Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    70
    Under the right circumstances, Messhof has established a new and shocking blood sport that’ll captivate audiences and players alike.
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    Niddhog is a nice and nervous pixel art swordfight game, and you will enjoy it if you have a friend and two controllers at home.
  3. Jan 18, 2014
    70
    Nidhogg is a polarizing game. Experiencing it the way it’s meant to be played (via local multiplayer) is a fantastically fun event. Without that, it’s easy to pick at the ways in which the game feels small.
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    70
    A very simple game with a very enjoyable, addictive gameplay – especially if you play it online. [03/2014, p.59]
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    Nidhogg is a strange, unholy pastiche of lo-fi aesthetics and surprisingly deep, albeit minimal play; taking cues from decades of arcade-style 1v1 fighting games and modern indie darlings.
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    70
    A beautifully presented retro game that proves less really can be more, but lacks any lasting appeal beyond the immense joys of local multiplayer. [Apr 2014, p.70]
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    65
    Just like a skilled swordsman, the developer of Nidhogg disarmed me and lured into a trap – you either miss one of the best fighting experiences ever made, or pay $15 for what is basically an incomplete game.
  8. Jan 15, 2014
    70
    Nidhogg is a simple and enjoyable package, only marred by an unstable netcode, a limited stage selection, and all-too-simple options.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    4
    When i first saw Nidhogg, my expectations were pretty high and I was pretty damn hyped. I was looking forward to a game with deep andWhen i first saw Nidhogg, my expectations were pretty high and I was pretty damn hyped. I was looking forward to a game with deep and extremely satisfying combat.
    Unfortunately the reality was a lot less. The game has a relatively high price tag for an indie game overall, and there is nothing to get your money's worth in it. The combat is disappointingly simple and somewhat stiff, the graphics are run-of-the-mill pixel art, there are only four levels, the single player consists of playing each of them four times and takes about 30-40 minutes. The game in general has very little to offer for such a high price tag.
    Give it a pass until it's in a bundle and then find a friend to play this with.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    3
    Mediocre game. Not many things to note in favor... maybe the gameplay is ok and the retro touch is nice. It couldn't really keep me occupiedMediocre game. Not many things to note in favor... maybe the gameplay is ok and the retro touch is nice. It couldn't really keep me occupied for more that half an hour. Full Review »
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most fun games I've played in recent memory. If they add more maps and fix the matchmaking system (which at the moment kindThis is one of the most fun games I've played in recent memory. If they add more maps and fix the matchmaking system (which at the moment kind of works but sorta doesn't) this could be GOTY 2014. The long dev cycle certainly payed off as this game is fluid and fast and crazy fun. Full Review »