Offspring Fling PC

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 36
  2. Negative: 5 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Offspring Fling is an amazing game with multiple levels of depth. It combines platforming with time trial racing and a bit of puzzling. The more skillful you become and the faster you get at clearing levels, the more of the game you discover. With the game's organic secret discovery, you get out what you put into it.
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Just another overpriced, ugly indie platformer that does nothing new. You have to carry your "offspring" across the level and you can "fling" them across gaps, pits, traps, etc., hence the clever name. Very disappointing because when I saw this for sale they advertised 100 levels but each one is under a minute (speedruns are encouraged). Would not recommend this for anyone because $8 for 2Just another overpriced, ugly indie platformer that does nothing new. You have to carry your "offspring" across the level and you can "fling" them across gaps, pits, traps, etc., hence the clever name. Very disappointing because when I saw this for sale they advertised 100 levels but each one is under a minute (speedruns are encouraged). Would not recommend this for anyone because $8 for 2 hours tops of gameplay is not a good value. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    This game appeals heavily to those longing for nostalgia. While the elements are slightly lacking, it encapsulates a lot of what was fun and precious about gaming when the older gaming community were but little kids. The light hearted music, mildly enjoyable gameplay, and vast array of things to do really add to the game. The few things I didn't like, of the few things, would probably be aThis game appeals heavily to those longing for nostalgia. While the elements are slightly lacking, it encapsulates a lot of what was fun and precious about gaming when the older gaming community were but little kids. The light hearted music, mildly enjoyable gameplay, and vast array of things to do really add to the game. The few things I didn't like, of the few things, would probably be a lack of dialogue, or depth to the storyline. I digress, though, if you want a game to pick up and play casually and savor the moment, this game would probably be your best bet. I have to compliment this game for all it's efforts in trying to be as retro as possible. Audaciously bold move, which I respect. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Great game. Responsive controls, simple graphic effects, and (for my surprise, I admit) a really amazing soundtrack. Its speed-run mechanics also greatly enhances the replay value. Really recommendable.
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. Really cute graphics a fun-to-play puzzle where you play as a mother who is trying to save her children by throwing them far from dangerous objects,really a good game which i recommend for its price.9/10 Collapse
  6. AWG
    Jun 28, 2013
    6
    Offspring Fling is just your average platform game where you start with enthusiasm but end up rushing through the rooms rather than enjoying the game itself.
  7. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    While the gameplay mechanics are fun and interesting, this fresh approach to the puzzle/platform genre never actually impresses. The music is good, but there aren't enough tracks to remain enjoyable. The 16-bit art style is cute, but the main character's design is too derived from Nintendo's Kirby.
  8. Aug 25, 2016
    6
    A small puzzle-plarform game that is somewhat entertaining.

    In the game you are a pikachu-like character trying to put all of your offspring into the doorway in order to progress. To do that you must solve more and more complicated environmental puzzles - figure correct order to gather your offspring without killing them or yourself. The graphic is a standard a bit retro 2D style
    A small puzzle-plarform game that is somewhat entertaining.

    In the game you are a pikachu-like character trying to put all of your offspring into the doorway in order to progress. To do that you must solve more and more complicated environmental puzzles - figure correct order to gather your offspring without killing them or yourself.

    The graphic is a standard a bit retro 2D style platformer graphic. Not extremely cute but does the job well and look good. Controls are nothing to pick about either - work and behave well.

    The puzzles are interesting enough to keep you going although the whole game feels a little like a mobile game. You solve a puzzle or two in between stuff that you do normally and come back to it at a later time. Admittedly there is quite a handful of puzzles to try and ability to both create custom levels and load new ones from the internet.

    Overall I can enjoy the game for some time and move on before coming back for a little bit more. Nothing really keeps you sucked in to finish all the levels.
    Expand
  9. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. Really cute graphics a fun-to-play puzzle where you play as a mother who is trying to save her children by throwing them far from dangerous objects,really a good game which i recommend for its price.9/10 Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 4, 2012
    80
    Offspring Fling! feels like a good old 2D platform game. With more than a hundred levels to keep you puzzling for hours, Offspring Fling! is a deep game that will keep you entertained for hours. And that's exactly what we want from a platform game.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    May 11, 2012
    75
    It's a cute and pacey game. [June 2012, p.105]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 9, 2012
    80
    Catchy logical platformer introduces original concept of mother-offspring cooperation in hundreds of creative puzzles. [May 2012]