User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 524 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mikec
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Have played ofp, arma, arma2, bf1-2142, cod, moh. this is what arma2 should have been. nice graphics, nice sound, fairly good controls. they didn't make this game a 100% realistic BORING sim. they made this game a realistic FUN sim. sure it needs some tweaking here and there but its NOTHING like how bad arma2 is. running 1920x1200 max EVERYTHING and getting 60 fps. i'm not a bigHave played ofp, arma, arma2, bf1-2142, cod, moh. this is what arma2 should have been. nice graphics, nice sound, fairly good controls. they didn't make this game a 100% realistic BORING sim. they made this game a realistic FUN sim. sure it needs some tweaking here and there but its NOTHING like how bad arma2 is. running 1920x1200 max EVERYTHING and getting 60 fps. i'm not a big fan of alot of multiplayer games since cheaters and people that play video games as a career have ruined most. i have not tried PVP but the campaign CO-OP is FUN! like someone else said, moving and changing weapons/inventory would be nice. would love to see lots of addon maps/scenarios to co-op play. it's not run and gun like cod, moh, bf1-2142 but its also not OVERLY boring like arma1-2 and the original flashpoint. Expand
  2. MichaelJ
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    I think its weird how different people perceive this game, i think its awesome, a bit more "Arcady" than Arma II but thats not a bad thing IMO. I bought the game yesterday and spent 5-6 hours with 4 of my friends doing the co-op missions and i havent had this much fun in a long time. The game is far from perfect, but it is definitely worth buying if youre in to games like Arma/Arma II - I think its weird how different people perceive this game, i think its awesome, a bit more "Arcady" than Arma II but thats not a bad thing IMO. I bought the game yesterday and spent 5-6 hours with 4 of my friends doing the co-op missions and i havent had this much fun in a long time. The game is far from perfect, but it is definitely worth buying if youre in to games like Arma/Arma II - GRAW 1 & 2 and those type of games. Ill give it 8.5 out of 10. Expand
  3. PhilipD
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Leave the game along. It's not like ARMA, and I find it refreshing. I love the OFP / ARMA series, but 3 games, all with the same bugs and problems, quickly becomes boring. This game, on the other hand, doesn't seme to have the same problems. In fact, I prefer it. The graphics run smoothly on my PC in the way that OFP, ARMA and ARMA 2 never did. They felt delayed, even if at a Leave the game along. It's not like ARMA, and I find it refreshing. I love the OFP / ARMA series, but 3 games, all with the same bugs and problems, quickly becomes boring. This game, on the other hand, doesn't seme to have the same problems. In fact, I prefer it. The graphics run smoothly on my PC in the way that OFP, ARMA and ARMA 2 never did. They felt delayed, even if at a constant 60 fps. The aiming is easier on this game, the controls are more responsive and the levels are, frankly, more fun. I don't know why Mr xbox review is rating this in the PC section, or comparing it to Arma 2 which is still buggy, despite being released for MUCH longer than this game. I agree about the vehicles. They bounce a lot. Personally I still prefer them to Arma 2's fake rollercoaster ride. COD is a plague on the community. Stop comparing games like OFP to COD. They're not the same. ARMA and OFP aim for realism, and the only reason that this game is easier than ARMA is because playing tactically on this game allows you to complete a mission. With Arma it's pretty much chance. Also, it's easier to aim in this game, it feels as if it's programmed for a mouse instead of ARMA, which seems to think it's reading desktop mouse movements and trying to convert it into a FPS viewing engine. Give this game a chance, people, and I guarantee you you'll find it rewarding and fun. Think of it as a smaller, polished version of ARMA2, with faster (if lower) graphics (though it's more artistically balanced, compared to Arma's polygon frenzy). It's a decent game and is actually an alternative to the Arma series. it isn't a clone and in all honesty I think that this is the better game. As for realism... well, who cares. I only want realism so that I can annoy the hardcore veterans on multiplayer, and I think I'll still be able to with this game. Good game! Expand
  4. marior
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Great game. The graphics are very fluid and functional. I just finished the single player campaign and enjoyed it. So I suggest the game for fans of Ghost Recon series or Brothers in Arms.
  5. TonyU
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    This is a fun game. If you read all the reviews, the one thing that ruined it for people were their own expectations. If you approach this game neutrally and play it for what it is, you will have fun. It does fall short of the original, but that fact alone does not prevent it from being an entertaining game. It does have a few aesthetic glitches and the missions could have been crafted This is a fun game. If you read all the reviews, the one thing that ruined it for people were their own expectations. If you approach this game neutrally and play it for what it is, you will have fun. It does fall short of the original, but that fact alone does not prevent it from being an entertaining game. It does have a few aesthetic glitches and the missions could have been crafted better. That being said, however, you will have fun playing through the single player campaign. And it appears that Codemasters will be releasing additional levels, so there is hope they will produce some grand battles. With OFP 2, it seems that so many aspects of a great game are present, but fail to click, leaving the totality of the game short of greatness. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    A Very, very good single-player champaign, sure the AI is not perfect here and there but hey, it's acceptable. The levels are fun and very exciting. I was never a huge fan of the original title, but this, this hooked me, and even on the second play-through I was ever so hooked. I recommend this title for anyone who enjoys open world war games, it is beautiful and plays like aA Very, very good single-player champaign, sure the AI is not perfect here and there but hey, it's acceptable. The levels are fun and very exciting. I was never a huge fan of the original title, but this, this hooked me, and even on the second play-through I was ever so hooked. I recommend this title for anyone who enjoys open world war games, it is beautiful and plays like a charm.....Don't get why some people says that it's ugly and bland... Obviously it should be bland, it's not COD make-belief environments.. This is the way things look in war!! Expand
  7. ChrisW
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    I've only had time to play through the first couple of missions.... but I'm really loving this game. The game-play feels very fluid and keeps your heart pumping. I love the option of going wherever I want to go to complete a task. I'm not stuck to the path that someone else has chosen for me. The graphics are beautiful and believable. The sound effects are absolutely I've only had time to play through the first couple of missions.... but I'm really loving this game. The game-play feels very fluid and keeps your heart pumping. I love the option of going wherever I want to go to complete a task. I'm not stuck to the path that someone else has chosen for me. The graphics are beautiful and believable. The sound effects are absolutely amazing. I put on a pair of nice headphones and was blown away by the immersion I felt from the sound and graphics. The command system takes some getting used to. In order to command your squad mates you hit the "Q" key and it will bring a central display that has 4 directional choices which can be selected using "W,A,S,D". The only problem I have with this system is that you have to stop moving in order to issue simple commands. Other than that, the layout is very intuitive. I have played ARMA2 quite a bit and find that it's too simulator like for me and feels obtuse and unnatural. Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising is a great balance between simulation and fun game-play. Expand
  8. ThomasLittler
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    This game is absoulutly awsome. I have been waiting for this game ever since i finished the first one and its everything I was hoping for. The graphics and audio are second to none. It runs so smoothly and fluidly that it leaves you only one thing to think about - staying alive, rather than how much your gonna have to spend on a new PC to play it. Which is good, as staying alive isnt as This game is absoulutly awsome. I have been waiting for this game ever since i finished the first one and its everything I was hoping for. The graphics and audio are second to none. It runs so smoothly and fluidly that it leaves you only one thing to think about - staying alive, rather than how much your gonna have to spend on a new PC to play it. Which is good, as staying alive isnt as easy as it sounds. The a.i is very convincing and it feels more like your actualy fighting people rather than fighting robots which is how Arma seems to me. I see a lot of people are saying that it has fallen victim to consolitis and that it shouldnt have been dumbed down for the consoles, and a lot of people are saying the opposite and that its to realistic and not enough fun... I feel that codemasters have made an excelent compromise here between realism and fun, and the fact I can play it on my 360 and my PC i can only see as a bonus! This game is utterly fantastic! It brings back all the good memory's and aspects that made the original game so undeniably awesome. Expand
  9. simonh
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    I was expecting this game to be a fun free war sim, but I was pleasantly surprised. Its kind of like BF2, but its far more tactical, with awesome graphics, and many realistic features. Wheres this game been all my life!
  10. jonl
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    I'm loving this game! Totally reminds me of ghost recon. 32 multiplayer doesnt really work, but this game is made for co-op missions. Graphics, sounds etc are awesome, and the size of the island is massive.
  11. AndreasM
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Operation flashpoint: Dragon Rising lives up to operation flashpoint 1, but the perk is that this is more smooth, more entertaining and last but not at least it is very dynamic. The gameplay is truly awesome. THX codemasters you did it again.
  12. PeteJ
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. MP could be better, but the gameplay makes up for any problems. Needs a couple of tweaks, but apparently theyre due to be fixed in a patch that is due in a couple of weeks. The game is best played in Co-op with friends. It is seriously good fun, and I cant wait to see what the community produces with the built in editor.
  13. pauls
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    It is not what I was expecting as a sequel to OFP the greatest military sim ever IMO. I think if they labled this game something other than OFP2 there would not be so much mixed feelings about the game. The more fluid arcade like controls and interface in OFP2 are a welcome change but this game on release still leaves a lot to be desired from any hard core classic OFP fan. When the major It is not what I was expecting as a sequel to OFP the greatest military sim ever IMO. I think if they labled this game something other than OFP2 there would not be so much mixed feelings about the game. The more fluid arcade like controls and interface in OFP2 are a welcome change but this game on release still leaves a lot to be desired from any hard core classic OFP fan. When the major kinks and quarks and the mod community gets going for this game and dedicated server support is released OFP2 will truely reach its full potential. I remain optimistic as to the future of OFP francise. Expand
  14. DannyB.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    fantastic game. Im so glad this isnt an arma 2 twin. the gameplay is far better, and a lot more fun and accessable than arma 2, which was over complicated, and ruined itselft by trying to be too realistic, which ruined the fun aspect. OF2 is excellent, and exceeds all my expectations. The gfx are brilliant, the AI is spot on (for me anyway), everyone has a different experience with the fantastic game. Im so glad this isnt an arma 2 twin. the gameplay is far better, and a lot more fun and accessable than arma 2, which was over complicated, and ruined itselft by trying to be too realistic, which ruined the fun aspect. OF2 is excellent, and exceeds all my expectations. The gfx are brilliant, the AI is spot on (for me anyway), everyone has a different experience with the AI. The atmosphere aswell, is also spot on. Best game ive bought for a very long time for pc, however the console versions arent very good at all. Expand
  15. AliK
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    I don't get why everyone's trashing this game. This game is for me, the best first person shooter since Modern Warfare! Not a game goes by that I don't play this game; It's difficulty, which post people seem to whine about is in my opinion it's best feature!
  16. Alex
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    Great game ! I' have played the first 4 missions of the SP campaign. The airport assault is great, far better than ArmA 2 (which I also played). OFP Dragon rising gameplay is good and fluid. Great production, really. If you have a decent pc (Core 2, GeForce 8800), the graphics are quite good and functional to the gameplay. I'm happy until now that I bought it. ArmA 2 has annoyed Great game ! I' have played the first 4 missions of the SP campaign. The airport assault is great, far better than ArmA 2 (which I also played). OFP Dragon rising gameplay is good and fluid. Great production, really. If you have a decent pc (Core 2, GeForce 8800), the graphics are quite good and functional to the gameplay. I'm happy until now that I bought it. ArmA 2 has annoyed me with its bugs, graphical issues and useless complexity. OFP Dragon Rising has a good mission editor, too. Expand
  17. RemiC
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    One of the best games of the year, could be longer. Some missions are much longer than other ones. Multiplayer is confusing.
  18. M
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Great game if your into tactical shooters.Its not like modern warfare 2 but its still more fun if your really into more realistic shooters.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. It's not perfect, there are little problems and niggles that can be found if you look for them, but none of them spoil the game or ruin the playing experience.
  2. Operation Flashpoint 2 is a simulation, but it’s a simulation that is actually fun to play.
  3. Maybe it lacks some innovation and graphics appeal, as if time had made expectations too great, but it is a very good first step for the series to continue.