User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 528 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    5
    Once again, a game that demonstrates the broken review system of so many game review magazine and websites. 221 negative user reviews as of this posting, and no negative reviews from critics? Do you see something wrong with this picture? I do. This game is the retarded poor cousin of the original Operation Flashpoint. If you want Operation Flashpoint don't play this dumbed down consoleOnce again, a game that demonstrates the broken review system of so many game review magazine and websites. 221 negative user reviews as of this posting, and no negative reviews from critics? Do you see something wrong with this picture? I do. This game is the retarded poor cousin of the original Operation Flashpoint. If you want Operation Flashpoint don't play this dumbed down console shooter ported to PC, go and buy ArmA II. Expand
  2. BaBaC.
    Oct 17, 2009
    5
    Nothing that was promised (hyped) by CM ever came to fruition. "...unique perspectives of an infantry marine, a helicopter pilot, a Special Forces officer or a tank commander,..." Helicopter pilot? Tank commander? Are you kidding me, Codemasters? There isn't a single mission where you assume the role of either. Unless you consider OFP:DR's map editor "the game". Many other Nothing that was promised (hyped) by CM ever came to fruition. "...unique perspectives of an infantry marine, a helicopter pilot, a Special Forces officer or a tank commander,..." Helicopter pilot? Tank commander? Are you kidding me, Codemasters? There isn't a single mission where you assume the role of either. Unless you consider OFP:DR's map editor "the game". Many other outright lies by the developers, including the doctored screen shots they kept/keep putting out in their press releases--none of which look anything like the final product. Although I do enjoy the game for what it is (the opposite of what they lauded), I couldn't give OFP:DR anything more than a 5 out of 10; for the simple fact that it isn't the game they promised, not even CLOSE. Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2011
    4
    I have played OFDR one year after its pubblication.
    The game fails in everything.
    AI is too accurate in far distances, all the enemies seem to be snipers. Also, they can kill us even if we are hidden inside thick vegetation or behind a wall. But when we get closer to the enemy, it is completely stupid and easy to kill. Physics are bad. Tanks and vehicles flips in the air when we drive them
    I have played OFDR one year after its pubblication.
    The game fails in everything.
    AI is too accurate in far distances, all the enemies seem to be snipers. Also, they can kill us even if we are hidden inside thick vegetation or behind a wall. But when we get closer to the enemy, it is completely stupid and easy to kill.
    Physics are bad. Tanks and vehicles flips in the air when we drive them on little rocks. Moreover I had the sensation to drive them on the ice.
    There are no checkpoints for secondary objectives (more difficult to complete than the primary ones).
    Graphics suck....bad textures, 3D models, lighting, post processing effects, bloom...
    Single player campaign is slow and boring...
    ARMA2 is on another level and a REAL PC GAME.
    Expand
  4. Mikec
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Have played ofp, arma, arma2, bf1-2142, cod, moh. this is what arma2 should have been. nice graphics, nice sound, fairly good controls. they didn't make this game a 100% realistic BORING sim. they made this game a realistic FUN sim. sure it needs some tweaking here and there but its NOTHING like how bad arma2 is. running 1920x1200 max EVERYTHING and getting 60 fps. i'm not a bigHave played ofp, arma, arma2, bf1-2142, cod, moh. this is what arma2 should have been. nice graphics, nice sound, fairly good controls. they didn't make this game a 100% realistic BORING sim. they made this game a realistic FUN sim. sure it needs some tweaking here and there but its NOTHING like how bad arma2 is. running 1920x1200 max EVERYTHING and getting 60 fps. i'm not a big fan of alot of multiplayer games since cheaters and people that play video games as a career have ruined most. i have not tried PVP but the campaign CO-OP is FUN! like someone else said, moving and changing weapons/inventory would be nice. would love to see lots of addon maps/scenarios to co-op play. it's not run and gun like cod, moh, bf1-2142 but its also not OVERLY boring like arma1-2 and the original flashpoint. Expand
  5. MichaelJ
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    I think its weird how different people perceive this game, i think its awesome, a bit more "Arcady" than Arma II but thats not a bad thing IMO. I bought the game yesterday and spent 5-6 hours with 4 of my friends doing the co-op missions and i havent had this much fun in a long time. The game is far from perfect, but it is definitely worth buying if youre in to games like Arma/Arma II - I think its weird how different people perceive this game, i think its awesome, a bit more "Arcady" than Arma II but thats not a bad thing IMO. I bought the game yesterday and spent 5-6 hours with 4 of my friends doing the co-op missions and i havent had this much fun in a long time. The game is far from perfect, but it is definitely worth buying if youre in to games like Arma/Arma II - GRAW 1 & 2 and those type of games. Ill give it 8.5 out of 10. Expand
  6. JimmyH
    Dec 4, 2009
    4
    Pathetic console port. Simple as that. Everything that was great about Ofp 1 has been completely raped, mutilated and put on some 15 year old kids Xbox, they vomited back up and thrown at pc gamers. Dont waste your money people. The only reason its not getting a 0 is because it played well (no bugs etc....) Us poor pc gamers : (
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    8
    Just to make things clear, I have my own system of rating games (1-9). And so now you can see that an '8' is very high to me. I leave '10' ratings for what I consider perfect games, of which there are only three; The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Metal Gear Solid and Half-life.

