User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 8, 2011
    4
    I have played OFDR one year after its pubblication.
    The game fails in everything.
    AI is too accurate in far distances, all the enemies seem to be snipers. Also, they can kill us even if we are hidden inside thick vegetation or behind a wall. But when we get closer to the enemy, it is completely stupid and easy to kill. Physics are bad. Tanks and vehicles flips in the air when we drive them
    I have played OFDR one year after its pubblication.
    The game fails in everything.
    AI is too accurate in far distances, all the enemies seem to be snipers. Also, they can kill us even if we are hidden inside thick vegetation or behind a wall. But when we get closer to the enemy, it is completely stupid and easy to kill.
    Physics are bad. Tanks and vehicles flips in the air when we drive them on little rocks. Moreover I had the sensation to drive them on the ice.
    There are no checkpoints for secondary objectives (more difficult to complete than the primary ones).
    Graphics suck....bad textures, 3D models, lighting, post processing effects, bloom...
    Single player campaign is slow and boring...
    ARMA2 is on another level and a REAL PC GAME.
    Expand
  2. JimmyH
    Dec 4, 2009
    4
    Pathetic console port. Simple as that. Everything that was great about Ofp 1 has been completely raped, mutilated and put on some 15 year old kids Xbox, they vomited back up and thrown at pc gamers. Dont waste your money people. The only reason its not getting a 0 is because it played well (no bugs etc....) Us poor pc gamers : (
  3. May 30, 2013
    1
    Riding on the glory of original operation flashpoint gameplay was horrible Campaing was horrible multiplayer was horrible and bugged to hell when released This was a disgrace to the name of operation flashpoint only later i found out that real operation flashpoint makers had made series called ARMA and that was the real simulation follow up for opf .
    TLDR: Codemasters tookd the
    Riding on the glory of original operation flashpoint gameplay was horrible Campaing was horrible multiplayer was horrible and bugged to hell when released This was a disgrace to the name of operation flashpoint only later i found out that real operation flashpoint makers had made series called ARMA and that was the real simulation follow up for opf .
    TLDR: Codemasters tookd the operation flashpoint name and disgraced it hard game sucks hard and anyone looking for real simulation game should buy Arma 2 and soon Arma 3
    Expand
  4. BenS
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    Failed, aborted product, dumped on pre-order. No dedicated servers. No maps. No community.
  5. Darkness62
    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    Installed and worked.... Other than that, this game is pathetic console trash and should have stayed on consoles where it belongs.
  6. obanman
    Oct 18, 2009
    4
    Made for consoles with its limitations, ported directly to pc.. No "full battlefield" containing both infantry as well as solid vehicles.. Instead there is lack of vehicle physics, number of units. etc.. No dedicated servers, and no intention of making any.. In fact there are no cd-keys for the retail game, so dont think they can make dedicated servers anyway.. Graphics are good but Made for consoles with its limitations, ported directly to pc.. No "full battlefield" containing both infantry as well as solid vehicles.. Instead there is lack of vehicle physics, number of units. etc.. No dedicated servers, and no intention of making any.. In fact there are no cd-keys for the retail game, so dont think they can make dedicated servers anyway.. Graphics are good but nothing special these days.. Too many things that doesnt feel right about this game, including no dedicated servers, no joystick support, bad vehicle physics, no leaning, no smooth mouse, not much of gameplay options, no balance between infantry and vehicles, no good FOV etc.. Really hate this game as it is right now, and I do not have faith in that they can do much about it to solve all the things needed to be solved.. It coulve been so good. Expand
  7. Direbadge
    Dec 2, 2009
    1
    I gave it a "1" because it installed and "worked" - but the controls were like trying to play a flight simulator with a blindfold on. The hyper-realism is just a moniker to sell a game that is only one step past the drawing-boards. Completely unplayable - please save your money and play flash-based web games, a much better use of your time.
  8. JasonH
    Jan 20, 2010
    1
    OFDR has all of the pesky quirks of a sim without any of the gloss of an action game; if you are looking for a shooter that claims to be "realistic" but is far from it, then this is the game for you! Incidentally, the most "realistic" shooters were made in the late 90's and have only veered away from it since. OFDR continues this trend.
  9. CJSo
    Oct 17, 2009
    3
    The single player is great that is the only thing. The game totally lacks replayability as the AI is based on scripting and not actual logic. The multiplayer does not feature basic aspects that games made in 1998 have. No join in progress, no dedicated server, and rather small amount of people allowed, even for PC. Avoid this game until it hits your $5 bin since the only thing going for The single player is great that is the only thing. The game totally lacks replayability as the AI is based on scripting and not actual logic. The multiplayer does not feature basic aspects that games made in 1998 have. No join in progress, no dedicated server, and rather small amount of people allowed, even for PC. Avoid this game until it hits your $5 bin since the only thing going for it is single player. Expand
  10. awrongun
    Oct 15, 2009
    4
    The game has potential and it is playable, but the things that let it down for me are: 1) AI - sucks, friendly and enemy 2) It's verrrryyyyy sloooowwwww - reloading or changing weapons - I'm sure if I had an enemy in front of me with a gun pointing to my head I would be able to reload a lot quicker ;) I think it is unrealistically slow. 3) The physics suck - as the first poster The game has potential and it is playable, but the things that let it down for me are: 1) AI - sucks, friendly and enemy 2) It's verrrryyyyy sloooowwwww - reloading or changing weapons - I'm sure if I had an enemy in front of me with a gun pointing to my head I would be able to reload a lot quicker ;) I think it is unrealistically slow. 3) The physics suck - as the first poster said, - vehicles fly up in the air if you run over a rizla.......The sad thing about all of this is that codemasters will probably patch this to some extent for the console users and then forget about the PC users just like they did with The Grid. It's a sad reality that the big companies like EA, Codemasters, etc do not really care about their customers, they just care about their shareholders and making that number every Q. Codies are also a publishing house so they are putting out games from other software houses as well as their own, so there is a very small window of interest after a game is released and then its history. I will be surprised if we even see a patch for dragon rising on the PC cos there is no money in that. The only way this will change is if the gamers vote with their wallets, but as half-decent FPS releases are so few and far between that will probably not change anyway - I certainly have been put off of anything that comes from Codemasters because of the lack of the LOOOOONG awaited 8ball DLC for the PC, and what happens with this game will compound that. Maybe I will avoid anything CM in future. Expand
  11. J.M
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    This game took the name of the original, and lower the level. This game doesn't go anywhere near liberating the original installment, and the six years of development were wasted. Wasted on eliminating features rather than embedding them into the game for phenomenal gameplay. The sequel itself removed the "Operation Flashpoint" spirit, and seemed to be more of a Rainbow Six Vegas This game took the name of the original, and lower the level. This game doesn't go anywhere near liberating the original installment, and the six years of development were wasted. Wasted on eliminating features rather than embedding them into the game for phenomenal gameplay. The sequel itself removed the "Operation Flashpoint" spirit, and seemed to be more of a Rainbow Six Vegas with vehicles and bigger island. The island is also one of the downfalls of this game. It's quite desolate. There are no cities, only small villages and more vegetation. The game is empty in soul and spirit, and lacks any immense story. The controls are adequate, but no where near stellar. There is no leaning, whatsoever, which contributes to the elimination of "realism" in Dragon Rising. The game is a flop in my book. Don't forget that the developer was different and steered way around the way Operation Flashpoint was meant to be. Expand
  12. jim
    Jan 20, 2010
    0
    Got this game for xmas present. Cost $88. Played it for an hour or so.Gave it away next day for zilch. Nuff said.
  13. ChrisVCB
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    Is 1 too harsh? The game is....OK...at best, with major faults through and through. The storyline, too short, physics messed up, models limited and poor, game environment bland, the limits (no dedicated server, 64 entity limit, MP distance limits etc) frustrating. In addition the AI is terrible, and the medical "system", which allows you to tank enemy straight up the middle, with few Is 1 too harsh? The game is....OK...at best, with major faults through and through. The storyline, too short, physics messed up, models limited and poor, game environment bland, the limits (no dedicated server, 64 entity limit, MP distance limits etc) frustrating. In addition the AI is terrible, and the medical "system", which allows you to tank enemy straight up the middle, with few worries, is insulting. On it's own though, this would earn for me 5/10...6/10 on a good day. However. This isn't just a standalone game riddled with bugs. This is the end product of a 2+ year hype fest, using the names of one of the better games of the past decade, whilst having no relation to it. So, on the grounds that Codemasters are cashing in, hyping up a game under a well known name, then delivering an end product that (aside from looking prettier) doesn't even match, let alone exceed, the achievements of a game made in 2001, i'm downvoting this to a 1. Some would argue i'm voting too harshly, but at the end of the day, the benchmark we must compare OFP:DR to is OFP, and aside from the graphics,this game is behind in every way. Expand
  14. BobJones
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Not the game that we were promised by any description. The PC version is just a simple console port and as such has the graphical quality and limits you would expect to be imposed by consoles. No dedicated servers are in development leaving P2P networking for multiplayer, which results in a terrible lagging mess most of the time. Also no cd-key and no anti-cheat system leaves this game Not the game that we were promised by any description. The PC version is just a simple console port and as such has the graphical quality and limits you would expect to be imposed by consoles. No dedicated servers are in development leaving P2P networking for multiplayer, which results in a terrible lagging mess most of the time. Also no cd-key and no anti-cheat system leaves this game wide open for both hackers (if they can even get online due to the rubbish P2P system) and pirates because there is nothing to stop you playing online with a cracked copy of the game. All in all the game brings something new to console users but PC players will be very disappointed. This is NOT worthy of the Operation Flashpoint name brand. Expand
  15. NickC.
    Oct 17, 2009
    3
    I have only played this on the PC, so I cannot comment on any of the console versions. On the PC it fails and fails badly... There are a lot of things wrong with it, The physics for vehicles are terrible, more like driving a car on an ice lake, you can empty a full clip into a jeep and it doesn't even make a mark. The AI switches from mind numbingly stupid to super human (normally 1 I have only played this on the PC, so I cannot comment on any of the console versions. On the PC it fails and fails badly... There are a lot of things wrong with it, The physics for vehicles are terrible, more like driving a car on an ice lake, you can empty a full clip into a jeep and it doesn't even make a mark. The AI switches from mind numbingly stupid to super human (normally 1 minute before you reach a check point, forcing you to play a large part again) the 11 missions are short, you can finish the game in 4 hours or less. But the biggest failing point is the MP experience... It uses P2P for all MP modes of which there are 3, Assignation, infiltration, and Co-op. There are no dedicated server files and CM have confirmed they wont be working on any. So therefore your only games online require someone at home running the game on their PC. Lag and dropped connections are a MAJOR issue. Couple to the fact there is no anti cheat (and lots of people cheating already) no CD key so they couldn't be banned even if there was. Do not believe the hype videos from CM there are nothing to do with the game. Oh and as for teh huge open world? sadly no, you are forced along a pre determined path, which if you stray out of results in a mission failed, so you can not go exploring in missions as advertised. This is a Xbox game directly ported and not changed at all except to allow you to use a keyboard and mouse (which is also not very responsive) If you really want this game wait a month or two it will be in a bargin bucket soon. Very Very poorly implemeted. Expand
  16. TommyV
    Oct 10, 2009
    1
    Bought the games yesterday 2 minutes to shops closing time.. happy i finaly got it.. try to install i get an error, try it again same thing try it more same thing again and again. There is triangular mark on de cd probally production fault.. went back to shop and they said im not the first one. I decided a refund and didnt want the game anymore. After what i read about the multilpayers Bought the games yesterday 2 minutes to shops closing time.. happy i finaly got it.. try to install i get an error, try it again same thing try it more same thing again and again. There is triangular mark on de cd probally production fault.. went back to shop and they said im not the first one. I decided a refund and didnt want the game anymore. After what i read about the multilpayers issues. Its a disgrace they put something on the market for pc without even a serial key. Not to mention no dedicated servers. Expand
  17. hYBRISgODSLAYER
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Singleplayer is ok. Very linear feeling though. Multiplayer is catastrophic. Console version might be decent but for the pc players this is an EPIC FAIL. Codemasters totally destoys the name operation flashpoint. If you want a followup to the great game opf then go ArmA2 much bette in all aspects (except ragdoll physics)..but CM ragdolls become static when they die so throwing nades on Singleplayer is ok. Very linear feeling though. Multiplayer is catastrophic. Console version might be decent but for the pc players this is an EPIC FAIL. Codemasters totally destoys the name operation flashpoint. If you want a followup to the great game opf then go ArmA2 much bette in all aspects (except ragdoll physics)..but CM ragdolls become static when they die so throwing nades on corpces wont interact with the corpce. Expand
  18. SteveL
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    No MP support and no dedicated server support like the back of the box says. Jeeps bounce off of trees and tanks fly in the air.. Give me a break. The controls are made for consoles and ported over to pc, even though cm said they made 2 versions, bs.
  19. vilasvilas
    Oct 29, 2009
    0
    heh total shame Drangon's Rice was promissed to be sequel of OFP, lie ! military simulator ? what kind, if Abrams tank cannot smash smallest tree, trees are immortal shame total shame it has nothing to mil-sim, Codemasters BAN users who critize game !!! from their forums i know at least 3 persons who told that game has bugs and is wrong and were banned !!! so maybe here - learn the heh total shame Drangon's Rice was promissed to be sequel of OFP, lie ! military simulator ? what kind, if Abrams tank cannot smash smallest tree, trees are immortal shame total shame it has nothing to mil-sim, Codemasters BAN users who critize game !!! from their forums i know at least 3 persons who told that game has bugs and is wrong and were banned !!! so maybe here - learn the truth this game is neither OFP sequel nor mil-sim shame, shame and shame tank cannot drive when small rock or tree is on the road, AI cannot hit you , people who want use landscape get mission-end "you leaved fight zone" heh only 64 AI on map!! while in OFP/Arma you can fight with big battles only 4 soldiers in team ? wtf ? in Arma you can have as much soldiers as you need it was told to be other game, not "another CoD" Expand
  20. JohnnyS
    Oct 8, 2009
    4
    Consolization has ruined another great franchise. Why oh why games like this are made multiplatform? This was a poor man's Operation Flashpoint. Reminded me more about Battlefield Bad Company than OFP. Consoles has their great limitations, so why bother to make this kinda game for them? Biggest disappointments in this game: disappearing bodies, cannot move when using inventory, Consolization has ruined another great franchise. Why oh why games like this are made multiplatform? This was a poor man's Operation Flashpoint. Reminded me more about Battlefield Bad Company than OFP. Consoles has their great limitations, so why bother to make this kinda game for them? Biggest disappointments in this game: disappearing bodies, cannot move when using inventory, crappy unit commands, too short campaign, general AI and the cherry atop the cake: vehicles in cameo role. YES, forget the vehicles in singleplayer mode! If you wanna wreak havoc in battlefield with every thing on the arsenal, play multiplayer. In singleplayer you had to do with few jeeps and a static tank. The good thing in this game was the atmosphere, generally nice graphics, especially artillery barrages and sounds. But that was it. Big bad BOOOO for this game. Keep you console trash! Expand
  21. SamuelW
    Nov 1, 2009
    4
    A lacklustre experience in its own right. It does very little to make itself known above the competition. The most dangerous enemy to this game is it's name. The original was more advanced, and far less limited than its contemporary which really says everything considering it is almost ten years older. This game was made for the console, and although it might be a perfectly new and A lacklustre experience in its own right. It does very little to make itself known above the competition. The most dangerous enemy to this game is it's name. The original was more advanced, and far less limited than its contemporary which really says everything considering it is almost ten years older. This game was made for the console, and although it might be a perfectly new and entertaining product for those used to crackers, we PC players are used to steak. Poor show Codemasters. The marketing for this was terribly deceptive, and in comparison to its competitor Arma II, it is positively laughable. Expand
  22. TomTommo
    Oct 11, 2009
    3
    I've rated this game a 3, a point for each hour that this game is worth playing for. They have disgraced the original with this effort. Bland, boring, ugly, too many adjectives needed to discribe it. If you want to play the sequel to Operation Flashpoint then play Arma2. Arma2 is really good these days with the new patches. Stay clear of OFPDR and save your money!
  23. DutchN
    Oct 12, 2009
    4
    It's realistic in the sense of combat but is the game fun? No it's not, rather it feels like work, just go play AA if you need something similar. If it had a better networking multiplayer system the score would be higher; ran up to a player point blank unloaded on him he turns around from his stationary position and just pops one shot. Dead. Just trying to navigate through the It's realistic in the sense of combat but is the game fun? No it's not, rather it feels like work, just go play AA if you need something similar. If it had a better networking multiplayer system the score would be higher; ran up to a player point blank unloaded on him he turns around from his stationary position and just pops one shot. Dead. Just trying to navigate through the menus take unnecessary time and in some cases will get stuck in certain option displays and pressing esc does nothing. There's a lot of running involved and the AI are not marksmen, you can pretty much shoot them down in a single shot while watching them flail their weapons like retarded offspring. Should of waited for BF:BC2, and i wish i could return this bore fest. Ya this was with the PC version. On the bright side, there was a few notable features that I did like... But looking back I can't find anything that makes it stand out except it's combat realism-ish. Don't let the trailers fool ya, it never gets intense in multiplayer. Once a vehicle is gone you can't get it back. Expand
  24. JulianYoung
    Oct 15, 2009
    1
    Absolutely appalled at the state of this game. the bugs, the poor multiplayer, lack of dedicated server support, poor graphics, roaming limitation etc. How it rated so high in so many magazines fills me with dread at the integrity of these so called game critics. I only wish you could get a refund for games. Such a pity.
  25. adams.
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising , without introduction this is a big disapointment for FPS players , why ? : 1 - Many game bug 2 - help popup who stop action 3 - the animation is realy made by beginers 4 - the AI , but we cant speak about ai in OFP DR your squad move like dogs who folow you , they even can dance with your steps . 5 - Controls are very lagy and not smoth 6 - if only Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising , without introduction this is a big disapointment for FPS players , why ? : 1 - Many game bug 2 - help popup who stop action 3 - the animation is realy made by beginers 4 - the AI , but we cant speak about ai in OFP DR your squad move like dogs who folow you , they even can dance with your steps . 5 - Controls are very lagy and not smoth 6 - if only they asked Infnity ward how to use focus aiming to have smoth smal controls not a tetris movement 6 - many many many problems so for who played Ghost recon ans seeked for a modern recon FPS this is not the good choice. Expand
  26. MichaelM.
    Oct 17, 2009
    3
    Graphics is good. But 11 missions to keep single player running is not enough. the missions can be handled on hardcore mode in 4-5 hours. Then there are the issues with multiplayer. Even theough the game looks and feels pretty this is nothing out of the ordinary, and every other game provider will be able to provide more interesting gameplay, more game time on single player and a fully Graphics is good. But 11 missions to keep single player running is not enough. the missions can be handled on hardcore mode in 4-5 hours. Then there are the issues with multiplayer. Even theough the game looks and feels pretty this is nothing out of the ordinary, and every other game provider will be able to provide more interesting gameplay, more game time on single player and a fully functional multiplayer environment upon release. There are also issues with validating genuine players from pirated players. Currently pirates and game cheaters play along side valid players, causing the multiplayer aspect to falter even more. The AI is not impressive and a patch production was set in motion prior to release, but the game got released anyway. Dont let graphics only indicate that the game it self is great. I will say this though, the game holds some potential, but only if many of the serious issues are addressed. Expand
  27. jahpix
    Oct 17, 2009
    3
    Stupid console port, nothing to do with the original flashpoint. MP is broken, no dedicated servers in development. Utter farce i feel like ive been swindled by CM into thinking this game is something that its not.
  28. GreyPaws
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    If you are expecting Code Masters to deliver a followup to the ground breaking Milisim 'Operation Flashpoint,' with this title you will be VERY disappointed. However, if you you are expecting a relatively fun 4 player co-op campaign, and are willing to overlook the glaring problems present in the current release of the game, you might actually enjoy yourself. There are many If you are expecting Code Masters to deliver a followup to the ground breaking Milisim 'Operation Flashpoint,' with this title you will be VERY disappointed. However, if you you are expecting a relatively fun 4 player co-op campaign, and are willing to overlook the glaring problems present in the current release of the game, you might actually enjoy yourself. There are many problems that detract from a fun experience. It is well known by now that there are no Dedicated Servers for this game, and the last official word from Code Masters was "this feature is currently not being worked on." There is also no mention of intent to release a SDK for the modding community to fix the problems with this game. The enemy AI, even when the game is set to 'Hardcore' is pathetically unrealistic in the way they respond to combat. Vehicle physics are simply a joke, vehicles tend to flip, the turning radius of most of the vehicles in the game is unacceptable, there is no way to use brakes without using a "handbrake." Your weapon seems to fire from the center of your model, so in some situations even with clear Line Of Sight to your target your rounds will impact objects you are using for cover (inexcusable for a shooter released in '09 ) The AI can track players and other AI through smoke, burning buildings and wrecks, as well as tall grass and vegetation, something a human player can not do without the assistance of optics. Weapon damage is unrealistic, plenty of examples of enemy AI taking a high caliber round to center mass, going prone, and then standing back up as if nothing was wrong with them. "...engaged against the full force of the Chinese PLA on a scale never previously experienced in a military action title..." I had to laugh at that one, most missions present very few targets, for example the opening mission of the campaign asks the player to disable anti-ship and anti-air installations on a small island off of the coast of Skira, to secure safe passage for a landing on the main island. Such a strategically important location seems to be defended by approximately 50 PLA soldiers, most of the players time is spent walking, or attempting to drive, through the bland and vastly empty landscape. There are many other problems that detract form the stated goal of this game, feel free to visit the Code Masters Forum pages on this game and see for yourselves. Expand
  29. AlexH.
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Very deceptive advertising by codemasters. The game isn't too bad, but it is not what was advertised. Unfortunately they ruined the Operation Flashpoint name by turning it into yet another run-and-gun game. Oh, and multiplayer will be dead in months. I'm sure most of the other comments here cover what the title was meant to have but was conveniently left out, or grossly exaggerated.
  30. MilShootNothing
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    I give this game 1 because it might be good on consoles but i don't have one so i can't tell. The PC version is really sad and have absolutely NOTHING to do with the original. Even worse is that it stinks REALLY bad of console, from graphic, menu to control system. About the multiplayer part, PATHETIC! Just to make it clear, Dragon Rising has nothing to do wtih realism or I give this game 1 because it might be good on consoles but i don't have one so i can't tell. The PC version is really sad and have absolutely NOTHING to do with the original. Even worse is that it stinks REALLY bad of console, from graphic, menu to control system. About the multiplayer part, PATHETIC! Just to make it clear, Dragon Rising has nothing to do wtih realism or simulation it's just another shooter with bad gameplay and aged graphics! Expand
  31. southy
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    The worst physics in a game for at least 10 years, the helicopter flight model is the nothing short of a joke. Considering the game was built on a racing game engine the vehicles handling is laughable. Very poor console port to PC, MP is via P2P only no dedicated servers, for clans this is a killer. No mod support for the community leaving most with a bitter taste as the original The worst physics in a game for at least 10 years, the helicopter flight model is the nothing short of a joke. Considering the game was built on a racing game engine the vehicles handling is laughable. Very poor console port to PC, MP is via P2P only no dedicated servers, for clans this is a killer. No mod support for the community leaving most with a bitter taste as the original Operation Flashpoint was based massively in the community, Codemasters have shown without a doubt that they are purely in this to milk the name. The PC version has about 8 hours of SP in it and MP is dead as the lagg is terrible. Expand
  32. NeilB.
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    Well below par. VERY short SP campaign, lots of problems for MP players, lack of USP features, numerous control system issues. Codies are going to have to pull the stops out with the follow up or this (formerly classic) title will be dead in the water.
