Nexuiz PC

Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. May 22, 2012
    55
    Almost all of the improvements are simply native benefits of the PC platform and CryEngine 3 -- from the frame rate, to the textures and netcode. With a lack of an open dedicated-server model, community of players, or any tweaks to the pre-existing gameplay conventions, I still can't recommend Nexuiz to anyone but the most dedicated FPS diehard.
  3. May 22, 2012
    40
    Again, Nexuiz is by no means a bad game. It does, however, seem like a superfluous one.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    50
    If you want to make an arena FPS, you can't do anything wrong. That's the lesson IllFonic learned after the release of Nexuiz on Steam. The game suffered from some huge problems in terms of matchmaking, lag and crashes since day one, and now it's very hard to even find a match.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    Is it worth it to release a Quake 3 clone in 2012? I don't know. In fact, Nexuiz is doomed not because it lacks fresh ideas, but because it lacks people who want to play it.
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    65
    Like Gotham City Imposters a few months ago, the component parts of Nexuiz are sound; the weapons and shooting good, and the "hook" of the mutators offers some variety but there just isn't the player base to make it worth checking out unless gunning down bots isn't a deal breaker. And it should be reported that unlike Gotham City Imposters, getting connected and staying connected to a match of Nexuiz was never a problem.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. May 13, 2012
    6
    Poorly optimized but a good dive into an arena shooter based on CryEngine3. Doesn't even run very well on max settings with 16gb ram, i7Poorly optimized but a good dive into an arena shooter based on CryEngine3. Doesn't even run very well on max settings with 16gb ram, i7 processor and two 2gb ddr3 video cards. That being said it does a decent job of recapturing that old school unreal tournament/quake feel, I am really hoping this game keeps getting better (many updates on pre-release beta but they were required to play really) because its fanbase is pretty small, but for the price if the community gives the seal of approval this could be a great arena to squash petty beef between friends:) Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    I loved the game. Fast paced action, create your own levels with steam workshop and host your own servers (ideal for those wanting to playI loved the game. Fast paced action, create your own levels with steam workshop and host your own servers (ideal for those wanting to play with friends only, casually, instead of joining servers where you compete with 24/7 players with no life, who beat the ... out of you in 2 secs).
    Definitely old school shooter. At USD$2,5.- at Steam, is simply awesome bang for the buck. ($7,48 four pack)
    Not sure if the DLC (USD$1,25 is needed for hosting your server, I bought them together.
    Even at the regular 10 bucks is a good buy.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is an excellent game for PC that plays native on Linux and windows both. It reminds me some of Unreal Tournament of years past butThis is an excellent game for PC that plays native on Linux and windows both. It reminds me some of Unreal Tournament of years past but the sound and graphics are much better, and the characters move much more like real figures. I think the weapons are also better and the AI's are for sure much better.
    They did a lot of work into this game. It is an arena shooter, but that is what it was designed to be so I certainly can't fault it for that. I do have praise for the graphics, the sound, the AI's, and the fact that the developers took the time to port it over to Linux. Also, I have been involved in the IT computer industry since 1983 when we used PC-DOS or MS-DOS and the internet hadn't evolved yet, and I sure don't think this game should be bashed just for being an arena shooter. I do not work for or receive any compensation
    from the developers of this game.
    Full Review »