    This game is by no means perfect, however as I enjoy; realism and FPSs this game is the best for satisfying
    Just to make things clear, I have my own system of rating games (1-9). And so now you can see that an '8' is very high to me. I leave '10' ratings for what I consider perfect games, of which there are only three; The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Metal Gear Solid and Half-life.

    This game is by no means perfect, however as I enjoy; realism and FPSs this game is the best for satisfying both requirements. Also I really like it when game companies spend time making things accurate and I feel they have with this game. Ok, you will always be able to find things that are a bit dodgy but Codemasters have done a good job here. I think I should also mention that this game is quite difficult and I can't help but think that many people who disliked it were simply not playing the right game for them. If you want to run around following tightly scripted checkpoints like an idiot firing from the hip killing scores of bad guys and never running out of ammo then play a COD game and not this one.

    Another thing I like about this game is the difficulty system. The enemy AI doesn't change whether you're playing on easy or hardcore, you just get a lot less help from the game. Once you've perfected managing your team at individual level you will enjoy the game a lot more and the problems with the friendly AI will be drastically lessened which seems to be a major complaint by most players.

    Good points;
    + a very realistic FPS
    + an accurate game about modern warfare (which COD isn't)
    + a game in which you should think for yourself and adapt plans real-time as the situation dictates
    + it's difficult and some people will like the challenge
    + it's very cheap to buy

    Bad points;
    + AI is some times really good but mostly just typical and some times frustratingly bad
    + some glitches and bugs (seems to vary on different systems)
    + runs notably better on a PC and not a console
    + no one plays online
    + it's difficult and most people will not like the challenge
    + after completing it on hardcore admittedly there is not much replay value (I still do)
    Expand
  8. May 30, 2013
    1
    Riding on the glory of original operation flashpoint gameplay was horrible Campaing was horrible multiplayer was horrible and bugged to hell when released This was a disgrace to the name of operation flashpoint only later i found out that real operation flashpoint makers had made series called ARMA and that was the real simulation follow up for opf .
    TLDR: Codemasters tookd the
    Riding on the glory of original operation flashpoint gameplay was horrible Campaing was horrible multiplayer was horrible and bugged to hell when released This was a disgrace to the name of operation flashpoint only later i found out that real operation flashpoint makers had made series called ARMA and that was the real simulation follow up for opf .
    TLDR: Codemasters tookd the operation flashpoint name and disgraced it hard game sucks hard and anyone looking for real simulation game should buy Arma 2 and soon Arma 3
    Expand
  9. BenS
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    Failed, aborted product, dumped on pre-order. No dedicated servers. No maps. No community.
  10. Darkness62
    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    Installed and worked.... Other than that, this game is pathetic console trash and should have stayed on consoles where it belongs.
  11. PhilipD
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Leave the game along. It's not like ARMA, and I find it refreshing. I love the OFP / ARMA series, but 3 games, all with the same bugs and problems, quickly becomes boring. This game, on the other hand, doesn't seme to have the same problems. In fact, I prefer it. The graphics run smoothly on my PC in the way that OFP, ARMA and ARMA 2 never did. They felt delayed, even if at a Leave the game along. It's not like ARMA, and I find it refreshing. I love the OFP / ARMA series, but 3 games, all with the same bugs and problems, quickly becomes boring. This game, on the other hand, doesn't seme to have the same problems. In fact, I prefer it. The graphics run smoothly on my PC in the way that OFP, ARMA and ARMA 2 never did. They felt delayed, even if at a constant 60 fps. The aiming is easier on this game, the controls are more responsive and the levels are, frankly, more fun. I don't know why Mr xbox review is rating this in the PC section, or comparing it to Arma 2 which is still buggy, despite being released for MUCH longer than this game. I agree about the vehicles. They bounce a lot. Personally I still prefer them to Arma 2's fake rollercoaster ride. COD is a plague on the community. Stop comparing games like OFP to COD. They're not the same. ARMA and OFP aim for realism, and the only reason that this game is easier than ARMA is because playing tactically on this game allows you to complete a mission. With Arma it's pretty much chance. Also, it's easier to aim in this game, it feels as if it's programmed for a mouse instead of ARMA, which seems to think it's reading desktop mouse movements and trying to convert it into a FPS viewing engine. Give this game a chance, people, and I guarantee you you'll find it rewarding and fun. Think of it as a smaller, polished version of ARMA2, with faster (if lower) graphics (though it's more artistically balanced, compared to Arma's polygon frenzy). It's a decent game and is actually an alternative to the Arma series. it isn't a clone and in all honesty I think that this is the better game. As for realism... well, who cares. I only want realism so that I can annoy the hardcore veterans on multiplayer, and I think I'll still be able to with this game. Good game! Expand
  12. marior
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Great game. The graphics are very fluid and functional. I just finished the single player campaign and enjoyed it. So I suggest the game for fans of Ghost Recon series or Brothers in Arms.
  13. TonyU
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    This is a fun game. If you read all the reviews, the one thing that ruined it for people were their own expectations. If you approach this game neutrally and play it for what it is, you will have fun. It does fall short of the original, but that fact alone does not prevent it from being an entertaining game. It does have a few aesthetic glitches and the missions could have been crafted This is a fun game. If you read all the reviews, the one thing that ruined it for people were their own expectations. If you approach this game neutrally and play it for what it is, you will have fun. It does fall short of the original, but that fact alone does not prevent it from being an entertaining game. It does have a few aesthetic glitches and the missions could have been crafted better. That being said, however, you will have fun playing through the single player campaign. And it appears that Codemasters will be releasing additional levels, so there is hope they will produce some grand battles. With OFP 2, it seems that so many aspects of a great game are present, but fail to click, leaving the totality of the game short of greatness. Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    A Very, very good single-player champaign, sure the AI is not perfect here and there but hey, it's acceptable. The levels are fun and very exciting. I was never a huge fan of the original title, but this, this hooked me, and even on the second play-through I was ever so hooked. I recommend this title for anyone who enjoys open world war games, it is beautiful and plays like aA Very, very good single-player champaign, sure the AI is not perfect here and there but hey, it's acceptable. The levels are fun and very exciting. I was never a huge fan of the original title, but this, this hooked me, and even on the second play-through I was ever so hooked. I recommend this title for anyone who enjoys open world war games, it is beautiful and plays like a charm.....Don't get why some people says that it's ugly and bland... Obviously it should be bland, it's not COD make-belief environments.. This is the way things look in war!! Expand
  15. obanman
    Oct 18, 2009
    4
    Made for consoles with its limitations, ported directly to pc.. No "full battlefield" containing both infantry as well as solid vehicles.. Instead there is lack of vehicle physics, number of units. etc.. No dedicated servers, and no intention of making any.. In fact there are no cd-keys for the retail game, so dont think they can make dedicated servers anyway.. Graphics are good but Made for consoles with its limitations, ported directly to pc.. No "full battlefield" containing both infantry as well as solid vehicles.. Instead there is lack of vehicle physics, number of units. etc.. No dedicated servers, and no intention of making any.. In fact there are no cd-keys for the retail game, so dont think they can make dedicated servers anyway.. Graphics are good but nothing special these days.. Too many things that doesnt feel right about this game, including no dedicated servers, no joystick support, bad vehicle physics, no leaning, no smooth mouse, not much of gameplay options, no balance between infantry and vehicles, no good FOV etc.. Really hate this game as it is right now, and I do not have faith in that they can do much about it to solve all the things needed to be solved.. It coulve been so good. Expand
  16. ChrisW
