User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 524 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    A Great tactical game normal can be challenging at times hard is pretty awesome. i'm a fan of bullet drop and trajectories and this game makes you use you're units wisely though normal you don't half to as much but they still can save your ass.

    Graphics are good and the game feels great, actually takes time to switch out guns and doesn't feel extremely awful like arma 2 .

    Worth $12
  2. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    Awesome game for someone who hates linear shooters like COD but ARMA is too hardcore. AI is kinky sometimes, but if you have few friends to play with, you can complete whole campaign by yourselves, no AI hassle. Visuals looks great and with much lower system requirements than other similarly or even not as good looking games. On-line server were unfortunately closed, but if you want solidAwesome game for someone who hates linear shooters like COD but ARMA is too hardcore. AI is kinky sometimes, but if you have few friends to play with, you can complete whole campaign by yourselves, no AI hassle. Visuals looks great and with much lower system requirements than other similarly or even not as good looking games. On-line server were unfortunately closed, but if you want solid single-player or lan coop experience this game is just for you. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    the main issue with this game is the toooooo difficult game play, in 80% of the time when confronting enemies you are exposed and easily shot even though the enemy is too far for you to see, how come they can see and shoot me and i cant !! the AI in this game is incredibly advanced , you get shot even when hiding behind bushes or crawling on your belly !!!! its frustrating because everythe main issue with this game is the toooooo difficult game play, in 80% of the time when confronting enemies you are exposed and easily shot even though the enemy is too far for you to see, how come they can see and shoot me and i cant !! the AI in this game is incredibly advanced , you get shot even when hiding behind bushes or crawling on your belly !!!! its frustrating because every thing else in the game is excellent with regard to graphics audio and the whole game atmosphere ,Operation F.P/ Red River is a lot better , it is still difficult, but not to the point of being impossible to play, Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2014
    2
    It's really a trash game, tried first on PS3, it was awful, later the demo on PC, yeah... trash, walk a long circle around this one, if you really want to see it for yourself, try the demo. I Thought it was like the old Rainbow six, where you also could make your own load-out, but no, here is your M16A4 instead.
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    Game is stupid,AI good accuracy at long distances(Like if they were carrying sniper rifles)while regardless your skill u cant hit enemies sometimes due to bullet spread or drop or w/e,bad accuracy at short ranges,ally AI sucks ,sometimes they dont look for cover and go into melee range at close quarters.... the PC version sucks even FAR CRY 1 the very first one looks better in every sense
  6. May 30, 2013
    1
    Riding on the glory of original operation flashpoint gameplay was horrible Campaing was horrible multiplayer was horrible and bugged to hell when released This was a disgrace to the name of operation flashpoint only later i found out that real operation flashpoint makers had made series called ARMA and that was the real simulation follow up for opf .
    TLDR: Codemasters tookd the
    Riding on the glory of original operation flashpoint gameplay was horrible Campaing was horrible multiplayer was horrible and bugged to hell when released This was a disgrace to the name of operation flashpoint only later i found out that real operation flashpoint makers had made series called ARMA and that was the real simulation follow up for opf .
    TLDR: Codemasters tookd the operation flashpoint name and disgraced it hard game sucks hard and anyone looking for real simulation game should buy Arma 2 and soon Arma 3
    Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    6
    I know that this game has many bugs that make the scenery and AI seem bad but the concept of the game is amazing. This is the game that was the prequel to games like ARMA. I love the realism involved and the multiplayer was very fun and different with being able to control a large group of men against another army.
  8. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    Pretty disappointing. The graphics look good and the gameplay style is what it is supposed to be, but that's the only purely positive things about it. Everything else is flawed in someway.

    The friendly AI in your fire team is completely incompetent most of the time. If you order them to assault they can be helpful, but most of the time will not take cover or fire effectively like the
    Pretty disappointing. The graphics look good and the gameplay style is what it is supposed to be, but that's the only purely positive things about it. Everything else is flawed in someway.

    The friendly AI in your fire team is completely incompetent most of the time. If you order them to assault they can be helpful, but most of the time will not take cover or fire effectively like the enemy AI do. If you order one to heal another you can't cover them because if you move they move too and never get it done.
    If you order suppressive fire, well maybe they will maybe they won't. The vehicles are more of a pain in the ass to command. THERE'S NO WAY TO LOOK AROUND YOU. Better hope there's never an enemy behind you because there's no way to order your gunner to shoot them. You can't turn your head?! So realistic! And again, you can't be sure you men will even get in.
    The saves at checkpoints doesn't make any sense. If you die you don't start where you were at the last checkpoint. they just stick you were they expected you to be! And you will not have any of the weapons you had when you reached that check point. There at least needs to be one save per mission, like in Cold war crisis, if they're going to be that stupid.
    The map is annoying. In the briefing, before a mission, there's little icons and they say you need to clear a road but there's nothing showing what road, what route the units you're escorting are taking. Really **** briefings. As for the "realistic trajectories" it seems that means bullets fly randomly. There's a difference between bullet drop, wind effect and bullets not hitting where you aim. All in all, I don't understand why CM keep putting this half finished crap out. Arma 2 was horrible because it was lacking aspects of Dragon Rising. Dragon Rising is lacking aspects or Arma 2. There hasn't been much improvement since Cold War Crisis in my opinion. Instead of continuing to turn out **** they need to just finish one of these games. I want to finish it but I don't think I'll be able to deal with the frustration.
    Expand
  9. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    This is not a true Operation Flashpoint, nor is it as good as ArmA. Military simulators, in my opinion, do not even belong on the consoles. But this is a fine effort, and I enjoyed the single player regardless. The game needs better A.I. and a graphics engine more suited for simulator type games (it looks okay, but it is impossible to see if enemies are behind cover at a distance). ButThis is not a true Operation Flashpoint, nor is it as good as ArmA. Military simulators, in my opinion, do not even belong on the consoles. But this is a fine effort, and I enjoyed the single player regardless. The game needs better A.I. and a graphics engine more suited for simulator type games (it looks okay, but it is impossible to see if enemies are behind cover at a distance). But other than that, it's not a bad game. It makes me eager to see if more developers will make better games just like this one for the console market. Expand
  10. Sep 1, 2012
    4
    Grapically, this game is very well done. But gameplay wise.... it's quite boring. The environment is very detailed when you are outside, but when you step inside a structure you will see completely empty rooms with the occasional mutilated corpse. Enemies are snipers from long rage but are completely brain dead when it comes to killing you if you reside inside a building. Multiplayer isGrapically, this game is very well done. But gameplay wise.... it's quite boring. The environment is very detailed when you are outside, but when you step inside a structure you will see completely empty rooms with the occasional mutilated corpse. Enemies are snipers from long rage but are completely brain dead when it comes to killing you if you reside inside a building. Multiplayer is broken so that you will constantly lose connections to the server/other player who is host. Not a game i recommend purchasing, even for fans of military simulators. Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    As the supposed successor to Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis (one of my all-time favorite games), this game fails miserably. It shares most of the weaknesses of that game (e.g. too-accurate AI, boring travel) but almost none of its strengths (e.g. good story, variety of gameplay, fun vehicles, character/squad customization). This game is obviously another console port which dumbsAs the supposed successor to Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis (one of my all-time favorite games), this game fails miserably. It shares most of the weaknesses of that game (e.g. too-accurate AI, boring travel) but almost none of its strengths (e.g. good story, variety of gameplay, fun vehicles, character/squad customization). This game is obviously another console port which dumbs down the game without compensating to keep it fun. One mission has you sneak in to do recon, but if you shoot anyone you blow your cover and fail--not too fun for a SHOOTER game. Expand
  12. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    After playing this game for 10 minutes I could already tell it's terrible. If you use the scroll wheel to change weapons you can't move and have to wait a couple seconds before it realizes that you want to change. I mean come on the whole point of the pistol is because I've either run out of ammo in the middle of a fight or I need to reload in the middle of a fight. The controls areAfter playing this game for 10 minutes I could already tell it's terrible. If you use the scroll wheel to change weapons you can't move and have to wait a couple seconds before it realizes that you want to change. I mean come on the whole point of the pistol is because I've either run out of ammo in the middle of a fight or I need to reload in the middle of a fight. The controls are sluggish, aiming seems like a chore for the soldier. The guns are not realistic, the first one you get is apparently a m16 mod 0 but it's not a sniper, it's an assault rifle that looks like a scar. The squad controls are terrible and there really is no point in them even giving you a gun because your squad will kill everything before you can even get close. It's also very hard to tell when you're hit. The graphics are not the best, I've seen games with equal quality on a PS2 system. The only plus to this game is how I bought it for $3.50 so for the price it is good. I guess you get what you pay for. I would wait until it goes on sale again to get it and not pay the $15 price tag on it. Expand
