NRA Varmint Hunter Image
Metascore
16

Overwhelming dislike - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NRA Varmint Hunter is an exciting new game for the hunting enthusiast combining the expertise of Speedco Shooting Sports "developer of Xtreme Accuracy Shooting" and the broad knowledge and educational base of the National Rifle Association. The game features a very high degree of realism andNRA Varmint Hunter is an exciting new game for the hunting enthusiast combining the expertise of Speedco Shooting Sports "developer of Xtreme Accuracy Shooting" and the broad knowledge and educational base of the National Rifle Association. The game features a very high degree of realism and education in the craft of long range shooting, and the boundless enjoyment of the fastest growing hunting sport in the USA. It's all there for your enjoyment with the NRA Varmint Hunting game. [Speedco] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 5 out of 5
  1. Throwing rocks at cars would be a more fun than shooting rats in NRA Varmint Hunter. Playing this game made me feel like a hobo at a garbage dump with a metal detector.
  2. All the thrill of the hunt, without the thrill or hunt. [March 2005, p.113]
  3. 20
    Finally, there’s multiplayer. It doesn’t work. There’s a multiplayer button on the main menu, but it just takes you to the Speedco Web site. That’s ok guys. The game sucks and I doubt shooting varmints along side critterlover678 will make it any better.
  4. 10
    The biggest objection I have with the game, aside from it being roughly on par with a facial performed by a living urinal, is that you can't even move.
  5. I've played Flash-game advertisements that are more fun than NRA Varmint Hunter. [March 2005, p.73]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. RockF.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    It's a hunting simulation, true to life in every aspect. Either you get it or you don't, but for those of us with some sense, It's a hunting simulation, true to life in every aspect. Either you get it or you don't, but for those of us with some sense, it's a great way to learn something about a real sport that a good part of the country enjoys. It may not be for everyone but it's accurate and has depth, and I'll be playing for months. Just wish their were more predators. [Ed: Hmmm....] Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is the best game ever, when i use my dick to control the mouse it makes me feel like im shooting the varmints with my dick. Its like aThis is the best game ever, when i use my dick to control the mouse it makes me feel like im shooting the varmints with my dick. Its like a machine gun, my mouse also has a rubber coating so it makes me feel like im in heaven. I also have a fetish for varmints so i recommend this game to anyone with a fetish for varmints. Expand
  3. LucidardorW.
    Jan 15, 2007
    5
    The science in this game is unbelievably accurate. Every variable is taken into account as far as accuracy and all that good stuff. It would The science in this game is unbelievably accurate. Every variable is taken into account as far as accuracy and all that good stuff. It would be better if you could move around, but then again in real world varmint hunting you stay pron in one spot. I have to say this game is not intended to be a first person shooter. It's intended to be a hunting simulation, and I think this game does just that very well. The graphics could be better, but for only ten bucks you can't expect something like Half Life 2. I kinda like that the graphics are low because you can run this game on a much older machine without 3D acceleration. And I think this game is a blast to play; but wouldn't recommend it to anyone who doesn't shoot real guns. Expand
  4. AB
    Apr 27, 2005
    0
    NRA Varmint Hunter is bad to a spectacular degree. Shooting rats for no reason is bad enough, but Speedco decided to add horrible PSX quality NRA Varmint Hunter is bad to a spectacular degree. Shooting rats for no reason is bad enough, but Speedco decided to add horrible PSX quality graphics (without the detail) and an inability to actually move. It would be very appalling to know that anyone spent time and money on this. It would be better to let it continue to be the joke it is. It's equivalent to actually having to exterminate a rat. From your own home. Collapse
  5. iopuyt
    Sep 1, 2005
    0
    The only hunting that should be involved with this is hunting and murdering the creators of this game.
  6. EddD.
    Aug 17, 2006
    0
    Is just a piece of garbage full of boring actions, sorry there's no actions.

See all 7 User Reviews