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    I've only had time to play through the first couple of missions.... but I'm really loving this game. The game-play feels very fluid and keeps your heart pumping. I love the option of going wherever I want to go to complete a task. I'm not stuck to the path that someone else has chosen for me. The graphics are beautiful and believable. The sound effects are absolutely I've only had time to play through the first couple of missions.... but I'm really loving this game. The game-play feels very fluid and keeps your heart pumping. I love the option of going wherever I want to go to complete a task. I'm not stuck to the path that someone else has chosen for me. The graphics are beautiful and believable. The sound effects are absolutely amazing. I put on a pair of nice headphones and was blown away by the immersion I felt from the sound and graphics. The command system takes some getting used to. In order to command your squad mates you hit the "Q" key and it will bring a central display that has 4 directional choices which can be selected using "W,A,S,D". The only problem I have with this system is that you have to stop moving in order to issue simple commands. Other than that, the layout is very intuitive. I have played ARMA2 quite a bit and find that it's too simulator like for me and feels obtuse and unnatural. Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising is a great balance between simulation and fun game-play. Expand
  17. ThomasLittler
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    This game is absoulutly awsome. I have been waiting for this game ever since i finished the first one and its everything I was hoping for. The graphics and audio are second to none. It runs so smoothly and fluidly that it leaves you only one thing to think about - staying alive, rather than how much your gonna have to spend on a new PC to play it. Which is good, as staying alive isnt as This game is absoulutly awsome. I have been waiting for this game ever since i finished the first one and its everything I was hoping for. The graphics and audio are second to none. It runs so smoothly and fluidly that it leaves you only one thing to think about - staying alive, rather than how much your gonna have to spend on a new PC to play it. Which is good, as staying alive isnt as easy as it sounds. The a.i is very convincing and it feels more like your actualy fighting people rather than fighting robots which is how Arma seems to me. I see a lot of people are saying that it has fallen victim to consolitis and that it shouldnt have been dumbed down for the consoles, and a lot of people are saying the opposite and that its to realistic and not enough fun... I feel that codemasters have made an excelent compromise here between realism and fun, and the fact I can play it on my 360 and my PC i can only see as a bonus! This game is utterly fantastic! It brings back all the good memory's and aspects that made the original game so undeniably awesome. Expand
  18. simonh
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    I was expecting this game to be a fun free war sim, but I was pleasantly surprised. Its kind of like BF2, but its far more tactical, with awesome graphics, and many realistic features. Wheres this game been all my life!
  19. jonl
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    I'm loving this game! Totally reminds me of ghost recon. 32 multiplayer doesnt really work, but this game is made for co-op missions. Graphics, sounds etc are awesome, and the size of the island is massive.
  20. Direbadge
    Dec 2, 2009
    1
    I gave it a "1" because it installed and "worked" - but the controls were like trying to play a flight simulator with a blindfold on. The hyper-realism is just a moniker to sell a game that is only one step past the drawing-boards. Completely unplayable - please save your money and play flash-based web games, a much better use of your time.
  21. AndreasM
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Operation flashpoint: Dragon Rising lives up to operation flashpoint 1, but the perk is that this is more smooth, more entertaining and last but not at least it is very dynamic. The gameplay is truly awesome. THX codemasters you did it again.
  22. JasonH
    Jan 20, 2010
    1
    OFDR has all of the pesky quirks of a sim without any of the gloss of an action game; if you are looking for a shooter that claims to be "realistic" but is far from it, then this is the game for you! Incidentally, the most "realistic" shooters were made in the late 90's and have only veered away from it since. OFDR continues this trend.
  23. PeteJ
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. MP could be better, but the gameplay makes up for any problems. Needs a couple of tweaks, but apparently theyre due to be fixed in a patch that is due in a couple of weeks. The game is best played in Co-op with friends. It is seriously good fun, and I cant wait to see what the community produces with the built in editor.
  24. pauls
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    It is not what I was expecting as a sequel to OFP the greatest military sim ever IMO. I think if they labled this game something other than OFP2 there would not be so much mixed feelings about the game. The more fluid arcade like controls and interface in OFP2 are a welcome change but this game on release still leaves a lot to be desired from any hard core classic OFP fan. When the major It is not what I was expecting as a sequel to OFP the greatest military sim ever IMO. I think if they labled this game something other than OFP2 there would not be so much mixed feelings about the game. The more fluid arcade like controls and interface in OFP2 are a welcome change but this game on release still leaves a lot to be desired from any hard core classic OFP fan. When the major kinks and quarks and the mod community gets going for this game and dedicated server support is released OFP2 will truely reach its full potential. I remain optimistic as to the future of OFP francise. Expand
  25. DannyB.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    fantastic game. Im so glad this isnt an arma 2 twin. the gameplay is far better, and a lot more fun and accessable than arma 2, which was over complicated, and ruined itselft by trying to be too realistic, which ruined the fun aspect. OF2 is excellent, and exceeds all my expectations. The gfx are brilliant, the AI is spot on (for me anyway), everyone has a different experience with the fantastic game. Im so glad this isnt an arma 2 twin. the gameplay is far better, and a lot more fun and accessable than arma 2, which was over complicated, and ruined itselft by trying to be too realistic, which ruined the fun aspect. OF2 is excellent, and exceeds all my expectations. The gfx are brilliant, the AI is spot on (for me anyway), everyone has a different experience with the AI. The atmosphere aswell, is also spot on. Best game ive bought for a very long time for pc, however the console versions arent very good at all. Expand
  26. AndrewA
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    Great gameplay overall- Coop is a welcome feature in any FPS and this one hits the coop nail right on the head. The only real con present is the lack of dedicated server support- severely diminishing the enjoyability of online play at this point.
