No Time to Explain PC

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 44
  2. Negative: 11 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    No Time to Explain is an interesting game, it started out as a free flash game that you could find on websites like Arcadebomb, but now is for sale on Steam. It's not a game for everyone, although it's got a lot of good things going for it. It's a brutally challenging and unique 2D platformer with a hilarious sense of humor but it's flaws are only amplified by it's $10 price tag. As far asNo Time to Explain is an interesting game, it started out as a free flash game that you could find on websites like Arcadebomb, but now is for sale on Steam. It's not a game for everyone, although it's got a lot of good things going for it. It's a brutally challenging and unique 2D platformer with a hilarious sense of humor but it's flaws are only amplified by it's $10 price tag. As far as gameplay goes gamers who are gluttons for punishment and enjoy games like Super Meat Boy are really going to get there moneys worth with this one. But part of the reason the game is so challenging is because of it's controls, they just aren't capable of bringing the level of precision required to make it through the games more difficult sections. Don't get me wrong they work well when you have to fling yourself across a gap, but when you in a tight area the requires precise movement and timing all goes to heck and most of the time just comes down to luck. On the bright side the game is hilarious and frequently had me laughing out loud. The dialog is amplified and made funnier by the awesome voice acting Dreux Ferrano Jr. (from Sanity Not Included). One problem is that dialog can be repeated at times, once I heard the same line several times in a row just because of bad luck. In the end No Time to Explain isn't perfect, but it still manages to be a good time in short bursts. If your a gamer who loves both good challenge and a good laugh pick this one up while it's still on sale, others who are prone to fits of rage due to repeated failures might find their $10 spent on something better. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    I *really* want to like this game, but right now the controls are just so clunky it's hard to enjoy the game, because you feel like you spend most of your time fighting against the controls. Mouse+keyboard were fine when this was a free flash game on Newgrounds that I could play instead of doing homework at school, but as a polished, paid-for game on Steam, it's not enough - this gameI *really* want to like this game, but right now the controls are just so clunky it's hard to enjoy the game, because you feel like you spend most of your time fighting against the controls. Mouse+keyboard were fine when this was a free flash game on Newgrounds that I could play instead of doing homework at school, but as a polished, paid-for game on Steam, it's not enough - this game needs Needs NEEDS controller support. I will update my review if and when the authors add controller support - hopefully in time for their first big Steam sale, which is when they'd make most of their sales. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    this game has defiantly given me mixed opinions. it has its pros and cons
    pros:
    great puzzles, and levels funny humor mainly challenging levels HATS cons: glitches galore lack or screaming guy unexpected scene of gore and language the bugged mole boss some controls need editing *** so, i would recommend this game to people, but id wait just a little while so they can fix all
    this game has defiantly given me mixed opinions. it has its pros and cons
    pros:
    great puzzles, and levels
    funny humor mainly
    challenging levels
    HATS
    cons:
    glitches galore
    lack or screaming guy
    unexpected scene of gore and language
    the bugged mole boss
    some controls need editing
    ***
    so, i would recommend this game to people, but id wait just a little while so they can fix all the bugs, it also is NOT a game for kids. unless your one of those kid who can stand gore
    Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    5
    WAY TO MANY GLITCHES, 99 percent of the difficulty arises from the glitches if a patch comes out to rectify this 8/10 as it stands 5/10. A games difficulty should not be from it's controls and unresponsiveness and on multiple occasions doing something as simple as changing the resolution rendered the game unplayable until i reset it. There are better places to spend your money. find them.WAY TO MANY GLITCHES, 99 percent of the difficulty arises from the glitches if a patch comes out to rectify this 8/10 as it stands 5/10. A games difficulty should not be from it's controls and unresponsiveness and on multiple occasions doing something as simple as changing the resolution rendered the game unplayable until i reset it. There are better places to spend your money. find them.

    However this game has enough charm to make a Pixar movie weep. the charm is close to redeeming the game but for having achievements for not dying and speed runs i can not recommend at this time and current state.

    (this game has been out for over a year and i have yet to see the bugs be addressed)

    (I have completed the game, i just do not feel it is worth getting in this state and would not recomend it. not to say that it is a strictly bad game)
    Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    5
    No Time to Explain has a good sense of humor but the clunky controls take a lot away from what it could have been. Playing the game can often be difficult due to difficulty with the weapon used. The amount of content is also a bit lacking. Overall I wouldn't really recommend buying this title. No Time to Explain is not worth the cost and would be better put onto an arcade internet site for free.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    No TIme to Explain is a simple puzzle platformer game that start out easy and then gets more harder on the next levels. The game has a simple artwork style which is pretty nice, but the overall game is just trial and error all over again, with no challenge whatsoever, it is just one of those "indie hard as games", I personally hate all those indie games that is meant to be hard and a nodNo TIme to Explain is a simple puzzle platformer game that start out easy and then gets more harder on the next levels. The game has a simple artwork style which is pretty nice, but the overall game is just trial and error all over again, with no challenge whatsoever, it is just one of those "indie hard as games", I personally hate all those indie games that is meant to be hard and a nod to classic games, it is just an excuse for poor level design. The game has bosses but with zero difficult because you can die over and over without gaming over and always respawning on the boss arena, plus all the bosses are just "shoot him until they die" with nothing involving the player's skills. The game is really short as well, it is possible to beat it in two hours. The humor in this game though is possibly the only reason to buy it, but you can find all the cutscenes on Youtube. 5/10 Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    43
    We suggest you play the original, free, Flash version instead – the full explanation isn’t worth the outlay.
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    70
    Even with its crap boss fights, the good things in No Time to Explain manage to outweigh the bad. As a major fan of time travel, I had a solidly fun time with it.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    50
    No Time to Explain is insanity at its finest and funniest, with plenty of ludicrous scenes throughout the game. But the fun and fast paced gameplay is brought down by imprecise controls and hideous boss fights designed to test your patience. There’s a good game somewhere in here, it’s just a shame that I have to suffer to find it.