User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinF
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    Worst Game ever. Who ever gave this game above 40 is lieing. This game is a POS. Single player was of but MP isnt play able and fulled with bugs. Stick with ARMA. Last code masters game I will ever buy
  2. BrianV
    Dec 31, 2009
    0
    This game teaches us that realistic isn't good. After the first 30 minutes of playing i just quit, it was just so BAD! You walk far too much, it's very boring and the enemy AI is just... bad! Nothing good to say about this horrible game just DO NOT buy it!
  3. JoeBongo
    Dec 4, 2009
    3
    Fantastic but short single player game. Multiplayer is broken badly in the same way as MW2 - no dedicated servers and no plans from CM to put them in. Netcode causes very frequent disconnections and no "join in game" means if you are lucky enough to connect then after 10 mins you'll be playing with few people. Probably worth waiting for this to cost a tenner if that unless CM start Fantastic but short single player game. Multiplayer is broken badly in the same way as MW2 - no dedicated servers and no plans from CM to put them in. Netcode causes very frequent disconnections and no "join in game" means if you are lucky enough to connect then after 10 mins you'll be playing with few people. Probably worth waiting for this to cost a tenner if that unless CM start fixing it, but they don't communicate well so nobody knows if they even understand why this console ported game is not doing well on PC. Expand
  4. NelsonM
    Nov 17, 2009
    8
    This game is one of the best war game has been done, and the closest thing to a war simulator. Is the problem that is easy to shoot the enemy at long distances, but the rest it was excellent. What is needed is made to add a better story. The multiplayer (at least if you use it in Venezuela and I) is slow and troubled. In short, a good game if you do not want a great story and an This game is one of the best war game has been done, and the closest thing to a war simulator. Is the problem that is easy to shoot the enemy at long distances, but the rest it was excellent. What is needed is made to add a better story. The multiplayer (at least if you use it in Venezuela and I) is slow and troubled. In short, a good game if you do not want a great story and an interesting multiplayer, more realistic and difficult than other FPS. Expand
  5. DaveD
    Nov 18, 2009
    1
    Its really awful. The AI is so buggy that you can't rely on your squad in SP, you have to complete most the missions single handed. Trying to issue certain commands (like "Treat Wounded") is impossible as you have to put your crosshairs on the soldier, but he wont stay still when you are trying to do it ! The MP is non-existant - no dedicated servers ! I've been disappointed Its really awful. The AI is so buggy that you can't rely on your squad in SP, you have to complete most the missions single handed. Trying to issue certain commands (like "Treat Wounded") is impossible as you have to put your crosshairs on the soldier, but he wont stay still when you are trying to do it ! The MP is non-existant - no dedicated servers ! I've been disappointed with CodeMasters before, this just persuaded me to never buy anything they do again. Terrible "game". Expand
  6. Aidan.
    Dec 24, 2009
    2
    Terrible!.. The other Op Flashpoint games where decent but this is terrible? Too many commands, too many orders, can't even select a weapon without digging though menus?!?!?! I thought this was a shooter not an RPG? I don't want to claw through 4 menus just to find out I want a pistol I want to click point shot just like that not this.. This might be one for the hard core nerds Terrible!.. The other Op Flashpoint games where decent but this is terrible? Too many commands, too many orders, can't even select a weapon without digging though menus?!?!?! I thought this was a shooter not an RPG? I don't want to claw through 4 menus just to find out I want a pistol I want to click point shot just like that not this.. This might be one for the hard core nerds outt here that want to command and shoot at the same time. I just want to shoot homer simpson style! Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2010
    7
    This game is a love hate relationship for me. I love it because of the freedom it gives you to command your fireteam to victory based on the scenario and your strategy type. Whether you want to march in there head first guns a blazing, or let 3 and 4 flank right as you and 2 lay suppressive fire down. Not that you can always do that. Finding the best strategy and learning from mistakes isThis game is a love hate relationship for me. I love it because of the freedom it gives you to command your fireteam to victory based on the scenario and your strategy type. Whether you want to march in there head first guns a blazing, or let 3 and 4 flank right as you and 2 lay suppressive fire down. Not that you can always do that. Finding the best strategy and learning from mistakes is what this game is all about. By the final mission, you will have the talent built up enough for you to go through it your first try. This has to be the most realistic shooters of our generation so far. All marine corps and military jargon and slang is put in to this game, after a while you get used to it and can impress your friend by saying " I'm oscar mike" or " the target is 2 klicks north". The game's HUD has your fireteam members on the left. Pressing Q will make a order list appear giving you a list of commands to choose from. Things like "tighten up", " Combat Spread", "move fast", " fire on my lead", "assault" and most importantly " medic!". The Health system is very similar to a Ghost recon game. Except Operation Flashpoint has a more forgiving system. A minor flesh wound will show up as a yellow mark on the injury indicator, a direct hit will be an orange mark, and a bad hit will be red indicating you are bleeding out with a timer on the side telling you how much time you have. A medic will fix all wounds back to normal status with an unrealistic syringe prick, that's all. A field kit will stabilize you and keep the wounds so that they wont bleed out. More realistic. The graphics are visually amazing for the scenery and gun models, but the Character models lack significantly. The music for the opening menu is making piss myself everytime i hear it. It releases my tribal instincts to be the best i can and tear up heads. Then there is my favorite part, the mission editor. The game comes with a mission editor that give you a map of Skira and lets you put thing around the map. Giving you the option to make your own mission or screw around with different scenarios. It can be confusing at first but when you get the hang of it. Its the most fun you could have. With this being said lets go on to the hate part. The Campaign is boring most of the time. Vehicles can only be used when they are traveling around. Until the last mission, only ground vehicles such as trucks, cars, and Humvees are available, maybe a tank or two. Firefights happen every once and a while but can be boring most of the time. Even so, when laying down on the ground, you cant see two feet in front of you in the never ending tall grass, only in buildings can you do this. This is extremely frustrating because you are way easier to hit when standing or crouched. Them there is the fact you can only change your weapons when you find an enemy weapon's box or a dead body of either yours or of the enemy. This is extremely frustrating because the ammo is so delicate, you need to find a crate or a body to collect more. Even when you find a body, it need to be the same weapon type to collect ammo. So you may have to switch out guns, seeing how the PLA weapons are nearly useless. Next, the enemy Ai seem to just stand around rather than patrol an area when you are attacking, and they cant see 5 feet in front of themselves at night. This makes it extremely easy. Not to mention both friendly and enemy AI are extremely inaccurate. Glitch riddled gameplay plagues this game head to toe. If it wasn't for the great overall story, gameplay interface, and mission editor. It would get a two. This would be without a doubt my favorite game if it wasn't so painful to play. Regardless, i give it a 7 for effort at a great game, you lucked out. Playability: 8. Gameplay: 6. Graphics: 8. Sounds: 9. Replay value: medium Expand
  8. Nov 30, 2011
    2
    This game took away everything that made original Operation Flashpoint great and replaced it with average console shooter junk.

    Away is the freedom, customization, user made content, modding, atmospheric campaign, challenging missions, "feel of being there". All we got is bland terrain, repetitive missions, dumb AI, corridor shooter feeling when traveling from checkpoint to checkpoint,
    This game took away everything that made original Operation Flashpoint great and replaced it with average console shooter junk.

    Away is the freedom, customization, user made content, modding, atmospheric campaign, challenging missions, "feel of being there".

    All we got is bland terrain, repetitive missions, dumb AI, corridor shooter feeling when traveling from checkpoint to checkpoint, magic bullet shield that makes enemies shoot all around you but not at you, horrible short campaign.
    Expand
  9. May 19, 2011
    1
    My computer is worth about $2500. This game used five. This was a really dishonest outing by Codemasters. Aside from the shoddy product and the misleading ads. . . uh, seriously, Astroturfing campaigns? Really guys? How much did you want to milk somebody else's hard work for, and bilk their fans? You might have just put in the effort and made a good game instead, it would have beenMy computer is worth about $2500. This game used five. This was a really dishonest outing by Codemasters. Aside from the shoddy product and the misleading ads. . . uh, seriously, Astroturfing campaigns? Really guys? How much did you want to milk somebody else's hard work for, and bilk their fans? You might have just put in the effort and made a good game instead, it would have been less trouble. Expand
  10. Jul 21, 2011
    0
    Poor console port, its playable but fails on every level, AI, animations, vehicles, its pretty poor and uninspired. The best part of the game is probably game menu, and it still sucks because of the song they put in there.
  11. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    This is not a true Operation Flashpoint, nor is it as good as ArmA. Military simulators, in my opinion, do not even belong on the consoles. But this is a fine effort, and I enjoyed the single player regardless. The game needs better A.I. and a graphics engine more suited for simulator type games (it looks okay, but it is impossible to see if enemies are behind cover at a distance). ButThis is not a true Operation Flashpoint, nor is it as good as ArmA. Military simulators, in my opinion, do not even belong on the consoles. But this is a fine effort, and I enjoyed the single player regardless. The game needs better A.I. and a graphics engine more suited for simulator type games (it looks okay, but it is impossible to see if enemies are behind cover at a distance). But other than that, it's not a bad game. It makes me eager to see if more developers will make better games just like this one for the console market. Expand
  12. Sep 1, 2012
    4
    Grapically, this game is very well done. But gameplay wise.... it's quite boring. The environment is very detailed when you are outside, but when you step inside a structure you will see completely empty rooms with the occasional mutilated corpse. Enemies are snipers from long rage but are completely brain dead when it comes to killing you if you reside inside a building. Multiplayer isGrapically, this game is very well done. But gameplay wise.... it's quite boring. The environment is very detailed when you are outside, but when you step inside a structure you will see completely empty rooms with the occasional mutilated corpse. Enemies are snipers from long rage but are completely brain dead when it comes to killing you if you reside inside a building. Multiplayer is broken so that you will constantly lose connections to the server/other player who is host. Not a game i recommend purchasing, even for fans of military simulators. Expand
  13. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    Good graphics but not as realistic as the first and no dedicated server support for multi-player. Huge foul up on Codemasters' part. They basically made it for consoles and then ported it to the PC. Bad idea.
  14. Apr 18, 2012
    3
    Falls short of its potential. Severe consolitis, some frustrating gameplay, mouse acceleration, too low FOV, a bit too arcade... It tries to be a simulator with arcade gameplay which does not work. Totally overshadowed by the ARMA series which does everything except the singleplayer campaign better. While I recommend some mediocre games provided you can buy them for next to nothing, I'mFalls short of its potential. Severe consolitis, some frustrating gameplay, mouse acceleration, too low FOV, a bit too arcade... It tries to be a simulator with arcade gameplay which does not work. Totally overshadowed by the ARMA series which does everything except the singleplayer campaign better. While I recommend some mediocre games provided you can buy them for next to nothing, I'm not sure this is one of them - you should have better things to do. Expand
  15. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    Despite the blithering chatter of the roughly one-in-three who actually enjoyed this game, I have taken to reviewing this piece of sh!t despite having played it for only a few minutes. I fully accept that I only get one shot at reviewing each game (yeah, thanks metacritic -- it's not like any of us ever play something more than once, right?), but I cannot in all good conscience go on toDespite the blithering chatter of the roughly one-in-three who actually enjoyed this game, I have taken to reviewing this piece of sh!t despite having played it for only a few minutes. I fully accept that I only get one shot at reviewing each game (yeah, thanks metacritic -- it's not like any of us ever play something more than once, right?), but I cannot in all good conscience go on to recommend this POS even if I DO find some website that tells me how to do something basic and get past the first part of the first level. I started it, I liked the setting, I don't mind the stilted motion, the ordinary graphics (reminds me a lot of Ghost Recon 2001), and overly-technical interface. But EXACTLY LIKE THAT EQUALLY SH!TTY ARMA2, it is the INABILITY TO ISSUE ONE SINGLE ORDER -- YOU THERE, BLOW UP THAT RADAR -- THAT EARNS THIS GAME P.O.S. OF THE YEAR! Well done, Codemasters. You have successfully gone where your former teammates in the ARMAtards went and produced a COMPREHENSIVELY UN-INTUITIVE INTERFACE that leaves the VERY FIRST MISSION victim of a SACF command. I'm serious. I can weave my way with complete deceptiveness toward the radar installation. I can flank and gun down a dozen enemy troops, but I cannot, in all the menus, in all the commands, with all the keyboard shortcuts, figure how I am s'posed to tell that guy, yeah you with the massive C4 belt hanging around your neck, to blow up THAT radar installation. I mean, the idiot should just KNOW to do it, but I'll forgive his adherence to chain of command. But, nup, I am apparently a complete 'tard because there is no way that radar is ever getting blown up. I even lost the other two teams waiting for me to do it and come help them, but they got wasted waiting for my a$$. I'm gobsmacked. Who writes this crap? If we got this from the likes of EA or Sony or any of them, there's be riots in the streets with people wanting to burn alive the UI designers and the QA testers. So why do we accept this from codemasters just because they're amateurs? Does that make this nonsense acceptable? No, I say. If the "you there, blow that up" command isn't in the field manual, and isn't in the options, nor in the keyboard commands, and CERTAINLY cannot be chanced upon, then I consider that counter-intuitive bullsh17. And men have died for less! In short, unless you LIKE puzzle games where figuring out the command structure of the game IS the puzzle, then leave this crap right alone. Expand
  16. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    Pretty disappointing. The graphics look good and the gameplay style is what it is supposed to be, but that's the only purely positive things about it. Everything else is flawed in someway.

    The friendly AI in your fire team is completely incompetent most of the time. If you order them to assault they can be helpful, but most of the time will not take cover or fire effectively like the
    Pretty disappointing. The graphics look good and the gameplay style is what it is supposed to be, but that's the only purely positive things about it. Everything else is flawed in someway.

    The friendly AI in your fire team is completely incompetent most of the time. If you order them to assault they can be helpful, but most of the time will not take cover or fire effectively like the enemy AI do. If you order one to heal another you can't cover them because if you move they move too and never get it done.
    If you order suppressive fire, well maybe they will maybe they won't. The vehicles are more of a pain in the ass to command. THERE'S NO WAY TO LOOK AROUND YOU. Better hope there's never an enemy behind you because there's no way to order your gunner to shoot them. You can't turn your head?! So realistic! And again, you can't be sure you men will even get in.
    The saves at checkpoints doesn't make any sense. If you die you don't start where you were at the last checkpoint. they just stick you were they expected you to be! And you will not have any of the weapons you had when you reached that check point. There at least needs to be one save per mission, like in Cold war crisis, if they're going to be that stupid.
    The map is annoying. In the briefing, before a mission, there's little icons and they say you need to clear a road but there's nothing showing what road, what route the units you're escorting are taking. Really **** briefings. As for the "realistic trajectories" it seems that means bullets fly randomly. There's a difference between bullet drop, wind effect and bullets not hitting where you aim. All in all, I don't understand why CM keep putting this half finished crap out. Arma 2 was horrible because it was lacking aspects of Dragon Rising. Dragon Rising is lacking aspects or Arma 2. There hasn't been much improvement since Cold War Crisis in my opinion. Instead of continuing to turn out **** they need to just finish one of these games. I want to finish it but I don't think I'll be able to deal with the frustration.
    Expand
  17. BrianB.
    Oct 18, 2009
    6
    A big let down. Solid single-player overall...though the graphics, A.I., command radial, and vehicle handeling could be much better. The game doesn't offer much support in terms of controllers. The online is unplayable! Tons of bugs and Codemasters (the devs) DO NOT seem to care! Just go to the OFP2 official forums. No servers, no in-game kicking, no max ping cieling, crazy bandwidth A big let down. Solid single-player overall...though the graphics, A.I., command radial, and vehicle handeling could be much better. The game doesn't offer much support in terms of controllers. The online is unplayable! Tons of bugs and Codemasters (the devs) DO NOT seem to care! Just go to the OFP2 official forums. No servers, no in-game kicking, no max ping cieling, crazy bandwidth requirements...the online is just complete fail. Expand
  18. JamesK.
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    A single player campaign can only carry a game so far, and for Operation Flashpoint: DR, that is not far at all. What is most upsetting about this game though is the developers seemingly lack of caring about the longevity of the game. Their refusal to support dedicated servers means that the multiplayer community for this game will never exist. It honestly seems that Codemasters only A single player campaign can only carry a game so far, and for Operation Flashpoint: DR, that is not far at all. What is most upsetting about this game though is the developers seemingly lack of caring about the longevity of the game. Their refusal to support dedicated servers means that the multiplayer community for this game will never exist. It honestly seems that Codemasters only bumped up the total number of players to 32 on PC because it would only seem logical to include dedicated servers with a number that high. But alas, it seems the joke was on those of us who bought the game. Expand
  19. JonD
    Oct 8, 2009
    5
    Its a bit of a dumbed down expirience (probably due to it being a direct console port) but it doesnt detract from the enjoyability of the game. The real issues arise with multiplayer, which has absolutely NO dedicated server support, no anti-cheat, is completely P2P local hosting through lobbies and does not support joining games in session. Maybe 1 in 100 games are actually hosted by Its a bit of a dumbed down expirience (probably due to it being a direct console port) but it doesnt detract from the enjoyability of the game. The real issues arise with multiplayer, which has absolutely NO dedicated server support, no anti-cheat, is completely P2P local hosting through lobbies and does not support joining games in session. Maybe 1 in 100 games are actually hosted by someone with enough bandwith and processing overhead capable of providing a smooth, lag free expirience. The other 99 times... Vehicles lag, direct hits are ignored, soldiers lag out etc. Not a whole lot too fun to play. Without dedicated server support the multiplayer aspect of this game will be dead within a month of release, which is a bummer, because the potential is there. Hopefully CM will release a patch ASAP to address these issues, but I'm not holding my breath. Expand
  20. Kevin
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    One of the "more fun" games I've played in quite a while, ruined by the fact that there's no dedicated servers on the PC. This was the game I've been hyping to my friends for the longest time. There's other various stupid mistakes in the development of the game that the company fails to acknowledge, such as moving your head while in a vehicle. What, are we wearing 163 One of the "more fun" games I've played in quite a while, ruined by the fact that there's no dedicated servers on the PC. This was the game I've been hyping to my friends for the longest time. There's other various stupid mistakes in the development of the game that the company fails to acknowledge, such as moving your head while in a vehicle. What, are we wearing 163 point harnesses or something? Other than that, granted this is not a TRUE OFP game, the campaign is fun and the coop is interesting. Unfortunately the multiplayer (or lack of) will make this game last no longer than this box of Nerds I have lying next to me. Expand
  21. SPMXVC
    Oct 8, 2009
    5
    Sadly I'm not impressed one bit with this game. It's just another run of the mill simulation style shooter. The fact that I've had team-mates die on me because my medic refused to heal them, well that's just disappointing. I've had on several occasions a team-mate bleeding against cover, call the order to heal wounded. What does the medic do? walk backwards and Sadly I'm not impressed one bit with this game. It's just another run of the mill simulation style shooter. The fact that I've had team-mates die on me because my medic refused to heal them, well that's just disappointing. I've had on several occasions a team-mate bleeding against cover, call the order to heal wounded. What does the medic do? walk backwards and forwards to and from the wounded soldier. It seems to happen a lot around cover and trees. The AI needs plenty of work, the enemy soldiers are no exception. So far from approx 5 hours of play I've seen the enemy fire on me when I'm either hiding in long grass motionless, can't see the enemy through tree-lines, or even hiding inside buildings (again, motionless and in the dark.) If this is supposed to be a simulation type game, I'd maybe like the enemies to be simulations, rather than being up against Robocop. You better not like using the mouse scroll to view your weapons. As soon as you hit the scroll, you become immobilized and unable to turn. What am I doing when I use the mouse scroll? is my character running along then suddenly just stops and says "I wonder what equipment I have on me, oh I better check it right here on this spot even though I'm being fired upon from 360 degrees." Commands can be frustrating as hell, taking items from crates/soldiers is clumsy, and the general feel of the game isn't as smooth as I am running with 30kg of weight on my shoulders. Yeah I know it's a "simulation" but there are just things in it that make it not fun. There is and always will be a thing in games I like to call the Realism Ven Diagram. Think of it like this, make the game TOO realistic (like one bullet in the leg and all of a sudden you're immobilized and need your team mates to carry you, I can't imagine a soldier walking, let alone carrying that much equipment AND walking after he's been shot in the knee by a rifle, but let's not do that! that would ruin the game!) and you lose the aspect of it even being a game, it'd become boring, unplayable, just a task. If you take a successful game like the latest COD games (and I personally hate those, so I'm not being a fanboy) Imagine if they made it so you had to actually put your cross hair on the grenades to pick them up and throw them back, or better yet! take away the grenade indicator! If you were playing the game on high difficulties the main campaign would just be death after death after death after death. Sorry, that's war, live with it. Games that try to be realistic need to balance out the realism and the fun aspect so that people can actually pick up the game and start having fun right away. Yeah yeah yeah I know, a lot of people will say "It's a simulation! It's supposed to be like that!" I agree, it is a simulation, it IS supposed to be like that. What I don't like about this game is just bits and pieces, there are too many kinks in it at this current time. Call it constructive criticism. As far as I've seen so far, only 2 things save this game from the unplayable category. 1 - The game is realistic, it takes you to the front lines, throws dirt in your face, makes you feel like you're actually under enemy fire! 2 - The weapons and the vehicles are mechanically correct, they act very similar to their real life counter-parts. I do believe there is hope, I do believe this game has alot of potential. This game needs a patch or two to fix some of the problems, AI, managing weaponry, inventory etc. Until then I'll probably play it once or twice through, the game in my eyes is overall a playable simulation GAME, just not all the way there... yet. Expand
  22. BastiaanL
    Oct 11, 2009
    5
    Man.... I really don't know how to describe how disapointed i am with this game. So i'll just make a list! Bare in mind that I am an enourmous OFP fan, so obviously i expected a sequel...which is defenatly not what i got. - OFP had an incredibly good story line, OFP:DR has NO story line. Nothing at all! Just 6 missions in a row! - Campain short. Very very very very very very Man.... I really don't know how to describe how disapointed i am with this game. So i'll just make a list! Bare in mind that I am an enourmous OFP fan, so obviously i expected a sequel...which is defenatly not what i got. - OFP had an incredibly good story line, OFP:DR has NO story line. Nothing at all! Just 6 missions in a row! - Campain short. Very very very very very very short. Easily finished within 5 hours. Which is pretty bad for a game in this price range. - Lots of options (driving tanks, flying attack helicopters, boats, laser guided air strikes, JDAM air strikes, artilery) All those options, and the campain ignores 50% of them. No tank missions, no heli missions, no laser guided air strikes, no APC missions... -no free look in trucks, helicopters, landing a plane is pretty much impossible (just like commanding an NPC to a direction which ain't directly in front of you) All in all. Definitely not worth the "Operation Flashpoint" name. Expand
  23. JonS
    Oct 12, 2009
    5
    Operation Flashpoint Dragon Rising has one problem. It's history. And they have failed to recreate that OpFlash feel, that only the original developer of the series could. First, Codemasters has deceived it's console users by stating "Open World Game Play". That couldn't be farther from the truth. It is restrictive, and you can't not explorer the island of skira, Operation Flashpoint Dragon Rising has one problem. It's history. And they have failed to recreate that OpFlash feel, that only the original developer of the series could. First, Codemasters has deceived it's console users by stating "Open World Game Play". That couldn't be farther from the truth. It is restrictive, and you can't not explorer the island of skira, either by a mission box or timer. Graphics are poorly made textures, and even worse on the PS3 Version. At least the PC you can adjust and improve them. But all look pretty poor. 11 Missions seem the same. I don't know how AA sites you have to destroy. The AI is not dynamic. They do the same thing over and over again, so it takes no time to figure out where they will be. They one bright spot is the sounds. Very nice audio for the weapons. I gave it a 5 because, the game starts correctly, plays with few bugs, on the PS3. This is a good filler game, if your waiting for another game. Bargin Bin or Rental at best. MP is just a joke on the PC. No SADS, and it's peer to peer. Can't join in progress is another problem. MP feels very limited and thrown together at the last minute. Expand
  24. Animus404
    Oct 13, 2009
    4
    Not the worst game I've ever played and definitely not the worst. Where this game falls down is that it was sold to the games playing public as a military simulator and many people but it thinking it is. However this is an arcade game masquerading as a milsim, I guess the bottom line is if your after a milsim buy Arma2 if you want a fun modern warfare game get COD4 you'll have a Not the worst game I've ever played and definitely not the worst. Where this game falls down is that it was sold to the games playing public as a military simulator and many people but it thinking it is. However this is an arcade game masquerading as a milsim, I guess the bottom line is if your after a milsim buy Arma2 if you want a fun modern warfare game get COD4 you'll have a better time with both of these, and they even have a dedicated server rather than a poor excuse for a multiplayer which ships with Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising. Expand
  25. AdamGaunt
    Oct 16, 2009
    5
    GLITCH GALORIE! Every time I beat a mission and decide im done playing it will make me start over from the end of mission 3 so single player blows online sucks because you can shoot someone 19 times in the chest watch blood spray everytime they shoot you once and you die lamesauce galore!
  26. pekkav.
    Oct 17, 2009
    6
    If this was called "dragon rising", released only to consoles circa 2005 or so it woulda been worth a niner. Carrying a nametag of Flaspoint, working like a badly made PC port of a console game of 2005 and being marketed as something better than original flashpoint, it is asking for a six. Singleplayer campaign is short, small-scale, and has no real vehicle combat. AI wont reach the level If this was called "dragon rising", released only to consoles circa 2005 or so it woulda been worth a niner. Carrying a nametag of Flaspoint, working like a badly made PC port of a console game of 2005 and being marketed as something better than original flashpoint, it is asking for a six. Singleplayer campaign is short, small-scale, and has no real vehicle combat. AI wont reach the level it needs, expecailly if vehicles are involved. controls are retarded, again highlighted when vehicles are involved. The MP is simply horrible, having released at alpha-stage claimed as"ready" and the entire game has a feeling of Beta-test in it. shame, really. and in SP, Immersion is shot in the leg by using NO means whatsoever to ride the storyline up ingame. do NOT be fooled by the name flashpoint in the game. Expand
  27. MartinR.
    Oct 17, 2009
    5
    Well, for a game carrying the name OFP it's a massive letdown, but even if it did not have this name, there are imho too many problems right now to give it a high rating. -Heavy aftificial limitations in mission design and so on (the freedom of OFP is nowhere to be found), multiplayer apart from 4 player COOP seems like an afterthought and it's doubtful that things will improve Well, for a game carrying the name OFP it's a massive letdown, but even if it did not have this name, there are imho too many problems right now to give it a high rating. -Heavy aftificial limitations in mission design and so on (the freedom of OFP is nowhere to be found), multiplayer apart from 4 player COOP seems like an afterthought and it's doubtful that things will improve much (no dedicated server for example, CM's track record in patching...). Personally, the feeling of being there just isn't...there. The A.I. are terrible shots (and I mean it!), I hardly ever feel under pressure unless there's like 8 of those guys homing in on me. The player also seems to have some kind of bullet repelling shield, they will almost never hit you with their first magazine, distance hardly matters. Vehicle physics are from the Moon (seems like a low gravity environment), giving commands is ok (worthy of improvement though), graphics are ok too, nothing special (wish there were actually dark nights, but the giant moon just doesn't leave the sky), seems well optimised (oh, it's a plus!), campaign is generally forgettable, destruction of the environment is mediocre (trees can't be destroyed as huge downside)...and so on, you get the idea! Though it shows nicely that with a good PR department and buying lots of advertisement slots you can get any rating from reviewers you want. I don't think anyone of those actually touched the MP, or noticed that it's a step back from the original OFP: CWC in almost every aspect. Expand
  28. DevastV
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    Very poor mulitplayer experience. Animation problems that get you killed 9/10 times. Bugs. Some of which disable mouse support in critical areas. I do not recommend this game for multiplayer or coop. Single player alone just doesn't save this game.
  29. Lux
    Oct 27, 2009
    5
    Dull graphics (explosions, effects...), realism close to zero. Hardly bearable on console, at all on PC. It's just a run of the mill FPS, just a little worse than Battlefield 2. Shame on them (CM).
  30. FredM
    Oct 9, 2009
    6
    It's unfortunate that the console is literally destroying PC games. I was a big OPF fan and now that I have played a fair amount of this sequel, my verdict is that it's ok. ARMA II is a far superior product even with it's bugs and lack of polishing in voice acting and personalities of the NPC. Dragon rising feels like a console game on my PC which has resulted in an average It's unfortunate that the console is literally destroying PC games. I was a big OPF fan and now that I have played a fair amount of this sequel, my verdict is that it's ok. ARMA II is a far superior product even with it's bugs and lack of polishing in voice acting and personalities of the NPC. Dragon rising feels like a console game on my PC which has resulted in an average product. This is the straw that has broken the camels back for me in terms of games developed for the PC and all consoles. Now, back to ARMA II ! Expand
  31. RickNiceguy
    Oct 11, 2009
    5
    "Taking gamers as close to war as they'll ever want to get, Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising is the much anticipated return of the genre-defining military conflict simulator. Set to deliver the total combat experience, Flashpoint: Dragon Rising challenges players to survive the chaos and rapidly evolving situations of modern warfare in a new contemporary theatre. Players "Taking gamers as close to war as they'll ever want to get, Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising is the much anticipated return of the genre-defining military conflict simulator. Set to deliver the total combat experience, Flashpoint: Dragon Rising challenges players to survive the chaos and rapidly evolving situations of modern warfare in a new contemporary theatre. Players experience the intensity, diversity and claustrophobia of a modern conflict from the unique perspectives of an infantry marine, a helicopter pilot, a Special Forces officer or a tank commander, each engaged against the full force of the Chinese PLA on a scale never previously experienced in a military action title. Gameplay simulates an immense conflict between advanced forces and provides unparalleled scope with different military disciplines, vehicles and equipment for players to utilize." Yeah right hahaha. Expand
  32. RichardS
    Oct 18, 2009
    6
    AI is bugged and your team mates don't follow you half the time or when they do occasionally shoot you. The game is not any where near as open as it should be and is limited in the way you can approach objectives. Multiplayer servers are difficult to find. The gameplay is fun when it works and it looks good in places but its not ARMA2 or Project Reality.
  33. Jan 1, 2011
    6
    This was an okay game, granted I was only really interested in the singleplayer campaign. It feels a lot like Novalogic's old Delta Force games--a lot of trekking around, looking for the perfect opportunity and location to attack. There's plenty of checkpoints (for saving) and I would say I only really got stuck two or three times. The action can get pretty intense at times; and theThis was an okay game, granted I was only really interested in the singleplayer campaign. It feels a lot like Novalogic's old Delta Force games--a lot of trekking around, looking for the perfect opportunity and location to attack. There's plenty of checkpoints (for saving) and I would say I only really got stuck two or three times. The action can get pretty intense at times; and the missions vary in type: assaults, stealth, hostage rescue. There's a good assortment of weapons, some with just irons sights, others with scopes or IR; I just wish you could select your own weapons before the mission. The thing is this game is badly in need of some additional polish. Although it was really stable for me, there are bugs everywhere and the interface and game mechanics are very clunky. Some examples: the humvee handling feels like you're driving on ice; if you remap the use key, you can't exit the inventory menu on bodies; getting an AT weapon out takes several seconds and can't be interrupted; AI gets stuck on things; quick command interface has too many commands, although lacks a wait command; two missions where helicopters don't give you enough time to destroy AA before they fly in, etc. Regardless, these bugs are mostly things to shake your head at and don't ruin the whole game. I'd say it was certainly worth the $3 special price I got it for. Expand
  34. Jul 8, 2011
    6
    This is ridiculously short war game. This game could have been really good, it looks good, it sounds good, single player mission are quite nice, enemy AI is very nice and puts a decent opponent against you. However it is missing something very relevant, mission to play during single player campaing. Yes it has a mission editor, but I donâ
  35. Jan 30, 2014
    2
    It's really a trash game, tried first on PS3, it was awful, later the demo on PC, yeah... trash, walk a long circle around this one, if you really want to see it for yourself, try the demo. I Thought it was like the old Rainbow six, where you also could make your own load-out, but no, here is your M16A4 instead.
  36. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    A Great tactical game normal can be challenging at times hard is pretty awesome. i'm a fan of bullet drop and trajectories and this game makes you use you're units wisely though normal you don't half to as much but they still can save your ass.

