Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 450 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Orcs Must Die! 2 begins days after the ending of the original game. With the rifts closed and the magical Order dead, the War Mage finds himself suddenly thrust into a new battle against the mindless orc mob. He has a powerful, if questionable, new companion in the Sorceress, an ex-War Mage responsible for the destruction of the Order. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    93
    The near-flawless execution on every level makes the brilliant concepts at the game's core shine through with perfect clarity. Even if you've never played or so much as heard of the original game, Orcs Must Die 2 is worth a place of honor in your collection.
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    90
    Ultimately, it's a fun game that's well worth the 15 dollars (or 30 if you play it co-op) you'd be putting down on it. Even after the last level is over, endless mode is always there to taunt you to try harder.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    88
    A brilliant update to the original game. The additions improve the core values of Orcs Must Die! and makes it a bigger and better game. It has its flaws, like a poor design of some maps, but the co-op, the improved character developement and the Endless mode are fantastic improvements.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    84
    I'm itching to play again once I finish this. If you have someone to team up with, get it without hesitation. If you don't, hesitate slightly, then notice it's only £12 and get it anyway.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    80
    A clear improvement from the original game, OMD2 incorporates "deep" ideas to a shallow game concept (kill orcs/goblins/gnolls that come towards you), and does that in the best way possible. When you are done with the campaign mode (and the advanced 'nightmare' mode), there's also the endless mode, which is even more fun if you go co-op with a friend. [September 2012]
  6. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    Even though much of Orcs Must Die! 2 feels like it's an expansion rather than a fully-fledged sequel, Robot Entertainment adds and refines just enough to get away with it. Besides, you'll be having too much fun knocking back waves and waves of all those nasty Orcs to care.
  7. 70
    There's nothing wrong with the design of the levels or the gameplay in and of themselves. It's just that OMD!2 feels more like a sizeable update complete with co-op integration. It is a good game, though, which manages to best its predecessor. Soloing veterans of that game should think very hard if the amendments are enough to buy this sequel at launch.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 91
  2. Negative: 3 out of 91
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Just play good and enjoyable. Simply an improvement on the original in everyway, only downside is a sore hand. The banter between characters is hilarious, the gameplay is smooth, solid and extremely enjoyable Collapse
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    A new twist on the very much loved genre of tower defence. Set your traps and ready your magic/bows/fists! Waves of creatures will come at you and you better be prepared for everything. Very strategic and challenging and all the more fun with another friend with you! Worth getting during the steam sales or/and if you're in the mood for some charming graphics and tantalising strategy fun. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    One of the best action strategy games of all-time. The fun of tower defense with the fast pace action of a third person hack and slash. Just plain tremendous. Orcs Must Die was a great game. Orcs Must Die 2 is just the total package. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    I loved the first game. if you're the kind of person who loves defending waves after waves of orcs and other what not creatures then this is the game for you. The game basically follows the same gameplay concept as the first one. Where you control a war mage who can cast spells and place traps in hopes of repelling the orc invasion. How this game differs from the first is that there are now 2 characters you can choose. Both with unique spells stats and the like. The mechanics of leveling up your spells also changed. Now it is possible to level up every trap and other magic gear you have or buy everything if you're that rich. As a true sequel the story was quite interesting and humor is still present much like the 1st game. There is coop present which basically makes the game a whole lot of fun. But what got me disappointed was that the game has no lobby system to connect different players from who knows where. Instead it allows you to connect with a friend who already owns the game. It would have been quite enjoyable to connect with other people who have the game but you hardly even know. Still the game is quite fun and the voice chat in the game works like a charm. There are loads to do and if you're bored from other games there is always this to keep you company. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    8
    I was a big fan of the original Orcs Must Die, and was very excited for the sequel. I am pleased to say, for the most part, this game does not disappoint. It streamlines the experiencing by getting rid of the "Weavers" (For which most people only used the same one) from the original title, and expanding the trap and weapon selection. You get Story Mode, Endless Mode, and for good measure they even toss in 10 Classic maps from the first game. For added value, Robot entertainment gives you a weekly challenge, which forces you to check out new strategies and traps, which I love. I have officially logged over 150 hours of this game, solo and co-op, and I feel I have a pretty good feel of it. I have 5 skulled (Best possible result) everything on Nightmare difficulty, and have played a good amount of Co-Op. I've also purchased and enjoy both DLC packs which each introduced 3 new maps and new monsters. So why only an 8? I do have a few gripes, though mostly they aren't about the gameplay itself. In no particular order:

    1. Character Balance. Orcs Must Die 2 allows you to play as the hero from the first game, as well as the sorceress, the villain from the first game. This is all well and good, but certain traps are only available to each character, and the Tar Trap, which is basically the best trap in the game, is not available to the Sorceress. I like having individuality, but this balance is frustrating for Sorceress players. Which leads me to #2...

    2. Leaderboards I know they are meaningless, but I like Leaderboards in a game like this to gauge how well I am doing and my strategies. There are a few flaws here. Leaderboards should have been separated by what char you are using (Apprentice or Sorceress), as well as by other criteria. For example, Endless mode only sorts by score - Sorting by Wave would be good here too. This leads me to...

    3. Endless Mode The "Horde Mode" Of Orcs Must Die 2 is a fun inclusion, however it needs some tweaking. To get 5 skulls, you need to get to Wave 40. The monsters get tougher every 10 levels. This leads to a lot of monotony. They could have increased cash per monster, and cut the wave totals in half, making 20 waves what you need. Some Endless waves take 1-2 hours (or more) to complete. This is too long. Also, because the longer you go, damage dealing objects becomes useless which means that basically you HAVE to use the non damage items (Springs, Void Walls, etc) - Which reduces variety and therefore fun. 4. DLC While I am glad Robot put out 2 DLC packs shortly after the games launch, as other people have mentioned - The DLC packs feel a little light. $6 each for 3 maps and a new monster and weapon or two seems weak, compared to the content you get with the title itself. Also, I couldn't help notice that the 2nd DLC didn't include any of the creatures from the first DLC (Not even in the Endless Waves) - Which makes them feel disconnected as opposed to building on eachother. 5. Banter/Story - For whatever reason, the dialogue just isn't as entertaining and funny as it was in the first game, and there doesn't seem to be quite as much of it. 6. Co-Op is OK, but not as much fun as I had hoped. Limited each person to a small amount of traps can be awkward, and having to rely on eachother to play traps in certain places is weird. Similarly, Coin Drops in Co-Op mode should be split by both players.

    So, I've listed several gripes here, but don't let this fool you. This are critical ideas on how to improve a game I love. I've logged 150+ hours, and enjoy the franchise, I still think there are ways to improve.

    Enjoy!
    Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    awesome game but just a few things they changed like the orcs am I the only one that thinks that the orcs looked a lot better in the first game but there are a lot of improvements to like refunding skulls that is good if you decide you want different items and you can always get skulls in endless or the weekly challenge to get all the traps and other cool items in the shop you want also I'm not sure if this is true or not but the amount of archers you can have went up and I liked that because I hate having to deal with air its hard to kill the air then get back to the ground units before they get close and that is a big problem later on in the levels and the multi player ohhh I lave multi player games so that was good and I hope they make another game some day but work ant the orcs a bit more and the story was a bit short sure you can go back and try to beat you're scores or play endless but I like more story line without having to buy dlc but again I still think it was a very good game with the coolest concept fps meets tower def Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2012
    0
    such a short game, right when you start to enjoy it, its over. Well unless you are willing to dish out more money for DLC. Really leaves you feeling they chopped up their game intending to sell it to you piece by piece. I don't think we should reward this kind of nickel and dime BSery. Expand

See all 91 User Reviews