User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 456 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 456

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Just play good and enjoyable. Simply an improvement on the original in everyway, only downside is a sore hand. The banter between characters is hilarious, the gameplay is smooth, solid and extremely enjoyable
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Played the first one all the way through and this second iteration plays great. The banter between characters is hilarious, the gameplay is smooth, solid and extremely enjoyable. Well worth a play
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    loved the first, with coop included in the second i couldnt wait, i love setting up everything myself but definitely wanted to experience the game with a friend or two. more of everything you loved in the first, tons more traps, quite a few more weapons, plus if you owned the original they gave you 10 of those maps for coop play in the second. the only real drawback i feel is that now that it has coop it feel too much like it forces you to play coop due to the increased difficulty much past the first couple levels. i REALLY hope the devs address this, if they do really would be 10/10 in my book also they got rid of controller support which kind of sucks : hope they bring that back Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    I enjoy FPS and strategy games. Since the FPS genre is now overrun with cheaters, and I have mastered many of the casual strategy games like Civ 5, I have been looking for a gaming gem. I have been purchasing PC games since 1988 and have been satisfied with about 1 in 15 games. Add this one to the list of top 10 games to own on PC. I played it for 7 hours straight and I wanted more. A rare thing these days. You will NOT be disappointed buying this title. Support these developers because they remembered games are supposed to be about CUSTOMER FUN. Too many big titles these days feel like money sponges. Buy this NOW. Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Major improvement over the original. if you enjoyed the first game you will love the sequel. The Co-op mode is a very welcoming feature. There are some levels which you would better in if you have a friend to help you. The banter between the two characters is amusing during the mayhem of orc slaying. The endless game mode helps you make up for skulls you dint obtain in co-op mode, which allows you to upgrade equipment and retry those levels again.
    One clear improvement is the weapons/traps hotbar, you can now drag and drop items into different slots unlike the first game where you had to deselect all items and pick them in order.
    Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Just Amazing what i wanted plus more.
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Never played the first but I am enjoying this a ton, 3rd person action tower defense == good times, big time. and for $15 this is very close to a must buy
  8. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic fun and has plenty of content for only $15. The co-op mode is amazing and there are plenty of levels and game modes to keep any player occupied. I only have two problems with Orcs Must Die! 2. The one-liners, while funny, get repetitive. Secondly, traps sometimes can't be placed in spaces where it seems like they should be able to, especially on the ceiling. Other than these minor issues, this game has an amazing amount of bang for the buck. Get it and play it. Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    cool game you can play online all the cool cool extension Tipo TAVERS defents but you can run shorter cool again is super cool weapons and magic wow cool
  10. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    If you enjoyed the first game, you'll definitely enjoy the second. If you have fun with tower defense games which incorporate FPS elements, you'll enjoy this too. Although I still have four maps to play, I have spent over 20 hours so far with the game, so I feel confident giving my assessment. This game launched at $15 for a single copy or $25 for two. Or, if you got it during the Steam sale, $12.50/$22.50. That's really inexpensive for this quality of game. I definitely recommend picking it up at these prices f you're into this game genre. **Composite Score: 9.125/10** **Entertainment Value: 10/10** Solid excitement mixed with charming humor. I really enjoyed playing solo. Co-operative play really depends on who you're playing with and dealing with network/tech issues. My partner had some microphone and XBOX controller issues, so we had to deal with tech problems at the start. But, after we got those sorted, we had a good time roasting, slicing, and crushing waves of orcs. **Graphics: 9/10** The Vision engine still delivers as good of a product as it did in OMD!. On my SLI GTX 570 setup, I get solid graphics performance and appearance. Anti-aliasing and Anisotropic Filtering are both great. No artifacting at all. Only reason this doesn't get a 10 is that the traps often don't mesh perfectly with the surroundings. And, coins sometimes get lost behind walls. **Sound: 9/10** Solid sound like the first game. Music is lively and entertaining. The surround system works. The orcs still tell silly lines, and now that dwarves have been added, they enhance the humor too. I give this game a 9 instead of the standard 8, because the dialog and music enhance the experience better than most other low-budget games of this style. **Design and Gameplay: 9/10** Gameplay has been tweaked since OMD!. There are more weapons, trinkets, and a new female character, the sorceress. There are new monsters. There are other ways to play such as ENDLESS and Co-op. Also, the way players can upgrade traps and items is distinctly different from the first game.... somewhat more like an RPG than before. Otherwise though, it's still build traps and use your character's powers to defeat the waves of mosters before they exit the map. **Game Length: 9/10** Given the game's low price and its incorporated multiplayer mode, don't think too harshly about it taking me less than three hours to complete the first half of the campaign on War Mage (normal) difficulty. I'm not done with the second half yet, but I've spent a couple of hours doing and redoing the next few maps. Also, I've spent many more hours playing through ENDLESS maps, going for high-scores, and playing through the classic maps using the new trap upgrades and weapons. Therefore, I'm quite happy with the game's length. Expand
  11. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    the ultimate splatter game that succeeds in giving you what a game should: Fun! Graphics are very ok and the physics system and overall feel are just superior to most games. The gameplay is balanced to perfection and I keep replaying this game 'till infinity it seems. One of the better games out there for sure!
  12. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Extremely difficult if played solo, which is a good thing. Very refreshing to play a tower defense game that doesn't let you sleep through the first half of the game.
  13. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    One of the best action strategy games of all-time. The fun of tower defense with the fast pace action of a third person hack and slash. Just plain tremendous. Orcs Must Die was a great game. Orcs Must Die 2 is just the total package.
  14. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's no way this game can get a score of below 9, it's just brilliant, i do not regret a single bit since the day i pre ordered. It, the game shows a great storyline which intrigued me a lot since the first game, so far, i've only completed it solo, and it was brilliant, so i can't wait untill i can co-op with one of my friends. Also, i love how the game didnt remove anything, they just added and still kept the old maps from the first game and skins as well. New spells, New traps, and more orcs, this game is a must buy if you wish to have a good time with your friends or even on your own, since the humour of the game never stops with so many jokes. Expand
  15. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Missing the headshot feature, but other than that...IT'S AWESOME :D
    They improved the spellbook and the upgrades. The mechanics you can do by combining different traps is absolutely amazing.
  16. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    When the first Orcs Must Die title came out, relatively the same time as Dungeon Defender, I missed out on the first title...my reason being was the lack of Co-Op. I see now, I should've invested on the first title seeing what I've been missing out on. Been playing Orcs Must Die! 2 with a friend and have been having a ball. Lots of action (especially at the harder levels) and really makes you think in optimising your playstyle/build. Great fun. Highly recommend...more so if you've got someone to play the game with 9/10 Expand
  17. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    Everything the first one was, plus more. It has simple things such as key rebinding, which seems trivial, but let OMD1 down, and introduces multiplayer, which many will be happy to see. At its heart though, it's about killing orcs, and it does a damned fine job of doing it, and making it more fun than the first outing whilst it's at it. The addition of a second character is awesome, meaning you can play through the levels, then go back and play again with better traps, then go back again with a whole different character, giving a tonne more replayability. If you want a Tower Defence game with a little more involvement from your character, it's well worth a look Expand
  18. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    This game is just plain fun, period.
    It's pretty much the perfect combination of action and strategy - don't think of it as a mere traditional Tower Defense Game. It combines fast-paced 3rd-person shooter gameplay with the ability to create nearly any devious and viciously effective trap system you can think of, with a side of amusing one-liners, often from the orcs themselves.
    THE TRAPS
    are varied, interesting, and satisfying to see in action, and the ability to upgrade them several times each (sometimes requiring you choose one ability over another) keeps you playing to get the resources to do so. This is true of weapons and accessories as well.
    THE LEVELS frequently make you think and change tactics in order to win - the maps are different enough for different strategies to be needed on different maps, and that's awesome. Don't listen to the scrubs giving this game a bad score because they think it requires 2 people - it doesn't. You can 5-skull (ace) every map on Nightmare difficulty, you'll just have to be clever.
    THE REPLAY VALUE is definitely here too. It's a 15 dollar game...and I've already put 100 hours into it, and I'm just now getting into coop maps and Endless mode, and they recently announced they'll be posting weekly challenges - special scenarios where you must complete a particular objective, possibly with limited traps/resources/time. Most $60 titles don't offer half the content.
    The game also runs like a dream. Loads quickly, doesn't crash, and I have yet to see a bug. Give it a try. In an age when massive game developers try to milk you for all you;re worth with mediocre, rushed titles, this is a title that got some god-honest love from its developers, and it shows.
    Expand
  19. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    A near perfect mix of action, strategy, rpg elements, and just pure fun. The difficulty is balanced just right IMHO. This is probably the most enjoyable game I've played in the past year.
  20. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    I bought this game after playing Orcs Must Die 1, which i really enjoyed playing. The Graphics are atmospheric and apply well to the humoric style of the game. This Sequel does everything better than its prequel. A Coop-mode, improved spell book..... and tons of new stuff and traps. The new endless mode is pretty fun too and increases the replayability of the game. All in all for 13,99 this game is worth all its money!
    Grab it!