    Graphics are good and the game feels great, actually takes time to switch out guns and doesn't feel extremely awful like arma 2 .

    Worth $12
  37. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    As the supposed successor to Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis (one of my all-time favorite games), this game fails miserably. It shares most of the weaknesses of that game (e.g. too-accurate AI, boring travel) but almost none of its strengths (e.g. good story, variety of gameplay, fun vehicles, character/squad customization). This game is obviously another console port which dumbsAs the supposed successor to Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis (one of my all-time favorite games), this game fails miserably. It shares most of the weaknesses of that game (e.g. too-accurate AI, boring travel) but almost none of its strengths (e.g. good story, variety of gameplay, fun vehicles, character/squad customization). This game is obviously another console port which dumbs down the game without compensating to keep it fun. One mission has you sneak in to do recon, but if you shoot anyone you blow your cover and fail--not too fun for a SHOOTER game. Expand
  38. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    After playing this game for 10 minutes I could already tell it's terrible. If you use the scroll wheel to change weapons you can't move and have to wait a couple seconds before it realizes that you want to change. I mean come on the whole point of the pistol is because I've either run out of ammo in the middle of a fight or I need to reload in the middle of a fight. The controls areAfter playing this game for 10 minutes I could already tell it's terrible. If you use the scroll wheel to change weapons you can't move and have to wait a couple seconds before it realizes that you want to change. I mean come on the whole point of the pistol is because I've either run out of ammo in the middle of a fight or I need to reload in the middle of a fight. The controls are sluggish, aiming seems like a chore for the soldier. The guns are not realistic, the first one you get is apparently a m16 mod 0 but it's not a sniper, it's an assault rifle that looks like a scar. The squad controls are terrible and there really is no point in them even giving you a gun because your squad will kill everything before you can even get close. It's also very hard to tell when you're hit. The graphics are not the best, I've seen games with equal quality on a PS2 system. The only plus to this game is how I bought it for $3.50 so for the price it is good. I guess you get what you pay for. I would wait until it goes on sale again to get it and not pay the $15 price tag on it. Expand
  39. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    Game is stupid,AI good accuracy at long distances(Like if they were carrying sniper rifles)while regardless your skill u cant hit enemies sometimes due to bullet spread or drop or w/e,bad accuracy at short ranges,ally AI sucks ,sometimes they dont look for cover and go into melee range at close quarters.... the PC version sucks even FAR CRY 1 the very first one looks better in every sense
  40. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    Awesome game for someone who hates linear shooters like COD but ARMA is too hardcore. AI is kinky sometimes, but if you have few friends to play with, you can complete whole campaign by yourselves, no AI hassle. Visuals looks great and with much lower system requirements than other similarly or even not as good looking games. On-line server were unfortunately closed, but if you want solidAwesome game for someone who hates linear shooters like COD but ARMA is too hardcore. AI is kinky sometimes, but if you have few friends to play with, you can complete whole campaign by yourselves, no AI hassle. Visuals looks great and with much lower system requirements than other similarly or even not as good looking games. On-line server were unfortunately closed, but if you want solid single-player or lan coop experience this game is just for you. Expand
  41. Apr 17, 2013
    6
    I know that this game has many bugs that make the scenery and AI seem bad but the concept of the game is amazing. This is the game that was the prequel to games like ARMA. I love the realism involved and the multiplayer was very fun and different with being able to control a large group of men against another army.
  42. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    the main issue with this game is the toooooo difficult game play, in 80% of the time when confronting enemies you are exposed and easily shot even though the enemy is too far for you to see, how come they can see and shoot me and i cant !! the AI in this game is incredibly advanced , you get shot even when hiding behind bushes or crawling on your belly !!!! its frustrating because everythe main issue with this game is the toooooo difficult game play, in 80% of the time when confronting enemies you are exposed and easily shot even though the enemy is too far for you to see, how come they can see and shoot me and i cant !! the AI in this game is incredibly advanced , you get shot even when hiding behind bushes or crawling on your belly !!!! its frustrating because every thing else in the game is excellent with regard to graphics audio and the whole game atmosphere ,Operation F.P/ Red River is a lot better , it is still difficult, but not to the point of being impossible to play, Expand
  43. Jun 25, 2015
    10
    Amazing simulator!!! Great Graphics!! Not as complex as Arma, enviromennt beautyfull, Real injury and bullet time. Codemaster should to make a sequel. I will biy this
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. It's not perfect, there are little problems and niggles that can be found if you look for them, but none of them spoil the game or ruin the playing experience.
  2. Operation Flashpoint 2 is a simulation, but it’s a simulation that is actually fun to play.
  3. Maybe it lacks some innovation and graphics appeal, as if time had made expectations too great, but it is a very good first step for the series to continue.