Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll onOnce a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter’s dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Aug 1, 2013
    90
    A sensationally addictive massively multiplayer action RPG, and it's free. What are you waiting for?! [Aug 2013, p.78]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    The new MMO transposition of the famous paper role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons is a success, and one of the best examples of free-to-play titles currently available.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Neverwinter certainly has room to grow, but the amount of game that's available with no barrier of entry — neither fiscal nor educational — is mind-boggling. It misses the mark somewhat on that Dungeons & Dragons feeling of absolute character ownership, but that doesn't make the game any less refreshing to play. With its fast-paced combat and ubiquitously streamlined design, Neverwinter nails the concept of what an action-MMO should be.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    75
    There’s no doubt in my mind that Neverwinter is most certainly a fun game to play, standing proudly amongst the other F2P MMOs as one of the front liners. However, the suspect use of the F2P model along with a linear, unimaginative quest progression and a lack of good end game content make me feel it still has much to grow before I can proclaim it to be the F2P that completely wiped away the stigma they hold in today’s game market.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Online incarnation of Neverwinter is an interesting proposal for fans of MMO and action RPG, that enjoy a fantasy setting. The game is pretty and playable, but I'm not sure if the Foundry is enough to keep players for a long time. Creating your own quests is really cool, but it does not make up for an unbalanced PvP. Let's hope Cryptic Studios considers all of the opinions and solves the problem of expensive micro-transactions, as well as gives max-level players something interesting to do.
  6. May 30, 2013
    70
    Neverwinter is worth a visit by anyone who is a fan of both MMOs and of action-RPGs. Despite some glaring issues, including the lacklustre PvP and the Zen Market, the game is wildly fun and is a worthwhile detour on one’s journey through the MMO space today. It remains to be seen what Cryptic does with the feedback it has received from the players during the past month, but Neverwinter is one to keep an eye on as time goes by. As the title says, Neverwinter is an Astral Diamond in the Rough.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    Neverwinter is a disappointing MMO. There isn’t a lot of freedom for players to roam and it doesn’t re-imagine itself in the open world genre. For a free-to-play game it offers too little.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 130
  2. Negative: 59 out of 130
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    the game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. Itthe game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. It is fast to install. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Great game, probably one of my favorite games of all time. The combat is great fun and while there isn't alot of classes to choose from all 5Great game, probably one of my favorite games of all time. The combat is great fun and while there isn't alot of classes to choose from all 5 feel and play very differently from each other, almost like your playing a different game and while you can only have so many powers equipped at once it does make the game simple to play but that's a good thing in my books, just because you have 30 powers to manage doesn't make a game more enjoyable. The areas are linear and instanced but then again so was the original neverwinter nights so this didn't feel out of places in the slightest to me and all the environments look great and are varied enough, the questing is classic and not very original but it's quick and painless which is good, pvp is a blast because of the combat and despite people complaining about it being unbalanced my experience has been more down to player skill and character build and gear than any inherent class balance issues, about as balanced as you are going to get it, the player made content from the foundry is simply amazing, it can actually put some genuine role play in to a genre that's never really had it, only down side so far is the lack of end game content but they are releasing more soon and there isn't enough pvp maps or game types yet, again they will release more content as time goes by, simply a great game and you owe it to your self to try it and give this game 6 months to release more content and this will a beast of a mmo, great for a casual mmo player, maybe not for a hardcore player though. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very fun! I don't know Neverwinter is different for another game!
    I love this game. I like this story, wow! I think game is not bad very cool.
    for this game is free on steam, I like it.
    Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    I originally rated this game an 8. I levelled to 60 and got fully epic'd out in T1 gear. But now they obviously have more players than theyI originally rated this game an 8. I levelled to 60 and got fully epic'd out in T1 gear. But now they obviously have more players than they are able to support and they are doing nothing to address it. The latency in game is virtually always between 1000 and 3000ms. Horribly imbalanced T2 dungeons are made even more ridiculous by how incredibly poorly this game is supported. If the game wasn't buggy, had stable servers and balanced content I would put the rating back to an 8. But there seems to be little to no chance that will happen. I recommend you avoid this game and try out some of the other wonderful MMOs in "beta" right now. I'm still giving it a 5 because it has the possibility of not sucking at some point. But I worry I'll be long gone by then. Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    3
    The game seems ok on the surface but its really pretty shallow and reaaaalllly buggy. The people running the game are also complete asshats. IThe game seems ok on the surface but its really pretty shallow and reaaaalllly buggy. The people running the game are also complete asshats. I had 6k of Astral Diamonds (in game currency) just disappear from my inventory and then got the following response from customer service.

    Hello

    I'm sorry to hear you lost your Astral Diamonds. Unfortunately, we won't be able to assist you with this issue. At this time Astral Diamonds which are disappeared without any trace do not qualify for reimbursement or replacement.

    We would like to encourage you to submit a Bug Report, with your findings, directly to our QA team. This may be done by selecting 'Bug Report' from the list of available help options. Do note that Bug Reports are reviewed by members of the QA team, however you will not be able to edit or view any reported bugs. Additionally, Bug Reports do not receive personalized responses.

    We appreciate your patience and understanding in this matter. Thank you for playing!
    Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    2
    Not worth the time. With so many other free to play games available, there is no reason to play this game. I found myself searching forNot worth the time. With so many other free to play games available, there is no reason to play this game. I found myself searching for anything about the game to be worthwhile and was left empty handed. The story development is dry and confusing, the game play is repetitive and boring, and the general feel is that this is a rushed game. Unfortunately, I find nothing about this game appealing and felt like I had wasted my time playing it. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    game that crashes constantly when you try to enter a new area, that take 3000 years to download patches that don't fix a boring, game that crashes constantly when you try to enter a new area, that take 3000 years to download patches that don't fix a boring, uninteresting storyline, and generally a big waste of time ****/10 would never touch again Expand

See all 130 User Reviews