amazing, it can actually put some genuine role play in to a genre that's never really had it, only down side so far is the lack of end game content but they are releasing more soon and there isn't enough pvp maps or game types yet, again they will release more content as time goes by, simply a great game and you owe it to your self to try it and give this game 6 months to release more content and this will a beast of a mmo, great for a casual mmo player, maybe not for a hardcore player though. Collapse
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very fun! I don't know Neverwinter is different for another game!
    I love this game. I like this story, wow! I think game is not bad very cool.
    for this game is free on steam, I like it.
    Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    5
    Its really a poor game went into it loving it low time requirement to level seemed cool but the more i got into it the worse it became. its aIts really a poor game went into it loving it low time requirement to level seemed cool but the more i got into it the worse it became. its a 5.5 to me almost a 6.
    The zones are small and don't feel like a world. They are small and force you to travel along a path and due to quests being the only practical source of Xp theres no point in exploring. The novelty of mini dungeons wears off fast when it becomes so standard and predicable. Do a bread crumb quest kill dude in cave repeat 30 times till max lvl.
    Dont get me started on pvp, its not even really there its a poorly balanced arena forcing you to run in circles to hold points to win.
    I only continue to play this game due to my friends who have dumped money into and refuse to leave the sinking ship that is this game.
    you are better off avoiding this MMO and is not worth the time.
    Expand
  5. CWM
    Aug 14, 2014
    3
    When you start the game it feels awesome! However the more you play the less it feels like D&D.
    The combat ist fun! But after a couple days
    When you start the game it feels awesome! However the more you play the less it feels like D&D.
    The combat ist fun! But after a couple days you realize that the whole combat happens around evading enemy special attack via shift-move into a direction. In fact a Tank is totaly gimped cause he cant evade instead he blocks and gues what blocking is nonsense in this game. The higher you get the less people need a tank.
    Because the whole combat is NOTHING but evading special attacks a class that can control enemys is superior. That means many high end groups consists of 4 mages and a cleric..... but even the cleric isnt needed when the mages are good.
    As a perfect World game its a pure DPS race.... you played Star Treck online? Yes same here. No strategy.... DPS > All

    Game can be played for free, and for quite some time.... you WILL buy a Horse eventualy (30€ alone for that on average lol). Bigger inventory helps too. Nothing gamebreaking.... untill you get to max level. Enchanting your weapons can cost a fortune. So in the endgame you realy need so invest some Cash if you plan to compete in PVP.

    Overal the game is not a strategic D&D game but a asian action grinder. But a GOOD one! So you like asian action grinder then you will LOVE this game! All others dont INVEST cash.
    Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2015
    2
    Not worth investing too much time into.

    Before level 60, it's not as obvious that it's a pay to win game. At level 60, if you pve
    Not worth investing too much time into.

    Before level 60, it's not as obvious that it's a pay to win game. At level 60, if you pve everything is fine unless you like being kicked out of dungeons so you can't loot.

    If you are into PVP, expect highly unbalanced matches with whatever broken class comes into play. Expect that you're going to see people with paid for items annihilating you and broken skills.

    Loyal players have stuck it through only to be given horrible customer service. Items lost over bugs and their items not refunded. If you buy the packs that cost over 50 dollars (there's even one that is 200 dollars) you might get better treatment...don't count on it.

    People getting banned for dumb reasons only to finally get unbanned weeks later.
    Exploiters not getting banned even though they should.

    If you enter the forum with concerns about how broken the game is, mods close down the threads. They do not care about their customers and it's a very toxic environment all around.

    In October, they raised 30,000 dollars from us players for extra life charity. They promised we'd get rewards within a couple of weeks. Still haven't obtained them. Once again, another slap in the face.

    Avoid this one like the plague.

    -Long time player finally fed up with the game.
    Expand
  7. May 12, 2014
    0
    This game has great potential but is a huge ripoff, boardering on fraud, don't bother playing.

    Everything costs money even for basic
    This game has great potential but is a huge ripoff, boardering on fraud, don't bother playing.

    Everything costs money even for basic features like bags, don't expect one to drop from encounters. They promote lock boxes which you have to unlock with keys that you have to buy with real cash. I opened over 20 lockboxes and most were the same item (Alchemist resource kit). Looking on the auction house there are only alchemy kits, which tells you it is not a problem specific to me. When I complained to support I got a generic comment and no attempt at resolution. Looks like my account is also prevented from posting on their forums.

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS GAME or at least don't spend a dime.
    Expand

See all 135 User Reviews