Octodad: Dadliest Catch Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Octodad: Dadliest Catch is a game about destruction, deception, and fatherhood. The player controls Octodad, a dapper octopus masquerading as a human, as he goes about his life. Octodad's existence is a constant struggle, as he must master mundane tasks with his unwieldy boneless tentacles while simultaneously keeping his cephalopodan nature a secret from his human family. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    91
    Octodad is a great example of a game that conveys a message through gameplay. In conjunction with its story, characters, and setting, the controls offer an empathetic look into the life of an extreme outsider trying to fit in and trying to do right by his family...I love that. Gaming is growing up, and Octodad is some of the best evidence of that.
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    80
    Octodad is an engaging, unique game which crashes the everyday and the uncanny head-on with aplomb, and one particularly enjoyable to onlookers. Simple tasks inevitably degenerate into Buster Keaton-evoking farces – with soundtrack nods to silent film accompanists to boot – and my only gripes with Dadliest Catch are an occasionally wayward camera and a few cruel difficulty spikes necessitating repetition of short sections ad nauseam. Otherwise, it’s a blast.
  3. Feb 4, 2014
    80
    It keeps you laughing with the sheer absurdity of its lead character, the not-so-subtle references, and fumbling physical comedy that's made all the more potent through your participation. Like a plate of sushi, it might seem a bit pricey for what you get, but it's worth paying a small premium for a fresh catch.
  4. Jan 30, 2014
    70
    It might be brief, but Octodad is definitely worth checking out for anyone interested in a charming, hilarious experience. Also, you get to play as an octopus, which... you know, is pretty awesome.
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    Octodad: Dadliest Catch is a rare beast, then, because it made me laugh out loud the first moment that I ambled down the aisle to meet my doting bride-to-be.
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    70
    A very fun and original experience, that, even if it's quite short, is very satisfying.
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    40
    A sloppy and surprisingly unimaginative journey through a dreary world. [Apr 2014, p.64]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Absoulutely fun and hilarious. The maps are fun and the controls are wonky and amazing, it's basically a ragdoll physics game and you Octodad, are trying to hide your identity of an octopus. The tasks are hard and stupidly hilarious when you try to get used to the controls. Awesome game, and you'll understand more when you buy it. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    **** gameplay, **** characters, **** graphics, everything is ****
    5 point foi being better than the original
    Why? I don't know
    Maybe I got
    used to this sitty **** Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers. This game is fun and hilarious! Doing simple tasks with these movements is simply amazing! Controls are smooth, but the fastest to get used to. Now this is where it collapsed:
    As soon as you get the mechanics (which are awesome) the game becomes really 'A Game' which is NOT where this shines in. and if you are unsure to buy this game or not: BUY IT. also, the workshop gives endless hours of fun!
    Collapse
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    8
    I have to admit, the game goes by pretty fast. I wish it was longer, but even though it is short, it keeps me entertained until the end. Its fun, addictive, challenging, humorous, frustrating, and relaxing all at the same time. This game is worth looking into. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2014
    7
    Octodad: Dadliest Catch was really good, I have not played earlier Octodad but someone suggested this for me, and I'm glad they did. only down side on this game is, that it is pretty short. i was hoping for some more but then again it was only 11€. the game revealed some pretty interesting things about octodad, and i really like those kinda of things. the game was fun sometimes a little bit frustrating to play becouse of the controls of the game, but when you get the hang of them, there is nothing that can stop you. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    It's not a bad game, as a physics toy. It has good ideas, funny characters, and nice concept.
    But it's getting boring at some point. No new
    features, no upgrades whatever. Just going on and on.
    I understand why, but it could be more. Like outfit, squid skin, or something.

    Do you think "To The Moon" is good game? Then this is deserve some respect too.
    At now it's only ideal. Maybe getting better in next game, I hope.
    Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    0
    A terribly gimmicky game that relies solely on the inability to control the main character. What you see in the beginning is what you are going to get overall. I've seen game demos that feature more game play then this pile of sewage has managed to pull of.

    Another waste of time, just like Surgeon Simulator.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews