User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 95
  2. Negative: 19 out of 95

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2014
    9
    Nidhogg is a very fun game. What it lacks in content it makes up for in mechanics- its fighting system is fast, skill-based, and is very dynamic. Every type of attack has a viable counter, making its combat also rely heavily on deception. The keyboard controls are weak, however it is very fun to play with controllers. Its single player mode is lacking (but still enjoyable), made up of aNidhogg is a very fun game. What it lacks in content it makes up for in mechanics- its fighting system is fast, skill-based, and is very dynamic. Every type of attack has a viable counter, making its combat also rely heavily on deception. The keyboard controls are weak, however it is very fun to play with controllers. Its single player mode is lacking (but still enjoyable), made up of a series of battles with formidable CPU opponents.It really shines in multiplayer, however, as it is a truly fun back-to-basics fighting game that is great to play with friends. The graphics serve the game well, but are certainly not the focus of the game. It would be nice if there were more maps, however. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece
    It is addictive and fun
    Especially with friends
    Awesome platforming and sword action
    Good competitive play and just good game overall
  3. May 6, 2014
    9
    Nidhogg doesnt have a lot of variety, but the gameplay is solid and tons of fun. This is a blast of a 2 player game. More people can play if you take turns (loser switches or whatever) and normally you'd hate to sit and watch but it is just too frantic and fun. More casual gamers will love just sitting and watching as you yell and fight. Absolutely recommend this one.
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    One of the most fun and original fighting games I've ever played. It's simple, and I believe thats where some of the negative reviews come from. If you have a competitive buddy who wants to play a fighting game, this is the game for you.
  5. Apr 9, 2014
    1
    Game is too simplistic. The mechanics could have been a lot better, the level are decent but they could have been a whole lot better. It gets very boring very quickly until you realize there's not much left in the game for you to do. Go from A to B as fast as you can. That's it. 1+ for the effort.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    6
    the mechanics are very fun and addictive. you will tire of it eventually, but it's good value for money while it lasts. the graphics are unique, but may prove slightly headache-inducing for some.
  7. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    While perhaps not a 10, I'm giving it one to offset some of the negative reviews. It's a clever little game with a strangely addictive gameplay. It's a lot of fun for what it is... and it's a simple game with fast-paced action, reminiscent of the glory days of Pong and Joust.
  8. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This game is nearly flawless in my opinion. The combat is smooth and skillful, the graphics are original and defiantly are a treasure to see every time you load up a map. Each map has its own feel, style, and play method and always keeps you on your toes. The single-player is challenging and has a great difficulty curve that eases you into the hard, final bosses. Overall the only flaw withThis game is nearly flawless in my opinion. The combat is smooth and skillful, the graphics are original and defiantly are a treasure to see every time you load up a map. Each map has its own feel, style, and play method and always keeps you on your toes. The single-player is challenging and has a great difficulty curve that eases you into the hard, final bosses. Overall the only flaw with the game is the minor fact that during multi-player, people have developed the strategy to, as soon as they get the initiative, run past you, making it nearly impossible to stop them, but in the case of local play, this could be easily solved. Expand
  9. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    For an Indie game, this game had reached its potential unlike many others. Although I hate the P2P only servers, this game still had blown me away with the excitement and fun-ness of it all. Good Job
  10. Feb 20, 2014
    4
    Overpriced, Crap, Useless, Pointless, 2 minutes of gameplay, Nidhogg might be the most over-priced crap ive ever thrown money at. Its a waste of space on the steam store, and any other site, Atleast its fun. I will admit i enjoyed this. But for such little content, and for such a high cost, this game just doesnt hold up.
  11. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    Highly addictive platforming game with fast paced action, great soundtrack and all up a solid, balanced, well designed action filled platformer. There is a small amount of lag whilst playing online but the game remains playable regardless.
  12. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    Nidhogg is a nice twist to the head-to-head fightning games. Featuring an unique gameplay style, the game makes everything rewarding. The A.I. sometimes is tough, making you feel that you are fightning a real opponent, unlike most of the fightning games which required to spam a combo a biliion of times to win. Nidhogg isn't about combos, it is about skill. If you are bad, that's yourNidhogg is a nice twist to the head-to-head fightning games. Featuring an unique gameplay style, the game makes everything rewarding. The A.I. sometimes is tough, making you feel that you are fightning a real opponent, unlike most of the fightning games which required to spam a combo a biliion of times to win. Nidhogg isn't about combos, it is about skill. If you are bad, that's your fault, not the game. The game is incredibly easy to understand and play, but it is hard to master. Multiplayer is fun, specially with local, with constant laughs at each one failures. However, Nidhoog is limited. There is only four levels and few game modes, which makes the whole thing become repetitive for a while. But Nidhogg is a thing that I want to repeat for a while. The game feels different with each enemy having their own unique strategy and learning how to defeat their strategy is always a pleasure. Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    Ignore the dated looking graphics as Nidhogg has some of the most fluid, and deep, fighting mechanics you'll find in any game. Online matches can suffer from a bit of lag but played sat with a friend matches can become true epics and very few people will not have fun playing it.