  33. JesseS.
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    This game has been the worst disappointment of my life. At first it was hyped like crysis as a modern warfare simulation, destructible everything, mud on weapons when you crawl, everything was supposed to be so authentic. End result was a crappy console game ported for PC.
  34. HermanS
    Oct 20, 2009
    0
    Gosh, where to start. The game does not live up to any of the claims of the developers, The trailers are complete lies, anything you see in them you do not expect to happen in game. The game play is slow and clunky, the feild of vision is narrow, you need to shoot enemies in the head if you want to kill them instantly, otherwise it will take 4 to 5 shots to kill them, ingame colour scheme Gosh, where to start. The game does not live up to any of the claims of the developers, The trailers are complete lies, anything you see in them you do not expect to happen in game. The game play is slow and clunky, the feild of vision is narrow, you need to shoot enemies in the head if you want to kill them instantly, otherwise it will take 4 to 5 shots to kill them, ingame colour scheme is horrid the colours are all washed out. You have to stop to order your squad, multi player is slow, kind of like the in game sprinting, and there are no dedicated servers. The port from console looks just like that, they've hardly put any effort into it at all and the list goes on. If your looking to a sequal to Operation Flashpoint that is a war sim then obtain ARMA2 much better game play and less buggy (and also made by the same developers who created operation flashpoint).. Codemasters this was a really disappointing effort, lots of hype for a wholly unfinished, boaring buggy basicly unplayable game. STEAR CLEAR AT ALL COSTS. Expand
  35. AnonymousMC
    Oct 11, 2009
    4
    - Stupid AI? Check...didn't expect genius, but this is not even close.More like retarded. -Lack of realism? Check...you can't even lean from behind the object. I mean , c'mon, games from 90's have that, and not game that boasts being "realistic simulation" - Control problems? check... lazy console port, radial menu...it takes ages for controls to work sometime. -- Stupid AI? Check...didn't expect genius, but this is not even close.More like retarded. -Lack of realism? Check...you can't even lean from behind the object. I mean , c'mon, games from 90's have that, and not game that boasts being "realistic simulation" - Control problems? check... lazy console port, radial menu...it takes ages for controls to work sometime. - Limited online? check.. lack of dedicated servers ,no anti-cheat , maps are very small 4x4 km - Graphics are good , but this is fighting game not Sims. Game is not simulation as ARMA or arcade like COD, but some sort of renegade hybrid in between that have gone wrong.Not worth $39.99, more like at most $19.99, if you really must have it. Although i really don't know why would you want it. Expand
  36. AnonymousMC
    Oct 11, 2009
    2
    PC impressions: The campaign is short and boring and HEAVILY scripted, very predictable (repel enemy, conquer, prepare for enemy reinforcements all over again), you don't get to drive anything interesting (infantry "simulator", I know, but still..). Visuals like textures, model detail, terrain detail or visual distance are HEAVILY reduced for the game to be able to run smoothly onPC impressions: The campaign is short and boring and HEAVILY scripted, very predictable (repel enemy, conquer, prepare for enemy reinforcements all over again), you don't get to drive anything interesting (infantry "simulator", I know, but still..). Visuals like textures, model detail, terrain detail or visual distance are HEAVILY reduced for the game to be able to run smoothly on consoles (yet it's the same on PCs) and it is covered with overusing "fancy" post-processing effects, concealment like bushes disappears after you move from it a couple of meters (making anything hiding behind it exposed), most of the animations are weird. The 63 entity limit completely blows the expectation of a mil-sim (as this.. thing.. was marketed) as well as the pathetic MP player limits, play area limits and the sad maximum distance between players in coop. Very little MP maps, NO SINGLE MISSIONS (you're only able to repeat missions from the campaign). The keyboard controls are horrible, the radial command control is very unfriendly, the field of view is very narrow and thus makes you sick, it has no real balancing (the difficulty is the same on all levels, you just lose some HUD gizmos). The AI is bad, sometimes it spawns right before your very eyes, sometimes the enemy is looking at you but "isn' aware of your presence" until you shoot. This thing is in NO WAY a military simulator and NOT EVEN a tactical shooter. It doesn't come close to new ArmA series, new CoD series, new BF series... and not even the old Delta Force series.

    Marketing this thing as a milsim and a successor to the original Operation Flashpoin was a baad move. I give it 3/10 - for the sounds of explosions, which were cool, and for a couple of laughs I had.
    Expand
  37. WF
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    I just think CM didn't realy have enough time to finish this game. What can I say: Oh man, your tank will get damage if you hit a tree? M16 or Type 81 with a scope can shoot 1km away? Or the buggy looking explosion dust? At the beginning I thouth OFPDR must has a better engine than ArmA, now I can only tell that the phsical enging is ok, but others sucks. If CM just want to forget I just think CM didn't realy have enough time to finish this game. What can I say: Oh man, your tank will get damage if you hit a tree? M16 or Type 81 with a scope can shoot 1km away? Or the buggy looking explosion dust? At the beginning I thouth OFPDR must has a better engine than ArmA, now I can only tell that the phsical enging is ok, but others sucks. If CM just want to forget the realistic, that's fine for me, but OFPDR fialed both on realistic and entertainment. Expand
  38. danielS
    Oct 10, 2009
    1
    The game is a piece of crap. I don't recommend anyone buying it. Not even fanboys. But it has potential, unfortunately with over 10 years of experience from FPS games that potential will never be cashed in upon. It's not like ARMA, OPFLASH or GRAW. It's like the earlier Ghost Recon games but with updated graphics. I.e lots of retro design and aged gameplay. Unfortunately The game is a piece of crap. I don't recommend anyone buying it. Not even fanboys. But it has potential, unfortunately with over 10 years of experience from FPS games that potential will never be cashed in upon. It's not like ARMA, OPFLASH or GRAW. It's like the earlier Ghost Recon games but with updated graphics. I.e lots of retro design and aged gameplay. Unfortunately this game also suffers from an extreme amount of bugs and fact errors. It is on par with ARMA2 release, and almost Söldner. Completely useless for multiplayer. Console port is obvious in menus, it is unlikely they'll sidetrack it more. I can say this, it's the last game I'm buying from Codemasters that isn't a car game. They certainly know nothing about this FPS thing everyone is chatting about. Touch and feel is Colin Mcrae 3 + guns. Except vehicle handling takes the skiddy feeling of CM-games to an extreme. The vehicles flings around like you're sitting on top of a spring. AI has lots of flaws, and is best utilized as flanking bait for the enemy because they respawn whenever you reach a checkpoint. They're annoying as hell if they stick around and sometimes they treat you to a SMAW round in the back of the head... or whatever weaponry they currently equip. Expand
  39. BenSimms
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    -Bad support - No dedicated servers - Sick fanboy community - Prelude to the downfall of fps gaming on pc - False advertising - Theft - Bugfest - Ai as stupid as any ai
  40. Dr.Pulp
    Oct 13, 2009
    0
    This game looks awful and has nothing to do with Operation Flashpoint. It doesn't even come close to a simulation. The GFX look bad! The textures are all blurry and all colours are green-brown / brown. It doens't support Joysticks.
