One Must Fall: Battlegrounds Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlegrounds is the first on-line, 3D, multiplayer fighting game. OMF:BG represents a serious change in the philosophy of making fighting games. Instead of 2 players facing off in a small space, Battlegrounds features up to sixteen simultaneous players in huge arenas, fighting in teamBattlegrounds is the first on-line, 3D, multiplayer fighting game. OMF:BG represents a serious change in the philosophy of making fighting games. Instead of 2 players facing off in a small space, Battlegrounds features up to sixteen simultaneous players in huge arenas, fighting in team battles or all-out brawls! Our goal is to free you, the player, from the restrictions of the past, and allow you to fight the way you've always wanted to. Just like your favourite martial-arts movies, you can go toe-to-toe with several opponents, use nearby objects as weapons, and integrate terrain and hazards into your fighting strategy. But... We've missed an important detail: you get to do all this while piloting a huge robot. [Diversions] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. This title uses may of the tired conventions of the fighting genre but manages to keep them interesting with great graphics, clean gameplay, and the potential to cause a lot of damage to a lot of people. [Feb 2004, p.112]
  2. Offers a great and versatile combo system, interactive environments, and an overall refreshing take on fighting games. However, the controls are pretty cumbersome, and can lead to unnecessary frustration.
  3. A little late, but still a good game. But, it's not a game where you must rush out to go buy it now. Unfortunately, it doesn't compare to the games that are out these days.
  4. Going online will pit you against some opponents that are much more fun to play, but the problems with the clunky controls are never alleviated.
  5. 60
    The perspective is wrong, making combat a chore, and playing against other people is a nightmare. Even if you can ignore these faults, it succumbs to another deadly sacrament that affects even the best fighting game: it's repetitive to the point of exhaustion.
  6. The online option has potential, but fighting human opponents doesn't improve the core gameplay, which hasn't evolved since I was talking all that college smack 10 years ago. [Mar 2004, p.74]
  7. The concept behind OMF: Battlegrouds is solid and the gang at Diversions deserves credit for at least attempting to correct the PC's astonishing lacl of fighting games, but that doesn't make it a good game. Remotely.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Darkdragon
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    This game is SO COOL.
  2. JuliánR.
    Jan 13, 2004
    10
    This game is very good.
  3. [FT]Ghoul
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    I am The_Ghoul from the OMF : BG clan, Fury Talon I am a beta tester, and ive been playing for a long time... i think this game will be just I am The_Ghoul from the OMF : BG clan, Fury Talon I am a beta tester, and ive been playing for a long time... i think this game will be just as big of a sucess as OMF 2097 If i was allowed, i would give this 11 stars. Expand
  4. Spockmeat
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    Wow, intelligent reviews so far. One person complaining that the game is bad and they've never played multi player, and another Wow, intelligent reviews so far. One person complaining that the game is bad and they've never played multi player, and another complaining because there's more than one usable character. Morons. Yes, there are some problems with the game. Seeing as this is the only 3d fighter developed for the PC, I can do nothing less than rate it a 10. Some people won't like it. This is not a FPS. It plays nothing like an FPS. In fact, you're never played a game like this before, so expect to take a while to get used to it. Expand
  5. Ithon
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    OMF:BG is a very good game, you just have get used to the controls and the lack of blood. Which blood in games now is like crack cocane for OMF:BG is a very good game, you just have get used to the controls and the lack of blood. Which blood in games now is like crack cocane for for heavy users. You don't need blood to have a good game, which could be the reason that thier have been 0s and 10s so far and not rating in between. Expand
  6. Eyewitness
    Jan 10, 2004
    9
    Jesus guys you should'nt rate a game after 5 minutes.... Overall it is good but the "strength" of the enemies are determined in a very Jesus guys you should'nt rate a game after 5 minutes.... Overall it is good but the "strength" of the enemies are determined in a very strange way... I personally liked it... but if you didnt that only means you cant play it right enough... try an fps instead of ranting at the game in forums... Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 20, 2003
    0
    THIS game really sux! Some robots are so shitty, that noone can win with them. Who got the pyros, that rules. Here comes a question: Why do THIS game really sux! Some robots are so shitty, that noone can win with them. Who got the pyros, that rules. Here comes a question: Why do we need other robots??? Expand

See all 9 User Reviews