    The only aspect that really holds the game back is the lack of options. Single player involves nothing more
    Ignore the dated looking graphics as Nidhogg has some of the most fluid, and deep, fighting mechanics you'll find in any game. Online matches can suffer from a bit of lag but played sat with a friend matches can become true epics and very few people will not have fun playing it.

    The only aspect that really holds the game back is the lack of options. Single player involves nothing more than fighting computer controlled enemies one after the other (and is virtually a complete waste of time) which basically means the only worthwhile mode is the offline 1 vs. 1 matches. As a result Nidhogg is a game I'll likely only return to now and then.
    Expand
  14. Jan 27, 2014
    5
    Good potential fun that's ruined by a lack of content and horrible lag outside of local play. It's pointless playing such a game if you're going to be even 1 frame behind your opponent.

    Out of the pitiful 4 maps, only one of them is even remotely worth playing. The other maps are short and have annoying gimmicks while the Clouds map gives your eyes aids. And while the concept and
    Good potential fun that's ruined by a lack of content and horrible lag outside of local play. It's pointless playing such a game if you're going to be even 1 frame behind your opponent.

    Out of the pitiful 4 maps, only one of them is even remotely worth playing. The other maps are short and have annoying gimmicks while the Clouds map gives your eyes aids. And while the concept and general play is pretty fun and competitive, additively so, so much more could have been accomplished with things like interactive environments and additional movements.

    And while the reviewer seems to think there is no set strategy for success and that play is pretty equal, two things come across as questionable: the first being the jump attack which is far too overpowered, making the disadvantage of having no sword completely nulled. I'd like to say it's easy to counter, but it really isn't unless your general play consists of nothing but assuming the player will use it. Second, the fencing mechanic seems inconsistent. A lot of the time it just seems to be pure randomness as to who parries and whose lunge hits first. Like someone said, a game of rock paper scissors, except you have no idea which one you've employed.

    The controls are a bit annoying too. Oftentime it's difficult to remember and utilise which of the three positions your sword is in when running, and when both throwing your sword and rolling is set to up and down on the controls respectively, you will often find yourself doing the wrong movement half the time.

    Also, I can't help but disregard both the price and time to make this. It's nearly double the price of your average indie game, and has literally zero working content outside local play on the Castle map.
    Expand
  15. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Nidhogg is an indie game that relies COMPLETELY on multiplayer. If you are a solo player, you can deduct 5 points from this score already. The game has no story (not that it needs one) and has a short and boring arcade mode, that seems to be made just to please the lone players. You may even hate the game until you play with friends. There isn't a character roster, unlike other fightingNidhogg is an indie game that relies COMPLETELY on multiplayer. If you are a solo player, you can deduct 5 points from this score already. The game has no story (not that it needs one) and has a short and boring arcade mode, that seems to be made just to please the lone players. You may even hate the game until you play with friends. There isn't a character roster, unlike other fighting games; Player 1 is yellow and Player 2 is orange. They have the exact same moves, so it's your color preference. The visuals have a retro flavor, but are really fluid, something that helps giving the game its own personality. Each match follows the same basic steps:
    1. The players start the battle on a "screen" of the stage selected. They have to kill the opponent in order to advance to the next screen at the left or right extreme of the screen (depending on the character selected)
    2. The killer runs through the screens until he reaches the final one. His objective is to reach its end in order to win the match. The killed, meanwhile, respawns in its way, and has to kill its opponent in order to be able to advance.
    3. If the killed manages to kill his opponent, he is now able to pass screens, while taking that privilege from its victim. He has to pass all the screens his enemy advanced and reach the end of his final screen. The match ends when one of them reaches the end of the "final screen".