  41. ShaneS
    Oct 15, 2009
    1
    PLEASE go to their website and read the forums before you buy this game. NO dedicated servers, very unrealistic, terrible graphics. Every claim the developers have made about the game was a lie. People are abandoning this game at an alarming rate. I am just frustrated that I was conned into buying this junk by Metascore's VERY genererous review of this game. It is more like 20/100. PLEASE go to their website and read the forums before you buy this game. NO dedicated servers, very unrealistic, terrible graphics. Every claim the developers have made about the game was a lie. People are abandoning this game at an alarming rate. I am just frustrated that I was conned into buying this junk by Metascore's VERY genererous review of this game. It is more like 20/100. Honestly. Research it and find the truth for yourself! Expand
  42. OwenH
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    First things first: I am deducting a solid point, point and a half for the multiplayer side of things. CM have delivered a game with *no dedicated server* and horrible disconnect issues. If you like multiplayer gaming this isn't the game you are looking for. They have no intention of providing a dedicated server either so I anticipate this one being dead on it's feet inside of a First things first: I am deducting a solid point, point and a half for the multiplayer side of things. CM have delivered a game with *no dedicated server* and horrible disconnect issues. If you like multiplayer gaming this isn't the game you are looking for. They have no intention of providing a dedicated server either so I anticipate this one being dead on it's feet inside of a couple of months. That aside it's a passable single-player/co-op game. It certainly has it's moments and if you pick it up for 20 quid or something it's possibly worth it. I've been regarding it more as a Ghost Recon sequel than an OFP sequel and taken like that it sort of works. The graphics are kind of ugly and blocky up close but seen at a distance it looks pretty decent and has very little in the way of slowdown even looking over an open field covered in smoke and exploding stuff. I suppose the 64 unit per map cap helps out here and the effects aren't that technically impressive. Taken together though, it is kind of cool advancing behind smokescreens from friendly artillery or sneaking around avoiding patrols with your thermal sight. Animations are a bit dodgy. They look weird in places and considering how much of a song and dance they made about making it all "as real as it gets" they've got a lot of stuff wrong. Sound design is basically competent although the guns sound kinda hollow and plasticy. It's especially noticable that the heavier calibre weapons lack boom. Voices are less robotic than ArmA2. The AI has some really nice touches (they pop smoke and run away :D ) but is kind of inconsistent in places. They've also toned their accuracy right down so they now shoot like Star Wars stormtroopers. The missions are mostly quite well thought out. Unlike the recent Ghost Recon games the recon team you play for half of the missions actually recon stuff and sneak around calling in airstrikes. The assaults actually feel assault-y in that you have friendly units backing you up. There's a few places where bugs or poor checkpoint placement had me punching the wall in frustration though. Also, there's only 11 missions and after you've played those, what then? Controls are a bit weak. It's obviously a console control scheme ported to PC. The command interface is clearly designed for d-pad. On PC you press a key to bring the menu up and then use the primary movement (ASWD) keys to give orders. It feels incredibly clumsy. Considering you have number, f- keys and a keypad on PC it seems like a poor choice. There's no lean keys... because the d-pad is being used for commands. Vehicle controls are laughably bad. Considering this is an engine developed for racing games the jeeps handle like hippos on rollerskates and the steering goes straight to full lock so you spend most of the time sliding/floating along above the ground. I should also say a word about them claiming this is the "true sequel" to Operation Flashpoint. It really isn't. It's much, much more limited in scope. It's really only about squad/fireteam sized infantry shootouts. Expand
  43. Fin
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    An average shooter but an extremely poor simulator. The good things: It's slightly more on the realistic side compared to the pure run-and-gun shooters, and the performance is good. Negatives: The realism they advertise just isn't there. Starting from extremely poor physics down to an invisible shield(!) that makes sure the AI won't hit you with their first shots, or if An average shooter but an extremely poor simulator. The good things: It's slightly more on the realistic side compared to the pure run-and-gun shooters, and the performance is good. Negatives: The realism they advertise just isn't there. Starting from extremely poor physics down to an invisible shield(!) that makes sure the AI won't hit you with their first shots, or if they're more than a few hundred meters away, and they have a very hard time hitting you even after that. Vehicle handling is an absolute joke, and there's not much to say on the flightmodel of helicopters(or the lack of one). Both friendly and enemy AI do a poor job at soldiering, and as already mentioned they can't hit the famous side of the barn. Weapons are very arcadish, and hitting targets at full auto is no problem.The good performance comes at the price of very outdated graphics, and for god knows why they've applied strange color filters everywhere. Nights aren't dark at all, but look like daytime with a blue filter. Other times the whole world is yellowish or greenish, but never natural. The SP campaign is short, easy, repeative and gets boring very soon. MP is severely limited and just doesn't function properly at the moment. Conclusion: Use your $40 on beer. The entertainment that results lasts longer and is of better quality. Expand
  44. JosephC.
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    Needed 6 months more development. But as always we are given a game which is no more than a mere shadow of the hype and promises made by CM. Waste of money. Buy this game several months sown the line and it will be half price and hopefully fixed at least to the extent that its playable.
  45. gulagdan
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    Brief Review: Graphic engine has potential, but was not used to its greatest capacity, we are in 2009, it is not graphic for 2009, 2d trees and grass, very poor texture (it's like Delta Force Xtreme). Singleplayer gameplay is without war atmosphere, stupid AI, map size is the only good thing, but in multiplayer you can use only 4 km square without dedicated server. I would be given a Brief Review: Graphic engine has potential, but was not used to its greatest capacity, we are in 2009, it is not graphic for 2009, 2d trees and grass, very poor texture (it's like Delta Force Xtreme). Singleplayer gameplay is without war atmosphere, stupid AI, map size is the only good thing, but in multiplayer you can use only 4 km square without dedicated server. I would be given a higher score, but CM has lied to us too much, they don't deserve more, they were dishonest. Expand
  46. AlS
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    Rubbish AI who can't hit the side of a barn and don't even appear to see you when close, vehicle physics are rubbish, 20 tons tanks find trees invincible. Corridored play ( no open dynamic world here ), unbelievabley broken MP with no dedicated servers for PC, constant disconnects when in game, no cd key authentication, no anticheat ( the game has already been hacked to Rubbish AI who can't hit the side of a barn and don't even appear to see you when close, vehicle physics are rubbish, 20 tons tanks find trees invincible. Corridored play ( no open dynamic world here ), unbelievabley broken MP with no dedicated servers for PC, constant disconnects when in game, no cd key authentication, no anticheat ( the game has already been hacked to bit's and the leaderboards rendered pointless ). Maximum amount of entities in any one mission = 64 /= massive large scale feeling. How magazines rated this game highly is beyond me. Maybe they just didn't want to loose the advertising revenue. In conlusion - OPFDR is average in SP, completetly pants in MP. Overall it's a fail. Expand
  47. IrishCoffe
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    Codemasters manages to kill Operation Flashpoint series, and this Dragon Rising doesnt offer anything mentioned by the AD campaign. In nearly every case, it's all about FUD for next to nothing a finished product. It can be clearly compared with "Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing".
  48. EvanS
    Nov 9, 2009
    3
    This is not a flashpoint 2, it's an arcade game, please dont buy it. I bought this game passed it in couple hours and deleted it, so just save your money for something else out ther, just get arma 2 or smth much better!
  49. IvanB
    Oct 20, 2009
    1
    I never ever in my life wrote a review on any game, i guess it is my only chance, I'm sorry, but this game is really disappointed me, i was waiting for it for so long, since i played on my old pentium 4 and was 18 years old, spent huge ammount of money to change my whole system just to play that ofp resistence game with that 5km range of detalisation, long time ago, feels like it was I never ever in my life wrote a review on any game, i guess it is my only chance, I'm sorry, but this game is really disappointed me, i was waiting for it for so long, since i played on my old pentium 4 and was 18 years old, spent huge ammount of money to change my whole system just to play that ofp resistence game with that 5km range of detalisation, long time ago, feels like it was yesterday, liked it very mutch since then, that filling of war reality hitting regular people, amazing story line, nothing comparing to that game is a 2nd part, unfortunate, I dont know what happend between bohemia interactive and codemasters, but i see now how it affected the new game, they were using that engine and they went very far from reality with dissapiering boddies, unneeded special effects, not reallistic textures of simple things like country roads, highways etc, night is super bright, feels like its a day exept rainy weather.. moon looks like some anime cartoon, seriously they ruined their great job with a lot of unnesesary things all they were talking about they ruined it with those stupid arcade like things, all sounds and all nice night lighting all were ruined, like your temmates reappiaring after their death... i would fire somebody from your team for that idia i'm sorry, that game supposed to be real, No stupid patroling the area missions.. no super long car driving to some far destination... Just make some civil missions without guns where you just walk all over that island.. omg i still have that feeling of huge disappointment.. And thoughts are like it will never happen again, the kinda game OFP was.. Will be forever in my heart! Goodbye Flashpoint Maybe somebody someday.. i hope i will be alive. Expand
  50. RadekK
    Dec 20, 2009
    3
    Too short, where are Heli / Tank missions? Not possible to rearm before mission? Yeah, US soldier without scope vs. Enemy with scope, snipers, etc. The first thing I did was to kill enemy with any scoped weapon. In flashpoint 1 there were ambush missions, heli, tanks, APC. Oh! The AI of my team - great - give them orders and they won't use the road, even if it there's no Too short, where are Heli / Tank missions? Not possible to rearm before mission? Yeah, US soldier without scope vs. Enemy with scope, snipers, etc. The first thing I did was to kill enemy with any scoped weapon. In flashpoint 1 there were ambush missions, heli, tanks, APC. Oh! The AI of my team - great - give them orders and they won't use the road, even if it there's no enemies. In effect they get stuck in trees and other obstacles. Flashpoint 1 was a lot better. Expand
  51. LousyDan
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    This game is quite disappointing for me as a pc user. First off I cant get it to run on my XP64 at all, gladly there are already forum threads concerning that issue - sadly none of them got a solution ... . On the other hand I got it to install on Windows7 64bit Laptop and it actually works. However it is not possible to force it to run with the native resolution of the LCD so its all This game is quite disappointing for me as a pc user. First off I cant get it to run on my XP64 at all, gladly there are already forum threads concerning that issue - sadly none of them got a solution ... . On the other hand I got it to install on Windows7 64bit Laptop and it actually works. However it is not possible to force it to run with the native resolution of the LCD so its all blurry. After several hours/days of trying to install and set up the game the way I would like it I had to resign and admit that the game and I are not compatible and that the game is way more persistent than I am. As for the few minutes I played this game with the settings I was forced to accept I have to say that it totally does not deliver what it promises graphically and technically. Expand
  52. GuillemL
    Oct 28, 2009
    2
    A design failure and an perfectly played marketing campaign. We were sold a completely different game and we have bitten hard. You can only fool us once CM!
