User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 64
  2. Negative: 5 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    Short and stylish with some interesting and unique physics-based puzzles. Indie fans would enjoy this one, but I only recommend picking this up in a bundle!
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    6
    So far a fun game. It is a simple concept and the art style is aesthetically pleasing. Definitely a cure for boredom and not necessarily something that I would set aside time to play. I liked how they give the ball a story and almost treat him as a character in the opening rather than just offering up the game as "move the ball through the level" style of plat former. I think this sets itSo far a fun game. It is a simple concept and the art style is aesthetically pleasing. Definitely a cure for boredom and not necessarily something that I would set aside time to play. I liked how they give the ball a story and almost treat him as a character in the opening rather than just offering up the game as "move the ball through the level" style of plat former. I think this sets it apart from a simpler game to some degree but at the end of the day you are just moving a ball through a 2D maze. All-in-all, a fun time killer. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    This game is just a lot of fun! Game is based around rolls, acceleration holding balance and other physical puzzles, - by controlling little black ball (it's our little protagonist) it's up to you to get to the end of each level. Nightsky is not very challenging, but you really can stuck on some of the levels for a while. As a resort from "rolling" through levels, some levels offer anThis game is just a lot of fun! Game is based around rolls, acceleration holding balance and other physical puzzles, - by controlling little black ball (it's our little protagonist) it's up to you to get to the end of each level. Nightsky is not very challenging, but you really can stuck on some of the levels for a while. As a resort from "rolling" through levels, some levels offer an opportunity to "drive" different vehicles - little cars, helicopters, catapults and so on, while having this little black ball in the basis of it, representing an engine of the construction. This levels make the game great, in my opinion, they could just remove everything but this levels and the game wouldn't lose one bit of fun in it. The game can be played several times because it introduces two difficulty levels and collectible stars which you will be able to use in the end of your journey. Although there is not much to say about the graphical part, Nightsky's design is very well-made (If you can say that about everything being black). It's quite basic, but it doesn't tire your eyes and quite well fit into level design of the game. (As the name states, your journey is occurs during the night). The other side of the medal is storyline. There is really nothing to say about the storyline, but I suppose a game of that kind doesn't require strong story. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    6
    Story is non-existent, and game is very short. I finished all levels with all secrets in 3 hours. Not worth the money in my eyes. On the other hand the graphics are decent and the ambient music is alright. Wouldn't recommend it though.
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    5
    The presentation is lazy and limited. The settings made available to the user are minimal to nearly none. The "widescreen" setting is not widescreen at all, as the size of the game's screen is still very small and surrounded by large black borders. The graphics are also of the most minimal efforts that are found in free Flash games for PC or phones. The so-called ambient music is barelyThe presentation is lazy and limited. The settings made available to the user are minimal to nearly none. The "widescreen" setting is not widescreen at all, as the size of the game's screen is still very small and surrounded by large black borders. The graphics are also of the most minimal efforts that are found in free Flash games for PC or phones. The so-called ambient music is barely noticeable and does not add to the overall experience in any way. The game mechanics are only mildly interesting or amusing, and the game world and design are uninspired and uncreative. Guiding the ball around the levels is unsatisfying and dull. The game play is so vacuous and boring, that I would find it hard to believe that someone would actually be interested in such a dead and valueless activity after about one hour. Every aspect of the game is so breathless, numb, flat, lackluster, and muted. The physics of the game are not interesting nor exciting in any way, and the overall atmosphere is so indifferent and apathetic, that you will be wondering why you should be spending any time at all with this poor attempt at a game. NightSky's sale description lists it as an "action-puzzle" game, set in "picturesque worlds". This couldn't be farther from the truth. NightSky does not involve any action whatsoever, and the game world is the opposite of picturesque, as it is as good as dead. The asking price is borderline insanity, as the developers are clearly overpricing an obviously poorly designed and low-grade game. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    NightSky is a short and still enjoyable game with amazing visuals, soothing soundtrack and a unique style of gameplay which will be enjoyable for anyone especially those who love puzzles or those who play games casually. You will not find anything wrong with the purchase once you start this game, it is highly recommended to get this fine amazing piece of art and incredible indie game.
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    A very lightweight game with easy to grasp controls. It's the kind of game you can play for 5 minutes and relax while rolling a ball through the endless bidimentional landscapes NightSky has to offer. Roll the ball from left to right, accelerate it to jump, use precision movement and flip gravity to advance through the level. One indie game so simple yet so well designed that will give youA very lightweight game with easy to grasp controls. It's the kind of game you can play for 5 minutes and relax while rolling a ball through the endless bidimentional landscapes NightSky has to offer. Roll the ball from left to right, accelerate it to jump, use precision movement and flip gravity to advance through the level. One indie game so simple yet so well designed that will give you guaranteed bursts of fun, enough to kill that boredom. Expand
  8. AWG
    Jul 7, 2013
    7
    CannibalBob, allow me to borrow part of your review: "Indie fans would enjoy this one, but I only recommend picking this up in a bundle!". Not really much more to say.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 26, 2011
    82
    NightSky delivers a short but sweet physics puzzle experience. [April 2011, p.76]
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    80
    A little gem of a puzzler. [Mar 2011, p.69]
  3. 70
    Dark environment and traditional music are great backdrops for this relaxed physical arcade. It's not enough to be the game of the year but Nifflas did not disappoint us. [Issue#201]