    The game is just that. The thing is that the fighters have lots of moves in their arsenal. Alongside stabbing, they can jump to do a divekick and hopefully take their enemy's sword, can throw their sword for a one-hit-kill proyectile (with the punishment of being left with only punches if the attack is deflected) and much more techniques. The best part is that the game only uses two buttons and the d-pad, meaning that is really easy to learn, yet hard to master. It has lots of customizable options as well, and a tournament mode for up to 9 players. The best part is that matches are as entertaining to watch as they are to play. It also has online mode, but it doesn't work too well, and having your friends close and taunt each other is half the fun. If you have some friends and time to spare, this game is a must-have.
    Expand
  16. Jan 20, 2014
    3
    Mediocre game. Not many things to note in favor... maybe the gameplay is ok and the retro touch is nice. It couldn't really keep me occupied for more that half an hour.
  17. Jan 19, 2014
    5
    Nidhogg's gameplay is what makes it bareable. The solid but clunky controls work well for what the game is trying to do, but the inconsistent netcode and the lack of a community makes Nidhogg (so far) a local multiplayer game with a sub-par singleplayer distraction.
  18. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    Nidhogg is a small game developed by an indie developer Messhof. While the game isn’t the longest one I have ever played, it is definitely THE best local multiplayer game I have played in a long time. You can literally spend countless hours playing the local multiplayer against your friends.

    In Nidhogg there is only one objective , kill your opponent by out-stabbing them by using only
    Nidhogg is a small game developed by an indie developer Messhof. While the game isn’t the longest one I have ever played, it is definitely THE best local multiplayer game I have played in a long time. You can literally spend countless hours playing the local multiplayer against your friends.

    In Nidhogg there is only one objective , kill your opponent by out-stabbing them by using only three sets of stances, high, middle and low. Maneuvers such as, rolling, dive-kicking, neck-snapping and sword-throwing are also at your disposal. While it may sound simple at first, the game is really hard to master, and sometimes it gets a little bit frustrating when you get stabbed couple times in a row.

    After you kill your enemy you have to run to the right in order to advance to next level, the enemy can do the same thing, if you get killed, he can run to the opposite direction, this will get you back to the previous screen, and this gets really annoying because sometimes the enemy instead of fighting you, will just run past you just to get you back to the previous screen. Each ‘level’ is divided into couple smaller ones. In single player, there is a total of 17 AI opponents, the first one being the easiest and the last one, the toughest(I don’t know if that’s true but when I’ve played it, the game got harder every time with each AI opponent). At the end of each level your character is eaten by a giant dragon-like creature, by the name of Nidhogg, you can’t avoid it though(trust me, I’ve tried), I don’t know what’s the point of that but It’s kind of hilarious and random.

    The art style is what I love the most about this game, it has that surreal look to it, kind of like Hotline Miami. The player animations are also worth mentioning because of how smooth and realistic they are, and also it feels really satisfying when you stab someone.

    On the other hand, the game also has some flaws, one of them is the online multiplayer, it is seriously lacking in features and is very unstable, I kept being disconnected from matches, and I have experienced serious lag during several online matches. You can’t even properly communicate with your opponent because the chat can’t handle longer messages.

    As I have said before, the single-player consists of 17 AI opponents, which is great but the same can’t be said about the level variety, there is only 3 or 4 different levels which are re-used during the 17 battles in the single-player. I really wish that there was more variety in level design, maybe we’ll get them in later updates.

    Nonetheless, If you enjoy playing games with your friends then this game is for you but If you don’t like the local multiplayer I would still recommend sure the game isn’t very long, but the multiplayer is still there, it might be a bit lackluster but who knows maybe the devs will add some new features to the online multiplayer.
    Expand
  19. Jan 16, 2014
    4
    When i first saw Nidhogg, my expectations were pretty high and I was pretty damn hyped. I was looking forward to a game with deep and extremely satisfying combat.
    Unfortunately the reality was a lot less. The game has a relatively high price tag for an indie game overall, and there is nothing to get your money's worth in it. The combat is disappointingly simple and somewhat stiff, the
    When i first saw Nidhogg, my expectations were pretty high and I was pretty damn hyped. I was looking forward to a game with deep and extremely satisfying combat.
    Unfortunately the reality was a lot less. The game has a relatively high price tag for an indie game overall, and there is nothing to get your money's worth in it. The combat is disappointingly simple and somewhat stiff, the graphics are run-of-the-mill pixel art, there are only four levels, the single player consists of playing each of them four times and takes about 30-40 minutes. The game in general has very little to offer for such a high price tag.
    Give it a pass until it's in a bundle and then find a friend to play this with.
    Collapse
  20. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most fun games I've played in recent memory. If they add more maps and fix the matchmaking system (which at the moment kind of works but sorta doesn't) this could be GOTY 2014. The long dev cycle certainly payed off as this game is fluid and fast and crazy fun.
  21. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    Nidhogg provides some of the fastest and most enjoyable monochromatic bloodletting one could hope to experience. The premise is simple. You are a pixelated swordsman in a territorial conflict with your opponent, most often your best friend sitting right beside you. Each standoff is lightning fast, and invariably ends in a gratuitous splattering of blood. Kill your opponent with aNidhogg provides some of the fastest and most enjoyable monochromatic bloodletting one could hope to experience. The premise is simple. You are a pixelated swordsman in a territorial conflict with your opponent, most often your best friend sitting right beside you. Each standoff is lightning fast, and invariably ends in a gratuitous splattering of blood. Kill your opponent with a well-timed and well-placed lunge, hurl your épée at his head, or just knock him down and rip his heart out. Savagery is encouraged, and provides a hilarious counterpoint to the civilized image of fencing. Once you have managed to kill your opponent, you can progress to your goal until just seconds later, he respawns and you must again defeat him to progress. Lose, and he gains ground on you. This ebb and flow continues until one of you reaches the final screen where the winner is given a true hero’s sendup: He is eaten by a flying worm.

    Nidhogg is not just a circus of inanity and violence, but is some of the best fun you can have with your friends. Controls are responsive, animations are fast and smooth, and landing consecutive killing blows provides a jolt of dopamine that keeps you coming back for more. There are multiple arenas to choose from, each one visually unique and designed to make you rethink your strategy. Some corridors are too tight for jumping or sword throwing, so both your opponent and the landscape will make you think on your toes.

    Visually, Nidhogg exhibits a unique combination of minimalism through pixilation and solid colors. It highlights the expression of characters through animation rather than textures. It is aesthetically arresting and securely has its own style. These visuals are elevated even further when coupled with an exceptional soundtrack by Daedelus.

    Nidhogg could have provided only the core one-on-one experience, but if you look deeper there are a lot of extras. There is a tournament mode supporting up to 8 players. There is a multitude of variants in gameplay to explore. There is a single player experience pitting you against an increasingly difficult array of AI personalities. Additionally, there is an online multiplayer component, but at the time of this review, I experienced some unfortunate glitches. In several matches I experienced moments where I killed my opponent, but immediately the game changed states, and my character unexplainably died. It wasn’t often, but it was often enough to sour the experience. I’m told that the online component is still a work in progress, so if you don’t have a friend handy to play local multiplayer check the forums for progress.

    Nidhogg was first shown in 2010, and since then Messhoff, comprised of Mark Essen and Kristy Norindr, have worked to shine the core game into a full-fledged release. Nidhogg is available today on Steam for $11.99, and if you have friends, it is well worth your dollars.
    Expand
  22. Jan 16, 2014
    0
    When i first saw Nidhogg, my expectations were pretty high and I was pretty damn hyped. I was looking forward to a game with deep and extremely satisfying combat.
    Unfortunately the reality was a lot less. The game has a relatively high price tag for an indie game overall, and there is nothing to get your money's worth in it. The combat is disappointingly simple and somewhat stiff, the
    When i first saw Nidhogg, my expectations were pretty high and I was pretty damn hyped. I was looking forward to a game with deep and extremely satisfying combat.
    Unfortunately the reality was a lot less. The game has a relatively high price tag for an indie game overall, and there is nothing to get your money's worth in it. The combat is disappointingly simple and somewhat stiff, the graphics are run-of-the-mill pixel art, there are only four levels, the single player consists of playing each of them four times and takes about 30-40 minutes. The game in general has very little to offer for such a high price tag.
    Give it a pass until it's in a bundle and then find a friend to play this with.
    Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 80
    The art of swordplay meets the art of dynamic gameplay. An offer for two that shines mostly through local multiplayer. [Issue #239]
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    A peculiar, thrilling and essential addition to your PC games collection. Best played with friends/enemies. [Apr 2014, p.76]
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    70
    A beautifully presented retro game that proves less really can be more, but lacks any lasting appeal beyond the immense joys of local multiplayer. [Apr 2014, p.70]