  53. PuileT
    Jan 13, 2010
    2
    Nothing like OFP. Lack of Dedicated Server support makes MP unplayable. + 100 Bugs in game. + Waste of money + No player base.
  54. DazzlorD
    Oct 11, 2009
    4
    This game made me feel sick. I felt obliged to get it and unfortunately, it is that bad I forced myself to comment, (something which I have never done....EVER). Stay away, it is nothing like OFP, stick to ARMA. The perfect description for this game would be, COD4 mixed with sick. Though I imagine this game is an Ideal game for a console I must stress that the PC version should never have This game made me feel sick. I felt obliged to get it and unfortunately, it is that bad I forced myself to comment, (something which I have never done....EVER). Stay away, it is nothing like OFP, stick to ARMA. The perfect description for this game would be, COD4 mixed with sick. Though I imagine this game is an Ideal game for a console I must stress that the PC version should never have been created. Compare ARMA 2 with this and quickly becomes one of those NERF sponge missile simlulators. Expand
  55. JakubB
    Nov 12, 2009
    4
    That game is shitty, it has nothing with previous OF, this is buggy, with no character game. I know OF as a realistic game but OF:DR is som kinda joke! This is heavy, boring shit! BLEEE!!!!
  56. T.P
    Oct 13, 2009
    4
    Stupid AI? Check...didn't expect genius, but this is not even close.More like retarded. -Lack of realism? Check...you can't even lean from behind the object, you can't turn around in vehicle. I mean , c'mon, games from 90's have that, and not game that boasts being "most realistic simulation" - Control problems? check... lazy console port, radial menu...it takes Stupid AI? Check...didn't expect genius, but this is not even close.More like retarded. -Lack of realism? Check...you can't even lean from behind the object, you can't turn around in vehicle. I mean , c'mon, games from 90's have that, and not game that boasts being "most realistic simulation" - Control problems? check... lazy console port, radial menu...it takes ages for controls to work sometime. - Limited online? check.. lack of dedicated servers ,no anti-cheat , maps are very small 4x4 km - Graphics are good , but this is fighting game not Sims. Game is not simulation as ARMA or arcade like COD, but some sort of renegade hybrid in between that have gone wrong.Not worth $39.99, more like at most $19.99, if you really must have it. Although i really don't know why would you want it. Expand
  57. BradB
    Oct 14, 2009
    1
    First off because I got rid of *9 points, I'm going to give you the reason for each point being deducted. The short is that if you feel like participating as a BETA tester for OFP2DR then go ahead and spend $40.00 or $60.00 on the console side. If you want the Long explanation than keep reading. First I'll let you know the positive side. The game is open and has great graphics First off because I got rid of *9 points, I'm going to give you the reason for each point being deducted. The short is that if you feel like participating as a BETA tester for OFP2DR then go ahead and spend $40.00 or $60.00 on the console side. If you want the Long explanation than keep reading. First I'll let you know the positive side. The game is open and has great graphics for it's scale. But that's where the positive ends. Artificial intelligence: Codemasters bragged a lot about AI but there is simply a lack of intelligence of any kind, if you order a NPC team mate to do something chances are you'll be disappointed by the result and feel like killing them. They often don't move especially in multiplayer, they are pretty much useless and cause you to loose the battle online because they are standing around getting shot meaning more points for your enemy without a challenge. -1 point* Multiplayer: Simply put it sucks, there are only two game types Annihilation and Infiltration and for the two game types there are only 2 maps each about 2000 meters across... Far from open world and pretty much making helicopter action boring and impossible. Then there is the bugs... The multiplayer is plagued with many glitches and you'll often find yourself not able to find a game, and if you manage to find a game it drops you mid game, and if you manage to make it through chances are someone else wont and you won't gain any XP for ranked matches. -2 points* Controls: Vehicles are very choppy when moving, and ground physics are the worst I've seen since "Mario Cart" (the original) Pretty much when you hit a pebble on the ground your vehicle launches in the air about 30 to 40 feet and flips over, if you run into a tree you bounce off it like a toy car off of a rubber ball, and if you manage to avoid the pebbles and trees long enough and steer the glitchy moving vehicle then you run into another problem; there is no free look making the right thumbstick on a 360 completely unbound and your "realistic" inside view of a vehicle feels like a cops dashcam chase. Helicopter controls and physics are equally stupid, as you soon find out that in order to fly you constantly have to hold the right thumbstick up on the throttle while also using the same thumbstick to steer the helicopter left or right, at the same time your left stick is for yaw and pitch, there is no way to change this control without changing all of the controls together at once for ground, ground vehicle, and flight. Personally I like to have inverted helicopter flight and normal FPS combat, but there isn't any way to do that. And if you get off the ground and get used to that setup no matter how painful then your faced with small arms rifles being able to shoot you down almost the moment you take off and get close to an enemy target. Enemy AI has super-targeting and takes a super uber expensive chopper to the ground without breaking a sweat. -2 points* Campaign: There are many objective bugs that often make it impossible to finish your mission making for a long game based of repeating not based off of having fun. After you finish a mission it can glitch causing you to loose progress, and your AI team mates are pretty much useless but to be a distraction to the enemy while you attempt to surprise the all knowing enemy. But at the same time enemy AI glitches making it all too easy often and unrealistic. Also the story doesn't seem to co-exist, and you are faced with loading screens from mission to mission making the open world codemasters promised non-existent. -2 points* (the campaign is very important, and lacks attention to detail. An additional -2 points* for lack of customer service and initial release of a buggy game. Until this game gets recalled and reworked or the use of MAJOR patches it will be a mega Fail. I recommend if your looking for this experience on a console then don't, but if you've got a good rig get ARMA II for $50.00 the game is far better and although suffering some bugs, rest assured that the community on ARMA II is very active and the team at Bohemia Interactive listens to it's consumers and does actually work very hard at fixing bugs in the game. There have been enough patches to date now that bugs are rare, especially when compared to Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising. If your on a console then go ahead and get yourself CODMW2 when it releases at least you will have fun and have the confidence that the game has been tested prior to release. Expand
  58. EightballB
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Clearly a lame attempt to pass off a direct console port as a pc game. Its lacking in graphics and controls. Half the features CM claimed would be in it aren't. Abysmal online play. AI is utterly retarded. Vehicle control is a joke, mario cart has 1000x better. Missing animations everywhere. Only 4 MP maps. Co-op tether so you cant get more than 275 yrds from others. Simply a lame Clearly a lame attempt to pass off a direct console port as a pc game. Its lacking in graphics and controls. Half the features CM claimed would be in it aren't. Abysmal online play. AI is utterly retarded. Vehicle control is a joke, mario cart has 1000x better. Missing animations everywhere. Only 4 MP maps. Co-op tether so you cant get more than 275 yrds from others. Simply a lame attempt to capitalize on a well respected game series by a bunch of retards who couldn't program "hello world" to save their own lives. Expand
  59. JohnDoe
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    The game disappoints in every single way. - There is basically no story, just a block of text before each mission - No free-roaming (well you can on sone missions, but there's really nio poiint), - Enemy AI is terrible - So is your squad's -Graphics are mediocre - The audio is awful - The editor (that only comes with the PC version) is vastly inferior compared to others, like The game disappoints in every single way. - There is basically no story, just a block of text before each mission - No free-roaming (well you can on sone missions, but there's really nio poiint), - Enemy AI is terrible - So is your squad's -Graphics are mediocre - The audio is awful - The editor (that only comes with the PC version) is vastly inferior compared to others, like the one in ArmA 2. - MP is trash - Co-op can be fun The game is a disgrace to the Operation Flashpoint name, and has ruined the franchise. It's not a sim either, like the original Flashpoint (made by Bohemia Interactive). Codemasters cut so many features and straight out lied on so many points with thise game, for the sake of gaming do not buy this game. If you're looking for a good military simulator go buy the original Operation Flashpoint, or the spiritual successors ArmA and ArmA 2. Both ArmA games are made by Bohemia Interactive (the makers OFP 1), and is better than OFP DR in EVERY single way. I Expand
  60. MichaelO
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Such a shame, put around 10 hours into this game (pc version) now and it is simply garbage :( Multiplayer is horrible, connections keep getting dropped, no dedicated servers, graphics have been taken from the year 2005, i got suckered into the hype :-( I will keep the game for 1 month to allow some kind of super mystery patch from Codemasters, if it is not improved after 4 weeks i am Such a shame, put around 10 hours into this game (pc version) now and it is simply garbage :( Multiplayer is horrible, connections keep getting dropped, no dedicated servers, graphics have been taken from the year 2005, i got suckered into the hype :-( I will keep the game for 1 month to allow some kind of super mystery patch from Codemasters, if it is not improved after 4 weeks i am selling this copy on to somebody else. What a waste! Expand
  61. CalebM
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    Worst Game on PS3 EVER! Stay Clear of this one. Codemasters have alot of work to do to get there REP back. Glitches/Bugs, The game was designed for 360 ported to PC and PS3. The PS3 has the worst graphics. All games have problems though, mostly in Multiplayer. It is a FUN game, but this is ruined in minutes.
  62. BigAlJ
    Nov 7, 2009
    0
    A pretty poor game by todays standards. SP has very limited replayability, highly scripted battles. MP is pretty much unplayable due to a crappy p2p system and dreadful lobby and it seems the game is dieing online with less and less servers running everyday, loads of aimbot users which are immune cause the host can't kick!!!. Vehicle physics are still way out ( watch a 20 ton tank A pretty poor game by todays standards. SP has very limited replayability, highly scripted battles. MP is pretty much unplayable due to a crappy p2p system and dreadful lobby and it seems the game is dieing online with less and less servers running everyday, loads of aimbot users which are immune cause the host can't kick!!!. Vehicle physics are still way out ( watch a 20 ton tank bounce off a tree ). Still loads of problems even after the patch, which fixed very little of any importance ( yes we can watch the credits properly now! ). Utter and complete rubbish in todays gaming world Expand
  63. VilleK
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    Outright lies and blatant underachieving from the start. There isn't much more to say. If you are interested in a brainless shooter that's released broken, go right ahead.
  64. JustinF
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    Worst Game ever. Who ever gave this game above 40 is lieing. This game is a POS. Single player was of but MP isnt play able and fulled with bugs. Stick with ARMA. Last code masters game I will ever buy
  65. BrianV
    Dec 31, 2009
    0
    This game teaches us that realistic isn't good. After the first 30 minutes of playing i just quit, it was just so BAD! You walk far too much, it's very boring and the enemy AI is just... bad! Nothing good to say about this horrible game just DO NOT buy it!
  66. JoeBongo
    Dec 4, 2009
    3
    Fantastic but short single player game. Multiplayer is broken badly in the same way as MW2 - no dedicated servers and no plans from CM to put them in. Netcode causes very frequent disconnections and no "join in game" means if you are lucky enough to connect then after 10 mins you'll be playing with few people. Probably worth waiting for this to cost a tenner if that unless CM start Fantastic but short single player game. Multiplayer is broken badly in the same way as MW2 - no dedicated servers and no plans from CM to put them in. Netcode causes very frequent disconnections and no "join in game" means if you are lucky enough to connect then after 10 mins you'll be playing with few people. Probably worth waiting for this to cost a tenner if that unless CM start fixing it, but they don't communicate well so nobody knows if they even understand why this console ported game is not doing well on PC. Expand
  67. DaveD
    Nov 18, 2009
    1
    Its really awful. The AI is so buggy that you can't rely on your squad in SP, you have to complete most the missions single handed. Trying to issue certain commands (like "Treat Wounded") is impossible as you have to put your crosshairs on the soldier, but he wont stay still when you are trying to do it ! The MP is non-existant - no dedicated servers ! I've been disappointed Its really awful. The AI is so buggy that you can't rely on your squad in SP, you have to complete most the missions single handed. Trying to issue certain commands (like "Treat Wounded") is impossible as you have to put your crosshairs on the soldier, but he wont stay still when you are trying to do it ! The MP is non-existant - no dedicated servers ! I've been disappointed with CodeMasters before, this just persuaded me to never buy anything they do again. Terrible "game". Expand
  68. Aidan.
    Dec 24, 2009
    2
    Terrible!.. The other Op Flashpoint games where decent but this is terrible? Too many commands, too many orders, can't even select a weapon without digging though menus?!?!?! I thought this was a shooter not an RPG? I don't want to claw through 4 menus just to find out I want a pistol I want to click point shot just like that not this.. This might be one for the hard core nerds Terrible!.. The other Op Flashpoint games where decent but this is terrible? Too many commands, too many orders, can't even select a weapon without digging though menus?!?!?! I thought this was a shooter not an RPG? I don't want to claw through 4 menus just to find out I want a pistol I want to click point shot just like that not this.. This might be one for the hard core nerds outt here that want to command and shoot at the same time. I just want to shoot homer simpson style! Expand
  69. Nov 30, 2011
    2
    This game took away everything that made original Operation Flashpoint great and replaced it with average console shooter junk.

    Away is the freedom, customization, user made content, modding, atmospheric campaign, challenging missions, "feel of being there". All we got is bland terrain, repetitive missions, dumb AI, corridor shooter feeling when traveling from checkpoint to checkpoint,
    This game took away everything that made original Operation Flashpoint great and replaced it with average console shooter junk.

    Away is the freedom, customization, user made content, modding, atmospheric campaign, challenging missions, "feel of being there".

    All we got is bland terrain, repetitive missions, dumb AI, corridor shooter feeling when traveling from checkpoint to checkpoint, magic bullet shield that makes enemies shoot all around you but not at you, horrible short campaign.
    Expand
  70. May 19, 2011
    1
    My computer is worth about $2500. This game used five. This was a really dishonest outing by Codemasters. Aside from the shoddy product and the misleading ads. . . uh, seriously, Astroturfing campaigns? Really guys? How much did you want to milk somebody else's hard work for, and bilk their fans? You might have just put in the effort and made a good game instead, it would have beenMy computer is worth about $2500. This game used five. This was a really dishonest outing by Codemasters. Aside from the shoddy product and the misleading ads. . . uh, seriously, Astroturfing campaigns? Really guys? How much did you want to milk somebody else's hard work for, and bilk their fans? You might have just put in the effort and made a good game instead, it would have been less trouble. Expand
  71. Jul 21, 2011
    0
    Poor console port, its playable but fails on every level, AI, animations, vehicles, its pretty poor and uninspired. The best part of the game is probably game menu, and it still sucks because of the song they put in there.
