Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: OMERTA - CITY OF GANGSTERS is a simulation game with tactical turn-based combat. Taking the role of a fresh-from-the-boat immigrant, with dreams of the big life, the player will work his way up the criminal hierarchy of 1920's Atlantic City. Starting with small jobs, his character recruits a gang and expands his empire by taking territory from other gangsters. Eventually he establishes his own crime syndicate and becomes the de facto ruler of Atlantic City. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 41
  2. Negative: 12 out of 41
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    84
    What struck me most was the potential. Omerta is a good game but if it succeeds, it has the potential to be a great game. Add opposing AI gangs and allow for turf wars to occur, shrink the building sizes on the strategic maps and give players control over many more buildings, and you have a strategy title that has no equal and is infinitely playable.
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    Omertà is a good gangster game that mixes well the economic management with tactical turn based combat system. If only it could be more challenging and technically better.
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    67
    Omerta is the sort of game where if you want to play it at all, you should wait for it to drop well below the $40 price where it is now.
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    52
    A blend of XCOM and Tropico that boils down to shallow strategy in a Goodfellas skin. [Apr 2013, p.78]
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Tidy, but styleless visuals are the final insult. This game looks just as bland as it plays. It is neither good or bad, it just exists. It is hard to believe that this was made by the people who brought us Tropico 3 and 4.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    40
    A promising concept of managerial and turn-based strategy from the Prohibition in the United States era. However, its realisation is unfortunate. From the managerial point of view the game is too long, reminding Waiting for Godot. Entertaining fights are subsequently killed by repeating locations and unpolished cover system.
  7. 30
    You can see the basis of a good game here but Omerta gets almost everything wrong, from the shallow gameplay to the bland, characterless gangster atmosphere.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 52
  2. Negative: 30 out of 52
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    To be fair, writing this review on 27 June 2013, many months after the game's original release and after having very recently purchased the super-patched version with all the DLCs, I cannot agree or disagree with the reviews of the originally-released version, which seemed flawed and incomplete. Consequently, my score of 10 corresponds to the version I have recently bought (and the only one I have played), which was enhanced by the major end-of-May patch.

    I only played the first mission of the Campaign, which is a first of many tutorial missions. After that, I experimented with various sandbox-mode setups.

    I'm not an action-game tactical fighter. Consequently, I do not mind if the A.I. adversaries are too easy to defeat in the turn-based combat encounters. Those do not happen often, and I find them fun, even though they do not constitute difficult challenges.

    I'm not a financial wizard, either. Consequently, I do not mind if the game's economic simulation of a criminal enterprise lacks "realism" and deep challenge. There is just enough pseudo-realism and economic interactions to represent a decent simulation challenge.

    What I am is a RPG player. I enjoy to design PCs (human-controlled Player Characters) and to play-act them according to their positive and negative limitations. In the sandbox mode, the game shines if it is played with such a RPG-style mindset.

    If you play it with a strategic and/or tactical "wargame" mindset, you will feel underwhelmed.

    Playing in a huge window, on my 1920x1200-resolution desktop, with 8x AA, after having tinkered with my video "Catalyst Control" settings, the game looks great crisp and clean.

    I'm having a lot of fun. I will certainly pay full-price if more DLCs or expansions are offered.
    Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    I pre-ordered this game on impulse, and I have got to say I'm not really disappointed. It is an old school style turn-based game, with specific perks and powers available to each character upon leveling up. If you don't like turn based combat, do not get this game, you will hate it. To be completely honest, the single player campaign is hard to get through. I've only done about two missions and I have yet to go back because it feels very vanilla and bland. You can buy businesses, do in-mission missions, and upgrade your home on each map that you play. I suppose the single player is most disappointing in that it had a lot of potential but has either been squandered or watered down to where it's a chore to get through. Where the game DOES excel in my opinion is the multiplayer. You chose four heroes, can completely customize any of them with any weapon, and can level them up to make them more powerful in combat using "money" earned while playing CO-OP or verses. One draw-back is there is little, if any, tier-based pvp combat, so new folks are often paired with older ones who have a much more advanced party, and an inevitable slaughter ensues. If you want to play multiplayer though, clear time on your schedules. Though both are fun in their own right, PVP takes roughly 15-30 minutes and COOP takes 45-60 minutes. All in all, a decent game and a good buy, particularly if it goes on sale. In fact, I would recommend waiting until it does so. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    Omerta is an average game that is fun if you get in on sale. It has an x-com style combat system (though not nearly as extensive in terms of variability and combat options). The meta game gets a bit redundant over time, though the recent additions of sandbox mode and other small improvements has increased re-playability somewhat. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    4
    Jogo muito ruim. Evite-o, principalmente se você conhece "XCOM" e sua jogabilidade infalível. Creio que os produtores precisam melhorar bastante este jogo. Não valeu o preço que estão cobrando. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    2
    This "game" had plenty of promise. Best described as playing monopoly against yourself. Was going to give it 30, but took it down to 20 because of what they charge for this fail game. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2013
    1
    They really managed to drop the ball on this one. Boring, repetitive, bland, imbalanced and extremely overpriced, Omerta: City of Gangsters should be stayed away from as far as possible unless the price drops to around 2-10$. Combat is decent in its core, much like the new X-Com but still manages to be despicable with corner-shooting pixel-calculating AI's, luck-based hit system, random deployments, shooting through walls and far too easy. The rest of the games involves around managing and expanding your business in the 1920's america which is probably one of the most fun concepts I've ever heard about but it is FAR too easy and next to impossible to lose unless you've been force-fed lead while growing up. Even on hard because there's next to no random events in sandbox, the campaign is one long sticky scripts that tugs you out of the RTS experience as soon as you start to establish yourself (the most fun part) just to force-feed you a generic story through 2d cutscenes. Me giving this one an 1 is generous due to me being a sucker for these kinds of games, but If you actually bought this for 40+ Euro, get a refund ASAP. Expand
  7. May 3, 2013
    0
    I am not gonna waste my time trying to explain why this game sucks. Everyone else did a pretty good job of it. But I do not even think it is worthy of a single point, this game is a complete rip-off at the price. If it would have been in the 10 dollar range I may have given it a 6 or 7 at best, but this is just a sad, sad game for a whopping 40 bucks. And to piss me off even more, they charge 5 bucks per HORRIBLE DLC content. Money all wasted. Collapse

See all 52 User Reviews