  27. CJSo
    Oct 17, 2009
    3
    The single player is great that is the only thing. The game totally lacks replayability as the AI is based on scripting and not actual logic. The multiplayer does not feature basic aspects that games made in 1998 have. No join in progress, no dedicated server, and rather small amount of people allowed, even for PC. Avoid this game until it hits your $5 bin since the only thing going for The single player is great that is the only thing. The game totally lacks replayability as the AI is based on scripting and not actual logic. The multiplayer does not feature basic aspects that games made in 1998 have. No join in progress, no dedicated server, and rather small amount of people allowed, even for PC. Avoid this game until it hits your $5 bin since the only thing going for it is single player. Expand
  28. AliK
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    I don't get why everyone's trashing this game. This game is for me, the best first person shooter since Modern Warfare! Not a game goes by that I don't play this game; It's difficulty, which post people seem to whine about is in my opinion it's best feature!
  29. DaveT
    Oct 9, 2009
    7
    Many of the missions are quite similar to be honest..although the A.I. is good some times ..seeking to always flank you..but most times its really stupid!...i mean one guy i was shooting at just ran around in a circle like a confused headless chicken...seriously he moved around a 20 sqr foot area back and forth..whilst his mate next to him (obviously the one with the brains!) was crawling Many of the missions are quite similar to be honest..although the A.I. is good some times ..seeking to always flank you..but most times its really stupid!...i mean one guy i was shooting at just ran around in a circle like a confused headless chicken...seriously he moved around a 20 sqr foot area back and forth..whilst his mate next to him (obviously the one with the brains!) was crawling away from the danger area!... My sniper rifle has a MAJOR FLAW! it only seems to work with a direct head shot!...try shooting at the legs or torso and its as if the bullet dont exist!...no damage at all..only head shots do any damage..instant death....hit the body 10 times and nothing!!..now that surely is a major issue.... As for your medic..Duhhhh!!!..mr dumb himself he is! i lay on the floor bleeding...shouted MEDIC!..he pops over gets his trusty bandage out then just proceeds to look at me like he's dazed and transfixed ...he stays like that with me while i continue bleeding and shouting medic to ask for his assistance!..all the time my health is draining away!....eventually he gets shot in the head and we both end up on the floor dead...and i have to re-start 35 mins of gameplay all over again!.Arghhhh!!!!.. These bugs are bad,, very bad..it spoils the immersion and realism no end! I shot a lorry full of soldiers and the thing swerved and crashed off down a small hill and stopped on a boulder next to the beach..all the soldiers just stayed inside and made no attempt to get out...i walked right up to it and they were all looking around out the widows like it was a old pensioners day out!...the dozy muppets!!!.. some missions are very irritating whilst others are just great...when it all hangs together it outshines arma2 in many ways, graphics seem smoother and the grass and vegetation are awesome, as is the starry night sky and full moon missions lol...but after a while it all gets a bit samey..and the awful round team control interface you need to scroll through when issuing orders is just a joke and so slooooww!.... Arma2 is better in so many ways and more realistic also in a sim way..which is what i hoped this would be... Its good but only in a 7 out of 10 way! Expand
  30. Chris
    Nov 1, 2009
    7
    I like the fact that you have to plan things out and use your terrain pluse the story line is original but it can be a big pain when your team glitches out and ignores orders or in multiplayer when your enemy AI some how know where you are all the time is quite annoying but I hope that they will patch that up and bring the game to it's true potentail.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. It's not perfect, there are little problems and niggles that can be found if you look for them, but none of them spoil the game or ruin the playing experience.
  2. Operation Flashpoint 2 is a simulation, but it’s a simulation that is actually fun to play.
  3. Maybe it lacks some innovation and graphics appeal, as if time had made expectations too great, but it is a very good first step for the series to continue.