  72. Sep 1, 2012
    4
    Grapically, this game is very well done. But gameplay wise.... it's quite boring. The environment is very detailed when you are outside, but when you step inside a structure you will see completely empty rooms with the occasional mutilated corpse. Enemies are snipers from long rage but are completely brain dead when it comes to killing you if you reside inside a building. Multiplayer isGrapically, this game is very well done. But gameplay wise.... it's quite boring. The environment is very detailed when you are outside, but when you step inside a structure you will see completely empty rooms with the occasional mutilated corpse. Enemies are snipers from long rage but are completely brain dead when it comes to killing you if you reside inside a building. Multiplayer is broken so that you will constantly lose connections to the server/other player who is host. Not a game i recommend purchasing, even for fans of military simulators. Expand
  73. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    Good graphics but not as realistic as the first and no dedicated server support for multi-player. Huge foul up on Codemasters' part. They basically made it for consoles and then ported it to the PC. Bad idea.
  74. Apr 18, 2012
    3
    Falls short of its potential. Severe consolitis, some frustrating gameplay, mouse acceleration, too low FOV, a bit too arcade... It tries to be a simulator with arcade gameplay which does not work. Totally overshadowed by the ARMA series which does everything except the singleplayer campaign better. While I recommend some mediocre games provided you can buy them for next to nothing, I'mFalls short of its potential. Severe consolitis, some frustrating gameplay, mouse acceleration, too low FOV, a bit too arcade... It tries to be a simulator with arcade gameplay which does not work. Totally overshadowed by the ARMA series which does everything except the singleplayer campaign better. While I recommend some mediocre games provided you can buy them for next to nothing, I'm not sure this is one of them - you should have better things to do. Expand
  75. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    Despite the blithering chatter of the roughly one-in-three who actually enjoyed this game, I have taken to reviewing this piece of sh!t despite having played it for only a few minutes. I fully accept that I only get one shot at reviewing each game (yeah, thanks metacritic -- it's not like any of us ever play something more than once, right?), but I cannot in all good conscience go on toDespite the blithering chatter of the roughly one-in-three who actually enjoyed this game, I have taken to reviewing this piece of sh!t despite having played it for only a few minutes. I fully accept that I only get one shot at reviewing each game (yeah, thanks metacritic -- it's not like any of us ever play something more than once, right?), but I cannot in all good conscience go on to recommend this POS even if I DO find some website that tells me how to do something basic and get past the first part of the first level. I started it, I liked the setting, I don't mind the stilted motion, the ordinary graphics (reminds me a lot of Ghost Recon 2001), and overly-technical interface. But EXACTLY LIKE THAT EQUALLY SH!TTY ARMA2, it is the INABILITY TO ISSUE ONE SINGLE ORDER -- YOU THERE, BLOW UP THAT RADAR -- THAT EARNS THIS GAME P.O.S. OF THE YEAR! Well done, Codemasters. You have successfully gone where your former teammates in the ARMAtards went and produced a COMPREHENSIVELY UN-INTUITIVE INTERFACE that leaves the VERY FIRST MISSION victim of a SACF command. I'm serious. I can weave my way with complete deceptiveness toward the radar installation. I can flank and gun down a dozen enemy troops, but I cannot, in all the menus, in all the commands, with all the keyboard shortcuts, figure how I am s'posed to tell that guy, yeah you with the massive C4 belt hanging around your neck, to blow up THAT radar installation. I mean, the idiot should just KNOW to do it, but I'll forgive his adherence to chain of command. But, nup, I am apparently a complete 'tard because there is no way that radar is ever getting blown up. I even lost the other two teams waiting for me to do it and come help them, but they got wasted waiting for my a$$. I'm gobsmacked. Who writes this crap? If we got this from the likes of EA or Sony or any of them, there's be riots in the streets with people wanting to burn alive the UI designers and the QA testers. So why do we accept this from codemasters just because they're amateurs? Does that make this nonsense acceptable? No, I say. If the "you there, blow that up" command isn't in the field manual, and isn't in the options, nor in the keyboard commands, and CERTAINLY cannot be chanced upon, then I consider that counter-intuitive bullsh17. And men have died for less! In short, unless you LIKE puzzle games where figuring out the command structure of the game IS the puzzle, then leave this crap right alone. Expand
  76. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    Pretty disappointing. The graphics look good and the gameplay style is what it is supposed to be, but that's the only purely positive things about it. Everything else is flawed in someway.

    The friendly AI in your fire team is completely incompetent most of the time. If you order them to assault they can be helpful, but most of the time will not take cover or fire effectively like the
    Pretty disappointing. The graphics look good and the gameplay style is what it is supposed to be, but that's the only purely positive things about it. Everything else is flawed in someway.

    The friendly AI in your fire team is completely incompetent most of the time. If you order them to assault they can be helpful, but most of the time will not take cover or fire effectively like the enemy AI do. If you order one to heal another you can't cover them because if you move they move too and never get it done.
    If you order suppressive fire, well maybe they will maybe they won't. The vehicles are more of a pain in the ass to command. THERE'S NO WAY TO LOOK AROUND YOU. Better hope there's never an enemy behind you because there's no way to order your gunner to shoot them. You can't turn your head?! So realistic! And again, you can't be sure you men will even get in.
    The saves at checkpoints doesn't make any sense. If you die you don't start where you were at the last checkpoint. they just stick you were they expected you to be! And you will not have any of the weapons you had when you reached that check point. There at least needs to be one save per mission, like in Cold war crisis, if they're going to be that stupid.
    The map is annoying. In the briefing, before a mission, there's little icons and they say you need to clear a road but there's nothing showing what road, what route the units you're escorting are taking. Really **** briefings. As for the "realistic trajectories" it seems that means bullets fly randomly. There's a difference between bullet drop, wind effect and bullets not hitting where you aim. All in all, I don't understand why CM keep putting this half finished crap out. Arma 2 was horrible because it was lacking aspects of Dragon Rising. Dragon Rising is lacking aspects or Arma 2. There hasn't been much improvement since Cold War Crisis in my opinion. Instead of continuing to turn out **** they need to just finish one of these games. I want to finish it but I don't think I'll be able to deal with the frustration.
    Expand
  77. Animus404
    Oct 13, 2009
    4
    Not the worst game I've ever played and definitely not the worst. Where this game falls down is that it was sold to the games playing public as a military simulator and many people but it thinking it is. However this is an arcade game masquerading as a milsim, I guess the bottom line is if your after a milsim buy Arma2 if you want a fun modern warfare game get COD4 you'll have a Not the worst game I've ever played and definitely not the worst. Where this game falls down is that it was sold to the games playing public as a military simulator and many people but it thinking it is. However this is an arcade game masquerading as a milsim, I guess the bottom line is if your after a milsim buy Arma2 if you want a fun modern warfare game get COD4 you'll have a better time with both of these, and they even have a dedicated server rather than a poor excuse for a multiplayer which ships with Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising. Expand
  78. Jan 30, 2014
    2
    It's really a trash game, tried first on PS3, it was awful, later the demo on PC, yeah... trash, walk a long circle around this one, if you really want to see it for yourself, try the demo. I Thought it was like the old Rainbow six, where you also could make your own load-out, but no, here is your M16A4 instead.
  79. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    Game is stupid,AI good accuracy at long distances(Like if they were carrying sniper rifles)while regardless your skill u cant hit enemies sometimes due to bullet spread or drop or w/e,bad accuracy at short ranges,ally AI sucks ,sometimes they dont look for cover and go into melee range at close quarters.... the PC version sucks even FAR CRY 1 the very first one looks better in every sense
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. It's not perfect, there are little problems and niggles that can be found if you look for them, but none of them spoil the game or ruin the playing experience.
  2. Operation Flashpoint 2 is a simulation, but it’s a simulation that is actually fun to play.
  3. Maybe it lacks some innovation and graphics appeal, as if time had made expectations too great, but it is a very good first step for the series to continue.