    Expand
  21. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    First of all, I have to admit, that it's generally first game, but with all issues from the first part fixed. Some people may complaint, that Robot Entertainment goes the easy way and just bill us for the same game twice, but for me it's exactly what I wanted. Game is incredibly rewarding, especially on nightmare level, and enjoying it with friend is just so much fun. After basic campaign, which is very short to bo honest, You have classic levels, nightmare difficulty, endless mode and DLC, so generally there is always something to do. I think it's very important to play with friend, because it's the exact spirit of this game. Another thing I love in this game is how diverse is you weapons arsenal - I was playing with 3 different friends and playing with each of them was entirely new experience. Everybody has own ways to do things in this game, what I find very enjoyable. Collapse
  22. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Downright enjoyable game.
    I must admit, While i enjoyed the original, I wouldn't have rated it as high as i have this one, Which obviously shows an improvement. Whereas a lot of the reviews i've seen comment on the co-op, I've not played ANY of it on co-op, Instead finishing it on nightmare solo, (So anyone saying it HAS to be played co-op...just do endless some more) Which brings me to
    another point, The replayability, You can spend so long upgrading your characters, while testing new strats, It's great.
    It runs like a dream, The banter is hilarious (Ok, The WARMAGE is hilarious, The sorc frankly terrify s me.)
    All in all, For the price, It's a solid 10.
    Expand
  23. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Orcs Must Die! was a fantastic game i remember pirating the full game and than right after loving it so much that i brought it. Orcs Must Die! 2 is a complete upgrade, they got rid of any possible criticism that i could have given the first and even improved the graphics a little. I must admit i was disappointing by the lack of campaign stages but that was soon to be not a problem at all due to the replayablity and completely different play styles. Expand
  24. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    I was so happy to hear that a second Orcs Must die was coming out! I was not disappointed at all. The addition of co-op really adds a lot more than I really expected. It loses a point because some of the levels are a little too difficult without a second player around.
  25. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    This game is fun, challenging and very enjoyable. I haven't had so much fun in a co-op game last years. There's a lot of replay-ability in this game with different upgrades, traps, etc. Buy and play this game with a friend, you won't regret it.
  26. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Super fun and alot of replayability. I have 400 hours logged on this game. Love it! Fryedegg is a noob though. I am in love with Nana however, I was told she makes good muffins.
  27. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    OMD2 just does what OMD1 did, and does more of it-- they don't do anything crazy that ruins the fun of the originally and I still get hours of enjoyment out of this title even months later. I've always liked this genre (what I call "tank defense" or third-person tower defense) and the balancing of the units, player traps, etc. is just about as perfect as you could get. This quality is not quite as present in the expansions for OMD2, but the base game itself is great. Expand
  28. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    It's extremely fun, much more fun than the first game. Coop is great! There are so much more upgrades, more weapons and traps, the game is still funny just like the first and it's totally worth full price! Get a friend to play with you!
  29. May 27, 2013
    10
    One huge flaw with OMD1 was that it came without the possibility of Co-Op. Now that there's a co-op implemented this game is top notch fun. Amazing gameplay, amazing characters, awesome new builds and tactics. Whether you're a new player or liked OMD1, OMD2 is a must-have. You'll spend many hours with this one. Thumbs up!
  30. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    I think this is the best $20 I've ever spent, it really is incredibly simple to learn, easy to play, and fun to play. It requires some thinking and uses a great concept of tower defense and 3rd person action, it is a really good game and I am hoping the 3rd one will be out this year.
    The sound quality is average quality, the voice acting has that of Axton from Borderlands 2, the graphics
    match the atmosphere perfectly. There is a wide variety of weapons, traps, trinkets, and costumes for both characters, and the levels seem to be playtested well, allowing for a variety of strategies to win levels, but never easily. Endless is great fun and a challenge at all levels, there is 3 difficulties in the campaign and there is also endless mode, 3 dlc packs with 3 maps each, and a classic that allows you to play the 10 favorite maps of the first one. It is 20 dollars and worth 60, far more enjoyable with a friend though. Expand
  31. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Better then the original.
    New traps, new levels (And also some of the old ones If you have the first game in your Steam library), new enemies, and now Co-op!
    If you haven`t played the first one, it`s basically a trap defense game (Yes, trap defense, NOT TOWER) in which you are trying to stop the Orcs from reaching the exit.
    I really don`t have any problems with this game.
    But keep in
    mind this game was basically made around Co-op, so be sure to have a friend!
    Anyway a good game.
    All Orcs Must Die!!!
    Expand
  32. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    A new twist on the very much loved genre of tower defence. Set your traps and ready your magic/bows/fists! Waves of creatures will come at you and you better be prepared for everything. Very strategic and challenging and all the more fun with another friend with you! Worth getting during the steam sales or/and if you're in the mood for some charming graphics and tantalising strategy fun.
