No One Lives Forever 2: A Spy in H.A.R.M.'s Way Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A humorous story-driven first-person shooter featuring the beautiful but deadly UNITY operative Cate Archer. Cate must investigate a super-secret Soviet project that, if successful, could bring about a third world war. Armed with an assortment of conventional and experimental weaponry andA humorous story-driven first-person shooter featuring the beautiful but deadly UNITY operative Cate Archer. Cate must investigate a super-secret Soviet project that, if successful, could bring about a third world war. Armed with an assortment of conventional and experimental weaponry and gadgets, players will explore exotic locales, circumvent devious traps, and contend with deadly agents determined to take Cate out of the spy trade once and for all. [Sierra] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    The stealth element, which was the source of much frustration, has undergone a total overhaul: Virtually every one of the game's 40 missions can be accomplished using guile (instead of brute force). [11 Oct 2002, p.85]
  2. Its presentation is top-notch, its levels are varied and interesting, its AI is convincing, and the whole game drips with love and attention to detail.
  3. Truly a wonderful game, complete with enough humor and action to appease anyone in the market for a good shooter and a hearty laugh.
  4. Cheat Code Central
    90
    The game has a great sense of humor and parodies much of the spy genre without losing the focus of the game.
  5. Not only a worthy sequel but also advances the genre forward with a higher standard of AI, stealth and level design.
  6. 90
    Masterfully blending some spectacular action sequences and a unique sense of humor with elements of stealth games, first-person shooters, graphic adventures and even RPGs, the end result is a title that tops the original in every way, and stands out even among 2002's amazing crop of PC action games.
  7. If it sounds like NOLF2 is a lot like NOLF, and you're wondering why I'm complaining so bitterly, you have my sympathy. When I say they "gutted" NOLF2, I mean it, and I can back it up.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    I still recall this as one of the best FPS I've ever played. I would love to see this IP revisited with a new game. Great storyline, stealthI still recall this as one of the best FPS I've ever played. I would love to see this IP revisited with a new game. Great storyline, stealth modes and spy gadgets. It was as close as you can get to being in a 60's spy movie. Expand
  2. AmigoZ.
    May 25, 2005
    10
    Its old but is ok.
  3. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    A truly masterpiece! Better than the first game. Play it!
  4. TC
    Feb 12, 2004
    9
    It's only half as long and half as funny as the original. But it has beautiful graphics, a dizzying variety in surroundings, great AI. It's only half as long and half as funny as the original. But it has beautiful graphics, a dizzying variety in surroundings, great AI. The Indian police chases make for a truly unique experience. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    TomAto: I`ll tell you what rotting our youth minds: the fuc*ing oversexualized society, multiculturalism, systematic destruction of ourTomAto: I`ll tell you what rotting our youth minds: the fuc*ing oversexualized society, multiculturalism, systematic destruction of our freedom and democracy, high society mindfukers and fanatics who telling us how we are wrong. I tell something. There is no power as powerful as power of the light side of the force! this game is one product of that power!! the creation. our dreams our souls. our culture is our soul. who stand against that?
    This game lose nothing of quality and specific charm after years. It`s very depended on age trends but is still original. And these two things make game so great, special and still like blockbuster experience.
    Expand
  6. ShawnH.
    Jan 9, 2006
    8
    NOLF 2 is a fun game, but I felt that something was missing from this sequel. NOLF 2 is shorter than the original and is more compact. For NOLF 2 is a fun game, but I felt that something was missing from this sequel. NOLF 2 is shorter than the original and is more compact. For example, instead of steadily advancing to a new area, the player is sometimes required to backtrack to previously explored areas, artificially extending the game. One of the great things about the original NOLF are the NPC conversations that the player can eavesdrop on. In this sequel, the conversations are few and far between. Dialogue between NPC's such as H.A.R.M. henchman or citizens of the town add a lot of depth and humor to the game, and more of these conversations would have served the game well. Instead, the writers chose to use more memo's, letters and notes that are scattered about the level. I personally enjoy the conversations more. Hearing a henchman talk about the hardships of the criminal lifestyle or discussing criminal psychology with a colleague are great tools for comedy, especially when the voice-acting is good. Graphics and sound are good. The only major graphical glitch I found was in the underground cave lair. The cave textures would disappear depending on where I was standing. Also, some clipping was evident when bad guys died near doors. Very minor stuff, in my view. Sound is good, and voice acting is good, but not great. The cutscenes were OK, but some of the dialogue is weak. For example, the antagonism between Cate Archer and Armstrong was strained and tiresome. The writers did not put very much effort in fleshing out the story and relationships between the characters. The hostility between Cate and Armstrong is a theme carried foward from the first NOLF. Because it is not placed in context and explained fully, the dialogue seems forced. I would recommend NOLF 2 but suggest playing NOLF first. Playing the original will help explain some of the events in the sequel. Expand
  7. TomAto
    May 1, 2003
    0
    PC/Video games can be fun, but they are rotting our youths minds. I have never played this game, but my vote is a 0 as I believe you peoplePC/Video games can be fun, but they are rotting our youths minds. I have never played this game, but my vote is a 0 as I believe you people should be finding more worthwhile and perhaps educational things to do. In any case, thank you for reading this, and do not take this comment personally, as it is simply my thoughtful, yet perhaps completely false opinion. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews