Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players assume the role of a U.S. NATO private on a training mission in a fictional 1985 Cold War storyline, where a new Soviet regime seizes control of an island community, and underground resistance groups have mobilized in opposition. The new Soviet government, unable to fight thePlayers assume the role of a U.S. NATO private on a training mission in a fictional 1985 Cold War storyline, where a new Soviet regime seizes control of an island community, and underground resistance groups have mobilized in opposition. The new Soviet government, unable to fight the resistance, calls upon NATO to act as a peacekeeping force and help restore order to the region. NATO responds with Operation Flashpoint. [Codemasters] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. It's so exacting in detail, the Marines are showing interest in using it as part of their training programs. [Nov 2001, p.126]
  2. Provides hours and hours of fun gameplay that will have you staying up way too late and ignoring your spouse. This is one of the most enjoyable first/third person shooters to come along in a long time.
  3. It's probably as close to real combat as you would want to get. It's probably too realistic for hard-core shooter fans, and not realistic enough for sim fanatics, but everyone else will find it to be a thrilling game.
  4. 88
    There is so much going into this game its just plain goofy. The more you delve into it and get used to the ultra brutal way that the AI comes after your sorry little hiney, there's an incredibly deep and fun game here.
  5. 83
    A game which does everything right. Gameplay, graphics, realism, mood, and extendibility through the included fully-featured mission editor.
  6. A fun game, but it’s just a little bit too difficult for the mainstream audience.
  7. One of the most enjoyable tactical shooters released to date (circa 2002).

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. OFPOFP
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    This is by far the greatest first-person shooter ever made. Sadly, few Americans played it. (Probably because it was produced in Eastern Europe.)
  2. FelippeJ.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i ever played.
  3. DickH.
    Mar 15, 2002
    10
    I love it!
  4. May 10, 2012
    10
    It's the middle of 2012, and I just rebooted and played all three OpF games again - CWC, Red Hammer and Resistance - and it still, for me, isIt's the middle of 2012, and I just rebooted and played all three OpF games again - CWC, Red Hammer and Resistance - and it still, for me, is the best gaming experience I've had. Contrary to what many say, I still feel the graphics stack up - particularly the distance rendering. The feel of playing in a huge open world is there. Some missions on the Everon island are so picturesque I pause for a few minutes just to look around.

    I've played almost every FPS there is, and still, more than ten years after it's release, no game has come close to capturing that feel of actually being in the middle of a war. Of being a lonesome soldier, who can make a difference, and yet is just a small cog in a larger scheme. Knowing that facing a patrolling tank is almost certain death, and yet get your hands on an RPG launcher and the watch tables turn. This game gives you everything - the tension of being outnumbered and alone, the joy of launching large scale attacks, the pleasure in commanding an M1A1 abrams and destroying all in your path. Not to mention playing as a highly trained black op and dealing silent death.
    Basically, I could go on and on. This is still THE benchmark shooter for realism and it's ability to draw you into the world. As much as I have enjoyed the CoD series, this game is really what separates the men from the boys, so to speak.
    Do yourself a favour, if you haven't played it, and get your hands on a copy ASAP.
    For those who have played it, and know exactly what I'm on about, give it another go. For nostalgia.
    Expand
  5. JeffA.
    May 15, 2002
    9
    Realism and difficulty make this game a most have for war gamers.
  6. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Operation Flashpoint was a stunner when it was released, but for anyone who hasn't played it and wants to get into now, this review is forOperation Flashpoint was a stunner when it was released, but for anyone who hasn't played it and wants to get into now, this review is for you. Firstly, the graphics aren't exactly what they used to be back in 2001, so get ready for a whopping change if your coming from modern shooters, secondly, if your a hardcore COD and Halo shooter fan, you will probably hate this game for one simply reason...one shot, one kill; this game will eat you alive, this is the most realistic tactical shooter ever made, so if your into running and gunning, leave now. And last but not least, be patient, this game is HARD, and takes many tries to complete missions at times, but at the end of it all, this is a fun game if you really sink your teeth into it, even in 2011, this game still never fails to impress me. I highly recommend it to any tactical shooter fan, or just a shooter fan in general because you just may fall in love with it. Collapse
  7. Operationflshpoint
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    The faces of characters r a bit wacky ...

See all 27 User Reviews