  33. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    I got this not long ago during Steams Black friday week sale. To be honest, I think this has a price:fun ratio thats mighty hard to beat. The game is fairly simple, a of tower defense with a bit of shooter action mixed in. You fight your way thru increasingly difficult waves of Orcs and purchase upgraded weapons and traps to help you along. Genuinely enjoyable gameplay (more so in co-op with a friend). I highly recommended this. (A word of warning, if your using a system with ATI GPU, you may encounter some load time and sync issues. Make sure your drivers are up to date and do a fresh install if all else fails. I have 5 systems, 3 are ATI, same issue on each ATI machine :s) Expand
  34. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    What can you say, it´s easily the best Tower Defence game ever made, the only game that comes close is the first game.
    The new upgrade system, more traps, co-op and endless replayability makes it a steal at 12 euro for a new game, I have had more fun with his than 95% of all 60 euro games.
    My only complain is that it feels a bit less polished , I think the orcs looked a little bit
    Better in the first game. I hope they release a texture-pack. Expand
  35. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Manages to take everything that made the first game fun and silly and turn it to 11. The added ways of getting skulls increases the replayability factor by about 100 as well.
  36. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Let's start talking about a big drawback: the campaign is much shorter than the first. Although this has everything that was missing in the first: many enemies, the Co-op and especially more variety in traps and levels. Who could ask for more?
  37. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    Very enjoyable, i liked the traps, weapons, and different levels ( even though there aren't that many )
    but overall a very nice thought out game. 9/10
  38. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    A fun game whether or not pc is your choice platform. I have to admit I was upset. Having enjoyed the first one on xbox, it was going to take a lot for me to get on steam and buy it. I use steam but xbox is where i feel most at home. I took the advice of my friends and just purchased the pc version. I enjoyed the tower defense game play of the fist and the ease of the mouse and keyboard is something worth experiencing in orcs must die 2. I wont explain the gameplay but ill tell you that whether your an xbox or pc gamer, buy this game and enjoy it Expand
  39. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo e o melhor TD no pc que conheço!
    Graficos limpos e bem feitos e o jogo n tem bugs. O modo coop dele é muito bom tabem.
    Otimo jogo mesmo.
  40. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    Fun. Addicting. I'm always looking for games with good multiplayer, and this is one of them. There's something almost cathartic about setting up the traps and mowing down Orcs. My only complaint is that I can't personalize my character as much as I'd like. A small complaint to have.
  41. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Orcs Must Die 2 was almost all good. There are many and varied weapons, traps, and in us, mates. Only two problems with the game. A bit ugly graphics, and often only be used for our people, because if you trap, you might as well get into the place because of our effective against ogres. I played this game for a long time, only the last act stuck. But no matter, it is a good game.
  42. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    Tower defense done right, and it's co-op! There's an endless combination of weapons, traps, and trinkets to suit pretty much any play style. Plus, the 2 main characters have different items so there's enough variety to make every game feel different. The upgrade system is really well done and offers the option to refund all of your points for free so you can try out a completely new build whenever you want. Sadly, the game seems a little too difficult to play solo and you'll find that the characters' one liners get old pretty quick. Expand
  43. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. I thought it was defiantly better than the first one, but only if you have friends to play it with. The graphics are better, and there's more traps and weapons. I'm a little disappointed that they took out the weavers, but the new skull system is way better than the old one. If you don't have friends to play with you should still get it but it is definitely better with other people Expand
  44. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    First of all, I have to admit, that it's generally first game, but with all issues from the first part fixed. Some people may complaint, that Robot Entertainment goes the easy way and just bill us for the same game twice, but for me it's exactly what I wanted. Game is incredibly rewarding, especially on nightmare level, and enjoying it with friend is just so much fun. After basic campaign, which is very short to bo honest, You have classic levels, nightmare difficulty, endless mode and DLC, so generally there is always something to do. I think it's very important to play with friend, because it's the exact spirit of this game. Another thing I love in this game is how diverse is you weapons arsenal - I was playing with 3 different friends and playing with each of them was entirely new experience. Everybody has own ways to do things in this game, what I find very enjoyable. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 80
    Excellent shooter / tower defense mix with many great ideas comes with black humor, cooperative multiplayer, tons of weapons & traps and a gazillions of upgrades. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 16, 2012
    80
    In spite of its balance wobbles, Orcs Must Die 2 is a frenetic blast of co-op joy - the ideal 30-minute post-pint pick-me-up, be it a step-change sequel or not. [Oct 2012, p.106]
  3. Sep 16, 2012
    80
    Borrows a little too much from the original game but features some fantastic moment to moment action. [Sept 2012, p.58]