User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 199

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2014
    7
    Octodad: Dadliest Catch was really good, I have not played earlier Octodad but someone suggested this for me, and I'm glad they did. only down side on this game is, that it is pretty short. i was hoping for some more but then again it was only 11€. the game revealed some pretty interesting things about octodad, and i really like those kinda of things. the game was fun sometimes a littleOctodad: Dadliest Catch was really good, I have not played earlier Octodad but someone suggested this for me, and I'm glad they did. only down side on this game is, that it is pretty short. i was hoping for some more but then again it was only 11€. the game revealed some pretty interesting things about octodad, and i really like those kinda of things. the game was fun sometimes a little bit frustrating to play becouse of the controls of the game, but when you get the hang of them, there is nothing that can stop you. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2014
    7
    Good story and humor but the animation is static. Characters have personality but the game is frustrating with controls. It's awfully short and hopefully we'll see another installment in the future.
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    7
    Such a funny and fun game. Worth checking it out, it's a new experience that you get. But it's a bit too short, though that might be a good thing for some of you.
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    I played the original, and this sequel is merely an extended version of that game. Ultimately the game disappoints due to lack of creativity. In isolation the game is quite good, and people can have a decent amount of fun playing it. However, everything that's good about the game, from the humour to the mechanics to the level structure, is merely an extension of the original. Octodad, theI played the original, and this sequel is merely an extended version of that game. Ultimately the game disappoints due to lack of creativity. In isolation the game is quite good, and people can have a decent amount of fun playing it. However, everything that's good about the game, from the humour to the mechanics to the level structure, is merely an extension of the original. Octodad, the Chef who pursues him, and the sweet family he cares for, are all funny. But they were funny two years ago in the original. Octodad being nearly impossible to control while doing mundane tasks is an interesting mechanic, but it was interesting two years ago in the original.

    This game does not play like a sequel to Octodad, this game plays as if Octodad was a demo and this is the full game. In and of itself the game is fun to play, but it displays a terrible lack of ambition on the part of the developers. And at under 2 hours, the game is probably not worth the sticker price of $15. The one major saving grace of the game is the inclusion of a map maker, which will do a lot to add to the replayability of the game as the community begins to make interesting levels. But when evaluating the game on its own merits I cannot recommend a full price purchase. Wait for a sale.
    Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    It's not a bad game, as a physics toy. It has good ideas, funny characters, and nice concept.
    But it's getting boring at some point. No new features, no upgrades whatever. Just going on and on.
    I understand why, but it could be more. Like outfit, squid skin, or something. Do you think "To The Moon" is good game? Then this is deserve some respect too. At now it's only ideal. Maybe
    It's not a bad game, as a physics toy. It has good ideas, funny characters, and nice concept.
    But it's getting boring at some point. No new features, no upgrades whatever. Just going on and on.
    I understand why, but it could be more. Like outfit, squid skin, or something.

    Do you think "To The Moon" is good game? Then this is deserve some respect too.
    At now it's only ideal. Maybe getting better in next game, I hope.
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    The game is very funny and has a well made concept. However, the controls need to reconsidered as it gets frustrating within a few hours, but this game was great from start to finish
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    7
    Not boring yet not the best. A mediocre/decent game made for entertainment and shouldn't be taken seriously. If you are expecting for the worst you will enjoy it. I hope it can be developed into the future because even though the plot is childish it is fun.
  8. Oct 23, 2014
    6
    Good and Stupid Gamepaly
    Does not respond well
    But fun a The story of less than normal
    The game challenging and surprising
    you will have some fon with them but for a short time
  9. Jun 14, 2015
    7
    A fun yet short romp through some interactive environments as you battle to appear human yet control like an octopus. Performing mundane day to day tasks often descends into hilarity; but sometimes the game does descend into frustrating cycles as you battle the control system. These are thankfully balanced with the brilliant use of humour throughout. A game as silly as its control systemA fun yet short romp through some interactive environments as you battle to appear human yet control like an octopus. Performing mundane day to day tasks often descends into hilarity; but sometimes the game does descend into frustrating cycles as you battle the control system. These are thankfully balanced with the brilliant use of humour throughout. A game as silly as its control system and not one bit ashamed of it! Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. May 20, 2014
    70
    It's weird, childish and really not a masterpiece. Still, Octodad offers plenty of entertainment and is just good old fashioned fun.
  2. 60
    More of a quirky technological demo than a full gaming experience. There's enough tentacles but not enough fun. [Issue #239]
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    70
    The best idea for a game ever – an octopus must pretend to be human in front of its wife and kids. When it comes to the story it’s a great cartoon, amusing both to children and adults, but gameplay has some difficult moments and peculiar controls result in some odd bugs. [04/2014, p.62]