  13. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    Despite the blithering chatter of the roughly one-in-three who actually enjoyed this game, I have taken to reviewing this piece of sh!t despite having played it for only a few minutes. I fully accept that I only get one shot at reviewing each game (yeah, thanks metacritic -- it's not like any of us ever play something more than once, right?), but I cannot in all good conscience go on toDespite the blithering chatter of the roughly one-in-three who actually enjoyed this game, I have taken to reviewing this piece of sh!t despite having played it for only a few minutes. I fully accept that I only get one shot at reviewing each game (yeah, thanks metacritic -- it's not like any of us ever play something more than once, right?), but I cannot in all good conscience go on to recommend this POS even if I DO find some website that tells me how to do something basic and get past the first part of the first level. I started it, I liked the setting, I don't mind the stilted motion, the ordinary graphics (reminds me a lot of Ghost Recon 2001), and overly-technical interface. But EXACTLY LIKE THAT EQUALLY SH!TTY ARMA2, it is the INABILITY TO ISSUE ONE SINGLE ORDER -- YOU THERE, BLOW UP THAT RADAR -- THAT EARNS THIS GAME P.O.S. OF THE YEAR! Well done, Codemasters. You have successfully gone where your former teammates in the ARMAtards went and produced a COMPREHENSIVELY UN-INTUITIVE INTERFACE that leaves the VERY FIRST MISSION victim of a SACF command. I'm serious. I can weave my way with complete deceptiveness toward the radar installation. I can flank and gun down a dozen enemy troops, but I cannot, in all the menus, in all the commands, with all the keyboard shortcuts, figure how I am s'posed to tell that guy, yeah you with the massive C4 belt hanging around your neck, to blow up THAT radar installation. I mean, the idiot should just KNOW to do it, but I'll forgive his adherence to chain of command. But, nup, I am apparently a complete 'tard because there is no way that radar is ever getting blown up. I even lost the other two teams waiting for me to do it and come help them, but they got wasted waiting for my a$$. I'm gobsmacked. Who writes this crap? If we got this from the likes of EA or Sony or any of them, there's be riots in the streets with people wanting to burn alive the UI designers and the QA testers. So why do we accept this from codemasters just because they're amateurs? Does that make this nonsense acceptable? No, I say. If the "you there, blow that up" command isn't in the field manual, and isn't in the options, nor in the keyboard commands, and CERTAINLY cannot be chanced upon, then I consider that counter-intuitive bullsh17. And men have died for less! In short, unless you LIKE puzzle games where figuring out the command structure of the game IS the puzzle, then leave this crap right alone. Expand
  14. Apr 18, 2012
    3
    Falls short of its potential. Severe consolitis, some frustrating gameplay, mouse acceleration, too low FOV, a bit too arcade... It tries to be a simulator with arcade gameplay which does not work. Totally overshadowed by the ARMA series which does everything except the singleplayer campaign better. While I recommend some mediocre games provided you can buy them for next to nothing, I'mFalls short of its potential. Severe consolitis, some frustrating gameplay, mouse acceleration, too low FOV, a bit too arcade... It tries to be a simulator with arcade gameplay which does not work. Totally overshadowed by the ARMA series which does everything except the singleplayer campaign better. While I recommend some mediocre games provided you can buy them for next to nothing, I'm not sure this is one of them - you should have better things to do. Expand
  15. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    Good graphics but not as realistic as the first and no dedicated server support for multi-player. Huge foul up on Codemasters' part. They basically made it for consoles and then ported it to the PC. Bad idea.
  16. Nov 30, 2011
    2
    This game took away everything that made original Operation Flashpoint great and replaced it with average console shooter junk.

    Away is the freedom, customization, user made content, modding, atmospheric campaign, challenging missions, "feel of being there". All we got is bland terrain, repetitive missions, dumb AI, corridor shooter feeling when traveling from checkpoint to checkpoint,
    This game took away everything that made original Operation Flashpoint great and replaced it with average console shooter junk.

    Away is the freedom, customization, user made content, modding, atmospheric campaign, challenging missions, "feel of being there".

    All we got is bland terrain, repetitive missions, dumb AI, corridor shooter feeling when traveling from checkpoint to checkpoint, magic bullet shield that makes enemies shoot all around you but not at you, horrible short campaign.
    Expand
  17. Jul 21, 2011
    0
    Poor console port, its playable but fails on every level, AI, animations, vehicles, its pretty poor and uninspired. The best part of the game is probably game menu, and it still sucks because of the song they put in there.
  18. Jul 8, 2011
    6
    This is ridiculously short war game. This game could have been really good, it looks good, it sounds good, single player mission are quite nice, enemy AI is very nice and puts a decent opponent against you. However it is missing something very relevant, mission to play during single player campaing. Yes it has a mission editor, but I donâ
  19. May 19, 2011
    1
    My computer is worth about $2500. This game used five. This was a really dishonest outing by Codemasters. Aside from the shoddy product and the misleading ads. . . uh, seriously, Astroturfing campaigns? Really guys? How much did you want to milk somebody else's hard work for, and bilk their fans? You might have just put in the effort and made a good game instead, it would have beenMy computer is worth about $2500. This game used five. This was a really dishonest outing by Codemasters. Aside from the shoddy product and the misleading ads. . . uh, seriously, Astroturfing campaigns? Really guys? How much did you want to milk somebody else's hard work for, and bilk their fans? You might have just put in the effort and made a good game instead, it would have been less trouble. Expand
  20. May 16, 2011
    8
    Think of this game as ARMA for NOOBS and you will get along with it just fine!
    This game is easier than any of the ARMA series, but harder than say Call of Duty. I think it is stuck somewhere in between. The biggest attraction I had to it was the Co-Op. That alone simply made the game worth buying. Played co-op with my kid and we had a great time figuring out how everything worked while
    Think of this game as ARMA for NOOBS and you will get along with it just fine!
    This game is easier than any of the ARMA series, but harder than say Call of Duty. I think it is stuck somewhere in between. The biggest attraction I had to it was the Co-Op. That alone simply made the game worth buying. Played co-op with my kid and we had a great time figuring out how everything worked while covering each others back,and killing the enemy before they killed us (most of the time. As long as both of you don't die at the same time you can respawn. If you are looking for super simple blast em up carnage then I suggest you play Serious Sam HD Second Encounter. If you are looking for super realistic, go buy ARMA 2. Now that game is so realistic I think you have to get a crew cut and eat crappy MREs to play it! I WANT to like ARMA 2, but I can never actually locate the enemy like I can in say just about every FPS out there. I know that is probably realistic, but I'd rather have SOME fun! If you are looking for cool co-op along the vein of Ghost Recon (but a bit harder) then you will probably enjoy this game. To me it truly is a dumbed down ARMAish type of game and I for one appreciate it. And they really did a good job with the sound, you see the large distant explosion and the sound of it realistically takes a second or two to get to you. Vehicles are not realistic, but I wasn't buying a driving sim, so that seemed secondary to me. Funny how codemasters is known for their realistic driving sims and they managed to make such crappy vehicle physics.
    I tried some multiplayer, but due to my god-given talent of sucking at multiplayer, I am sure I did not hurt anyone's feelings or even make them call a medic (except maybe to get something when their sides started hurting from laughing at me so hard).
    So while the game is far from perfect and gives people from both sides of the aisle to gripe about, I am glad I bought it and played it. Heck friend me on steam (greghile) and we'll play some co-op!
    Expand
  21. Mar 31, 2011
    8
    Just to make things clear, I have my own system of rating games (1-9). And so now you can see that an '8' is very high to me. I leave '10' ratings for what I consider perfect games, of which there are only three; The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Metal Gear Solid and Half-life.

    This game is by no means perfect, however as I enjoy; realism and FPSs this game is the best for satisfying
    Just to make things clear, I have my own system of rating games (1-9). And so now you can see that an '8' is very high to me. I leave '10' ratings for what I consider perfect games, of which there are only three; The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Metal Gear Solid and Half-life.

    This game is by no means perfect, however as I enjoy; realism and FPSs this game is the best for satisfying both requirements. Also I really like it when game companies spend time making things accurate and I feel they have with this game. Ok, you will always be able to find things that are a bit dodgy but Codemasters have done a good job here. I think I should also mention that this game is quite difficult and I can't help but think that many people who disliked it were simply not playing the right game for them. If you want to run around following tightly scripted checkpoints like an idiot firing from the hip killing scores of bad guys and never running out of ammo then play a COD game and not this one.

    Another thing I like about this game is the difficulty system. The enemy AI doesn't change whether you're playing on easy or hardcore, you just get a lot less help from the game. Once you've perfected managing your team at individual level you will enjoy the game a lot more and the problems with the friendly AI will be drastically lessened which seems to be a major complaint by most players.

    Good points;
    + a very realistic FPS
    + an accurate game about modern warfare (which COD isn't)
    + a game in which you should think for yourself and adapt plans real-time as the situation dictates
    + it's difficult and some people will like the challenge
    + it's very cheap to buy

    Bad points;
    + AI is some times really good but mostly just typical and some times frustratingly bad
    + some glitches and bugs (seems to vary on different systems)
    + runs notably better on a PC and not a console
    + no one plays online
    + it's difficult and most people will not like the challenge
    + after completing it on hardcore admittedly there is not much replay value (I still do)
    Expand
  22. Jan 8, 2011
    4
    I have played OFDR one year after its pubblication.
    The game fails in everything.
    AI is too accurate in far distances, all the enemies seem to be snipers. Also, they can kill us even if we are hidden inside thick vegetation or behind a wall. But when we get closer to the enemy, it is completely stupid and easy to kill. Physics are bad. Tanks and vehicles flips in the air when we drive them
    I have played OFDR one year after its pubblication.
    The game fails in everything.
    AI is too accurate in far distances, all the enemies seem to be snipers. Also, they can kill us even if we are hidden inside thick vegetation or behind a wall. But when we get closer to the enemy, it is completely stupid and easy to kill.
    Physics are bad. Tanks and vehicles flips in the air when we drive them on little rocks. Moreover I had the sensation to drive them on the ice.
    There are no checkpoints for secondary objectives (more difficult to complete than the primary ones).
    Graphics suck....bad textures, 3D models, lighting, post processing effects, bloom...
    Single player campaign is slow and boring...
    ARMA2 is on another level and a REAL PC GAME.
    Expand
  23. Jan 1, 2011
    6
    This was an okay game, granted I was only really interested in the singleplayer campaign. It feels a lot like Novalogic's old Delta Force games--a lot of trekking around, looking for the perfect opportunity and location to attack. There's plenty of checkpoints (for saving) and I would say I only really got stuck two or three times. The action can get pretty intense at times; and theThis was an okay game, granted I was only really interested in the singleplayer campaign. It feels a lot like Novalogic's old Delta Force games--a lot of trekking around, looking for the perfect opportunity and location to attack. There's plenty of checkpoints (for saving) and I would say I only really got stuck two or three times. The action can get pretty intense at times; and the missions vary in type: assaults, stealth, hostage rescue. There's a good assortment of weapons, some with just irons sights, others with scopes or IR; I just wish you could select your own weapons before the mission. The thing is this game is badly in need of some additional polish. Although it was really stable for me, there are bugs everywhere and the interface and game mechanics are very clunky. Some examples: the humvee handling feels like you're driving on ice; if you remap the use key, you can't exit the inventory menu on bodies; getting an AT weapon out takes several seconds and can't be interrupted; AI gets stuck on things; quick command interface has too many commands, although lacks a wait command; two missions where helicopters don't give you enough time to destroy AA before they fly in, etc. Regardless, these bugs are mostly things to shake your head at and don't ruin the whole game. I'd say it was certainly worth the $3 special price I got it for. Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2010
    7
    Campaign was slightly buggy, but alot of fun to play. But the campaign is all you can really play with this game. The realism was much better than other shooter campaigns and it was very challenging and alot of fun to play coop. There isnt really a multiplayer content that is good however but i still reccomend playing this game just for the campaign, but do so when it is on sale as you areCampaign was slightly buggy, but alot of fun to play. But the campaign is all you can really play with this game. The realism was much better than other shooter campaigns and it was very challenging and alot of fun to play coop. There isnt really a multiplayer content that is good however but i still reccomend playing this game just for the campaign, but do so when it is on sale as you are only getting a campaign out of it. Expand
  25. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    A Very, very good single-player champaign, sure the AI is not perfect here and there but hey, it's acceptable. The levels are fun and very exciting. I was never a huge fan of the original title, but this, this hooked me, and even on the second play-through I was ever so hooked. I recommend this title for anyone who enjoys open world war games, it is beautiful and plays like aA Very, very good single-player champaign, sure the AI is not perfect here and there but hey, it's acceptable. The levels are fun and very exciting. I was never a huge fan of the original title, but this, this hooked me, and even on the second play-through I was ever so hooked. I recommend this title for anyone who enjoys open world war games, it is beautiful and plays like a charm.....Don't get why some people says that it's ugly and bland... Obviously it should be bland, it's not COD make-belief environments.. This is the way things look in war!! Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2010
    5
    Once again, a game that demonstrates the broken review system of so many game review magazine and websites. 221 negative user reviews as of this posting, and no negative reviews from critics? Do you see something wrong with this picture? I do. This game is the retarded poor cousin of the original Operation Flashpoint. If you want Operation Flashpoint don't play this dumbed down consoleOnce again, a game that demonstrates the broken review system of so many game review magazine and websites. 221 negative user reviews as of this posting, and no negative reviews from critics? Do you see something wrong with this picture? I do. This game is the retarded poor cousin of the original Operation Flashpoint. If you want Operation Flashpoint don't play this dumbed down console shooter ported to PC, go and buy ArmA II. Expand
  27. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    PhillipD affirmative! I was a HUGE pc operation flashpoint fan. I have ARMA and ARMA II and a beastly pc and they run pathetically. Dragon Rising is extremly stable on pc. There are some AI bugs, and certain checkpoints (that you can't see luckily) when initiated suddenly spawn more enemy, sometimes only a few metres away! This does detract from the game slightly. But on the wholePhillipD affirmative! I was a HUGE pc operation flashpoint fan. I have ARMA and ARMA II and a beastly pc and they run pathetically. Dragon Rising is extremly stable on pc. There are some AI bugs, and certain checkpoints (that you can't see luckily) when initiated suddenly spawn more enemy, sometimes only a few metres away! This does detract from the game slightly. But on the whole this is a very exciting well made tactical shooter. The graphics are very good, sound is amazing! Even when near wire fences bullets make different ricochet sounds, talk from team mates is great, and it seriously feels like combat. I think all the negative comments are from very shallow console gamers who don't really know what a tactical shooter should be like. Don't bother comparing them to COD4 etc, totally different genres really. And multiplayer is quite stable too. Come on everyone jump into the fray, but remember to get your keyboard commands sussed first!! Good game!! Expand
  28. Aug 15, 2010
    7
    This game is a love hate relationship for me. I love it because of the freedom it gives you to command your fireteam to victory based on the scenario and your strategy type. Whether you want to march in there head first guns a blazing, or let 3 and 4 flank right as you and 2 lay suppressive fire down. Not that you can always do that. Finding the best strategy and learning from mistakes isThis game is a love hate relationship for me. I love it because of the freedom it gives you to command your fireteam to victory based on the scenario and your strategy type. Whether you want to march in there head first guns a blazing, or let 3 and 4 flank right as you and 2 lay suppressive fire down. Not that you can always do that. Finding the best strategy and learning from mistakes is what this game is all about. By the final mission, you will have the talent built up enough for you to go through it your first try. This has to be the most realistic shooters of our generation so far. All marine corps and military jargon and slang is put in to this game, after a while you get used to it and can impress your friend by saying " I'm oscar mike" or " the target is 2 klicks north". The game's HUD has your fireteam members on the left. Pressing Q will make a order list appear giving you a list of commands to choose from. Things like "tighten up", " Combat Spread", "move fast", " fire on my lead", "assault" and most importantly " medic!". The Health system is very similar to a Ghost recon game. Except Operation Flashpoint has a more forgiving system. A minor flesh wound will show up as a yellow mark on the injury indicator, a direct hit will be an orange mark, and a bad hit will be red indicating you are bleeding out with a timer on the side telling you how much time you have. A medic will fix all wounds back to normal status with an unrealistic syringe prick, that's all. A field kit will stabilize you and keep the wounds so that they wont bleed out. More realistic. The graphics are visually amazing for the scenery and gun models, but the Character models lack significantly. The music for the opening menu is making piss myself everytime i hear it. It releases my tribal instincts to be the best i can and tear up heads. Then there is my favorite part, the mission editor. The game comes with a mission editor that give you a map of Skira and lets you put thing around the map. Giving you the option to make your own mission or screw around with different scenarios. It can be confusing at first but when you get the hang of it. Its the most fun you could have. With this being said lets go on to the hate part. The Campaign is boring most of the time. Vehicles can only be used when they are traveling around. Until the last mission, only ground vehicles such as trucks, cars, and Humvees are available, maybe a tank or two. Firefights happen every once and a while but can be boring most of the time. Even so, when laying down on the ground, you cant see two feet in front of you in the never ending tall grass, only in buildings can you do this. This is extremely frustrating because you are way easier to hit when standing or crouched. Them there is the fact you can only change your weapons when you find an enemy weapon's box or a dead body of either yours or of the enemy. This is extremely frustrating because the ammo is so delicate, you need to find a crate or a body to collect more. Even when you find a body, it need to be the same weapon type to collect ammo. So you may have to switch out guns, seeing how the PLA weapons are nearly useless. Next, the enemy Ai seem to just stand around rather than patrol an area when you are attacking, and they cant see 5 feet in front of themselves at night. This makes it extremely easy. Not to mention both friendly and enemy AI are extremely inaccurate. Glitch riddled gameplay plagues this game head to toe. If it wasn't for the great overall story, gameplay interface, and mission editor. It would get a two. This would be without a doubt my favorite game if it wasn't so painful to play. Regardless, i give it a 7 for effort at a great game, you lucked out. Playability: 8. Gameplay: 6. Graphics: 8. Sounds: 9. Replay value: medium Expand
  29. jim
    Jan 20, 2010
    0
    Got this game for xmas present. Cost $88. Played it for an hour or so.Gave it away next day for zilch. Nuff said.
  30. JasonH
    Jan 20, 2010
    1
    OFDR has all of the pesky quirks of a sim without any of the gloss of an action game; if you are looking for a shooter that claims to be "realistic" but is far from it, then this is the game for you! Incidentally, the most "realistic" shooters were made in the late 90's and have only veered away from it since. OFDR continues this trend.
  31. bjd....
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    i needed something to take me to the next level........the dreamworld war scenario prepared by crysis n co. had been annihilated by OFDR.....
  32. PuileT
    Jan 13, 2010
    2
    Nothing like OFP. Lack of Dedicated Server support makes MP unplayable. + 100 Bugs in game. + Waste of money + No player base.
  33. Darkness62
    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    Installed and worked.... Other than that, this game is pathetic console trash and should have stayed on consoles where it belongs.
  34. BrianV
    Dec 31, 2009
    0
    This game teaches us that realistic isn't good. After the first 30 minutes of playing i just quit, it was just so BAD! You walk far too much, it's very boring and the enemy AI is just... bad! Nothing good to say about this horrible game just DO NOT buy it!
  35. Aidan.
    Dec 24, 2009
    2
    Terrible!.. The other Op Flashpoint games where decent but this is terrible? Too many commands, too many orders, can't even select a weapon without digging though menus?!?!?! I thought this was a shooter not an RPG? I don't want to claw through 4 menus just to find out I want a pistol I want to click point shot just like that not this.. This might be one for the hard core nerds Terrible!.. The other Op Flashpoint games where decent but this is terrible? Too many commands, too many orders, can't even select a weapon without digging though menus?!?!?! I thought this was a shooter not an RPG? I don't want to claw through 4 menus just to find out I want a pistol I want to click point shot just like that not this.. This might be one for the hard core nerds outt here that want to command and shoot at the same time. I just want to shoot homer simpson style! Expand
  36. JustinF
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    Worst Game ever. Who ever gave this game above 40 is lieing. This game is a POS. Single player was of but MP isnt play able and fulled with bugs. Stick with ARMA. Last code masters game I will ever buy
  37. LousyDan
    Dec 23, 2009
    0
    This game is quite disappointing for me as a pc user. First off I cant get it to run on my XP64 at all, gladly there are already forum threads concerning that issue - sadly none of them got a solution ... . On the other hand I got it to install on Windows7 64bit Laptop and it actually works. However it is not possible to force it to run with the native resolution of the LCD so its all This game is quite disappointing for me as a pc user. First off I cant get it to run on my XP64 at all, gladly there are already forum threads concerning that issue - sadly none of them got a solution ... . On the other hand I got it to install on Windows7 64bit Laptop and it actually works. However it is not possible to force it to run with the native resolution of the LCD so its all blurry. After several hours/days of trying to install and set up the game the way I would like it I had to resign and admit that the game and I are not compatible and that the game is way more persistent than I am. As for the few minutes I played this game with the settings I was forced to accept I have to say that it totally does not deliver what it promises graphically and technically. Expand
  38. RadekK
    Dec 20, 2009
    3
    Too short, where are Heli / Tank missions? Not possible to rearm before mission? Yeah, US soldier without scope vs. Enemy with scope, snipers, etc. The first thing I did was to kill enemy with any scoped weapon. In flashpoint 1 there were ambush missions, heli, tanks, APC. Oh! The AI of my team - great - give them orders and they won't use the road, even if it there's no Too short, where are Heli / Tank missions? Not possible to rearm before mission? Yeah, US soldier without scope vs. Enemy with scope, snipers, etc. The first thing I did was to kill enemy with any scoped weapon. In flashpoint 1 there were ambush missions, heli, tanks, APC. Oh! The AI of my team - great - give them orders and they won't use the road, even if it there's no enemies. In effect they get stuck in trees and other obstacles. Flashpoint 1 was a lot better. Expand
  39. RemiC
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    One of the best games of the year, could be longer. Some missions are much longer than other ones. Multiplayer is confusing.
  40. M
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Great game if your into tactical shooters.Its not like modern warfare 2 but its still more fun if your really into more realistic shooters.
  41. JoeBongo
    Dec 4, 2009
    3
    Fantastic but short single player game. Multiplayer is broken badly in the same way as MW2 - no dedicated servers and no plans from CM to put them in. Netcode causes very frequent disconnections and no "join in game" means if you are lucky enough to connect then after 10 mins you'll be playing with few people. Probably worth waiting for this to cost a tenner if that unless CM start Fantastic but short single player game. Multiplayer is broken badly in the same way as MW2 - no dedicated servers and no plans from CM to put them in. Netcode causes very frequent disconnections and no "join in game" means if you are lucky enough to connect then after 10 mins you'll be playing with few people. Probably worth waiting for this to cost a tenner if that unless CM start fixing it, but they don't communicate well so nobody knows if they even understand why this console ported game is not doing well on PC. Expand
  42. JimmyH
    Dec 4, 2009
    4
    Pathetic console port. Simple as that. Everything that was great about Ofp 1 has been completely raped, mutilated and put on some 15 year old kids Xbox, they vomited back up and thrown at pc gamers. Dont waste your money people. The only reason its not getting a 0 is because it played well (no bugs etc....) Us poor pc gamers : (
  43. Direbadge
    Dec 2, 2009
    1
    I gave it a "1" because it installed and "worked" - but the controls were like trying to play a flight simulator with a blindfold on. The hyper-realism is just a moniker to sell a game that is only one step past the drawing-boards. Completely unplayable - please save your money and play flash-based web games, a much better use of your time.
  44. AndersM
    Nov 23, 2009
    7
    This is a great game BUT the singleplay is a bit short. If you expect to drive tanks forget it. When you finaly becomes the gunner its so difficult that you cant. Helicopters is also hard and only guns can shoot (The only fun thing) But on the brigt side! You really have a realistic GREAT game that can kick some a**. If you cant take to die alot and dont like when shoots are falling in This is a great game BUT the singleplay is a bit short. If you expect to drive tanks forget it. When you finaly becomes the gunner its so difficult that you cant. Helicopters is also hard and only guns can shoot (The only fun thing) But on the brigt side! You really have a realistic GREAT game that can kick some a**. If you cant take to die alot and dont like when shoots are falling in the air i recomend counter strike for you.... But if you like a fantastic real time fighting simulator you should defenetly play this game! You can also try call of duty but its more like counter strike. Call of duty shoult be voted 5 if this game is 7! Go operation flashpoint! buy I only give 10 if thee are not possible bugs and you never get tired of playing the game! Expand
  45. BenS
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    Failed, aborted product, dumped on pre-order. No dedicated servers. No maps. No community.
  46. DaveD
    Nov 18, 2009
    1
    Its really awful. The AI is so buggy that you can't rely on your squad in SP, you have to complete most the missions single handed. Trying to issue certain commands (like "Treat Wounded") is impossible as you have to put your crosshairs on the soldier, but he wont stay still when you are trying to do it ! The MP is non-existant - no dedicated servers ! I've been disappointed Its really awful. The AI is so buggy that you can't rely on your squad in SP, you have to complete most the missions single handed. Trying to issue certain commands (like "Treat Wounded") is impossible as you have to put your crosshairs on the soldier, but he wont stay still when you are trying to do it ! The MP is non-existant - no dedicated servers ! I've been disappointed with CodeMasters before, this just persuaded me to never buy anything they do again. Terrible "game". Expand
  47. NelsonM
    Nov 17, 2009
    8
    This game is one of the best war game has been done, and the closest thing to a war simulator. Is the problem that is easy to shoot the enemy at long distances, but the rest it was excellent. What is needed is made to add a better story. The multiplayer (at least if you use it in Venezuela and I) is slow and troubled. In short, a good game if you do not want a great story and an This game is one of the best war game has been done, and the closest thing to a war simulator. Is the problem that is easy to shoot the enemy at long distances, but the rest it was excellent. What is needed is made to add a better story. The multiplayer (at least if you use it in Venezuela and I) is slow and troubled. In short, a good game if you do not want a great story and an interesting multiplayer, more realistic and difficult than other FPS. Expand
  48. JakubB
    Nov 12, 2009
    4
    That game is shitty, it has nothing with previous OF, this is buggy, with no character game. I know OF as a realistic game but OF:DR is som kinda joke! This is heavy, boring shit! BLEEE!!!!
  49. WF
    Nov 12, 2009
    0
    I just think CM didn't realy have enough time to finish this game. What can I say: Oh man, your tank will get damage if you hit a tree? M16 or Type 81 with a scope can shoot 1km away? Or the buggy looking explosion dust? At the beginning I thouth OFPDR must has a better engine than ArmA, now I can only tell that the phsical enging is ok, but others sucks. If CM just want to forget I just think CM didn't realy have enough time to finish this game. What can I say: Oh man, your tank will get damage if you hit a tree? M16 or Type 81 with a scope can shoot 1km away? Or the buggy looking explosion dust? At the beginning I thouth OFPDR must has a better engine than ArmA, now I can only tell that the phsical enging is ok, but others sucks. If CM just want to forget the realistic, that's fine for me, but OFPDR fialed both on realistic and entertainment. Expand
  50. VilleK
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    Outright lies and blatant underachieving from the start. There isn't much more to say. If you are interested in a brainless shooter that's released broken, go right ahead.
  51. EvanS
    Nov 9, 2009
    3
    This is not a flashpoint 2, it's an arcade game, please dont buy it. I bought this game passed it in couple hours and deleted it, so just save your money for something else out ther, just get arma 2 or smth much better!
  52. BigAlJ
    Nov 7, 2009
    0
    A pretty poor game by todays standards. SP has very limited replayability, highly scripted battles. MP is pretty much unplayable due to a crappy p2p system and dreadful lobby and it seems the game is dieing online with less and less servers running everyday, loads of aimbot users which are immune cause the host can't kick!!!. Vehicle physics are still way out ( watch a 20 ton tank A pretty poor game by todays standards. SP has very limited replayability, highly scripted battles. MP is pretty much unplayable due to a crappy p2p system and dreadful lobby and it seems the game is dieing online with less and less servers running everyday, loads of aimbot users which are immune cause the host can't kick!!!. Vehicle physics are still way out ( watch a 20 ton tank bounce off a tree ). Still loads of problems even after the patch, which fixed very little of any importance ( yes we can watch the credits properly now! ). Utter and complete rubbish in todays gaming world Expand
  53. TonyU
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    This is a fun game. If you read all the reviews, the one thing that ruined it for people were their own expectations. If you approach this game neutrally and play it for what it is, you will have fun. It does fall short of the original, but that fact alone does not prevent it from being an entertaining game. It does have a few aesthetic glitches and the missions could have been crafted This is a fun game. If you read all the reviews, the one thing that ruined it for people were their own expectations. If you approach this game neutrally and play it for what it is, you will have fun. It does fall short of the original, but that fact alone does not prevent it from being an entertaining game. It does have a few aesthetic glitches and the missions could have been crafted better. That being said, however, you will have fun playing through the single player campaign. And it appears that Codemasters will be releasing additional levels, so there is hope they will produce some grand battles. With OFP 2, it seems that so many aspects of a great game are present, but fail to click, leaving the totality of the game short of greatness. Expand
  54. yaw
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Better than Arma II and Arma II. Mix between original OFP and Battlefield 2 (sorry dudes) Not the best FPS of the year. Check the demo first before buying.
  55. BenSimms
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    -Bad support - No dedicated servers - Sick fanboy community - Prelude to the downfall of fps gaming on pc - False advertising - Theft - Bugfest - Ai as stupid as any ai
  56. SamuelW
    Nov 1, 2009
    4
    A lacklustre experience in its own right. It does very little to make itself known above the competition. The most dangerous enemy to this game is it's name. The original was more advanced, and far less limited than its contemporary which really says everything considering it is almost ten years older. This game was made for the console, and although it might be a perfectly new and A lacklustre experience in its own right. It does very little to make itself known above the competition. The most dangerous enemy to this game is it's name. The original was more advanced, and far less limited than its contemporary which really says everything considering it is almost ten years older. This game was made for the console, and although it might be a perfectly new and entertaining product for those used to crackers, we PC players are used to steak. Poor show Codemasters. The marketing for this was terribly deceptive, and in comparison to its competitor Arma II, it is positively laughable. Expand
  57. Chris
    Nov 1, 2009
    7
    I like the fact that you have to plan things out and use your terrain pluse the story line is original but it can be a big pain when your team glitches out and ignores orders or in multiplayer when your enemy AI some how know where you are all the time is quite annoying but I hope that they will patch that up and bring the game to it's true potentail.
  58. AliK
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    I don't get why everyone's trashing this game. This game is for me, the best first person shooter since Modern Warfare! Not a game goes by that I don't play this game; It's difficulty, which post people seem to whine about is in my opinion it's best feature!
  59. marior
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Great game. The graphics are very fluid and functional. I just finished the single player campaign and enjoyed it. So I suggest the game for fans of Ghost Recon series or Brothers in Arms.
  60. vilasvilas
    Oct 29, 2009
    0
    heh total shame Drangon's Rice was promissed to be sequel of OFP, lie ! military simulator ? what kind, if Abrams tank cannot smash smallest tree, trees are immortal shame total shame it has nothing to mil-sim, Codemasters BAN users who critize game !!! from their forums i know at least 3 persons who told that game has bugs and is wrong and were banned !!! so maybe here - learn the heh total shame Drangon's Rice was promissed to be sequel of OFP, lie ! military simulator ? what kind, if Abrams tank cannot smash smallest tree, trees are immortal shame total shame it has nothing to mil-sim, Codemasters BAN users who critize game !!! from their forums i know at least 3 persons who told that game has bugs and is wrong and were banned !!! so maybe here - learn the truth this game is neither OFP sequel nor mil-sim shame, shame and shame tank cannot drive when small rock or tree is on the road, AI cannot hit you , people who want use landscape get mission-end "you leaved fight zone" heh only 64 AI on map!! while in OFP/Arma you can fight with big battles only 4 soldiers in team ? wtf ? in Arma you can have as much soldiers as you need it was told to be other game, not "another CoD" Expand
  61. GuillemL
    Oct 28, 2009
    2
    A design failure and an perfectly played marketing campaign. We were sold a completely different game and we have bitten hard. You can only fool us once CM!
  62. Lux
    Oct 27, 2009
    5
    Dull graphics (explosions, effects...), realism close to zero. Hardly bearable on console, at all on PC. It's just a run of the mill FPS, just a little worse than Battlefield 2. Shame on them (CM).
  63. IvanB
    Oct 20, 2009
    1
    I never ever in my life wrote a review on any game, i guess it is my only chance, I'm sorry, but this game is really disappointed me, i was waiting for it for so long, since i played on my old pentium 4 and was 18 years old, spent huge ammount of money to change my whole system just to play that ofp resistence game with that 5km range of detalisation, long time ago, feels like it was I never ever in my life wrote a review on any game, i guess it is my only chance, I'm sorry, but this game is really disappointed me, i was waiting for it for so long, since i played on my old pentium 4 and was 18 years old, spent huge ammount of money to change my whole system just to play that ofp resistence game with that 5km range of detalisation, long time ago, feels like it was yesterday, liked it very mutch since then, that filling of war reality hitting regular people, amazing story line, nothing comparing to that game is a 2nd part, unfortunate, I dont know what happend between bohemia interactive and codemasters, but i see now how it affected the new game, they were using that engine and they went very far from reality with dissapiering boddies, unneeded special effects, not reallistic textures of simple things like country roads, highways etc, night is super bright, feels like its a day exept rainy weather.. moon looks like some anime cartoon, seriously they ruined their great job with a lot of unnesesary things all they were talking about they ruined it with those stupid arcade like things, all sounds and all nice night lighting all were ruined, like your temmates reappiaring after their death... i would fire somebody from your team for that idia i'm sorry, that game supposed to be real, No stupid patroling the area missions.. no super long car driving to some far destination... Just make some civil missions without guns where you just walk all over that island.. omg i still have that feeling of huge disappointment.. And thoughts are like it will never happen again, the kinda game OFP was.. Will be forever in my heart! Goodbye Flashpoint Maybe somebody someday.. i hope i will be alive. Expand
  64. PhilipD
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Leave the game along. It's not like ARMA, and I find it refreshing. I love the OFP / ARMA series, but 3 games, all with the same bugs and problems, quickly becomes boring. This game, on the other hand, doesn't seme to have the same problems. In fact, I prefer it. The graphics run smoothly on my PC in the way that OFP, ARMA and ARMA 2 never did. They felt delayed, even if at a Leave the game along. It's not like ARMA, and I find it refreshing. I love the OFP / ARMA series, but 3 games, all with the same bugs and problems, quickly becomes boring. This game, on the other hand, doesn't seme to have the same problems. In fact, I prefer it. The graphics run smoothly on my PC in the way that OFP, ARMA and ARMA 2 never did. They felt delayed, even if at a constant 60 fps. The aiming is easier on this game, the controls are more responsive and the levels are, frankly, more fun. I don't know why Mr xbox review is rating this in the PC section, or comparing it to Arma 2 which is still buggy, despite being released for MUCH longer than this game. I agree about the vehicles. They bounce a lot. Personally I still prefer them to Arma 2's fake rollercoaster ride. COD is a plague on the community. Stop comparing games like OFP to COD. They're not the same. ARMA and OFP aim for realism, and the only reason that this game is easier than ARMA is because playing tactically on this game allows you to complete a mission. With Arma it's pretty much chance. Also, it's easier to aim in this game, it feels as if it's programmed for a mouse instead of ARMA, which seems to think it's reading desktop mouse movements and trying to convert it into a FPS viewing engine. Give this game a chance, people, and I guarantee you you'll find it rewarding and fun. Think of it as a smaller, polished version of ARMA2, with faster (if lower) graphics (though it's more artistically balanced, compared to Arma's polygon frenzy). It's a decent game and is actually an alternative to the Arma series. it isn't a clone and in all honesty I think that this is the better game. As for realism... well, who cares. I only want realism so that I can annoy the hardcore veterans on multiplayer, and I think I'll still be able to with this game. Good game! Expand
  65. HermanS
    Oct 20, 2009
    0
    Gosh, where to start. The game does not live up to any of the claims of the developers, The trailers are complete lies, anything you see in them you do not expect to happen in game. The game play is slow and clunky, the feild of vision is narrow, you need to shoot enemies in the head if you want to kill them instantly, otherwise it will take 4 to 5 shots to kill them, ingame colour scheme Gosh, where to start. The game does not live up to any of the claims of the developers, The trailers are complete lies, anything you see in them you do not expect to happen in game. The game play is slow and clunky, the feild of vision is narrow, you need to shoot enemies in the head if you want to kill them instantly, otherwise it will take 4 to 5 shots to kill them, ingame colour scheme is horrid the colours are all washed out. You have to stop to order your squad, multi player is slow, kind of like the in game sprinting, and there are no dedicated servers. The port from console looks just like that, they've hardly put any effort into it at all and the list goes on. If your looking to a sequal to Operation Flashpoint that is a war sim then obtain ARMA2 much better game play and less buggy (and also made by the same developers who created operation flashpoint).. Codemasters this was a really disappointing effort, lots of hype for a wholly unfinished, boaring buggy basicly unplayable game. STEAR CLEAR AT ALL COSTS. Expand
  66. DevastV
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    Very poor mulitplayer experience. Animation problems that get you killed 9/10 times. Bugs. Some of which disable mouse support in critical areas. I do not recommend this game for multiplayer or coop. Single player alone just doesn't save this game.
  67. RichardS
    Oct 18, 2009
    6
    AI is bugged and your team mates don't follow you half the time or when they do occasionally shoot you. The game is not any where near as open as it should be and is limited in the way you can approach objectives. Multiplayer servers are difficult to find. The gameplay is fun when it works and it looks good in places but its not ARMA2 or Project Reality.
  68. obanman
    Oct 18, 2009
    4
    Made for consoles with its limitations, ported directly to pc.. No "full battlefield" containing both infantry as well as solid vehicles.. Instead there is lack of vehicle physics, number of units. etc.. No dedicated servers, and no intention of making any.. In fact there are no cd-keys for the retail game, so dont think they can make dedicated servers anyway.. Graphics are good but Made for consoles with its limitations, ported directly to pc.. No "full battlefield" containing both infantry as well as solid vehicles.. Instead there is lack of vehicle physics, number of units. etc.. No dedicated servers, and no intention of making any.. In fact there are no cd-keys for the retail game, so dont think they can make dedicated servers anyway.. Graphics are good but nothing special these days.. Too many things that doesnt feel right about this game, including no dedicated servers, no joystick support, bad vehicle physics, no leaning, no smooth mouse, not much of gameplay options, no balance between infantry and vehicles, no good FOV etc.. Really hate this game as it is right now, and I do not have faith in that they can do much about it to solve all the things needed to be solved.. It coulve been so good. Expand
  69. Kevin
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    One of the "more fun" games I've played in quite a while, ruined by the fact that there's no dedicated servers on the PC. This was the game I've been hyping to my friends for the longest time. There's other various stupid mistakes in the development of the game that the company fails to acknowledge, such as moving your head while in a vehicle. What, are we wearing 163 One of the "more fun" games I've played in quite a while, ruined by the fact that there's no dedicated servers on the PC. This was the game I've been hyping to my friends for the longest time. There's other various stupid mistakes in the development of the game that the company fails to acknowledge, such as moving your head while in a vehicle. What, are we wearing 163 point harnesses or something? Other than that, granted this is not a TRUE OFP game, the campaign is fun and the coop is interesting. Unfortunately the multiplayer (or lack of) will make this game last no longer than this box of Nerds I have lying next to me. Expand
  70. BrianB.
    Oct 18, 2009
    6
    A big let down. Solid single-player overall...though the graphics, A.I., command radial, and vehicle handeling could be much better. The game doesn't offer much support in terms of controllers. The online is unplayable! Tons of bugs and Codemasters (the devs) DO NOT seem to care! Just go to the OFP2 official forums. No servers, no in-game kicking, no max ping cieling, crazy bandwidth A big let down. Solid single-player overall...though the graphics, A.I., command radial, and vehicle handeling could be much better. The game doesn't offer much support in terms of controllers. The online is unplayable! Tons of bugs and Codemasters (the devs) DO NOT seem to care! Just go to the OFP2 official forums. No servers, no in-game kicking, no max ping cieling, crazy bandwidth requirements...the online is just complete fail. Expand
  71. JamesK.
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    A single player campaign can only carry a game so far, and for Operation Flashpoint: DR, that is not far at all. What is most upsetting about this game though is the developers seemingly lack of caring about the longevity of the game. Their refusal to support dedicated servers means that the multiplayer community for this game will never exist. It honestly seems that Codemasters only A single player campaign can only carry a game so far, and for Operation Flashpoint: DR, that is not far at all. What is most upsetting about this game though is the developers seemingly lack of caring about the longevity of the game. Their refusal to support dedicated servers means that the multiplayer community for this game will never exist. It honestly seems that Codemasters only bumped up the total number of players to 32 on PC because it would only seem logical to include dedicated servers with a number that high. But alas, it seems the joke was on those of us who bought the game. Expand
  72. DennisG.
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    Ignore the rabid, almost certifiably crazy ArmA fans, this game is a very solid outing. It's MUCH more accessable than the ArmA games, while still offering a much more open and realistic experience than the CoD series. A must by for the person who was looking for that middle ground between CoD and ArmA (and who also never wanted to deal with ArmA's horrible bugs).
  73. JosephC.
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    Needed 6 months more development. But as always we are given a game which is no more than a mere shadow of the hype and promises made by CM. Waste of money. Buy this game several months sown the line and it will be half price and hopefully fixed at least to the extent that its playable.
  74. CJSo
    Oct 17, 2009
    3
    The single player is great that is the only thing. The game totally lacks replayability as the AI is based on scripting and not actual logic. The multiplayer does not feature basic aspects that games made in 1998 have. No join in progress, no dedicated server, and rather small amount of people allowed, even for PC. Avoid this game until it hits your $5 bin since the only thing going for The single player is great that is the only thing. The game totally lacks replayability as the AI is based on scripting and not actual logic. The multiplayer does not feature basic aspects that games made in 1998 have. No join in progress, no dedicated server, and rather small amount of people allowed, even for PC. Avoid this game until it hits your $5 bin since the only thing going for it is single player. Expand
  75. CalebM
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    Worst Game on PS3 EVER! Stay Clear of this one. Codemasters have alot of work to do to get there REP back. Glitches/Bugs, The game was designed for 360 ported to PC and PS3. The PS3 has the worst graphics. All games have problems though, mostly in Multiplayer. It is a FUN game, but this is ruined in minutes.
  76. AndrewA
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    Great gameplay overall- Coop is a welcome feature in any FPS and this one hits the coop nail right on the head. The only real con present is the lack of dedicated server support- severely diminishing the enjoyability of online play at this point.
  77. MichaelO
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Such a shame, put around 10 hours into this game (pc version) now and it is simply garbage :( Multiplayer is horrible, connections keep getting dropped, no dedicated servers, graphics have been taken from the year 2005, i got suckered into the hype :-( I will keep the game for 1 month to allow some kind of super mystery patch from Codemasters, if it is not improved after 4 weeks i am Such a shame, put around 10 hours into this game (pc version) now and it is simply garbage :( Multiplayer is horrible, connections keep getting dropped, no dedicated servers, graphics have been taken from the year 2005, i got suckered into the hype :-( I will keep the game for 1 month to allow some kind of super mystery patch from Codemasters, if it is not improved after 4 weeks i am selling this copy on to somebody else. What a waste! Expand
  78. JohnDoe
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    The game disappoints in every single way. - There is basically no story, just a block of text before each mission - No free-roaming (well you can on sone missions, but there's really nio poiint), - Enemy AI is terrible - So is your squad's -Graphics are mediocre - The audio is awful - The editor (that only comes with the PC version) is vastly inferior compared to others, like The game disappoints in every single way. - There is basically no story, just a block of text before each mission - No free-roaming (well you can on sone missions, but there's really nio poiint), - Enemy AI is terrible - So is your squad's -Graphics are mediocre - The audio is awful - The editor (that only comes with the PC version) is vastly inferior compared to others, like the one in ArmA 2. - MP is trash - Co-op can be fun The game is a disgrace to the Operation Flashpoint name, and has ruined the franchise. It's not a sim either, like the original Flashpoint (made by Bohemia Interactive). Codemasters cut so many features and straight out lied on so many points with thise game, for the sake of gaming do not buy this game. If you're looking for a good military simulator go buy the original Operation Flashpoint, or the spiritual successors ArmA and ArmA 2. Both ArmA games are made by Bohemia Interactive (the makers OFP 1), and is better than OFP DR in EVERY single way. I Expand
  79. EightballB
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Clearly a lame attempt to pass off a direct console port as a pc game. Its lacking in graphics and controls. Half the features CM claimed would be in it aren't. Abysmal online play. AI is utterly retarded. Vehicle control is a joke, mario cart has 1000x better. Missing animations everywhere. Only 4 MP maps. Co-op tether so you cant get more than 275 yrds from others. Simply a lame Clearly a lame attempt to pass off a direct console port as a pc game. Its lacking in graphics and controls. Half the features CM claimed would be in it aren't. Abysmal online play. AI is utterly retarded. Vehicle control is a joke, mario cart has 1000x better. Missing animations everywhere. Only 4 MP maps. Co-op tether so you cant get more than 275 yrds from others. Simply a lame attempt to capitalize on a well respected game series by a bunch of retards who couldn't program "hello world" to save their own lives. Expand
  80. Fin
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    An average shooter but an extremely poor simulator. The good things: It's slightly more on the realistic side compared to the pure run-and-gun shooters, and the performance is good. Negatives: The realism they advertise just isn't there. Starting from extremely poor physics down to an invisible shield(!) that makes sure the AI won't hit you with their first shots, or if An average shooter but an extremely poor simulator. The good things: It's slightly more on the realistic side compared to the pure run-and-gun shooters, and the performance is good. Negatives: The realism they advertise just isn't there. Starting from extremely poor physics down to an invisible shield(!) that makes sure the AI won't hit you with their first shots, or if they're more than a few hundred meters away, and they have a very hard time hitting you even after that. Vehicle handling is an absolute joke, and there's not much to say on the flightmodel of helicopters(or the lack of one). Both friendly and enemy AI do a poor job at soldiering, and as already mentioned they can't hit the famous side of the barn. Weapons are very arcadish, and hitting targets at full auto is no problem.The good performance comes at the price of very outdated graphics, and for god knows why they've applied strange color filters everywhere. Nights aren't dark at all, but look like daytime with a blue filter. Other times the whole world is yellowish or greenish, but never natural. The SP campaign is short, easy, repeative and gets boring very soon. MP is severely limited and just doesn't function properly at the moment. Conclusion: Use your $40 on beer. The entertainment that results lasts longer and is of better quality. Expand
  81. BobJones
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Not the game that we were promised by any description. The PC version is just a simple console port and as such has the graphical quality and limits you would expect to be imposed by consoles. No dedicated servers are in development leaving P2P networking for multiplayer, which results in a terrible lagging mess most of the time. Also no cd-key and no anti-cheat system leaves this game Not the game that we were promised by any description. The PC version is just a simple console port and as such has the graphical quality and limits you would expect to be imposed by consoles. No dedicated servers are in development leaving P2P networking for multiplayer, which results in a terrible lagging mess most of the time. Also no cd-key and no anti-cheat system leaves this game wide open for both hackers (if they can even get online due to the rubbish P2P system) and pirates because there is nothing to stop you playing online with a cracked copy of the game. All in all the game brings something new to console users but PC players will be very disappointed. This is NOT worthy of the Operation Flashpoint name brand. Expand
  82. ChrisVCB
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    Is 1 too harsh? The game is....OK...at best, with major faults through and through. The storyline, too short, physics messed up, models limited and poor, game environment bland, the limits (no dedicated server, 64 entity limit, MP distance limits etc) frustrating. In addition the AI is terrible, and the medical "system", which allows you to tank enemy straight up the middle, with few Is 1 too harsh? The game is....OK...at best, with major faults through and through. The storyline, too short, physics messed up, models limited and poor, game environment bland, the limits (no dedicated server, 64 entity limit, MP distance limits etc) frustrating. In addition the AI is terrible, and the medical "system", which allows you to tank enemy straight up the middle, with few worries, is insulting. On it's own though, this would earn for me 5/10...6/10 on a good day. However. This isn't just a standalone game riddled with bugs. This is the end product of a 2+ year hype fest, using the names of one of the better games of the past decade, whilst having no relation to it. So, on the grounds that Codemasters are cashing in, hyping up a game under a well known name, then delivering an end product that (aside from looking prettier) doesn't even match, let alone exceed, the achievements of a game made in 2001, i'm downvoting this to a 1. Some would argue i'm voting too harshly, but at the end of the day, the benchmark we must compare OFP:DR to is OFP, and aside from the graphics,this game is behind in every way. Expand
  83. BaBaC.
    Oct 17, 2009
    5
    Nothing that was promised (hyped) by CM ever came to fruition. "...unique perspectives of an infantry marine, a helicopter pilot, a Special Forces officer or a tank commander,..." Helicopter pilot? Tank commander? Are you kidding me, Codemasters? There isn't a single mission where you assume the role of either. Unless you consider OFP:DR's map editor "the game". Many other Nothing that was promised (hyped) by CM ever came to fruition. "...unique perspectives of an infantry marine, a helicopter pilot, a Special Forces officer or a tank commander,..." Helicopter pilot? Tank commander? Are you kidding me, Codemasters? There isn't a single mission where you assume the role of either. Unless you consider OFP:DR's map editor "the game". Many other outright lies by the developers, including the doctored screen shots they kept/keep putting out in their press releases--none of which look anything like the final product. Although I do enjoy the game for what it is (the opposite of what they lauded), I couldn't give OFP:DR anything more than a 5 out of 10; for the simple fact that it isn't the game they promised, not even CLOSE. Expand
  84. JesseS.
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    This game has been the worst disappointment of my life. At first it was hyped like crysis as a modern warfare simulation, destructible everything, mud on weapons when you crawl, everything was supposed to be so authentic. End result was a crappy console game ported for PC.
  85. NeilB.
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    Well below par. VERY short SP campaign, lots of problems for MP players, lack of USP features, numerous control system issues. Codies are going to have to pull the stops out with the follow up or this (formerly classic) title will be dead in the water.
  86. southy
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    The worst physics in a game for at least 10 years, the helicopter flight model is the nothing short of a joke. Considering the game was built on a racing game engine the vehicles handling is laughable. Very poor console port to PC, MP is via P2P only no dedicated servers, for clans this is a killer. No mod support for the community leaving most with a bitter taste as the original The worst physics in a game for at least 10 years, the helicopter flight model is the nothing short of a joke. Considering the game was built on a racing game engine the vehicles handling is laughable. Very poor console port to PC, MP is via P2P only no dedicated servers, for clans this is a killer. No mod support for the community leaving most with a bitter taste as the original Operation Flashpoint was based massively in the community, Codemasters have shown without a doubt that they are purely in this to milk the name. The PC version has about 8 hours of SP in it and MP is dead as the lagg is terrible. Expand
  87. davep.
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    One bad thing about this game is that 32 player multiplayer doesnt really work too well. SP it is fantastic and the game has a brilliant gritty realism. Ive been having great fun playing co-op with my friends, and this is probably the best way to play it. I tried ARMA a couple of months ago, and this game is 10 times better. Youre in the action within minutes, and the game is generally One bad thing about this game is that 32 player multiplayer doesnt really work too well. SP it is fantastic and the game has a brilliant gritty realism. Ive been having great fun playing co-op with my friends, and this is probably the best way to play it. I tried ARMA a couple of months ago, and this game is 10 times better. Youre in the action within minutes, and the game is generally bug free. It also runs like a dream on my system. Expand
  88. simonh
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    I was expecting this game to be a fun free war sim, but I was pleasantly surprised. Its kind of like BF2, but its far more tactical, with awesome graphics, and many realistic features. Wheres this game been all my life!
  89. jonl
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    I'm loving this game! Totally reminds me of ghost recon. 32 multiplayer doesnt really work, but this game is made for co-op missions. Graphics, sounds etc are awesome, and the size of the island is massive.
  90. MilShootNothing
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    I give this game 1 because it might be good on consoles but i don't have one so i can't tell. The PC version is really sad and have absolutely NOTHING to do with the original. Even worse is that it stinks REALLY bad of console, from graphic, menu to control system. About the multiplayer part, PATHETIC! Just to make it clear, Dragon Rising has nothing to do wtih realism or I give this game 1 because it might be good on consoles but i don't have one so i can't tell. The PC version is really sad and have absolutely NOTHING to do with the original. Even worse is that it stinks REALLY bad of console, from graphic, menu to control system. About the multiplayer part, PATHETIC! Just to make it clear, Dragon Rising has nothing to do wtih realism or simulation it's just another shooter with bad gameplay and aged graphics! Expand
  91. MartinR.
    Oct 17, 2009
    5
    Well, for a game carrying the name OFP it's a massive letdown, but even if it did not have this name, there are imho too many problems right now to give it a high rating. -Heavy aftificial limitations in mission design and so on (the freedom of OFP is nowhere to be found), multiplayer apart from 4 player COOP seems like an afterthought and it's doubtful that things will improve Well, for a game carrying the name OFP it's a massive letdown, but even if it did not have this name, there are imho too many problems right now to give it a high rating. -Heavy aftificial limitations in mission design and so on (the freedom of OFP is nowhere to be found), multiplayer apart from 4 player COOP seems like an afterthought and it's doubtful that things will improve much (no dedicated server for example, CM's track record in patching...). Personally, the feeling of being there just isn't...there. The A.I. are terrible shots (and I mean it!), I hardly ever feel under pressure unless there's like 8 of those guys homing in on me. The player also seems to have some kind of bullet repelling shield, they will almost never hit you with their first magazine, distance hardly matters. Vehicle physics are from the Moon (seems like a low gravity environment), giving commands is ok (worthy of improvement though), graphics are ok too, nothing special (wish there were actually dark nights, but the giant moon just doesn't leave the sky), seems well optimised (oh, it's a plus!), campaign is generally forgettable, destruction of the environment is mediocre (trees can't be destroyed as huge downside)...and so on, you get the idea! Though it shows nicely that with a good PR department and buying lots of advertisement slots you can get any rating from reviewers you want. I don't think anyone of those actually touched the MP, or noticed that it's a step back from the original OFP: CWC in almost every aspect. Expand
  92. AlexH.
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Very deceptive advertising by codemasters. The game isn't too bad, but it is not what was advertised. Unfortunately they ruined the Operation Flashpoint name by turning it into yet another run-and-gun game. Oh, and multiplayer will be dead in months. I'm sure most of the other comments here cover what the title was meant to have but was conveniently left out, or grossly exaggerated.
  93. IrishCoffe
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    Codemasters manages to kill Operation Flashpoint series, and this Dragon Rising doesnt offer anything mentioned by the AD campaign. In nearly every case, it's all about FUD for next to nothing a finished product. It can be clearly compared with "Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing".
  94. pekkav.
    Oct 17, 2009
    6
    If this was called "dragon rising", released only to consoles circa 2005 or so it woulda been worth a niner. Carrying a nametag of Flaspoint, working like a badly made PC port of a console game of 2005 and being marketed as something better than original flashpoint, it is asking for a six. Singleplayer campaign is short, small-scale, and has no real vehicle combat. AI wont reach the level If this was called "dragon rising", released only to consoles circa 2005 or so it woulda been worth a niner. Carrying a nametag of Flaspoint, working like a badly made PC port of a console game of 2005 and being marketed as something better than original flashpoint, it is asking for a six. Singleplayer campaign is short, small-scale, and has no real vehicle combat. AI wont reach the level it needs, expecailly if vehicles are involved. controls are retarded, again highlighted when vehicles are involved. The MP is simply horrible, having released at alpha-stage claimed as"ready" and the entire game has a feeling of Beta-test in it. shame, really. and in SP, Immersion is shot in the leg by using NO means whatsoever to ride the storyline up ingame. do NOT be fooled by the name flashpoint in the game. Expand
  95. AlS
    Oct 17, 2009
    1
    Rubbish AI who can't hit the side of a barn and don't even appear to see you when close, vehicle physics are rubbish, 20 tons tanks find trees invincible. Corridored play ( no open dynamic world here ), unbelievabley broken MP with no dedicated servers for PC, constant disconnects when in game, no cd key authentication, no anticheat ( the game has already been hacked to Rubbish AI who can't hit the side of a barn and don't even appear to see you when close, vehicle physics are rubbish, 20 tons tanks find trees invincible. Corridored play ( no open dynamic world here ), unbelievabley broken MP with no dedicated servers for PC, constant disconnects when in game, no cd key authentication, no anticheat ( the game has already been hacked to bit's and the leaderboards rendered pointless ). Maximum amount of entities in any one mission = 64 /= massive large scale feeling. How magazines rated this game highly is beyond me. Maybe they just didn't want to loose the advertising revenue. In conlusion - OPFDR is average in SP, completetly pants in MP. Overall it's a fail. Expand
  96. GreyPaws
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    If you are expecting Code Masters to deliver a followup to the ground breaking Milisim 'Operation Flashpoint,' with this title you will be VERY disappointed. However, if you you are expecting a relatively fun 4 player co-op campaign, and are willing to overlook the glaring problems present in the current release of the game, you might actually enjoy yourself. There are many If you are expecting Code Masters to deliver a followup to the ground breaking Milisim 'Operation Flashpoint,' with this title you will be VERY disappointed. However, if you you are expecting a relatively fun 4 player co-op campaign, and are willing to overlook the glaring problems present in the current release of the game, you might actually enjoy yourself. There are many problems that detract from a fun experience. It is well known by now that there are no Dedicated Servers for this game, and the last official word from Code Masters was "this feature is currently not being worked on." There is also no mention of intent to release a SDK for the modding community to fix the problems with this game. The enemy AI, even when the game is set to 'Hardcore' is pathetically unrealistic in the way they respond to combat. Vehicle physics are simply a joke, vehicles tend to flip, the turning radius of most of the vehicles in the game is unacceptable, there is no way to use brakes without using a "handbrake." Your weapon seems to fire from the center of your model, so in some situations even with clear Line Of Sight to your target your rounds will impact objects you are using for cover (inexcusable for a shooter released in '09 ) The AI can track players and other AI through smoke, burning buildings and wrecks, as well as tall grass and vegetation, something a human player can not do without the assistance of optics. Weapon damage is unrealistic, plenty of examples of enemy AI taking a high caliber round to center mass, going prone, and then standing back up as if nothing was wrong with them. "...engaged against the full force of the Chinese PLA on a scale never previously experienced in a military action title..." I had to laugh at that one, most missions present very few targets, for example the opening mission of the campaign asks the player to disable anti-ship and anti-air installations on a small island off of the coast of Skira, to secure safe passage for a landing on the main island. Such a strategically important location seems to be defended by approximately 50 PLA soldiers, most of the players time is spent walking, or attempting to drive, through the bland and vastly empty landscape. There are many other problems that detract form the stated goal of this game, feel free to visit the Code Masters Forum pages on this game and see for yourselves. Expand
  97. hYBRISgODSLAYER
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    Singleplayer is ok. Very linear feeling though. Multiplayer is catastrophic. Console version might be decent but for the pc players this is an EPIC FAIL. Codemasters totally destoys the name operation flashpoint. If you want a followup to the great game opf then go ArmA2 much bette in all aspects (except ragdoll physics)..but CM ragdolls become static when they die so throwing nades on Singleplayer is ok. Very linear feeling though. Multiplayer is catastrophic. Console version might be decent but for the pc players this is an EPIC FAIL. Codemasters totally destoys the name operation flashpoint. If you want a followup to the great game opf then go ArmA2 much bette in all aspects (except ragdoll physics)..but CM ragdolls become static when they die so throwing nades on corpces wont interact with the corpce. Expand
  98. jahpix
    Oct 17, 2009
    3
    Stupid console port, nothing to do with the original flashpoint. MP is broken, no dedicated servers in development. Utter farce i feel like ive been swindled by CM into thinking this game is something that its not.
  99. gulagdan
    Oct 17, 2009
    4
    Brief Review: Graphic engine has potential, but was not used to its greatest capacity, we are in 2009, it is not graphic for 2009, 2d trees and grass, very poor texture (it's like Delta Force Xtreme). Singleplayer gameplay is without war atmosphere, stupid AI, map size is the only good thing, but in multiplayer you can use only 4 km square without dedicated server. I would be given a Brief Review: Graphic engine has potential, but was not used to its greatest capacity, we are in 2009, it is not graphic for 2009, 2d trees and grass, very poor texture (it's like Delta Force Xtreme). Singleplayer gameplay is without war atmosphere, stupid AI, map size is the only good thing, but in multiplayer you can use only 4 km square without dedicated server. I would be given a higher score, but CM has lied to us too much, they don't deserve more, they were dishonest. Expand
  100. MichaelM.
    Oct 17, 2009
    3
    Graphics is good. But 11 missions to keep single player running is not enough. the missions can be handled on hardcore mode in 4-5 hours. Then there are the issues with multiplayer. Even theough the game looks and feels pretty this is nothing out of the ordinary, and every other game provider will be able to provide more interesting gameplay, more game time on single player and a fully Graphics is good. But 11 missions to keep single player running is not enough. the missions can be handled on hardcore mode in 4-5 hours. Then there are the issues with multiplayer. Even theough the game looks and feels pretty this is nothing out of the ordinary, and every other game provider will be able to provide more interesting gameplay, more game time on single player and a fully functional multiplayer environment upon release. There are also issues with validating genuine players from pirated players. Currently pirates and game cheaters play along side valid players, causing the multiplayer aspect to falter even more. The AI is not impressive and a patch production was set in motion prior to release, but the game got released anyway. Dont let graphics only indicate that the game it self is great. I will say this though, the game holds some potential, but only if many of the serious issues are addressed. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. It's not perfect, there are little problems and niggles that can be found if you look for them, but none of them spoil the game or ruin the playing experience.
  2. Operation Flashpoint 2 is a simulation, but it’s a simulation that is actually fun to play.
  3. Maybe it lacks some innovation and graphics appeal, as if time had made expectations too great, but it is a very good first step for the series to continue.