User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 5 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    It's 2013 and this is the best hockey game made for PC so far! Completely rebuilt graphics, wide and active on-line community, superb gameplay. Absolutely perfect!
  2. CLARAAARW.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    Awesome!!!!
  3. OglethorpO.
    Aug 29, 2004
    10
    Best sport game ever! The Dynasty mode is fantastic! Only minuses are that the game is too easy after playing it constantly for almost a year alraedy. And the music could be a lot better. But still I'll give it 10 points!
  4. NIDDA
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    This game was said to be the best of the series and guess what i agree this is the only time ive seen ea nhl have a good dynasty mode ...though the music could be A LOT better.
  5. NIDDA
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    This game was said to be the best of the series and guess what i agree this is the only time ive seen ea nhl have a good dynasty mode ...though the music could be A LOT better.
  6. MaxL.
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    I like the songs,the gameplay is great,and i love the dynasty mode.
  7. AntiBob
    Nov 11, 2003
    9
    The hockey part is exceptionnal: players' realism, gameplay, fighting, etc. On the other side, there are some downs: the music (oh! so very bad), lack of games' summaries, the trading process is obscure, etc. Overall, it's a great game, EA is on the right track.
  8. JF
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    Best hockey game ever!
  9. Erki
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Hockey at it's best! Most realistic sports game I ever played!!! Awesome!
  10. FredricN.
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Best hockey game ever made.
  11. TimH.
    Oct 9, 2003
    9
    Really good. Just a couple quirks. Dynasty mode is pretty sweet. The music gets old fast. Shya.
  12. SamiF.
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    Really nice game!
  13. GeirK.
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    Just want to say this game has it all. And i haven't started the dynasty mode yet :)
  14. ShawnJ.
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    It's awesome.
  15. DanD.
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    Very good!!!
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Hockey enthusiasts will absolutely love NHL 2004.
  2. While non-hockey fans can blag their way through the main game, Dynasty mode is a whole different puck game. It takes a real hockey buff to know what's going on with the different team lines, strategies, player trading and draft picking.
  3. 88
    Expanded fight controls include grappling, punch selection and the ability to pull off the gloves whenever rink rage overcomes you. [Oct 2003, p.37]