Orcs Must Die! 2 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 438 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Orcs Must Die! 2 begins days after the ending of the original game. With the rifts closed and the magical Order dead, the War Mage finds himself suddenly thrust into a new battle against the mindless orc mob. He has a powerful, if questionable, new companion in the Sorceress, an ex-War Mage responsible for the destruction of the Order. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    93
    The near-flawless execution on every level makes the brilliant concepts at the game's core shine through with perfect clarity. Even if you've never played or so much as heard of the original game, Orcs Must Die 2 is worth a place of honor in your collection.
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    90
    Ultimately, it's a fun game that's well worth the 15 dollars (or 30 if you play it co-op) you'd be putting down on it. Even after the last level is over, endless mode is always there to taunt you to try harder.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    88
    A brilliant update to the original game. The additions improve the core values of Orcs Must Die! and makes it a bigger and better game. It has its flaws, like a poor design of some maps, but the co-op, the improved character developement and the Endless mode are fantastic improvements.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    84
    I'm itching to play again once I finish this. If you have someone to team up with, get it without hesitation. If you don't, hesitate slightly, then notice it's only £12 and get it anyway.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    80
    A clear improvement from the original game, OMD2 incorporates "deep" ideas to a shallow game concept (kill orcs/goblins/gnolls that come towards you), and does that in the best way possible. When you are done with the campaign mode (and the advanced 'nightmare' mode), there's also the endless mode, which is even more fun if you go co-op with a friend. [September 2012]
  6. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    Even though much of Orcs Must Die! 2 feels like it's an expansion rather than a fully-fledged sequel, Robot Entertainment adds and refines just enough to get away with it. Besides, you'll be having too much fun knocking back waves and waves of all those nasty Orcs to care.
  7. 70
    There's nothing wrong with the design of the levels or the gameplay in and of themselves. It's just that OMD!2 feels more like a sizeable update complete with co-op integration. It is a good game, though, which manages to best its predecessor. Soloing veterans of that game should think very hard if the amendments are enough to buy this sequel at launch.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 89
  2. Negative: 3 out of 89
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Just play good and enjoyable. Simply an improvement on the original in everyway, only downside is a sore hand. The banter between characters is hilarious, the gameplay is smooth, solid and extremely enjoyable Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    A new twist on the very much loved genre of tower defence. Set your traps and ready your magic/bows/fists! Waves of creatures will come at you and you better be prepared for everything. Very strategic and challenging and all the more fun with another friend with you! Worth getting during the steam sales or/and if you're in the mood for some charming graphics and tantalising strategy fun. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    One of the best action strategy games of all-time. The fun of tower defense with the fast pace action of a third person hack and slash. Just plain tremendous. Orcs Must Die was a great game. Orcs Must Die 2 is just the total package. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    I loved the first game. if you're the kind of person who loves defending waves after waves of orcs and other what not creatures then this is the game for you. The game basically follows the same gameplay concept as the first one. Where you control a war mage who can cast spells and place traps in hopes of repelling the orc invasion. How this game differs from the first is that there are now 2 characters you can choose. Both with unique spells stats and the like. The mechanics of leveling up your spells also changed. Now it is possible to level up every trap and other magic gear you have or buy everything if you're that rich. As a true sequel the story was quite interesting and humor is still present much like the 1st game. There is coop present which basically makes the game a whole lot of fun. But what got me disappointed was that the game has no lobby system to connect different players from who knows where. Instead it allows you to connect with a friend who already owns the game. It would have been quite enjoyable to connect with other people who have the game but you hardly even know. Still the game is quite fun and the voice chat in the game works like a charm. There are loads to do and if you're bored from other games there is always this to keep you company. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    I think "Orcs Must Die 2" didn't improve on the first "Orcs Must Die" on every aspect: I miss the "Weavers"; I think the "Halls" of the first game were more interesting than the "Dwarven Mines" used as scenario in this new game; I liked the orcs design of the previous game better; and I think the "ragdoll" effects in this new tittle are a little exaggerated...

    Still, there are amazing improvements: one more character, better upgrades structure, more weapons and traps and guardians and, the best, the co-op mode.

    Co-op was exactly the major flaw of the first "Orcs Must Die", lots of people started playing "Dungeon Defenders" instead just to play co-op. Still, "Orcs Must Die" single-player manages to be (against all odds) yet more fun than "Dungeon Defenders" multiplayer, and now that we have co-op in "Orcs Must Die 2", well, there are not many reasons to go back to "Dungeon Defenders".

    In the end, I think "Orcs Must Die 2" is as good as the first one (meaning: it's amazing!) and also very cheap. Insanely recommended.
    Expand
  6. AWG
    Jul 21, 2013
    7
    I never played the first one but I have to admit this "Orcs Must Die! 2" is a funny and enjoyable game. Loved the single player campaign and the male character. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2012
    0
    such a short game, right when you start to enjoy it, its over. Well unless you are willing to dish out more money for DLC. Really leaves you feeling they chopped up their game intending to sell it to you piece by piece. I don't think we should reward this kind of nickel and dime BSery. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews